Language selection

Search

Coastal Environmental Baseline Program projects in the Port of Saint John, New Brunswick

Description Timeframe Funding amount

Establishing a nekton biodiversity baseline for estuarine environments in southwestern New Brunswick

Funding recipient: Eastern Charlotte Waterways Inc.

Project summary: The project will involve sampling baseline data of fish and nekton (actively swimming aquatic organisms). Researchers will evaluate the fish community in multiple habitats, including saltmarshes, in the Musquash Estuary Marine Protected Area (MPA); conduct multi-year assessments of the potential impacts of human sources of contamination on the health of the estuary across multiple habitats; and compare the area's fish community to reference locations outside of Musquash MPA.

4 years $208,000

Establishing baselines for the sources and impacts of underwater noise in Saint John Harbour

Funding recipient: Eastern Charlotte Waterways Inc.

Project summary: This project will establish a series of baseline measurements of underwater noise in and around Saint John Harbour. These measurements will characterize the overall soundscape, the most prominent sources of industrial shipping noise and the impact of noise on the presence and communication space of baleen whales. Researchers will examine underwater noise data, which was collected by Eastern Charlotte Waterways near the entrance to Saint John Harbour in 2016 to 2017. The raw data will be analyzed to form a credible baseline for underwater noise levels and impacts. These baseline measurements will provide greater understanding and support decision-making to support marine mammal biodiversity in Saint John Harbour.

1 year $111,820

Mapping and ground-truthing of fish harvesters' knowledge of surface currents in the Bay of Fundy area

Funding recipient: Fundy North Fishermen's Association

Project summary: This project will improve information available to decision-makers on surface currents in the Bay of Fundy. Fish harvesters' knowledge can fill some gaps in oceanographic data by documenting onsite observations (ground-truthing) and using that knowledge to direct a targeted drifter study. There are 4 components to this study: 

  1. mapping fish harvesters' knowledge of surface currents in the Bay of Fundy (with a focus on Saint John Harbour)
  2. developing hypothetical story maps by fish harvesters and scientists
  3. conducting surface drifter studies (with drifters released in Saint John Harbour) to ground-truth current knowledge
  4. conducting a workshop with fish harvesters and oceanographers to discuss results and reporting
4 years $306,185

Quantitative baseline survey of ichthyoplankton, invertebrate zooplankton and microplastics in Saint John Harbour

Funding recipient: Huntsman Marine Science Centre

Project summary: Researchers will gather baseline data on the zooplankton communities of Saint John Harbour. This data is highly important to understanding ecosystem relationships in the study area, as zooplankton, together with phytoplankton, form the basis of the food chain. The microplastics component will provide baseline data on environmental contaminants resulting from human activities, the first step in understanding their impacts on the Saint John Harbour ecosystem. 

1 year $83,917

Community-based monitoring in Saint John Harbour

Funding recipient: Atlantic Coastal Action Program (ACAP) Saint John Inc.

Project summary: Researchers will gather data on various water quality parameters in nearshore areas of Saint John Harbour. They will also conduct lab analyses of collected water samples for fecal coliforms, total suspended solids, orthophosphate and ammonia. Fish communities will be assessed through fyke net and seine sampling in nearshore and estuarine environments.

4 years $338,450

Characterizing harbour seal populations in Saint John Harbour

Funding recipient: Atlantic Coastal Action Program (ACAP) Saint John Inc.

Project summary: This project will investigate the current population of harbour seals in Saint John Harbour and its nearshore and estuarine environments. Researchers will collect data on seasonal changes in harbour seal numbers and distribution along the southern New Brunswick coast. They will employ standard observational aerial and shipboard surveys and satellite-tag individual harbour seals to monitor their population in the study area.

