Research Document 2017/035

Habitats of Special Importance to Resident Killer Whales (Orcinus orca) off the West Coast of Canada

By Ford, J.K.B., Pilkington, J.F., Reira, A., Otsuki, M., Gisborne, B., Abernethy, R.M., Stredulinsky, E.H., Towers, J.R., and Ellis, G.M.

Abstract

Two populations of fish-eating Killer Whales, Northern Resident and Southern Resident, inhabit waters off Canada’s west coast.  The populations were listed under the Species at Risk Act (SARA) as Threatened and Endangered, respectively, in 2003.  As required by the SARA, efforts have since been underway to identify critical habitat for these populations.  Partial critical habitat was identified for each of the two populations in the 2011 Resident Killer Whale Recovery Strategy, which included a schedule of future studies to identify additional areas of critical habitat.  In this report, we identify two new areas of special importance to Resident Killer Whales that potentially meet the criteria for designation as critical habitat under the SARA.  One area includes waters on the continental shelf off southwestern Vancouver Island, including Swiftsure and La Perouse Banks.  The other area includes waters of west Dixon Entrance, along the north coast of Graham Island from Langara Island to Rose Spit.  Long-term vessel-based field studies and remote passive underwater acoustic monitoring show that both areas are important year-round habitat for Resident Killer Whales, especially for feeding on the whales’ primary prey, Chinook Salmon.  The biophysical functions, features and attributes of these habitats of special importance are described, and examples of activities likely to result in the destruction of these components of critical habitat are summarized.

 Complete PDF document

Accessibility Notice:

This document is available in PDF format. If the following document is not accessible to you, please contact the Secretariat to obtain another appropriate format, such as regular print, large print, Braille or audio version.

Offer to produce in both official languages:

This report uses scientific and technical terms and is published in the official language of the working group or scientific expert that produced the document. If this document is not accessible to you in the official language of your choice, please contact the Secretariat.

Date modified:

Document de recherche 2017/035

Habitats d’importance particulière pour les épaulards (Orcinus orca) résidents de la côte ouest du Canada

Par Ford, J.K.B., Pilkington, J.F., Reira, A., Otsuki, M., Gisborne, B., Abernethy, R.M., Stredulinsky, E.H., Towers, J.R., et Ellis, G.M.

Résumé

Deux populations d’épaulards piscivores, les populations résidentes du Nord et du Sud du Pacifique, vivent dans les eaux qui bordent la côte ouest du Canada.  Ces populations ont été inscrites à la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) en tant qu’espèce menacée et en voie de disparition, respectivement, en 2003.  Depuis, des efforts visant à déterminer l’habitat essentiel de ces populations sont en cours, conformément aux exigences de la LEP.  Des habitats essentiels partiels ont été déterminés pour chacune des deux populations dans le cadre du programme de rétablissement de l’épaulard résident de 2011, lequel comptait un calendrier des études futures visant à cerner des zones d’habitat essentiel additionnelles.  Dans ce rapport, nous nommons deux nouvelles zones d’importance particulière pour les épaulards résidents qui répondent potentiellement aux critères pour la désignation d’un habitat essentiel en vertu de la LEP.  Une de ces zones comprend les eaux du plateau continental au sud-ouest de l’île de Vancouver, y compris les bancs Swiftsure et La Perouse.  L’autre zone comprend les eaux à l’ouest de l’entrée Dixon, longeant la côte nord de l’île Graham, de l’île Langara à Rose Spit.  Des études sur le terrain à long terme menées sur des navires et la surveillance acoustique passive sous-marine démontrent que ces deux zones constituent un habitat important pour l’épaulard résident à longueur d’année, notamment pour la consommation de la proie principale de l’épaulard, soit le saumon quinnat.  Les fonctions, les caractéristiques et les attributs biophysiques de ces habitats d’importance particulière sont décrits, et des exemples d’activités susceptibles d’entraîner la destruction de ces composantes de l’habitat essentiel sont résumés.

 Document PDF complet

Offre de produire le document dans les deux langues officielles :

Ce rapport contient des termes scientifiques et techniques; il a été publié dans la langue officielle du groupe de travail ou du scientifique expert qui l’a produit. Si ce document n’est pas disponible dans la langue officielle de votre choix, veuillez communiquer avec le Secrétariat.

Avis d’accessibilité :

Ce document est disponible en format PDF. Si le document suivant ne vous est pas accessible, veuillez communiquer avec le Secrétariat pour l’obtenir sous une autre forme (par exemple un imprimé ordinaire, en gros caractères, en braille ou un document audio).

Date de modification :