Language selection

Search

Coastal Environmental Baseline Program projects in the Port of Prince Rupert, British Columbia

The following recipients are receiving $4,145,792 to undertake baseline data collection in the Port of Prince Rupert area.

Description Timeframe

Baseline conditions of nearshore habitats and shellfish populations, in Metlakatla traditional territory, in conjunction with the PollutionTracker program

Funding recipient: Metlakatla Stewardship Society

Project summary: This project will consist of a baseline study of shellfish, nearshore habitat and marine contaminants in Metlakatla traditional territory, including the Port of Prince Rupert and surrounding areas. The study will focus on data collection and characterization of various habitats and species (including shellfish), as well as the identification and measurement of contaminants in water, sediment and biota through the PollutionTracker program. These data may be used to support a framework on the cumulative effects of marine shipping, other environmental assessments and evidence-based decision-making.

4 years

Ecosystem characterization of juvenile salmon, zooplankton and eelgrass abundance

Funding recipient: Lax Kw'alaams Fishing Enterprises Ltd.

Project summary: This project will involve collecting data on key components of the coastal ecosystem within the traditional territory of the Lax Kw'alaams First Nation, including: juvenile salmon, clams, zooplankton and eelgrass. The data will provide information on the status of the coastal ecosystem, wildlife and environmental conditions in the Port of Prince Rupert and surrounding areas.

4 years

Ecosystem health of the Skeena River Estuary in the Port of Prince Rupert area

Funding recipient: Gitxaala Nation

Project summary: This project will involve collecting data to characterize the state of the coastal ecosystem in the Skeena River Estuary (within the traditional territory of the Gitxaala Nation), which includes the Port of Prince Rupert surrounding areas, with a focus on estuarine health. The Gitxaala Nation will undertake systematic data collection, focusing on sediment, water and tissue sampling, to better understand the health of the coastal environment. The project will strengthen Canada’s capacity for ocean science and contribute to baseline data for coastal areas in British Columbia with high vessel traffic while building the technical and scientific capacity of the Gitxaala Nation.

4 years

Characterizing phytoplankton, zooplankton, kelp beds and Eulachon in the Port of Prince Rupert surrounding area

Funding recipient: Kitsumkalum First Nation

Project summary: Researchers will gather data on key features of the local coastal ecosystem within the traditional territory of the Kitsumkalum First Nation. The data collected will contribute to characterizing the status of coastal ecosystem and environmental conditions in the Skeena River Estuary and Port of Prince Rupert surrounding area. It will focus specifically on detecting inter-annual variability in the abundance, composition and spatial-temporal distribution of Eulachon, plankton and kelp. The project will strengthen Canada’s capacity for ocean science and contribute to research on high vessel traffic in coastal areas of British Columbia while building the technical and scientific capacity of Kitsumkalum First Nation.

4 years

Kitselas Eulachon-related marine mammal and seabird baseline surveys in the Skeena River Estuary

Funding recipient: Kitselas Band Council

Project summary: This study will focus on gathering data on marine mammals, including Humpback Whales and Harbour Porpoises. Information on seabirds will also be collected to further characterize current ecosystem conditions in relation to Eulachon life stages, including seasonal migration and spawning. This information will be gathered through land-based point-count sighting surveys and vessel-based transect surveys of marine mammals and seabirds, along the Skeena River Estuary (Port of Prince Rupert surrounding area), within the traditional territory of the Kitselas Nation.

4 years

Marine Environmental Water Quality Program

Funding recipient: Prince Rupert Port Authority (PRPA)

Project summary: This project will expand the scope of PRPA’s Marine Environmental Water Quality program, which was developed to assess the impacts of port-related activities on marine water quality (e.g. heavy metal and organic contaminants, bacterial levels, oxygen concentrations). The study will involve more frequent field campaigns using new oceanographic equipment to provide higher accuracy and precision measurements, collected at higher vertical resolution than in previous PRPA studies.

4 years

North Coast Cetacean Research Initiative

Funding recipient: Ocean Wise Conservation Association – Vancouver Aquarium

Project summary: This project will involve collecting data for marine mammal baseline characterization, in the coastal waters of the area surrounding the Port of Prince Rupert, through standardized surveys of nearshore cetaceans, seasonal and spatial habitat use by Humpback Whales, and seasonal and daily patterns of habitat use by Harbour Porpoises, as well as public communication.

4 years
Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Projets du Programme sur les données environnementales côtières de référence dans le port de Prince Rupert (Colombie-Britannique)

Une somme de 4 145 792 $ est versée aux bénéficiaires suivants pour entreprendre la collecte de données de référence dans la région du port de Prince Rupert.

Description Durée du projet

Conditions de référence des habitats sublittoraux et des populations de mollusques dans le territoire traditionnel de la Première Nation Metlakatla, de concert avec le programme de Suivi de la pollution.

Bénéficiaire de fonds : Metlakatla Stewardship Society

Résumé du projet : Ce projet consistera en une étude de référence des mollusques, de l’habitat sublittoral et des contaminants marins dans le territoire traditionnel de la Première Nation Metlakatla, y compris le port de Prince Rupert et ses environs. L’étude sera axée sur la collecte de données et la caractérisation de divers habitats et espèces (y compris les mollusques), ainsi que sur l’identification et la mesure des contaminants dans l’eau, les sédiments et le biote grâce au programme de Suivi de la pollution. Ces données peuvent être utilisées pour appuyer un cadre sur les effets cumulatifs de la navigation maritime, d’autres évaluations environnementales et la prise de décisions fondées sur des données probantes.