3 years $150,775

Characterizing invasive parasite occurrence and pathways in threatened migratory fish in Saint John Harbour

Funding recipient: North Shore Micmac District Council – Anqotum Resource Management

Project summary: Researchers will collect baseline data on invasive parasites in threatened migratory fish, focusing on the infection of American eels with swim bladder parasites and Atlantic salmon with external ectoparasites. Such parasites are seen as important indicators of environmental health and human impacts in Saint John Harbour. The migratory species under consideration are culturally significant to the North Shore Micmac. The data obtained through sampling various life stages in target species and through stable isotope analysis will assist in providing a more complete picture of the spatial and temporal aspects of infection in the Saint John River. This data will also help quantify the occurrence of parasitic infection and its impact on migratory host fish.

4 years $313,224

Assessing baseline shorebird and seabird data in the Port of Saint John area

Funding recipient: Nature NB

Project summary: This project will involve conducting shorebird and seabird surveys in various marine, coastal and shoreline environments, such as Saint's Rest Marsh and Beach, Musquash Estuary and Manawagonish Island. These Important Bird and Biodiversity Areas (IBAs) overlap with coastal areas managed by the Nature Trust of New Brunswick, while the Nature Conservancy of Canada owns a significant portion of the marsh, shoreline and coastal areas in the Musquash Estuary Marine Protected Area. Many shorebirds and seabirds rely on coastal IBAs and other areas for feeding, migration and breeding. Through updated shorebird and seabird surveys, this project will advance our collective knowledge of the importance of these habitats and our ability to evaluate the ecological health of marine and coastal areas in and around the Port of Saint John.

3 years $191,000

Characterizing conserved and priority coastal and tidal wetlands in and around the Port of Saint John

Funding recipient: Nature Conservancy of Canada

Project summary: This project will involve collecting comprehensive baseline data on the state of coastal and tidal wetlands in the Port of Saint John. The data will be collected according to the Wetland Ecosystem Services Protocol for Atlantic Canada (WESP-AC), a standardised method for rapidly assessing important natural functions of coastal and tidal wetlands in a study area. The baseline data will enable researchers to assess the current condition of wetlands and their ecosystem benefits to support future management decisions on wetlands.

4 years $86,940

Diversity and abundance of aquatic invasive species and linkage to feeding ecology of the Atlantic Wolffish in the Bay of Fundy

Funding recipient: Maliseet Nation Conservation Council

Project summary: This project aims to investigate the basic ecology of the Atlantic Wolffish through the first known directed study of the species in the Bay of Fundy. The study will focus on behaviour, movements and habitat preferences of the Atlantic Wolffish as well as the potential effects of aquatic invasive species on prey availability. SCUBA surveys will identify tunicates and coffin box (marine invertebrate species) and their approximate colony size and proximity to known wolffish habitat. Stable isotopes from wolffish tissues will be measured for their estimated carbon-to-nitrogen ratio in order to evaluate diet contents. Satellite telemetry will provide additional information on the behaviour and movement patterns of wolffish.

4 years $404,686

Collection of baseline information on water column conditions and contaminants using caged blue mussels in Saint John Harbour

Funding recipient: Wolastoqey Nation in New Brunswick

Project summary: This project will involve collecting baseline information on the marine biological environment and contaminants by measuring the growth, survival, reproduction and contaminant levels of caged blue mussels. The baseline data collected will help to better understand water quality conditions and the potential effects of contaminants on the marine environment and species living in Saint John Harbour. The project will develop the capacity of Wolastoqey (Maliseet) communities to participate more meaningfully in marine ecosystem co-management and planning to address concerns about cumulative impacts on the marine environment. Wolastoqey fisheries crews will be involved in fieldwork activities and have opportunities for training in field and laboratory techniques.

3 years $189,845

Quantifying the presence of microplastics in the digestive tract of American Lobster sampled in Saint John Harbour

Funding recipient: Passamaquoddy Recognition Group Inc.

Project summary: This project will establish a baseline understanding of the amount of microplastics consumed by American Lobster, an important traditional food source for the Peskotomuhkati Nation. Microplastics may have an impact on the overall health of marine species and ecosystems, which the Peskotomuhkati have great interest in studying and protecting. This baseline information will guide future endeavours and research priorities for the Peskotomuhkati regarding lobster science and microplastics. The project aims to foster relationships between the Peskotomuhkati Nation, the science community and the fishing community that operates in Peskotomuhkati traditional territory. The study will enable the Peskotomuhkati to play a significant role in collecting baseline fishery science data, thereby gaining a greater understanding of the overall health of the marine ecosystem in and around their traditional territory. The potential identification of microplastics in lobster will improve understanding of potential sources as well as the nature of microplastic pollution in Saint John Harbour.

