Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP) Fact Sheet
Issue 21 - December, 2013

Depletion of emamectin benzoate (SLICE®) from skeletal muscle and skin tissues of Atlantic Salmon (Salmo salar)

Summary

Atlantic Salmon aquaculture operations require a method of controlling infestations of the parasitic sea lice (Lepeophtheirus salmonis). One means of controlling sea lice infestation is SLICE® (emamectin benzoate (EMB)), a synthetically derived compound delivered orally in feed and absorbed from the gut into tissues. Health Canada (HC) and the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) have set guidelines for the use of this product including a Maximum Residue Limit (MRL) and a withdrawal period. However, these guidelines were considered stringent in comparison to other national jurisdictions and placed restrictions on planned and emergency harvesting operations for producers that resulted in unnecessary marketing barriers. To study the depletion rate of EMB in comparison to set withdrawal times, this project investigated the rate of depletion of SLICE® residues in the tissues of Atlantic Salmon (Salmo salar) in both controlled laboratory and commercial settings. Laboratory and field operations monitored an administration of SLICE® at a dose rate of 50 micrograms per kilogram (μg / kg) body weight per day for 7 consecutive days. The depletion of the compound from tissues was monitored at intervals from 1 to 45 days post treatment. Mean EMB residues in laboratory samples ranged from 7.3 to 60.5 nanograms per gram (ng / g) in muscle tissue and 28.1 to 199.7 ng / g in skin tissue. MRL levels allowed by HC and CFIA were 100 and 1000 ng / g, in muscle and skin tissue respectively at the time of this study. MRLs at this level were not detected in the field or laboratory results indicating that actual residue levels of EMB did not exceed the set limits. Results from this project were fundamental to the 2009 full approval and registration of SLICE® by HC, which included amending the withdrawal period to 0 days.

The Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP) is a Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) initiative to increase the level of collaborative research and development activity between the aquaculture industry and DFO. Projects under ACRDP seek to improve aquaculture environmental performance and support optimal fish health.

Introduction

SLICE® (emamectin benzoate; EMB) is a semi-synthetic compound used for the control of the sea lice (Lepeophtheirus salmonis) in farmed salmon. When fed to fish orally it is absorbed from the gut into tissues where it is metabolized and excreted into the skin and mucus resulting in sustained efficacy for up to 10 weeks against sea lice infestations. The manufacturer-recommended dosage for EMB is 50 micrograms per kilogram (μg / kg) per day for a duration of 7 consecutive days. The compound acts as a neuroblocker in sea lice, which results in paralysis and ultimately the death of the parasite. The control of sea lice is crucial for farming operations as sea lice populations can increase rapidly and cause significant economic consequences for the farm.

SLICE® was submitted for approval of use to Health Canada in 1999, receiving full Canadian registration in late 2009. During the registration period, emergency use of the product was on a case-by-case basis and approved through the Veterinary Drugs Directorate (VDD) of Health Canada's (HC) - Emergency Drug Release Program (EDR). Guidelines for Maximum Residue Limit (MRL) were set at 42 micrograms per gram (μg / g) and salmon were not allowed to be harvested for the food chain for 68 days following the last SLICE® treatment, at water temperatures of 5°C or greater. Most international aquaculture jurisdictions that have similar restrictions have developed higher MRLs (e.g., 100 ng / g) and shorter withdrawal periods (e.g., 0 days in U.K. / Chile; 7 days in Norway). The extensive withdrawal period in Canada had placed a constraint on the flexibility in marketing salmon which had been treated with SLICE® within the past 68 days.

HC and the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) had agreed to revisit the guidelines regarding MRL and withdrawal periods if solid data could be provided regarding EMB residue times to better guide decision-making.

The current study used laboratory and field-based projects to aid in filling knowledge gaps concerning depuration of EMB residues in tissues of Atlantic Salmon (Salmo salar) (Figure 1). The project utilized water temperatures more comparable to sea water temperatures when sea lice infestations and industrial use of SLICE® occurs. The main objective of the study was to produce a residue depletion curve for EMB in farmed Atlantic Salmon to provide guidance in HC and CFIA decision-making regarding changes to the MRL and withdrawal time limits.

