Language selection

Search

Coastal Environmental Baseline Program projects in the St. Lawrence Estuary, Quebec

Description Timeframe Funding amount

Characterization of benthic macrofauna in rocky shoreline areas and awareness of the state of marine ecosystems in the Haute-Côte-Nord and Manicouagan regions

Funding recipient: Explos-Nature

Project summary: Explos-Nature will collect baseline data to characterize the state of aquatic ecosystems in rocky shoreline areas in the Haute-Côte-Nord and Manicouagan regions. The study will focus on the abundance and distribution of benthic macrofauna while characterizing habitats and collecting environmental data, such as water temperature, conductivity, turbidity and salinity. The project will also aim to raise public awareness of the state of aquatic ecosystem health and scientific data collection methods.

4 years $536,577

Characterization of the abundance, richness and diversity of fish in coastal environments using non-extractive methods

Funding recipient: Université du Québec à Rimouski

Project summary: This project will assess underwater camera video recordings to develop indices of fish species richness, diversity and spatio-temporal variations. These indices will be calibrated to St. Lawrence Estuary coastal habitats and validated by surveys.

4 years $92,000

Hyperspectral remote sensing of shallow coastal waters using the WISE sensor

Funding recipient: Université du Quebec à Rimouski

Project summary: This project aims to acquire data on shallow coastal ecosystems through hyperspectral remote sensing. Researchers will develop skills for mapping coastal habitats using new technologies. They will fly an aircraft-mounted WISE sensor over the Manicouagan Peninsula on the St. Lawrence Estuary to map coastal habitats (aquatic vegetation and substrate), improving research tools and obtaining data needed to support decision-making for marine ecosystem management.

4 years $194,920

Temporal dynamics of intertidal macroalgal productivity in the St. Lawrence

Funding recipient: Université du Québec à Chicoutimi

Project summary: This project will provide an in-depth understanding of the relationship between the presence, distribution and health of intertidal macroalgae (seaweed) in the study area. It will quantify past storm and ice abrasion events to identify possible relationships between disturbances and macroalgal baselines (seasonal, annual and decadal trends). Sensitive areas will be better identified, and the resilience of the algal canopy to disturbances will be more clearly characterized. The project will also explore new techniques for remote sensing of macroalgae and provide a valuable tool for monitoring coastal marine ecosystems.

4 years $99,963

Characterization of important coastal habitats on the north shore of the St. Lawrence Estuary

Funding recipient: Comité Zone d’Intervention Prioritaire de la Rive Nord de l’Estuaire (Comité ZIP)

Project summary: This study will improve understanding of aquatic environments by characterizing the biological and abiotic components of different wetlands in the St. Lawrence Estuary. The characterization of these coastal habitats and the new information acquired will shed light on particularly sensitive biological aspects associated with the different marshes.

4 years $131,825

Characterization of the seabed between Tadoussac and Baie-Comeau based on LiDAR data from the Canadian Hydrographic Service

Funding recipient: Centre interdisciplinaire de développement en cartographie des océans (CIDCO)

Project summary: Researchers will analyze LiDAR (light detection and ranging) data provided by the Canadian Hydrographic Service to characterize the ecosystem between Tadoussac and Pointe-des-Monts. The study will focus on physical features and other research parameters as well as direct observation to categorize different benthic habitat types.

4 years $541,084
Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Projets du Programme sur les données environnementales côtières de référence dans l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent (Québec)

Description Durée du projet Montant du financement

Caractérisation de la macrofaune benthique dans les zones côtières rocheuses et connaissance de l’état des écosystèmes marins des régions de la Haute-Côte-Nord et de Manicouagan

Bénéficiaire du financement : Explos-Nature

Résumé du projet : Explos-Nature recueillera des données de référence pour caractériser l’état des écosystèmes aquatiques des zones côtières rocheuses de la Haute-Côte-Nord et de Manicouagan. L’étude portera sur l’abondance et la répartition de la macrofaune benthique, la caractérisation des habitats et la collecte de données environnementales, comme la température, la conductivité, la turbidité et la salinité de l’eau. Le projet visera également à sensibiliser le public sur l’état de santé des écosystèmes aquatiques et sur les méthodes de collecte de données scientifiques.

4 ans 536 577 $

Caractérisation de l’abondance, de la richesse et de la diversité des poissons dans les milieux côtiers au moyen de méthodes non extractives

Bénéficiaire du financement : Université du Québec à Rimouski

Résumé du projet : Ce projet évaluera les enregistrements vidéo de caméras sous-marines afin d’élaborer des indices de la richesse, de la diversité et des variations spatio-temporelles des espèces de poissons. Ces indices seront calibrés en fonction des habitats côtiers de l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent et validés par des relevés.

4 ans 92 000 $

Télédétection hyperspectrale des eaux côtières peu profondes à l’aide du capteur WISE

Bénéficiaire du financement : Université du Québec à Rimouski

Résumé du projet : Ce projet vise à acquérir des données sur les écosystèmes côtiers peu profonds par télédétection hyperspectrale. Les chercheurs développeront des compétences pour cartographier les habitats côtiers à l’aide de nouvelles technologies. Ils survoleront la péninsule Manicouagan, dans l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent, avec un capteur WISE installé sur un avion pour cartographier les habitats côtiers (végétation et substrat aquatiques), améliorer les outils de recherche et obtenir les données nécessaires à la prise de décisions en matière de gestion des écosystèmes marins.

4 ans 194 920 $

Dynamique temporelle de la productivité des microalgues intertidales dans le Saint-Laurent

Bénéficiaire du financement : Université du Québec à Chicoutimi

Résumé du projet : Ce projet permettra de mieux comprendre la relation entre la présence, la répartition et la santé des macroalgues intertidales (algues marines) dans la zone d’étude. Il quantifiera les événements passés de tempête et d’abrasion de la glace afin de cerner les relations possibles entre les perturbations et les niveaux de référence des macroalgues (tendances saisonnières, annuelles et décennales). Les zones sensibles seront mieux désignées et la résilience du couvert d’algues aux perturbations sera mieux caractérisée. Le projet permettra également d’explorer de nouvelles techniques de télédétection des macroalgues, et constituera un outil précieux pour la surveillance des écosystèmes marins côtiers.

4 ans 99 963 $

Caractérisation d’habitats côtiers importants sur la rive nord de l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent

Bénéficiaire du financement : Comité zone d’intervention prioritaire de la rive nord de l’estuaire (Comité ZIP)

Résumé du projet : Cette étude permettra de mieux comprendre les milieux aquatiques en caractérisant les composantes biologiques et abiotiques des différents milieux humides de l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent. La caractérisation de ces habitats côtiers et les nouvelles informations acquises permettront de mettre en lumière les aspects biologiques particulièrement sensibles associés aux différents marais.

4 ans 131 825 $

Caractérisation des fonds marins entre Tadoussac et Baie-Comeau à partir des données LiDAR du Service hydrographique du Canada

Bénéficiaire du financement : Centre interdisciplinaire de développement en cartographie des océans (CIDCO)

Résumé du projet : Les chercheurs analyseront les données LiDAR (détection et télémétrie par ondes lumineuses) fournies par le Service hydrographique du Canada pour caractériser l’écosystème entre Tadoussac et Pointe-des-Monts. L’étude portera sur les caractéristiques physiques et d’autres paramètres de recherche, ainsi que sur l’observation directe afin de catégoriser les différents types d’habitats benthiques.

4 ans 541 084 $
Date de modification :