3 years $100,809
Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Projets du Programme sur les données environnementales côtières de référence dans le port de Saint John, au Nouveau-Brunswick

Description Durée du projet Montant du financement

Établir des données de référence sur la biodiversité du necton dans les milieux estuariens du sud-ouest du Nouveau-Brunswick

Bénéficiaire de fonds : Eastern Charlotte Waterways Inc.

Résumé du projet : Le projet consistera à prélever un échantillon de données de référence sur le poisson et le necton (des organismes nageurs actifs). Les chercheurs évalueront la communauté de poissons dans de multiples habitats, y compris les marais salants dans la zone de protection marine de l'estuaire de la Musquash, procéderont à des évaluations pluriannuelles des incidences potentielles des sources de contamination humaine sur la santé de l'estuaire dans de multiples habitats et compareront la communauté de poissons de la zone avec des emplacements de référence à l'extérieur de la zone de protection marine de la Musquash.

4 années 208 000 $

Établir des données de référence pour les sources et les impacts du bruit sous‑marin dans le port de Saint John

Bénéficiaire de fonds : Eastern Charlotte Waterways Inc.

Résumé du projet : Ce projet servira à établir une série de mesures de référence du bruit sous-marin dans le port de Saint John ainsi qu'aux alentours. Ces mesures caractériseront le climat sonore global, les plus importantes sources de bruit provenant de la navigation commerciale et les impacts du bruit sur la présence des baleines à fanons et sur leur espace de communication. Les chercheurs examineront les données sur les bruits sous-marins qui ont été recueillies par Eastern Charlotte Waterways près de l'entrée du port de Saint John de 2016 à 2017. Ces données brutes seront analysées pour établir des données de référence crédibles sur les niveaux de bruit sous-marin et leurs impacts. Ces mesures de référence offriront une meilleure compréhension et appuieront la prise de décisions visant à soutenir la biodiversité des mammifères marins dans le port de Saint John.

1 année 111 820 $

Cartographie et vérification sur place des connaissances des pêcheurs au sujet des courants de surface dans la zone de la baie de Fundy

Bénéficiaire de fonds : Fundy North Fishermen's Association

Résumé du projet : Ce projet améliorera l'information à laquelle ont accès les décideurs sur les courants de surface dans la baie de Fundy. Les connaissances des pêcheurs peuvent combler certaines lacunes dans les données océanographiques en documentant des observations sur place (vérification sur place) et en utilisant ces connaissances pour mener une étude ciblée sur les bouées dérivantes. Cette étude comprend 4 volets :

  1. cartographie des connaissances des pêcheurs au sujet des courants de surface dans la baie de Fundy (en mettant l'accent sur le port de Saint John)
  2. élaboration de cartes récits hypothétiques par les pêcheurs et les scientifiques
  3. réalisation d'études sur les bouées dérivantes en surface (en libérant des bouées dans le port de Saint John) afin de vérifier sur place les connaissances actuelles
  4. tenue d'un atelier avec les pêcheurs et les océanographes pour discuter des résultats et produire un rapport
4 années 344 685 $

Relevé de référence quantitatif de l'ichtyoplancton, du zooplancton invertébré et des microplastiques dans le port de Saint John

Bénéficiaire de fonds : Huntsman Marine Science Centre

Résumé du projet : Les chercheurs recueilleront des données de référence sur les communautés de zooplancton dans le port de Saint John. Ces données sont très importantes pour comprendre les relations entre les écosystèmes dans la zone d'étude, puisque le zooplancton et le phytoplancton forment la base de la chaîne alimentaire. Le volet sur les microplastiques fournira des données de référence sur les contaminants environnementaux provenant de l'activité humaine et constitue la première étape en vue de comprendre leur impact sur l'écosystème du port de Saint John.