Marine finfish aquaculture site
Figure 1:

Marine finfish aquaculture site

Farmed Atlantic Salmon (Salmo salar)
Figure 1

Farmed Atlantic Salmon (Salmo salar)

Methods

General logistics

The laboratory portion of the study used animal holding facilities at the Marine Research Station, Sandy Cove, Nova Scotia. Experimental tanks were supplied with temperature-controlled sea water within a flow-through culture system during the treatment and post treatment periods, with the following parameters: temperature (10.08 ± 0.26 °C); salinity (32-35 grams per litre (g / L)); dissolved oxygen (10.7 ± 1.2 mg / L); and water inflow rate (37 L / min). The field portion of the study was based on sample collection from commercial marine cage sites that had been treated with SLICE®. Unlike the laboratory trials, field samples involved collecting salmon that were exposed to ambient water conditions (temperature, salinity, etc.).

Feed for salmon used in the laboratory trials came from several feed suppliers, depending on the trial; all salmon involved in the single dose challenge were fed Signature Salmon Ration (Northeast Nutrition Inc.). EMB pre-mix and quality control instructions were provided directly to the feed mills by Intervet Schering Plough. Nominal concentration of EMB in the medicated feed was confirmed by Cantest Ltd. (B.C.) and used to determine the daily feeding rate required to achieve the target dose of 50 μg / kg for 7 feeding days. The EMB concentrations were also tested by two other laboratories for dose confirmation purposes.

Lab Based Experimental Design

Several laboratory-based trials were performed during the course of this project. The single dose trial involved feeding Atlantic Salmon the manufacturer’s recommended dose of EMB and then collecting tissues at various times following the cessation of medicated feeding in order to ascertain tissue residue levels of EMB. A more complete synopsis of this study can be found in Whyte et al. (2011).

Based on weight, fish were randomly assigned into 7 groups of 28 fish to obtain uniform group biomass. An additional 21 fish were used as a control. Prior to initiation of the experiment the fish were marked using external colour-coded tags placed immediately ventral to the dorsal fin to indicate treatment group and sampling interval (Days 1, 3, 5, 10, 15, 30 and 45). Furthermore, 4 fish were randomly assigned as baseline fish from the experimental groups and sacrificed for tissue collection prior to treatment with medicated feed. The experimental study fish were held separately from the internal control group until post treatment – defined as the point at which all medicated feed was flushed from tanks. Fish were fed at a rate of 0.78 % per kg body weight per day with the ration split between two feeding periods: morning (AM) and late afternoon (PM). Non-medicated feed was supplemented to achieve an overall feeding ration of 1 % body weight per day.

Upon completion of the medicated feed regime (Day 7), fish were randomly selected from each pre-assigned group and sampled at each of the designated sampling periods post treatment. After day 1 post treatment, supplementary samples of two fish from sampling days 3 and 5, and three fish from sampling days 10, 15, 30 and 45, were randomly selected to provide an estimate of the distribution of EMB in the study population.

Field Based Experimental Design

Participating cage sites were selected from candidate commercial sites engaged in, or planning near future EMB treatments. Selection of sites and sampling was arranged through the New Brunswick Department of Agriculture, Aquaculture and Fisheries (NBDAAF).

Sampling Protocol

Sampled fish were euthanized by anesthetic overdose, weighed and allowed to bleed out in an ice-seawater bath to mimic the aquaculture industry salmon processing procedures. Fish were rinsed with saltwater, individually bagged and transported on ice to the laboratory. Samples taken consisted of the fillet with skin from both sides of the fish. All samples were frozen at -10°C until analysis.

Results / Discussion

General

Results presented herein focus on the main component of the laboratory part of this Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP) project involving residue analysis from salmon experimentally fed EMB.

Administered Dose

Feeding behaviour declined following administration of the medicated diet in the laboratory, to the extent that fish on day 2 were observed to stop feeding. In response, a freeze dried krill top coating (2% by weight) was applied to increase palatability. Although little or no palatability issues have been reported by prescribing veterinarians in the Atlantic Canada aquaculture industry (pers. comm. Dr. Mark Moore, MVS, Upper Letang, NB), feeding behaviour did return to normal for the medicated period, following the addition of the krill product. No considerable rejection of feed was reported in the field trials by site workers, and on-site feeding was reported to be within the expected daily feed ration.

Results obtained from the three confirmatory laboratories testing the inclusion rate of EMB in the medicated diet produced three unique quantities (Table 1). A desired inclusion rate of 10 mg / kg resulted in values ranging from 6.6 mg / kg to 8.8 mg / kg (or 54 to 88% of target concentration). The nominal dose of EMB in feed as measured by Cantest Ltd. was marginally statistically lower than what was measured by two other laboratories (p = 0.0513).

