Blue shark research

Prionace glauca

Species profile

For more information on blue sharks, please visit the blue shark page.

Blue shark

Despite their abundance in world oceans, the blue shark (Prionace glauca) has received relatively little attention in past years. Until recently, nothing was known of its population health in Canadian waters, yet it is frequently caught by both commercial and recreational fishers. Our research was designed to improve our understanding of blue sharks in Canada by developing a detailed overview of blue shark status in Canadian waters. We are also working cooperatively with scientific agencies from other North Atlantic countries to produce a first North Atlantic-wide stock assessment for blue shark. To do this, we must first determine the lifespan and growth rate of blue sharks, as well as their size and age at sexual maturity. A second goal has been to determine the mortality rate associated with various fisheries, both intended and unintended. This would include mortality due to shark fishing derbies and sport fishing. Finally, all of this information was to be integrated into a single view of population health.

Determination of age and growth rate

Numerous blue shark vertebrae have been sectioned in the past two years, revealing growth bands which are believed to form yearly. The recent effort has been to determine the best method for revealing these growth bands. Our research has shown that whole vertebrae, enhanced with image analysis methods, provide the same age estimate as the more time-consuming vertebral section method. This work has now been published (MacNeil and Campana 2003).

The photos below show an example of a whole and sectioned blue shark vertebra, enhanced with the image analysis system. Yearly growth bands appear as paired light and dark bands.

Whole vertebrae and vertebrae section of a blue shark

Distribution in Canadian waters

Figure 3: Distribution of blue sharks caught by commercial fishermen.

Figure 3: Distribution of blue sharks caught by commercial fishermen.

Blue sharks are common in Canadian waters, particularly in the summer and fall months. In the map below (adapted from Campana et al. 2004 (CSAS resdocs - 2004/069)), the distribution of some of the blue sharks caught by commercial fishermen is shown. Note that each symbol corresponds to many sharks, with the size of the symbol proportional to the total weight of the sharks as shown in the legend.

Impact of shark derbies on the health of the blue shark population

Shark fishing derbies are held in waters off Nova Scotia during the months of July, August and September. These are commercial or community-sponsored events, and are not sponsored by DFO or the Shark Research Lab. While there are social and economic benefits to a healthy recreational shark fishery, it is important that the derbies not unduly impact the health of the population. In other words, the populations of each of the shark species must be conserved at safe levels.

Each and every shark caught at a shark derby has been examined and measured by members of the Shark Research Lab. An analysis has now been completed to determine the impact of shark derbies on the blue shark population (Campana et al. 2004) (CSAS resdocs - 2004/069), and on the overall health of the blue shark population (Campana et al. 2006). The analysis looked at year to year trends in the catch rates, size composition, maturity at size and mortality rates, both in the derby catches and in commercial bycatches. The results indicated that blue shark abundance has declined, and mortality has increased, in the past decade. However, derby catches were a minor component of overall mortality (about 2%) compared to accidental bycatches by tuna and swordfish fishers. Blue sharks are highly migratory - migrations across the North Atlantic are common - and most of the blue shark mortality takes place outside of Canadian waters. Therefore, international action will be required to reduce mortality rates. In the interim, the Shark Research Lab will continue to monitor the health of the population.

Diet

A quantitative analysis examining the stomach contents of 706 blue sharks caught in recreational shark fishing tournaments (between 1999 and 2001) was conducted to determine dietary differences based on sex, maturity and tournament location.

Our results indicate that blue sharks off Nova Scotia feed primarily on pelagic fish (mackerel and herring) and groundfish (cod and lumpfish). Differences existed between the diets of immature and mature sharks of both sexes suggesting sexual segregation during feeding. As well, the frequency of pelagic fish and groundfish present in stomachs changed across sampling years. Similar to porbeagles, it was found that blue sharks consume small bits of garbage and debris floating in the water column. This work has now been published (McCord and Campana, 2003).

Satellite transmitters and hooking mortality

Most of the blue sharks caught in the North Atlantic are caught accidentally during commercial fishing operations for species such as swordfish and tuna. Almost all of the blue sharks are released at sea (including the 10-20% that are already dead), but scientists around the world currently assume that many of the remainder die after release. The exact proportion that die is unknown, but this number is important: if most of the released sharks survive, there is no great problem. But if most die after release, bycatch mortality may be the major cause of the observed population decline.