1 année 83 917 $

Surveillance communautaire au port de Saint John

Bénéficiaire du financement : Plan d'assainissement du littoral atlantique (PALA), Saint John, Inc.

Résumé du projet : Les chercheurs recueilleront des données sur divers paramètres de la qualité de l'eau dans les zones littorales du port de Saint John. Ils effectueront également des analyses en laboratoire d'échantillons d'eau prélevés pour détecter la présence de coliformes fécaux, de quantités totales de solides en suspension, d'orthophosphate et d'ammoniac. Les communautés de poissons seront évaluées par des échantillonnages à l'aide de verveux et de sennes dans les milieux riverains et estuariens.

4 ans 367 700 $

Caractérisation des populations de phoques communs dans le port de Saint John

Bénéficiaire du financement : Plan d'assainissement du littoral atlantique (PALA), Saint John, Inc.

Résumé du projet : Ce projet permettra d'étudier la population actuelle de phoques communs dans le port de Saint John et ses environnements littoraux et estuariens. Les chercheurs recueilleront des données sur les changements saisonniers du nombre et de la répartition des phoques communs le long de la côte sud du Nouveau-Brunswick. Ils utiliseront des levés d'observation aériens et à bord des navires ainsi que des étiquettes émettrices pour chaque phoque commun en vue de surveiller leur population dans la zone à l'étude.

3 ans 202 600 $

Caractérisation de la présence de parasites envahissants et des voies d'entrée chez les poissons migrateurs menacés dans le port de Saint John

Bénéficiaire du financement : North Shore Micmac District Council – Gestion des ressources d'Anqotum

Résumé du projet : Les chercheurs recueilleront des données de base sur les parasites envahissants chez les poissons migrateurs menacés, en se concentrant sur l'infection des anguilles d'Amérique par les parasites de la vessie natatoire et du saumon atlantique par des ectoparasites externes. Ces parasites sont considérés comme des indicateurs importants de la santé environnementale et des impacts humains dans le port de Saint John. Les espèces migratrices à l'étude sont importantes sur le plan culturel pour les Micmacs de la rive nord. Les données obtenues par l'échantillonnage de diverses étapes de la vie des espèces cibles et par l'analyse des isotopes stables aideront à brosser un tableau plus complet des aspects spatiaux et temporels de l'infection dans le fleuve Saint-Jean. Ces données aideront également à quantifier l'occurrence d'une infection parasitaire et son impact sur les poissons hôtes migrateurs.

4 ans 317 224 $

Évaluation des données de base sur les oiseaux de rivage et les oiseaux de mer dans la région du port de Saint John

Bénéficiaire du financement : Nature NB

Résumé du projet : Ce projet comprendra la réalisation de relevés des oiseaux de rivage et de mer dans divers milieux marins, côtiers et littoraux, comme le marais et la plage Saint's Rest, l'estuaire de la Musquash et l'île Manawagonish. Ces zones importantes pour la conservation des oiseaux et de la biodiversité (ZICO) chevauchent les zones côtières gérées par la Fondation pour la protection des sites naturels du Nouveau‑Brunswick, tandis que Conservation de la nature Canada possède une partie importante des marais, des rives et des zones côtières dans la zone de protection marine de l'estuaire de la Musquash. De nombreux oiseaux de rivage et de mer dépendent des ZICO côtières et d'autres zones pour se nourrir, migrer et se reproduire. Grâce à des relevés à jour des oiseaux de rivage et de mer, ce projet fera progresser nos connaissances collectives sur l'importance de ces habitats et notre capacité d'évaluer la santé écologique des zones marines et côtières du port de Saint John et de ses environs.