EMB Residues

Residues were detected in skin of 43.9% of internal control fish, ranging from 2.04 to 4.00 ng / g. Although tanks were flushed prior to the introduction of control fish, it is possible that these fish were consuming the faeces of the medicated fish, resulting in low levels of EMB residues in the skin. No residues were observed in the muscle of the internal control fish.

Average weight gain at day 45 was 5.8 g per day and all fish were significantly heavier than they were at the start of the trial (p = 0.0001). There was no significant effect of sex or maturity on depletion of EMB in either muscle or skin of fish fed the medicated diet (p = 0.321). All fish were observed to be healthy on examination and no abnormalities or deformities were evident in any sampled fish.

Mean EMB residue concentrations measured in muscle tissue ranged from 60.5 ng / g at 1 day post treatment to 7.3 ng / g at 45 days post treatment (Figure 2). Higher mean residue concentrations were measured in the skin tissues which ranged from 219.6 ng / g at day 5 post treatment to 9.6 ng / g at 45 days post treatment. Emamectin residues in the study fish were 2.8 to 6.0 times higher in skin than muscle at each time point with an average of 4.1 times higher than in muscle. The reasons for this are unclear, but are consistent with the sustained residue levels of EMB in the skin which is the primary location of feeding by sea lice.

table 1
Table 1.

Mean concentrations of emamectin benzoate (EMB) (mg / kg of feed) in medicated diet samples as measured by three independent analytical laboratories (n = 5).

Mean (± sd) concentration (ng / g) of SLICE<sup>®</sup> (EMB) equivalents in muscle and skin tissues of Atlantic Salmon administered 50 ng / g EMB per kg body weight for seven consecutive days. Note: Line indicates best fit for residue depletion
Figure 2.
Mean (± sd) concentration (ng / g) of SLICE® (EMB) equivalents in muscle and skin tissues of Atlantic Salmon administered 50 ng / g EMB per kg body weight for seven consecutive days. Note: Line indicates best fit for residue depletion.

Concentrations of EMB in tissues never attained the maximum allowable residue levels of 100 and 1000 ng / g for skin and muscle that were set by HC and CFIA. EMB residues in tissues from field-based trials supported the findings of laboratory experiments, in that immediately following the 7-day treatment regimen of SLICE®, the tissue concentrations never exceeded the imposed levels. Residue concentrations in field tissue samples varied between sampled fish. The depuration range of EMB from muscle tissues quickly fell to negligible levels within 3 to 7 days post-treatment.

Conclusion

At the time of this study the maximum residue level for fish destined for human consumption established by the VDD of HC, and CFIA, was 100 ng / g for the target tissue, muscle, and 1000 ng / g for skin. In this study levels of EMB residue near these limits were not recorded in the skin and muscle at the recommended dosage of 50 μg EMB per kg. The results of this project were fundamental in the 2009 full approval from the Veterinary Drugs Directorate (VDD) of SLICE® and the amendment of the withdrawal period to 0 days. The monetary value of the findings of this project cannot be accurately stated, however, access to this product is worth millions to the industry with respect to sea lice control and salmon market access.

References

Whyte, S.K., Westcott, J.D., Byrne, P., and Hammell, K.L., 2011. Comparison of the depletion of emamectin benzoate (SLICE®) residues from skeletal muscle and skin of Atlantic Salmon (Salmo salar), for multiple dietary dose regimens at 10°C. Aquaculture 315, 228-235.


This ACRDP project (MG-06-04-004) was a collaborative effort between Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) and the Atlantic Canada Fish Farmer’s Association. The lead scientist on this project, Dr. Phil Byrne, can be contacted at Philip.Byrne@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

For further information on this and other ACRDP projects, visit: Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP)


Published by:
Aquaculture, Biotechnology and Aquatic Animal Health Science Branch,
Fisheries and Oceans Canada,
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0E6

©Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada 2013

ISSN 1919-6806 (Print)
ISSN 1919-6814 (Online)
ISBN: 978-1-100-22984-3
DFO/2013-1914
Cat No: Fs48-2/21-2014E-PDF

French version and alternative formats available through: Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA)

Fiche Technique du Programme Coopératif de Recherche et Développement en Aquaculture (PCRDA)
Numéro 21 - Décembre, 2013

