Estimating fall-off of mussels cultured on self-operating collectors

PARR-2008-QC-08

Description

In Carleton (Chaleur Bay, Quebec), some mussel farmers are using the self-operating collector method, which consists of culturing mussels on collectors without adjusting the density. This results in a decrease in population density due to a self-thinning process. Differences in the number and size of mussels that fall to the bottom depend on whether socks or self-operating collectors are used.

Mussel fall-off with self-operating collectors can be calculated based on the principle of self-thinning. The necessary data are currently available in a publication in preparation by Lachance-Bernard et al.. However, there are at present two possible approaches to calculation.

The goal of this project was to determine the best approach and to provide a preliminary estimate of the fall-off process. The requisite samples were obtained by divers in order to minimize mussel fall-off during sampling. This work was a preparatory stage for comparison of the ecosystem effects of conventional suspension culture and mussel culture using self-operating collectors.

As a result of this project, we have found no evidence of non-linerarity in the relationship between biomass and population density. This indicates that individual growth is not dependent on population density. This piece of information will be useful for choosing the appropriate method for calculating mussel fall-off.

Program Name

Program for Aquaculture Regulatory Research (PARR)

Year(s)

2008 - 2009

Ecoregion(s)

Central Canada: Great Lakes, St. Lawrence Freshwater Drainage Basin

Principal Investigator(s)

Marcel Fréchette
Email: Marcel.Frechette@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Estimation des chutes de moules cultivées sur collecteur autorégulé

PRRA-2008-QC-08

Description

À Carleton (baie des Chaleurs, Québec), quelques mytiliculteurs utilisent la méthode de culture sur collecteur autorégulé, qui consiste à cultiver les moules sur des collecteurs sans ajuster leur densité, ce qui résulte en une diminution de la densité de peuplement due à l'autoréduction. Les différences dans le nombre et la taille des moules qui tombent au fond dépendent de l'utilisation de boudins ou de collecteurs autorégulés.

Le principe de l'autoréduction peut être utilisé pour calculer les chutes de moules cultivées sur des collecteurs autorégulés. Les données nécessaires sont déjà disponibles dans un document en préparation par Lachance-Bernard et al. Il existe toutefois deux approches de calcul possibles des chutes.

Le projet vise à déterminer la meilleure approche de calcul et à obtenir une estimation préliminaire des chutes. Des plongeurs ont prélevé les échantillons requis afin de minimiser les chutes de moules durant l'échantillonnage. Ces travaux constituent la phase préparatoire pour la comparaison des effets écosystémiques de la méthode classique de culture de moules en suspension et la culture de moules sur collecteur autorégulé.

Aucun signe de non-linéarité dans la relation entre la biomasse et la densité de peuplement n'a été relevé, ce qui indique que la croissance de chaque moule est indépendante de cette densité. Cette conclusion sera utile dans le choix de la méthode appropriée de calcul des chutes de moules.

Constatations

S.O.

Publications

S.O.

Nom du programme

Programme de recherche sur la réglementation de l'aquaculture (PRRA)

Année

2008 - 2009

Écorégion

Centre du Canada : Bassin versant des Grands Lacs et du fleuve Saint-Laurent (eau douce)

Chercheur principal / Chercheurs principaux / Chercheuse principale / Chercheuses principales

Marcel Fréchette
Courriel: Marcel.Frechette@dfo-mpo.gc.ca