To determine the mortality rate of blue sharks caught and released by commercial longliners, archival satellite pop-up tags were applied to a small percentage of the sharks caught during normal commercial swordfishing operations. These computerized tags record the depth and temperature of the water every few minutes, and thus record any evidence of death (sinking to the ocean bottom or floating to the surface). At a pre-programmed date (usually 3-6 months after tagging), the tag releases from the shark, floats to the ocean surface, and then transmits all of the stored data to an orbiting satellite. The data is then sent to our lab, where we determine the location and swimming history of the shark as well as whether or not it died.

Our research indicated that overall blue shark bycatch mortality in the pelagic longline fishery was 35%, while the estimated post-release mortality for sharks that were released alive was 19%. All healthy sharks survived, while 33% of those that were badly injured or gut hooked subsequently died. Survival time models indicated that 95% of the mortality occurred within 11 d of release, indicative of death by trauma rather than starvation. The annual blue shark catch in the North Atlantic was estimated at about 84 000 t, of which 57 000 t is discarded. A preliminary estimate of 20 000 t of annual dead discards for North Atlantic blue sharks is similar to that of the reported nominal catch, and could substantially change the perception of population health if incorporated into a population-level stock assessment. This work has been published (Campana et al. 2009). A companion article compares the discard mortality rate in the Atlantic with that in the Pacific (Campana et al. 2009c).

Recreational shark fishing uses rod and reels, rather than longlines. Therefore, the post-release mortality of recreationally-caught blue sharks is likely to be different than that determined for pelagic longliners. Beginning in 2011, we have begun to deploy 20 satellite tags on injured and healthy blue sharks caught by recreational fishermen. The aim is to quantify post release mortality from recreational shark fishing.

Click on the images below to see blue sharks being tagged with satellite tags (Note: these are high resolution images, so they may take somewhat longer to display).

Blue sharks being tagged with satellite tags

Figure 4: Tagging a blue shark with an archival satellite pop-up tag

Figure 4: Tagging a blue shark with an archival satellite pop-up tag

Figure 6: Blue shark caught by rod and reel.

Figure 6: Blue shark caught by rod and reel.

Blue shark migrations, satellite tags and overwintering grounds

Although the blue shark is known to be highly migratory, its migration pathways towards the overwintering grounds remain poorly understood. We used archival satellite pop-up tags to track 23 blue sharks over a mean period of 88 days as they departed the coastal waters of North America in the autumn. Within 1œ2 days of entering the Gulf Stream (median date of 21 Oct), all sharks initiated a striking diel vertical migration, taking them from a mean nighttime depth of 74 m to a mean depth of 412 m during the day as they appeared to pursue vertically migrating squid and fish prey. Although functionally blind at depth, calculations suggest that there would be a 2.5-fold thermoregulatory advantage to swimming and feeding in the markedly cooler deep waters, even if there was any reduced foraging success associated with the extreme depth. Since the Gulf Stream current speeds are reduced at depth, we used a detailed circulation model of the North Atlantic to examine the influence of the diving behaviour on the advection experienced by the sharks. However, there was no indication that the shark diving resulted in a significant modification of their net migratory pathway. The relative abundance of deep-diving sharks, swordfish, and sperm whales in the Gulf Stream and adjacent waters suggests that it may serve as a key winter feeding ground for large pelagic predators in the North Atlantic. This work has been published (Campana et al. 2011).