Réduction de la teneur en benzoate d'émamectine (SLICE®) dans les muscles squelettiques et les tissus cutanés du saumon de l'Atlantique (Salmo salar)

Résumé

Les exploitations aquacoles de saumon de l'Atlantique ont besoin d'une méthode pour lutter contre les infestations du pou du poisson (Lepeophtheirus salmonis). Une des méthodes pour lutter contre ce parasite est l’utilisation du SLICE®, dont la matière active est le benzoate d'émamectine (BE), un composé synthétique administré oralement en le mélangeant à la nourriture et étant absorbé par le tube digestif, d'où il passe aux tissus. Santé Canada (SC) et l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments (ACIA) ont établi des lignes directrices pour l'utilisation de ce produit en ce qui concerne la limite maximale de résidus (LMR) et le délai d'attente. Toutefois, ces lignes directrices ont été jugées trop rigoureuses par rapport aux critères des autres administrations nationales car elles imposaient des restrictions aux producteurs en ce qui concerne les activités de récolte, planifiées et d'urgence, faisant inutilement obstacle à la commercialisation. Pour étudier le taux d'élimination du benzoate d'émamectine par rapport au délai d’attente, on s'est penché sur le taux d'élimination des résidus de SLICE® des tissus du saumon de l’Atlantique (Salmo salar) en laboratoire et dans les exploitations commerciales. En laboratoire et sur le terrain, on a administré une dose quotidienne de SLICE® de 50 microgramme par kilogramme (μg / kg) de poids corporel pendant 7 jours consécutifs. On a surveillé l'élimination du composé des tissus de 1 à 45 jours après le traitement. Dans les échantillons de laboratoire, la teneur de résidus de BE dans le tissu musculaire se situait entre 7,3 et 60,5 nanogramme par gramme (ng / g) et entre 28,1 et 199,7 ng / g dans le tissu cutané. Au moment de l'étude, la LMR autorisée par SC et l'ACIA était de 100 et 1 000 ng / g respectivement dans le tissu musculaire et le tissu cutané. Des teneurs de cet ordre n'ont pas été détectées ni sur le terrain ni en laboratoire, ce qui indique que la concentration réelle des résidus de BE n'a pas dépassé les limites établies. Les résultats de ce projet ont joué un rôle fondamental dans l’obtention de l'approbation et de l'homologation du SLICE®, en 2009 auprès de Santé Canada, qui a par ailleurs ramené le délai d’attente à 0 jour.

Le Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA) est une initiative concertée de Pêches et Océans Canada et de l'industrie de l'aquaculture visant à stimuler la recherche et le développement. Les projets menés dans le cadre du PCRDA visent l'amélioration du rendement environnemental de l'aquaculture et servent à préserver la santé optimale des poissons.

Introduction

La matière active de SLICE®, le benzoate d'émamectine (BE), est un composé semi-synthétique utilisé dans les exploitations salmonicoles pour combattre le pou du poisson (Lepeophtheirus salmonis). Une fois administré oralement, le composé est absorbé dans le tube digestif et métabolisé avant d’être excrété à la peau et au mucus où son efficacité pour lutter contre les infestations par le pou du poisson se prolonge pendant 10 semaines. La dose de BE recommandée par le fabricant est de 50 µg / kg par jour pendant 7 jours consécutifs. Le composé agit comme bloqueur neuronal sur le pou du poisson, il cause la paralysie avant de provoquer la mort. Il est essentiel de combattre le pou du poisson dans les exploitations aquacoles, car les populations du parasite peuvent se multiplier rapidement et entraîner de graves répercussions économiques pour l'exploitation.

L'utilisation de SLICE® a été soumise à l'approbation de Santé Canada en 1999, et le produit a été homologué au Canada à la fin de l’année 2009. Pendant la période d'homologation, la Direction des médicaments vétérinaires (DMV) de Santé Canada (SC), dans le cadre du Programme de distribution de médicaments d'urgence, s'est chargée d'approuver l'utilisation d'urgence du produit au cas par cas. Les lignes directrices ont établi une limite maximale de résidus (LMR) de 42 ng / g, pour des températures de l'eau de 5 °C ou plus, et elles ont interdit la récolte du saumon pour la chaîne alimentaire pendant 68 jours après le dernier traitement de SLICE®. La plupart des administrations internationales gérant l'aquaculture ont imposé des restrictions semblables, mais avec des LMR plus élevées (p. ex., 100 ng / g) et des délais d’attente plus courts (p. ex., 0 jour au Royaume-Uni et au Chili, et 7 jours en Norvège). Le long délai d’attente au Canada fait obstacle à la commercialisation du saumon qui a été traité au SLICE® au cours des 68 jours précédents.

