Canadian Science Advisory Secretariat (CSAS)

The Canadian Science Advisory Secretariat (CSAS) coordinates the production of peer reviewed science advice for Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO). DFO’s six Regions conduct their science advisory processes independently, tailored to regional requirements.  CSAS facilitates these regional processes, fostering national standards of excellence, and exchange and innovation in methodology, interpretation, and insight. CSAS works with the Regions to develop the annual advisory schedule to meet the current needs of the Department and to identify emergent issues.

CSAS also coordinates communication of the results of the scientific review and advisory processes. Science Advisory Reports on the status of fish populations, invertebrate and marine mammal stocks, environmental and ecosystem overviews, Research Documents featuring detailed scientific information, as well as Proceedings of peer review meetings can be downloaded from this web site.  

Services and information

Science Advisory Schedule

Peer review addresses scientific questions related to fisheries and ocean management in Canada and the conservation of marine and freshwater resources. Use the online tool to access information about upcoming reviews and past advisory processes.


CSAS provides access to a collection of publications including Science Advisory and Stock Status Reports. Find publications by year, or use the Search function to locate Science Advisory Reports, Science Responses, Research Documents and Proceedings.

Processes, Policies & Guidelines

CSAS maintains high standards for communication and documentation methods and processes. Access the list of links to directives, including policies and standards.

Contact CSAS and the Centres for Science Advice (CSA)

Get in touch with the Canadian Science Advisory Secretariat in the National Capital Region, and Centres for Science Advice around the country. Includes email addresses for general enquiries.

Secrétariat canadien de consultation scientifique (SCCS)

Le Secrétariat canadien de consultation scientifique (SCCS) coordonne la production d’avis scientifiques examinés par les pairs à l’intention de Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO). Les six régions du MPO mènent leurs processus d’avis scientifiques de manière indépendante, ceux-ci étant adaptés aux exigences régionales.  Le SCCS facilite ces processus régionaux en favorisant des normes d’excellence nationales de même que l’échange et l’innovation aux niveaux des méthodes, de l’interprétation et des connaissances approfondies. Le SCCS collabore avec les régions afin d’élaborer un calendrier annuel d’avis scientifiques pour répondre aux besoins actuels du Ministère et pour cerner les questions émergentes.

De plus, le SCCS coordonne la communication des résultats des processus de revue et de consultation scientifique. Des avis scientifiques sur l’état des stocks de poissons, invertébrés et mammifères marins, des documents donnant une vue d’ensemble des conditions environnementales et des écosystèmes, des documents de recherche renfermant des renseignements scientifiques détaillés, ainsi que des comptes rendus de réunion peuvent être téléchargés à partir de ce site Web. 

Services et renseignements

Calendrier des avis scientifiques

Les examens par des pairs servent à étudier des questions scientifiques liées à la gestion des pêches et des océans au Canada et à la conservation des ressources marines et d’eau douce. Utilisez l’outil en ligne pour accéder à des renseignements sur les examens à venir et les processus de consultation passés.

Publications

Le SCCS donne accès à une collection de publications, notamment les avis scientifiques et les rapports sur l’état des stocks. Consultez les publications par année ou servez-vous de la fonction « Recherche » pour trouver des avis scientifiques, des réponses des Sciences, des documents de recherche et des comptes rendus.

Processus, politiques et lignes directrices

Le SCCS maintient des normes élevées quant aux méthodes et aux processus de communication et de documentation. Accédez à la liste des liens vers des directives, y compris des politiques et des normes.

Contactez le SCCS et les Centres des avis scientifiques (CAS)

Communiquez avec le Secrétariat canadien de consultation scientifique de la région de la capitale nationale et les Centres des avis scientifiques partout au pays. Comprend les adresses électroniques pour les demandes de renseignements généraux.