Population dynamics

Blue sharks appear to be one of the most common of the large shark species in Atlantic Canada. Although caught frequently by recreational fishers, they are also caught unintentionally by commercial fishers (as bycatch). An analysis tabled in the fall of 2002 estimated that the biomass of blue sharks caught as bycatch in commercial fisheries ranged between 1000-2000 mt per year. Thus the unreported catch was much greater than the landed catch. The complete analysis is presented in Campana et al. (2002) (CSAS resdocs - 2002/101). Updated bycatch estimates were provided in 2011 (Campana et al. 2011 (CSAS resdocs - 2002/101-eng.htm">Campana et al. (2002) (CSAS resdocs - 2011/067-eng.html">Campana et al. 2011 (CSAS resdocs - 2002/101). Updated bycatch estimates were provided in 2011 ((Campana et al. 2006). The analysis looked at year to year trends in the catch rates, size composition, maturity at size and mortality rates, both in the derby catches and in commercial bycatches. The results indicated that blue shark abundance had declined slightly, and mortality had increased, in the past decade. More recent analyses do not show evidence of a decline (Fowler and Campana 2008). However, blue sharks are highly migratory, and it appears that there is a single population in the North Atlantic that is shared by multiple countries. Therefore, international action by ICCAT will be required to regulate blue shark population mortality.

Conventional tagging studies

Figure 8: Blue sharks tagged or recaptured between 1971-2002 in Canadian waters under the NMFS tagging program.

Figure 8: Blue sharks tagged or recaptured between 1971-2002 in Canadian waters under the NMFS tagging program.

The Shark Research Laboratory cooperates with the U.S. shark tagging program in Narragansett, Rhode Island.. Under this program, cooperating fishers (primarily sports fishers) in Canada insert darted tags into blue sharks caught in our waters, some of which are later recaptured. In the figure below from Campana et al. (2004) (CSAS resdocs - 2004/069), some of these tag-recapture results are shown. Many of the blue sharks tagged in Canadian waters are later recaptured in the mid-Atlantic, or even as far away as Africa. In contrast, many of the blue sharks caught in our waters with tags in them were initially tagged in U.S. waters. Taken as a whole, these results demonstrate that blue sharks are highly migratory, and probably do not remain in Canadian waters for more than one season at a time.

Publications

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Recherche sur les requins bleus

Prionace glauca

Profil d'espece

Pour les renseignements sur les requins bleus, visitez la page requins bleus.

requin bleu

Malgré son abondance dans les océans du monde, le requin bleu (Prionace glauca) a suscité relativement peu d'intérêt jusqu'ici. Jusqu'à tout récemment, on ne savait rien de l'état de sa population dans les eaux canadiennes, pourtant c'est un animal qui est fréquemment capturé tant par les pêcheurs commerciaux que par les pêcheurs sportifs. Notre recherche était conçue pour améliorer notre connaissance du requin bleu au Canada en dressant un aperçu détaillé de sa situation dans les eaux canadiennes. Nous travaillons aussi en collaboration avec des organes scientifiques d'autres pays de l'Atlantique Nord pour produire une première évaluation des stocks de requin bleu à l'échelle de l'Atlantique Nord. À cette fin, il nous faut d'abord établir la longévité et le taux de croissance des requins bleus, ainsi que leur taille et leur âge à la maturité sexuelle. Un deuxième objectif consiste à déterminer les taux de mortalité délibérée et non délibérée associés à diverses pêches. Cela comprendra la mortalité dans les concours de pêche et dans la pêche récréative du requin. Enfin, toute cette information sera intégrée en une perspective de l'état de la population.

Détermination de l'âge et du taux de croissance

Au cours des deux dernières années, on a procédé à de nombreuses coupes transversales de vertèbres de requin bleu, qui ont révélé des bandes de croissance qu'on croit annuelles. Récemment, on s'est efforcé de trouver le meilleur moyen d'interpréter ces bandes de croissance. Nos travaux ont révélé que l'étude de vertèbres entières, rehaussée par des méthodes d'analyse d'images, produit la même estimation d'âge que la méthode des coupes transversales, qui est plus chronophage. Cette recherche est maintenant publiée (MacNeil et Campana 2003).

Les photos présentées ci-dessous illustrent une vertèbre entière et une coupe transversale de vertèbre de requin bleu, rehaussées grâce au système d'analyse d'images. Les anneaux de croissance annuels apparaissent par paires d'anneaux pâles et foncés.

Vertèbres entières et en vertèbres des coupe d'un requin bleu

Répartition dans les eaux canadiennes

Figure 3 : Répartition des requins bleus capturés par des pêcheurs commerciaux.

Figure 3 : Répartition des requins bleus capturés par des pêcheurs commerciaux.