Santé Canada et l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA) ont accepté de réexaminer les lignes directrices concernant la LMR et les délais d'attente si on pouvait fournir des données concluantes concernant l'évolution des résidus de BE dans le temps pour mieux orienter la prise de décisions.

Dans la présente étude, on a eu recours à des travaux en laboratoire et sur le terrain afin de combler des lacunes dans les connaissances sur l'élimination des résidus de BE des tissus du saumon de l'Atlantique (Salmo salar) (figure 1). Pour l'étude, on a maintenu une température de l'eau comparable à celle de l'eau de mer lors des infestations de pou du poisson et des traitements au SLICE®. Le principal objectif de l'étude était de calculer la courbe d'élimination de résidus de BE du saumon de l’Atlantique d'élevage afin d'orienter les décisions de SC et de l'ACIA concernant la modification des LMR et des délais d'attente.

Marine finfish aquaculture site
Site aquacole
Saumon de l'Atlantique d'élevage (Salmo salar)
Figure 1 Saumon de l'Atlantique d'élevage (Salmo salar)

Méthodes

Logistique générale

Pour la partie de l'étude en laboratoire, on s'est servi des viviers de la station de recherche marine de Sandy Cove, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Pendant et après le traitement, les réservoirs expérimentaux étaient alimentés, en circuit ouvert, d'eau de mer à température contrôlée. La température de l'eau était de 10,08 ± 0,26 °C; la salinité, de 32 à 35 gramme par litre (g / l) et la teneur en oxygène dissous, de 10,7 ± 1,2 mg / l; et, le débit d'alimentation était de 37 l / min. Pour la partie de l'étude sur le terrain, on a recueilli des échantillons à partir de sites marins d'élevage en cage ayant été traités au SLICE®. Contrairement aux essais en laboratoire, les échantillons prélevés sur le terrain correspondaient à des saumons exposés aux conditions ambiantes (c.-à-d., température, salinité, etc.).

La nourriture pour saumons utilisée dans les essais en laboratoire provenait de plusieurs fournisseurs, en fonction des essais; les saumons de l'essai à dose unique ont été nourris avec la nourriture Signature Salmon Ration uniquement (Northeast Nutrition Inc.). Intervet Schering Plough a directement fourni aux fabriques de nourriture les instructions sur le mélange et le contrôle de la qualité du benzoate d'émamectine. Cantest Ltd. (C.-B.) a confirmé les concentrations nominales de BE dans les aliments médicamenteux, lesquelles ont servi à déterminer le taux d’alimentation quotidien nécessaire pour obtenir une dose de 50 µg / kg pendant 7 jours d'alimentation. On a également fait tester les concentrations de BE par deux autres laboratoires pour confirmer les doses.

Plan expérimental en laboratoire

On a effectué plusieurs essais en laboratoire au cours de ce projet. L'essai à dose unique consistait à administrer au saumon de l’Atlantique la dose de BE recommandée par le fabricant et de prélever des tissus à plusieurs reprises après l'administration de la nourriture médicamentée afin de déterminer la teneur en résidus de BE contenue dans les tissus. Un résumé plus complet de cette étude est décrit par Whyte et al. (2011).

En fonction de leur poids, on a réparti les poissons en 7 groupes de 28 poissons pour obtenir des groupes présentant une biomasse uniforme. On a utilisé 21 poissons supplémentaires comme témoin. Avant de commencer l'expérience, on a marqué les poissons avec des étiquettes à code de couleur sur la partie ventrale à la nageoire dorsale pour indiquer le groupe de traitement et la période d’échantillonnage (jours 1, 3, 5, 10, 15, 30 et 45). Par ailleurs, on a choisi 4 poissons au hasard parmi les différents groupes afin de servir de poissons de référence; ils ont été sacrifiés pour prélever des tissus avant le début du traitement à base de nourriture médicamentée. On a séparé les poissons utilisés dans l'étude expérimentale de ceux du groupe témoin jusqu'à la fin du traitement, c'est-à-dire jusqu'à ce que la nourriture médicamentée soit vidangée des bassins. Les poissons ont reçu une ration quotidienne correspondant à 0,78 % de leur poids corporel (kg) administrée en deux doses, le matin et en fin d'après-midi. En sus de la nourriture médicamentée, un supplément de nourriture pour atteindre une ration de 1 % du poids corporel par jour a été administré aux poissons.