4 ans

Caractérisation de l’écosystème du saumon juvénile, du zooplancton et de l’abondance de la zostère

Bénéficiaire de fonds : Lax Kw’alaams Fishing Enterprises Ltd.

Résumé du projet : Ce projet comprendra la collecte de données sur les principales composantes de l’écosystème côtier du territoire traditionnel de la Première Nation Lax Kw’alaams, y compris le saumon juvénile, les palourdes, le zooplancton et la zostère. Les données fourniront des renseignements sur l’état de l’écosystème côtier, la faune et les conditions environnementales dans le port de Prince Rupert et ses environs.

4 ans

Santé de l’écosystème de l’estuaire de la rivière Skeena dans la région du port de Prince Rupert

Bénéficiaire de fonds : Nation Gitxaala

Résumé du projet : Ce projet comprendra la collecte de données pour caractériser l’état de l’écosystème côtier de l’estuaire de la rivière Skeena (dans le territoire traditionnel de la Nation Gitxaala), qui comprend les environs du port de Prince Rupert, en mettant l’accent sur la santé estuarienne. La Nation Gitxaala entreprendra une collecte systématique de données, axée sur l’échantillonnage des sédiments, de l’eau et des tissus afin de mieux comprendre la santé de l’environnement côtier. Le projet renforcera la capacité du Canada dans le domaine des sciences océaniques, et contribuera aux données de référence pour les régions côtières de la Colombie-Britannique où le trafic maritime est élevé, tout en renforçant la capacité technique et scientifique de la Nation Gitxaala.

4 ans

Caractérisation du phytoplancton, du zooplancton, des bancs de varech et de l’eulakane dans les environs du port de Prince Rupert

Bénéficiaire de fonds : Première Nation Kitsumkalum

Résumé du projet : Les chercheurs recueilleront des données sur les principales caractéristiques de l’écosystème côtier local sur le territoire traditionnel de la Première Nation Kitsumkalum. Les données recueillies contribueront à la caractérisation de l’état de l’écosystème côtier et des conditions environnementales dans l'estuaire de la rivière Skeena et la région du port de Prince Rupert. Le projet portera plus particulièrement sur la détection de la variabilité interannuelle dans l’abondance, la composition et la distribution spatio-temporelle de l’eulakane, du plancton et du varech. Le projet renforcera la capacité du Canada en sciences océaniques et contribuera à la recherche sur le trafic maritime élevé dans les régions côtières de la Colombie-Britannique, tout en renforçant la capacité technique et scientifique de la Première Nation Kitsumkalum.

4 ans

Relevés de référence de la Première Nation Kitselas sur les mammifères marins et les oiseaux de mer en lien avec l’eulakane dans l’estuaire de la rivière Skeena

Bénéficiaire de fonds : Conseil de bande de la Première Nation Kitselas

Résumé du projet : Cette étude sera axée sur la collecte de données sur les mammifères marins, y compris les baleines à bosse et les marsouins communs. On recueillera également des renseignements sur les oiseaux de mer afin de mieux caractériser les conditions actuelles de l’écosystème en ce qui concerne les stades biologiques de l’eulakane, dont la migration saisonnière et le frai. Ces renseignements seront recueillis au moyen de relevés d’observation ponctuels terrestres et de relevés de transects à bord de navires sur les mammifères marins et les oiseaux de mer le long de l’estuaire de la rivière Skeena (zone environnante du port de Prince Rupert), sur le territoire traditionnel de la Première Nation Kitselas.

4 ans

Programme de surveillance de la qualité des eaux marines

Bénéficiaire de fonds : Administration portuaire de Prince Rupert

Résumé du projet : Ce projet élargira la portée du programme de Surveillance de la qualité des eaux marines de l’administration portuaire de Prince Rupert, lequel a été élaboré pour évaluer les répercussions des activités portuaires sur la qualité de l’eau de mer (p. ex. les contaminants organiques et les métaux lourds, les concentrations de bactéries et d’oxygène). L’étude comprendra des campagnes plus fréquentes sur le terrain à l’aide d’un nouvel équipement océanographique en vue d’obtenir des mesures plus précises, recueillies à une résolution verticale plus élevée que dans les études antérieures de l’administration portuaire de Prince Rupert.

4 ans

Initiative de recherche sur les cétacés de la côte Nord

Bénéficiaire de fonds : Ocean Wise Conservation Association – Aquarium de Vancouver

Résumé du projet : Ce projet comprendra la collecte de données pour la caractérisation de référence des mammifères marins dans les eaux côtières de la région entourant le port de Prince Rupert, au moyen de relevés normalisés sur les cétacés du sublittoral, de l’utilisation saisonnière et spatiale de l’habitat par les baleines à bosse, des habitudes saisonnières et quotidiennes concernant l’utilisation de l’habitat par les marsouins communs, ainsi que des communications publiques.

4 ans
Date de modification :