Le requin bleu est courant dans les eaux canadiennes, surtout au cours des mois de l'été et de l'automne. La répartition de certains requins bleus capturés par des pêcheurs commerciaux est illustrée sur la carte ci-dessous (adaptée de Campana et al. 2004 (SCCS docrech - 2004/069)). À noter que chaque symbole correspond à de nombreux requins et que la taille du symbole est proportionnelle au poids total des requins, comme dans la légende.

Effet des tournois de pêche sur l'état de la population de requins bleus

Les tournois de pêche du requin dans les eaux de la Nouvelle-Écosse ont lieu en juillet, août et septembre. Ces tournois sont de nature commerciale ou communautaire et ils ne sont parrainés ni par le MPO, ni par le Laboratoire de recherche sur les requins. S'il est vrai qu'une saine pêche récréative du requin a des avantages sociaux et économiques, il faut cependant que les tournois de pêche ne nuisent pas indûment au bon état de la population. En d'autres mots, la population de chaque espèce de requin doit être maintenue à un niveau qui ne représente aucun danger.

Chaque requin qui a été capturé dans le cadre d'un tournoi de pêche a été examiné et mesuré par des membres du personnel du Laboratoire de recherche sur les requins. Une analyse de l'effet des tournois de pêche du requin sur la population de requin bleu (Campana et al. 2004) (SCCS docrech - 2004/069) et sur l'état général de cette dernière vient d'être terminée (Campana et al. 2006). On y examine les tendances des taux de prises, de la composition des prises selon la taille, de la maturité selon la taille et des taux de mortalité d'année en année, cela en ce qui concerne tant les requins capturés dans des tournois de pêche que ceux qui sont pris accessoirement dans des pêches commerciales. Il ressort de cette analyse que l'abondance du requin bleu a diminué et que sa mortalité a augmenté au cours de la dernière décennie. Toutefois, les prises des tournois ne sont qu'un facteur mineur (environ 2 %) dans la mortalité totale comparativement aux prises accessoires des pêcheurs de thon et d'espadon. Le requin bleu est un animal très migrateur - il effectue couramment des migrations dans tout l'Atlantique Nord - et la mortalité de ce requin survient surtout en dehors des eaux canadiennes. Réduire les taux de mortalité nécessitera donc une intervention internationale. En attendant, le Laboratoire de recherche sur les requins continuera de surveiller l'état de la population.

Alimentation

On a procédé à une analyse quantitative des contenus stomacaux de 706 requins bleus capturés dans des concours de pêche récréative du requin (entre 1999 et 2001) pour déterminer les différences d'alimentation selon le sexe, la maturité et le lieu des concours.

Nos résultats révèlent qu'au large de la Nouvelle-Écosse, les requins bleus se nourrissent surtout de poissons pélagiques (maquereau et hareng) et de poissons de fond (morue et lompe). Des différences existaient entre l'alimentation des individus immatures et des individus matures chez les deux sexes, ce qui permet de croire à une ségrégation sexuelle dans la phase d'alimentation. Par ailleurs, la fréquence des poissons pélagiques et des poissons de fond présents dans les estomacs changeaient selon les années d'échantillonnage. On a constaté que, comme le requin-taupe commun, le requin bleu consommait de petits morceaux de détritus et de débris flottant dans la colonne d'eau. Cette recherche est maintenant publiée (McCord et Campana 2003).

Émetteurs via satellite et mortalité par ferrage

La majorité des requins bleus capturés dans l'Atlantique Nord le sont accidentellement dans le cadre d'activités de pêche commerciale d'espèces comme l'espadon et le thon. La quasi-totalité des requins bleus est remise à l'eau (y compris les 10 à 20 % qui sont déjà morts), mais les scientifiques du monde entier tiennent pour acquis qu'un bon nombre de ceux qui sont encore vivants meurent après leur remise à l'eau. La proportion exacte de requins qui meurent ainsi reste inconnue, mais c'est une donnée importante. En effet, si la plupart des requins remis à l'eau survivent, il n'y a pas de problème majeur. Toutefois, si la plupart d'entre eux meurent, la mortalité par capture accessoire pourrait être la principale cause du déclin observé dans la population.