Une fois le régime médicamenteux terminé (jour 7), des poissons de chaque groupe ont été échantillonnés au hasard pour chacune des périodes d'échantillonnage prévues après le traitement. Après l'échantillonnage du jour 1, on a prélevé au hasard des échantillons supplémentaires de deux poissons les jours d'échantillonnage 3 et 5, et de trois poissons les jours 10, 15, 30 et 45 en vue d'estimer la distribution de BE dans la population étudiée.

Plan expérimental sur le terrain

On a sélectionné les sites d'élevage en cages parmi les sites commerciaux où l'on administre des traitements au BE, ou l'on prévoit le faire. Le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Aquaculture et des Pêches du Nouveau-Brunswick a participé à la sélection des sites et à l'échantillonnage.

Protocole d'échantillonnage

Les poissons échantillonnés ont été euthanasiés par l’administration d’une surdose d'anesthésiants, ils ont été pesés avant de les laisser se vider de leur sang dans de l'eau de mer glaciale pour reproduire les procédures de transformation de l'industrie salmonicole. Les poissons ont été rincés à l'eau salée, placés dans des sacs individuels et transportés sur la glace jusqu'au laboratoire. On a prélevé les deux filets du poisson avec la peau. Tous les échantillons ont été congelés à -10 °C jusqu'à l'analyse.

Résultats

Généralités

Les résultats de cette étude qui sont présentés ici portent sur la composante principale des essais en laboratoire de cette étude, réalisée dans le cadre du Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture, qui portent sur l’analyse les résidus de BE dans le saumon.

Dose administrée

Après l'administration de la nourriture médicamentée en laboratoire, le comportement alimentaire a diminué, et les poissons ont cessé de s'alimenter au jour 2. Pour rendre les aliments plus appétissants, on les a alors enrobés de krill sec (2 % du poids). Bien que les vétérinaires ayant prescrit ces aliments ne rapportent aucun problème d'appétibilité (Dr Mark Moore, MVS, Upper Letang, N.-B., communication personnelle) dans le cadre de l'industrie aquacole du Canada atlantique, le comportement alimentaire s'est normalisé après l'ajout de krill aux aliments. Aucun problème semblable a été signalé sur le terrain dans les sites aquacoles, où la ration alimentaire quotidienne a pu être maintenue.

Les trois laboratoires utilisés pour déterminer le taux d'inclusion de BE dans les aliments médicamenteux ont obtenu trois résultats différents (tableau 1). Pour un taux d'inclusion souhaité de 10 mg / kg, on a obtenu des valeurs situées entre 6,6 mg / kg et 8,8 mg / kg (c'est-à-dire de 54 % à 88 % de la concentration visée). La dose nominale de BE dans les aliments mesurée par Cantest Ltd. était statistiquement légèrement plus faible que celle mesurée par les deux autres laboratoires (p = 0,0513).

Résidus d'BE

Des résidus ont été détectés dans la peau de 43,9 % des poissons-témoins (des concentrations de 2,04 à 4,00 ng / g). Bien que l'on ait rincé les réservoirs avant l'introduction des poissons-témoins, il est possible que ces poissons aient consommé les excréments des poissons traités, ce qui expliquerait les concentrations résiduelles de BE dans la peau. On n'a pas détecté de résidus dans les muscles des poissons-témoins.

Au jour 45, la prise de poids quotidienne était de 5,8 g par jour et tous les poissons avaient un poids considérablement plus élevé qu'au début de l'essai (= 0,0001). On n'a décelé aucun effet du sexe et du degré de maturité sur la teneur de BE dans le tissu musculaire et dans la peau des poissons traités (p = 0,321). Tous les poissons semblaient en bonne santé et aucune anomalie ni difformité n'ont été observées.