3 ans 192 125 $

Caractérisation des terres humides côtières et à marée conservées et prioritaires à l'intérieur et autour du port de Saint John

Bénéficiaire du financement : Conservation de la nature Canada

Résumé du projet : Ce projet comprendra la collecte de données de base exhaustives sur l'état des terres humides côtières et à marée dans le port de Saint John. Les données seront recueillies conformément au protocole sur les services écosystémiques des terres humides pour le Canada atlantique (WESP-AC), une méthode normalisée permettant d'évaluer rapidement les fonctions naturelles importantes des terres humides côtières et à marées dans une zone d'étude. Les données de base permettront aux chercheurs d'évaluer l'état actuel des terres humides et leurs avantages pour l'écosystème afin d'appuyer les futures décisions de gestion des terres humides.

4 ans 86 940 $

Diversité et abondance des espèces aquatiques envahissantes et lien avec l'écologie alimentaire du loup atlantique dans la baie de Fundy

Bénéficiaire du financement : Conseil de conservation de la Nation malécite

Résumé du projet : Ce projet vise à étudier l'écologie de base du loup atlantique au moyen de la première étude dirigée connue de l'espèce dans la baie de Fundy. L'étude portera sur le comportement, les déplacements et les préférences en matière d'habitat du loup atlantique ainsi que sur les effets potentiels des espèces aquatiques envahissantes sur la disponibilité des proies. Les relevés par plongée permettront d'identifier les tuniciers et les membranipores (espèces d'invertébrés marins) ainsi que la taille approximative de leurs colonies et leur proximité de l'habitat connu du loup de mer. Les isotopes stables des tissus du loup de mer seront mesurés pour leur rapport estimé carbone/azote afin d'évaluer le contenu de l'alimentation. La télémétrie par satellite fournira des renseignements supplémentaires sur le comportement et les habitudes de déplacement du loup de mer.

4 ans 404 686 $

Collecte de données de base sur les conditions de la colonne d’eau et les contaminants en utilisant des moules bleues en cage au port de Saint John

Bénéficiaire du financement : Première Nation des Wolastoqey au Nouveau-Brunswick

Résumé du projet : Ce projet consistera à recueillir des données de base sur le milieu biologique marin et les contaminants en mesurant la croissance, la survie et la reproduction des moules bleues en cage ainsi que la concentration de contaminants dans celles-ci. Les données de base recueillies aideront à mieux comprendre les conditions de la qualité de l’eau et les effets potentiels des contaminants sur le milieu marin et les espèces vivant dans le port de Saint John. Le projet renforcera la capacité des collectivités Wolastoqey (Malécites) à participer de façon plus significative à la cogestion de l’écosystème marin et à la planification afin de répondre aux préoccupations concernant les effets cumulatifs sur le milieu marin. Les équipes de pêche de la Nation Wolastoqey participeront aux activités sur le terrain et auront l’occasion de recevoir une formation sur les techniques utilisées sur le terrain et en laboratoire.

3 ans 186 276 $

Quantification de la présence de microplastiques dans le tube digestif de homards d’Amérique échantillonnés dans le port de Saint John

Bénéficiaire du financement : Passamaquoddy Recognition Group Inc.

Résumé du projet : Ce projet permettra d’acquérir une compréhension de base de la quantité de microplastiques consommée par le homard d’Amérique, une importante source alimentaire traditionnelle pour la Nation des Peskotomuhkati. Les microplastiques peuvent avoir un effet sur la santé globale des espèces et des écosystèmes marins, que les Peskotomuhkati ont tout intérêt à étudier et à protéger. Cette information de base orientera les efforts et les priorités de recherche futurs des Peskotomuhkati en ce qui concerne le homard et les microplastiques. Le projet vise à favoriser les relations entre la Nation des Peskotomuhkati, la communauté scientifique et les pêcheurs qui travaillent sur le territoire traditionnel des Peskotomuhkati. L’étude permettra à ces derniers de jouer un rôle important dans la collecte de données scientifiques de base sur les pêches, et donc de mieux comprendre la santé générale de l’écosystème marin sur leur territoire traditionnel et dans les environs. L’identification potentielle des microplastiques dans le homard permettra de mieux comprendre les sources éventuelles ainsi que la nature de la pollution par les microplastiques dans le port de Saint John.

3 ans 193 876 $
Date de modification :