Pour déterminer le taux de mortalité des requins bleus capturés et remis à l'eau dans la pêche commerciale et dans la pêche récréative, on marque un petit pourcentage des requins capturés dans le cadre d'activités normales de pêche commerciale ou récréative à l'espadon au moyen d'étiquettes collectrices de données qui sont autodétachables et émettrices. Ces étiquettes informatisées enregistrent la profondeur et la température de l'eau à une fréquence de quelques minutes, révélant ainsi tout signe de mortalité (engloutissement au fond ou flottaison à la surface). À une date préprogrammée (se situant habituellement à 3 à 6 mois après le marquage), l'étiquette se détache du requin, flotte à la surface de l'océan et transmet toutes les données qu'elle a enregistrées à un satellite en orbite. Les données obtenues sont envoyées à notre laboratoire, qui détermine ensuite où se trouvait le requin, quels ont été ses déplacements et si l'animal est mort ou non.

Nos recherches ont indiqué que la mortalité générale du requin bleu provoquée par des prises accessoires dans le cadre de la pêche de poissons pélagiques à la palangre était de 35 %, tandis que la mortalité estimée après la remise à l'eau pour les requins qui ont été remis à l'eau vivants était de 19 %. Tous les requins en bonne santé ont survécu, tandis que 33 % des requins gravement blessés ou éventrés par ferrage sont morts par la suite. Les modèles de durée de survie ont indiqué que 95 % de la mortalité avait lieu dans les 11 jours suivant la capture, ce qui indique une mort par traumatisme et non par inanition. La capture annuelle de requins bleus dans l'Atlantique Nord a été estimée à environ 84 000 tonnes dont 57 000 tonnes ont été remises à l'eau. Une estimation préliminaire de 20 000 tonnes de remises à l'eau annuelle de requins morts dans l'Atlantique Nord est semblable à celle de la prise nominale enregistrée, et pourrait changer de manière importante la perception de l'état de la population si elle était intégrée dans le cadre d'une évaluation des stocks à l'échelle de la population. Cette recherche est maintenant publiée (Campana et al. 2009). Un autre article compare le taux de mortalité après remise à l'eau dans l'Atlantique par rapport au Pacifique (Campana et al. 2009c).

Dans le cadre de pêche récréative au requin, on utilisait une canne et un moulinet plutôt qu'une palangre. Par conséquent, la mortalité après remise à l'eau de requins bleus capturés dans le cadre d'une pêche récréative est probablement différente de celle déterminée pour les palangriers pélagiques. Depuis 2011, nous avons commencé à déployer 20 étiquettes émettrices sur des requins blessés et en bonne santé capturés par des pêcheurs sportifs. Nous voulons ainsi quantifier la mortalité après remise à l'eau dans le cadre de la pêche sportive au requin.

Cliquez sur les images qui suivent pour voir des requins en train d'être munis d'étiquettes émettrices. (Remarque : l'affichage de ces images à haute résolution peut prendre un certain temps.)

Requins en train d'être munis d'étiquettes émettrices

Figure 4 : Marquage d'un requin bleu au moyen d'une étiquette collectrice de données détachable et émettrice.

Figure 4 : Marquage d'un requin bleu au moyen d'une étiquette collectrice de données détachable et émettrice.

Figure 6 : Requin bleu capturé à la ligne

Figure 6 : Requin bleu capturé à la ligne

Migrations du requin bleu, étiquettes satellites et aire d'hivernage.

Même si l'on sait que le requin bleu est une espèce très migratrice, on connaît peu ses voies migratoires en direction des aires d'hivernage. Nous avons utilisé des étiquettes collectrices de données qui sont autodétachables et émettrices pour suivre 23 requins bleus durant une période moyenne de 88 jours, lorsqu'ils quittaient les eaux côtières de l'Amérique du Nord en automne. Dans les deux jours suivant leur entrée dans le Gulf Stream (date moyenne du 21 octobre), tous les requins ont entrepris une nette migration verticale journalière à une profondeur moyenne de 74 mètres de nuit et de 412 m de jour tandis qu'ils semblaient poursuivre des calmars et des poissons migrant de manière verticale. Bien qu'ils soient aveugles en profondeur, les calculs laissent entendre qu'il y aurait un avantage thermorégulateur 2,5 fois supérieur à nager et à se nourrir dans les eaux profondes nettement plus froides, même si la quête de nourriture était réduite en raison des profondeurs extrêmes. Étant donné que la vitesse des courants du Gulf Stream est réduite en profondeur, nous avons utilisé un modèle de circulation détaillé de l'Atlantique Nord pour examiner l'influence du comportement de plongée sur l'advection ressentie par les requins. Toutefois, rien ne semblait indiquer que la plongée du requin modifiait de manière significative sa voie migratoire nette. L'abondance relative des requins, des espadons et des cachalots plongeant en profondeur dans le Gulf Stream et dans les eaux adjacentes laisse entendre que le Gulf Stream peut servir d'aire d'alimentation hivernale clé pour les grands prédateurs pélagiques de l'Atlantique Nord. Cette recherche est maintenant publiée (Campana et al. 2011).

Dynamique des populations

Le requin bleu est apparemment un des grands requins les plus courants au Canada atlantique. Bien que les pêcheurs sportifs le capturent fréquemment, il est aussi pêché involontairement par les pêcheurs commerciaux (prises accessoires). Dans une analyse produite en automne 2002, on estimait que la biomasse de requins bleus capturés comme prises accessoires dans les pêches commerciales était de l'ordre de 1 000 à 2 000 tm par an. C'est-à-dire qu'il y a bien plus de prises non déclarées que de prises débarquées. L'analyse complète est présentée dans Campana et al. (2002) (SCCS docrech - 2002/101). Des mises à jour des estimations de prises accessoires ont été fournies en 2011 (Campana et al. 2011 (SCCS docrech - 2002/101-fra.htm">Campana et al. (2002) (SCCS docrech - 2011/067-fra.html">Campana et al. 2011 (SCCS docrech - 2002/101). Des mises à jour des estimations de prises accessoires ont été fournies en 2011 ((Campana et al. 2006). On y examine les tendances des taux de prises, de la composition des prises selon la taille, de la maturité selon la taille et des taux de mortalité d'année en année, cela en ce qui concerne tant les requins capturés dans des tournois de pêche que ceux qui sont pris accessoirement dans des pêches commerciales. Les résultats révèlent que l'abondance du requin bleu a diminué et que la mortalité a augmenté au cours de la dernière décennie. Des analyses plus récentes ne révèlent pas de déclin (Fowler et Campana 2008). Toutefois, les requins bleus sont très migrateurs et il semble que dans l'Atlantique Nord il n'en existe qu'une seule population, partagée par de multiples pays. Il faudra donc une intervention internationale de la CICTA pour réduire la mortalité au sein de cette population de requins bleus.

Études de marquage conventionnelles

Figure 8: Requins bleus marqués ou recapturés entre 1971 et 2002 dans les eaux canadiennes dans le cadre du programme de marquage du National Marine Fisheries Service

Figure 8: Requins bleus marqués ou recapturés entre 1971 et 2002 dans les eaux canadiennes dans le cadre du programme de marquage du National Marine Fisheries Service

Des chercheurs du laboratoire de recherche sur les requins collaborent avec les responsables du programme américain de marquage de requins à Narragansett, au Rhode Island. Dans le cadre de ce programme, des pêcheurs collaborateurs du Canada (principalement des pêcheurs sportifs) mettent des étiquettes à dard sur les requins bleus qu'ils prennent dans nos eaux avant de les relâcher, certains d'entre eux étant recapturés plus tard. La figure ci-dessous, de Campana et al. (2004) (SCCS docrech - 2004/069), montre quelques données sur la recapture des requins marqués. De nombreux requins bleus qui sont marqués dans les eaux canadiennes sont plus tard recapturés dans le centre de l'Atlantique, voire même aussi loin qu'en Afrique. En revanche, de nombreux requins bleus capturés dans nos eaux avec des étiquettes sur eux ont d'abord été marqués dans les eaux des États-Unis. Dans l'ensemble, ces résultats démontrent que les requins bleus migrent beaucoup et ne restent probablement pas dans les eaux canadiennes pour plus d'une saison à la fois.

Publications

Signaler un problème ou une erreur sur cette page
Veuillez sélectionner toutes les cases qui s'appliquent :
Date de modification :