La moyenne des concentrations de résidus de BE mesurées se situait entre 60,5 ng / g le premier jour  après le traitement et 7,3 ng / g au jour 45 (figure 2). La moyenne des concentrations de résidus de BE mesurées était plus élevée dans les tissus cutanés où elle se situait entre 219,6 ng / g au jour 5 après le traitement et 9,6 ng / g le jour 45. La concentration de résidus de benzoate d'émamectine dans les poissons étudiés était 2,8 à 6 fois plus élevée dans la peau que dans le tissu musculaire (4,1 fois plus élevée en moyenne). Les raisons expliquant cette observation sont inconnues, mais cela explique les niveaux soutenus de résidus de BE dans la peau, qui constitue l'organe principal visé par le pou du poisson.

Les concentrations de BE n'ont jamais atteint les concentrations maximales de résidus autorisées par SC et l'ACIA de 100 et de 1 000 ng / g respectivement pour les tissus musculaires et les tissus cutanés. Les résidus de BE mesurés lors des essais sur le terrain confirment les résultats obtenus en laboratoire puisqu’après le traitement de 7 jours au SLICE®, les concentrations de résidus dans les tissus n'ont jamais excédé les niveaux imposés. Les concentrations de résidus dans les échantillons des essais sur le terrain variaient d'un poisson échantillonné à l'autre. L'élimination de BE dans les tissus musculaires est rapidement tombée à des niveaux négligeables 3 à 7 jours après le traitement.

Concentrations moyennes de benzoate d'émamectine (mg / kg d'aliments) dans les échantillons de nourriture médicamentée mesurées par trois laboratoires analytiques indépendants (n = 5)
Tableau 1.
Concentrations moyennes de benzoate d'émamectine (mg / kg d'aliments) dans les échantillons de nourriture médicamentée mesurées par trois laboratoires analytiques indépendants (n = 5).
Concentration moyenne (ng / g ± écart type) de SLICE<sup>®</sup> (BE) dans les tissus musculaires et cutanés du saumon de l’Atlantique auquel on a administré 50 ng / g de BE par kg de poids corporel pendant 7 jours consécutifs
Figure 2.
Concentration moyenne (ng / g ± écart type) de SLICE® (BE) dans les tissus musculaires et cutanés du saumon de l’Atlantique auquel on a administré 50 ng / g de BE par kg de poids corporel pendant 7 jours consécutifs. Note : la ligne indique la meilleure estimation pour la teneur en résidu.

Conclusion

Au moment de l'étude, la Direction des médicaments vétérinaires de Santé Canada et l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments n'autorisaient qu'une concentration maximale de résidus dans les poissons destinés à la consommation humaine de 100 ng / g pour le tissu musculaire et de 1 000 ng / g pour la peau. Dans la présente étude, aucune concentration de résidus de BE avoisinant  les doses recommandées de 50 μg de BE par kg dans le tissu musculaire ou dans la peau n’a été observée. Les résultats de l'étude ont joué un rôle fondamental pour l'approbation du SLICE® par la Direction des médicaments vétérinaires et pour la modification du délai d’attente à 0 jour. La valeur monétaire des résultats de cette étude ne peut pas être estimée avec exactitude. Cependant, puisqu’il facilite la lutte contre le pou du poisson et l'accès au marché du saumon, ce produit vaut des millions de dollars pour l'industrie.

Références

Whyte, S.K., Westcott, J.D., Byrne, P. et Hammell, K.L.. 2011. Comparison of the depletion of emamectin benzoate (SLICE®) residues from skeletal muscle and skin of Atlantic Salmon (Salmo salar), for multiple dietary dose regimens at 10°C. Aquaculture 315, 228-235.


Le projet du PCRDA (MG-06-04-004) est le fruit d'un effort de collaboration entre Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) et l'Atlantic Canada Fish Farmers Association (ACFFA).  Il est possible de communiquer avec le scientifique principal du projet, Dr Phil Byrne, à l'adresse suivante : Philip.Byrne@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le présent projet et d'autres projets du PCRDA, veuillez visiter le: Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA)


Publié par :

Pêches et Océans Canada,
Direction générale des sciences de l'aquaculture, de la biotechnologie et santé des animaux aquatiques,
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0E6

© Sa Majesté la reine du chef du Canada, 2013.

ISSN 1919-6849 (Imprimé)
ISSN 1919-6857 (en ligne)
ISBN : 978-0-660-21535-8
MPO/2013-1914
No de catalogue : Fs48-2/21-2014F-PDF

La version anglaise et d'autres formats sont disponibles à l'adresse suivante : Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP)