Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP) Fact Sheet
Issue 8 - October 2010

Commercial, Environmental and Physiological Performance of Brook Trout Fed with Low-Phosphorus, High-Energy Feeds

Summary

Over the past two decades, improvements in the nutritional quality of the feeds used for salmonid production have made possible a very significant reduction in solid waste, phosphorus and nitrogen discharges and, ultimately, feed costs. At the same time, it has been suggested that the new, high-lipid feeds that have been developed could have negative impacts on the production of brook trout (Salvelinus fontinalis). The present study was carried out to verify the effect of lipid content in feed as well as the effect of certain lower-phosphorus replacement meals on the physiology of this species. The study's main conclusions show that: 1) the substitution of poultry by-product meal for fishmeal at a rate of 50% could yield a slight improvement in biological and environmental performance; 2) soy protein concentrate is not an advantageous protein source for replacing fishmeal; and 3) a feed low in lipids (18% based on feed formulation) seemed to yield slightly higher biological and environmental performance compared to a control feed that was higher in lipids (24% based on feed formulation). However, further basic biochemical and physiological research would be required to gain a good understanding of the specific qualities and different physiological stages of brook trout, with the ultimate goal of improving fish farm yields while reducing environmental impacts.

Introduction

In the late 1970s, trout feeds were relatively low in protein and lipids but high in starch. After it was realized that these feeds provided fish with a low nutrient supply, the proportions of starch were decreased significantly. The result was a feed with higher levels of digestible nutrients (protein and lipids). Improvements in feed quality have made possible a very significant reduction in solid waste, phosphorus and nitrogen discharges and, ultimately, feed costs.

Brook trout (Salvelinus fontinalis) is a salmonid species of major economic importance to Quebec's aquaculture industry. Despite recent improvements in feed formulations, brook trout producers question the capacity of this species to use lipids as an energy source. Some farmers believe that the new high-lipid feeds could have negative impacts on fish growth and lead to liver problems (liver enlargement due to lipid accumulation) and lethargy.

In accordance with current Quebec environmental legislation aimed at reducing nutrient discharges into receiving waters, feed manufacturers are now required to replace traditional fishmeal in the composition of their formulations with lower-phosphorus substitutes. However, few studies have considered the effect of those replacement meals on fish physiology and growth as well as on the feeding efficiency of the feeds.

Given the economic importance of brook trout and the current legislative context with respect to nutrient discharge reduction, the goal of the present study was to verify:

  1. whether the differences in lipid content between brook trout feeds have an impact on liver function and result in reduced growth performance; and
  2. whether the replacement meals used in the manufacture of low-phosphorus feeds affect the growth of this species.

Methods

All the feeds used (commercial and experimental) were manufactured by Skretting Canada. Table 1 presents the theoretical composition of the six tested feeds with respect to the percentage of replacement meal (poultry by-products or soy protein concentrate) and the protein, lipid and carbohydrate contents.

The research was conducted at two scales of analysis, namely a small-scale laboratory study at Université Laval's Laboratoire regional des sciences aquatiques (LARSA), and a larger-scale study in a commercial fish farming environment. The laboratory experiments were aimed at examining the effects of the different feeds on growth performance, liver function, body composition and phosphorus discharge. The promising experimental feeds then needed to be tested at commercial fish farms to validate the results obtained in the laboratory.

Table 1.
Feed formulations
Experimental feed Theoretical composition (%)
Protein Lipids Carbohydrates
A: Control (Orient LP) 48 24 18
B: Low-lipid 48 18 25
C: Subst. 50% poultry 48 24 18
D: Subst. 100% poultry 48 24 18
E: Subst. 35% soy protein concentrate 48 24 18
F: Subst. 70% soy protein concentrate 48 24 18

At LARSA, the feeds were tested in triplicate, and the fish were kept in experimental tanks under constant conditions (Figure 1). At the fish farms, the fish were kept in commercial tanks under environmental conditions encountered in normal farming situations (Figure 2).

All feeds used in the trials were analyzed at LARSA to determine their actual composition. The fish samples collected at various times during the trials were also analyzed at LARSA. All analyses were conducted according to standard analytical methods. The main data collected included the mean weight of the sampled fish, their composition (to generate the phosphorus balance), and several biological performance parameters, namely feed conversion ratio (FCR), thermal growth coefficient(TGC), condition factor, visceral lipid deposition index and flesh colouration index. The enzymatic activity and glycogen content of the liver were also measured.

Experimental brook trout tanks at LARSA.
Figure 1

Experimental brook trout tanks at LARSA.

Commercial tank at Pisciculture Mont-Tremblant.
Figure 2

Commercial tank at Pisciculture Mont-Tremblant.

Results

In the Laboratory

Analysis of the final mean weights (Figure 3a) of the brook trout sampled at LARSA made it possible to identify the following trend with respect to the feeds: C > B > A > D > E > F. That trend shows the slight advantage of feeds C (50% poultry by-product meal) and B (low lipid content) over the control (feed A) and the other experimental feeds. Feeds E and F (soy protein concentrate substitutes) resulted in the poorest performance.

The use of the experimental feeds did not generate any significant difference in the activity of alanine aminotransferase (ALT) or aspartate aminotransferase (AST), the most important liver enzymes in fish. With respect to liver glycogen, the differences between the treatments were not statistically significant.

The phosphorus balances in this experiment were very interesting from an environmental perspective with respect to phosphorus discharge reduction. As shown in Figure 3b, feeds C, D and E yielded total P discharge values between 4.5 and 4.7 g P/kg fish produced. Figure 3b also shows the relationship between feed P content and total P discharge. Feeds A and B, which both had P contents close to 1.05%, generated the highest discharges. Given that the FCRs were very similar, the difference among the discharges may be necessarily attributable to the difference between the P contents in the feeds.

LARSA – a. Final mean weight of the brook trout after 112 days, and b. phosphorus discharge (bars) and content (•) according to the different experimental feeds (A to F) [The vertical error bars represent the standard error of the mean. Means that do not share the same letter are significantly different (P<0.05)].
Figure 3

LARSA – (a) Final mean weight of the brook trout after 112 days, and (b) phosphorus discharge (bars) and content () according to the different experimental feeds (A to F) [The vertical error bars represent the standard error of the mean. Means that do not share the same letter are significantly different (P<0.05)].

On Commercial Farms

On the basis of the results obtained in the laboratory, it was decided to conduct trials at commercial fish farms with the feeds that showed the greatest potential, namely feeds B (low lipid content) and C (50% poultry by-product meal). The commercial farm results are from Pisciculture Mont-Tremblant. In the spring, the control (feed A) was tested against feed C, and in the fall, feed B was compared to feed C (which had become the new control formulation owing to a modification by Skretting Canada).

Differences were found in the P content of diets A, B, and C, between the lab and field studies. The explanation for these differences is that, for the lab experiment, Skretting Canada had specially manufactured diets B through F; diet A (control) was their commercial Orient LP at the onset of the experiment. Diets A, B, and C that were used for the field experiment came from a different manufacturing lot, which had slightly different compositions (the one exception was diet C in the spring experiment). This explains the difference in P content between the "same diets". The two trials at Pisciculture Mont-Tremblant (Figures 4a and 4c) revealed trends similar to those obtained in the laboratory. Feed C performed better than the control (feed A), although feed B was more advantageous than feed C in the second trial.

With respect to total P discharge, none of the treatments seemed to show any notable difference (Figures 4b and 4d). However, the total P discharge values for the spring trial (Figure 4b) were below 4.0 g P/kg fish produced for the period under study. Such low total P discharge values (in the laboratory and on the farm) are very interesting, because the targets set for the Stratégie de développement durable de l'aquaculture en eau douce au Québec (STRADDAQ) are 4.2 g P discharge in effluent per kilogram of fish.

Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP) Fact Sheet	Issue 8
Figure 4

Pisciculture Mont-Tremblant – Final mean weight of brook trout after 57 (a) and 70 (c) days, and respective phosphorus discharges (bars) and contents () (b and d) according to experimental feeds A, B and C.

Conclusions

Based on the studies conducted in the laboratory and on commercial farms, it was possible to demonstrate that:

The feeds containing soy protein concentrate exhibited some reduction in growth performance and also seemed to generate certain problems related to tank cleanliness.

The formulations of feed B (lower lipid content) and feed C (50% replacement with poultry by-products) produced superior results, for more than one parameter, than the formulation of the control feed (feed A).

However, this study demonstrates the need for further basic biochemical and physiological research to gain a good understanding of the specific qualities and different physiological stages of brook trout, with the ultimate goal of reducing the possible environmental impacts of fish farms while at the same time ensuring that farms can increase their yields.


This ACRDP project (Q-05-01-005) was a collaborative effort between the Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO Science) and the Société de recherche et développement en aquaculture continentale inc. (SORDAC). One of the scientists on this project, Eric Boucher, can be contacted at eric.boucher@ipsfad.ca.

For further information on this and other ACRDP projects, visit: /aquaculture/acrdp-pcrda/index-eng.htm,
http://www.ipsfad.ca/Action-Plan-Documents.html and http://www.mapaq.gouv.qc.ca/fr/peche/aquacultre/conseilsfinanciers/programmes-partenaires/sordac/programmespublications/projetsrecherche/pages/projetsrecherche.aspx (in French only).


Published by:

Aquaculture Science Branch
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0E6

©Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada 2010

ISSN 1919-6849 (Print)
ISSN 1919-6857 (Online)
DFO/2008-1493

French version and alternative formats available through: /aquaculture/acrdp-pcrda/index-fra.htm

Fiches Techniques du Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA)
Numéro 8 - Octobre 2010

Performances commerciales, environnementales et physiologiques des ombles de fontaine nourris avec des moulées à faible teneur en phosphore et à haute énergie

Résumé

Depuis une vingtaine d'années, l'amélioration de la qualité nutritive des moulées utilisées pour la production des salmonidés a permis une réduction très significative des déchets solides, des rejets en phosphore et en azote et ultimement, des coûts de nourrissage. Parallèlement, il a été suggéré que les nouvelles moulées développées, à forte teneur en lipides, auraient des impacts négatifs pour la production de l'omble de fontaine (Salvelinus fontinalis). La présente étude a été exécutée afin de vérifier l'effet de la teneur en lipides des moulées ainsi que l'effet de certaines farines de remplacement, plus faibles en phosphore, sur la physiologie de l'espèce. Les principales conclusions de l'étude montrent que : 1) la substitution de la farine de poisson par de la farine de sous-produits de volaille à 50 % pourrait améliorer légèrement le rendement biologique et environnemental; 2) le concentré de protéine de soya n'est pas une source protéique intéressante pour la substitution des farines de poisson; 3) la moulée à faible teneur en lipides (18 % d'après la formulation alimentaire) semble donner des rendements biologiques et environnementaux légèrement supérieurs à ceux de la moulée témoin à teneur en lipides plus élevée (24 % d'après la formulation alimentaire). Il serait cependant nécessaire d'effectuer plus de recherche en biochimie et en physiologie fondamentales afin de bien comprendre les spécificités de l'omble de fontaine et de ses différents stades physiologiques, dans le but ultime d'améliorer les rendements des piscicultures tout en réduisant les impacts environnementaux.

Introduction

à la fin des années 70, les moulées destinées à la truite étaient relativement faibles en protéines et en lipides, mais riches en amidon. Après avoir réalisé que ces moulée avaient un faible apport nutritif pour les poissons, les proportions en amidon ont diminué significativement. Il en est résulté une production de moulée avec des niveaux plus élevés en éléments digestibles et nutritifs (protéines et lipides). L'amélioration de la qualité des moulées a permis une réduction très significative des déchets solides, des rejets en phosphore et en azote et ultimement, des coûts de nourrissage.

L'omble de fontaine (Salvelinus fontinalis) est une espèce de Salmonidés d'une importance économique majeure pour l'industrie aquacole québécoise. Malgré l'amélioration récente des formulations des moulées, les producteurs de cette espèce se questionnent sur la capacité de la truite à utiliser efficacement les lipides comme source d'énergie. Selon certains, les nouvelles moulées à forte teneur en lipides auraient des impacts négatifs sur la croissance du poisson et pourraient induire des problèmes hépatiques (hypertrophie du foie due à l'accumulation de gras) et de la léthargie.

En conformité avec les actuelles lois environnementales québécoises visant la réduction des rejets d'éléments nutritifs dans les eaux réceptrices, les fabricants de moulée sont maintenant tenus de remplacer, dans la composition de leurs formules, les traditionnelles farines de poisson par des substituts dont la teneur en phosphore est plus faible. Or, l'effet de ces farines de remplacement sur la physiologie et la croissance du poisson ainsi que sur l'efficacité alimentaire des moulées a été peu étudié.

Compte tenu de l'importance économique de l'omble de fontaine et du contexte législatif actuel de réduction des rejets d'éléments nutritifs, la présente étude avait pour but de vérifier :

  1. si les différences en teneur lipidique des moulées destinées à l'omble de fontaine ont un impact sur les fonctions hépatiques et entraînent des performances de croissance réduites ;
  2. si les farines de remplacement, utilisées dans la fabrication de moulée à faible phosphore, affectent la croissance de l'espèce.

Méthodes

Toutes les moulées utilisées (commerciales et expérimentales) ont été fabriquées par Skretting Canada. Le tableau 1 présente la composition théorique des six moulées testées (pourcentage en farines de remplacement, sous-produits de volaille et concentré de protéine de soya), ainsi que leur teneur protéinique, lipidique et glucidique.

La recherche a été effectuée à deux échelles d'analyse, soit une étude à petite échelle, au laboratoire Le laboratoire d'analyse du département des Sciences Animales (LARSA) de l'Université Laval, et une étude à plus grande échelle, en milieu d'élevage commercial. Les études en laboratoire visaient à examiner les effets des différentes moulées sur les performances de croissance, sur les fonctions hépatiques, sur la composition corporelle et sur les rejets de phosphore. Les moulées expérimentales prometteuses devaient ensuite être testées sur des sites commerciaux d'élevage afin de valider les résultats obtenus en laboratoire.

Tableau 1.
Formulation des moulées
Moulée expérimentale Composition théorique (%)
Protéines Lipides Glucides
A: Contrôle (Orient LP) 48 24 18
B: Légère en lipide 48 18 25
C: Subs. 50% Volaille 48 24 18
D: Subs. 100% Volaille 48 24 18
E: Subs. 35% CPS 48 24 18
F: Subs. 70% CPS 48 24 18

Au LARSA de l'Université Laval, les moulées ont été testées en triplicata ; les poissons ont été maintenus en bassin expérimental sous conditions constantes (Figure 1). En ferme piscicole, les poissons ont été maintenus en bassin commercial et les conditions environnementales étaient celles rencontrées en situations normales d'élevage (Figure 2).

LARSA de l'Université Laval a effectué l'analyse de toutes les moulées utilisées lors des essais afin de déterminer leur composition réelle. Les échantillons de poissons prélevés à différents moments durant les essais ont été analysés par le même laboratoire. Toutes les analyses ont été accomplies selon les méthodes d'analyse standard.

Parmi les principales données recueillies, notons le poids moyen des poissons échantillonnés, leur composition afin de générer le bilan de phosphore, ainsi que plusieurs paramètres de performance biologique (facteur de conversion alimentaire (FCA), coefficient d'unité thermique de croissance (CUTC), facteur de condition, indice de dépôt de gras viscéral et indice de coloration de la chair). L'activité enzymatique et la teneur en glycogène du foie ont aussi été mesurées.

Bassins expérimentaux d'ombles de fontaine au LARSA.
Figure 1

Bassins expérimentaux d'ombles de fontaine au LARSA.

Bassin commercial à la pisciculture Mont-Tremblant.
Figure 2

Bassin commercial à la pisciculture Mont-Tremblant.

Résultats

Au laboratoire

L'analyse des poids moyens finaux (Figure 3a) des ombles de fontaine échantillonnés au LARSA a permis d'élaborer la tendance suivante par rapport aux moulées: C > B > A > D > E > F. Cette tendance montre le léger avantage des moulées C (50 % de sous-produits de volailles) et B (faible teneur lipidique) sur la moulée contrôle A et sur les autres moulées expérimentales. Les moulées E et F (substituts de concentré de protéine de soya) montrent les moins bonnes performances.

L'utilisation des moulées expérimentales n'a pas généré une différence significative de l'activité de Alanine Aminotransférase (ALT) et de l'Aspartate Aminotransférase (AST), enzymes hépatiques les plus importantes chez le poisson. Quant au glycogène hépatique, les différences entre les traitements ont été jugées non significatives.

Les bilans de phosphore de cette expérience sont très intéressants dans une optique environnementale de réduction des rejets en phosphore. Ainsi, les moulées C, D et E ont obtenu des valeurs en rejet total de P entre 4,5 et 4,7 g de P/kg de poisson produit (Figure 3b). Cette figure montre également la relation entre la teneur en phosphore des moulées et le phosphore total rejeté. Les moulées A et B, qui avaient toutes deux une teneur en P près de 1,05 %, ont généré les rejets les plus importants. étant donné que les facteurs de conversion alimentaire (FCA) étaient très homogènes, la différence entre les rejets est nécessairement attribuable à la différence entre la teneur en P des moulées.

Laboratoire LARSA (a) Poids moyens finaux des ombles de fontaine après 112 jours, (b) et rejet (barres) et teneur (•) en phosphore en fonction des différentes moulées expérimentales (A à F). [Les barres d'erreur verticales présentent l'écart-type de la moyenne] [Les moyennes qui ne partagent pas les mêmes lettres sont significativement différentes (P<0,05)].
Figure 3

Laboratoire LARSA (a) Poids moyens finaux des ombles de fontaine après 112 jours, (b) et rejet (barres) & teneur () en phosphore en fonction des différentes moulées expérimentales (A à F). [Les barres d'erreur verticales présentent l'écart-type de la moyenne] [Les moyennes qui ne partagent pas les mêmes lettres sont significativement différentes (P<0,05)].

Sur ferme commerciale

En se basant sur les résultats obtenus en laboratoire, il a été décidé de faire des essais sur les fermes piscicoles avec les moulées qui ont montré le meilleur potentiel, soit les moulées B (faible teneur lipidique) et C (50 % de sous-produits de volailles). En raison de contraintes logistiques, les protocoles expérimentaux ont dû être modifiés en cours de recherche. Ainsi, les résultats sur ferme commerciale proviennent essentiellement de la Pisciculture Mont-Tremblant. Au printemps, la moulée témoin A a été testée par rapport à la moulée C et à l'automne, la moulée B a été comparée à la moulée C (devenue nouvelle formulation témoin en raison d'une modification par Skretting Canada).

Des différences dans la teneur en P des regimes A, B et C ont été relevées entre les expériences en laboratoire et sur le terrain. L'explication de ces différences réside dans le fait que, pour l'expérience en laboratoire, Skretting Canada avait fabriqué spécifiquement les régimes B à F. La formulation commerciale Orient LP de cette entreprise constituait le régime A (régime témoin) au début de l'expérience. Les régimes A, B et C utilisés pour l'expérience sur le terrain provenaient d'un lot différent, de composition légèrement différente (le régime C de l'expérience menée au printemps était la seule exception). Ceci explique la différence dans la teneur en P entre les « mêmes régimes ».Les deux essais à la Pisciculture Mont-Tremblant (Figure 4a &amp; 4c) ont montré des tendances similaires à celles obtenues en laboratoire. La moulée C a mieux performé que la moulée témoin A ; par contre, c'est la moulée B qui a été plus avantageuse que la moulée C lors du deuxième essai.

Pour ce qui est du phosphore total rejeté, aucun traitement ne semble montrer de différences notables (Figure 4b &amp; 4d). Par contre, pour l'essai du printemps (Figure 4b), les valeurs de phosphore total rejeté ont été en deçà de 4,0 g de P/kg de poisson produit pour la période étudiée. Des valeurs de P total rejeté aussi basses (en laboratoire et sur la ferme) sont très intéressantes, car les cibles fixées pour la Stratégie de développement durable de l'aquaculture en eau douce au Québec (STRADDAQ) sont de 4,2 g de P rejeté dans l'effluent/kg de poisson.

Fiches Techniques du Programme coopératif de recherche et développement en aquaculture (PCRDA)  Numéro 8
Figure 4

Pisciculture Mont-Tremblant _ Poids moyens finaux des ombles de fontaine après 57 jours (a) et 70 jours (c) et rejet (barres) & teneur () en phosphore respectifs (b et d) en fonction des moulées expérimentales A, B et C.

Conclusions

En se basant sur les résultats de l'étude menée en laboratoire et en ferme commerciale, il a été possible de démontrer que :

Les moulées contenant un concentré de protéine de soya ont montré une certaine baisse en performance de croissance et ont semblé aussi générer certains problèmes reliés à la salubrité des bassins.

Les formulations des moulées B (moins riche en lipides) et C (à 50 % de remplacement de sous-produits de volaille) ont toutefois montré des résultats, pour plus d'un paramètre, supérieurs aux résultats obtenus par la formulation de la moulée témoin A.

Cette étude montre cependant la nécessité d'effectuer des recherches supplémentaires en biochimie et en physiologie fondamentales afin de bien comprendre les spécificités de l'omble de fontaine et de ses différents stades physiologiques, dans le but ultime de réduire les possibles impacts environnementaux des piscicultures tout en assurant à ces dernières d'augmenter leurs rendements.


Ce projet (Q-05-01-005) du PCRDA a été le fruit d'un effort coopératif de Pêches et Océans Canada (Secteur des sciences)et de la Société de recherche et développement en aquaculture continentale Inc. (SORDAC). Il est possible de communiquer avec un des scientifiques de ce projet, Eric Boucher, à eric.boucher@ipsfad.ca.

Pour un complément d'information au sujet de ce projet ou d'autres projets du PCRDA, consultez : /aquaculture/acrdp-pcrda/index-fra.htm,
http://www.ipsfad.ca/Action-Plan-Documents.html (disponible en anglais seulement) et http://www.mapaq.gouv.qc.ca/fr/peche/aquacultre/conseilsfinanciers/programmes-partenaires/sordac/programmespublications/projetsrecherche/pages/projetsrecherche.aspx


Publié par:

Pêches et Océans Canada
Direction des sciences de l'aquaculture
Ottawa(Ontario) K1A 0E6

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada 2010

ISSN 1919-6849 (version imprimée)
ISSN 1919-6857 (version en ligne)
MPO/2008-1493

La version anglaise et autres versions peuvent être consultées au: /aquaculture/acrdp-pcrda/index-eng.htm