Pacific seamounts expedition 2019

Pacific seamounts expedition 2019

Map: Pacific seamounts expedition 2019

Map: Pacific seamounts expedition 2019

The expedition

On July 16, 2019, a science team from Fisheries and Oceans Canada, the Nuu-chah-nulth Nations, and other partner organizations will embark on a two-week expedition to uncover the mysteries of Canada’s largest underwater volcano, known as Explorer seamount, at the center of a potential Offshore Pacific Marine Protected Area.

This mission will expand the knowledge of the 2018 Expedition where many species unknown to science were discovered that were once unknown to science. The discoveries of these expeditions will provide information to those involved in the conservation and management of these unique ecosystems found in Canadian waters.

Be sure to join the daily livestream and ask your questions to our scientists! You too can uncover the mysteries of the deep!

Objectives of the expedition

The objectives of this expedition include surveying and documenting:

  • what resident animals live on these underwater island oases, as well as what transient oceanic animals temporarily use it (e.g., whales and seabirds);
  • where do these animals live and at what depths;
  • locations of special interest (e.g., areas of high biological diversity, cold-water coral and sponge gardens, rare species habitats);
  • the spatial extent of Spongetopia, on Explorer Seamount;
  • the chemical and biological variability of the water bathing the seamounts (e.g., the base vs. summit, inshore- vs. offshore-facing flanks);
  • the characteristics of the volcanic sediments, lava-types, and geological formations;
  • any observable human impacts (e.g., derelict gear, such as lines, traps, and anchors); and
  • the location, shape, and depth of the many newly discovered but unexplored seamounts in the region.
About seamounts

What is a Seamount?

Seamounts are underwater mountains that rise more than 1,000 meters from the seafloor. The steep walls of the seamounts combined with ocean currents create biodiversity hotspots. They create an upward flow of nutrient rich water, resulting in diverse ecosystems that provide important habitats for many marine species. Seamounts have been recognized for their:

  • regional uniqueness
  • vulnerability
  • productivity
  • diversity

Explorer Seamount

Explorer Seamount is an ocean giant. At over two thousand kilometers-squared, it is the size of Greater Vancouver. Remarkably, it is the single largest offshore shallow-water refuge in Canadian waters (more than twice the size of the next largest seamount). With the same height as active terrestrial volcano Mount Baker, its lava-encrusted flanks rise 2.5 km above the surrounding seafloor to a cluster of ridges and peaks.

Explorer Seamount is like no other that we have visited to far. It is home to a strange reef-like habitat, informally called Spongetopia, a bizarrely large monoculture of sponges extending far beyond the distance the scientists could travel during the 2018 dive. To add to the mystery, the geological, chemical, and ecological characteristics of the seamount are all varied from what scientists have come to expect on seamounts in the region.

Observing Spongetopia, a forest of corals and sponges on Explorer Seamount using a Remotely Operated Vehicle. Copyright Ocean Exploration Trust, Northeast Pacific Seamount Expedition Partners.

Observing Spongetopia, a forest of corals and sponges on Explorer Seamount using a Remotely Operated Vehicle. © Ocean Exploration Trust, Northeast Pacific Seamount Expedition Partners.

The team

Tammy Norgard
Expedition Lead Scientist, Deep Sea Ecology Program Head
Pacific Biological Station, Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Dr. Cherisse Dupreez
Marine Biologist
Institute of Ocean Sciences, Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Katie Gale
Marine Biologist
Pacific Biological Station, Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Tamara Fraser
Oceanographic Technician
Institute of Ocean Sciences, Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Chelsea Stanley
Fisheries Acoustics Research Technician
Institute of Ocean Sciences, Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Benjamin Snow
Biologist and BOOTS navigator
Pacific Biological Station, Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Cole Fields
Spatial Analyst
Institute of Ocean Sciences, Fisheries and Oceans Canada

James Pegg
Senior Ocean Glider Technician
Fisheries and Oceans Canada/Canadian-Pacific Robotic Ocean Observing Facility

Travis Poehlke
Oceans Program Analyst
Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Aline Carrier
Capacity Building Coordinator
Nuu-chah-nulth Nations

Joshua Watts
Biology/Earth Ocean and Atmospheric Science Student, University of Victoria
Nuu-chah-nulth Nations

Kim Wallace
BOOTS technician
Highland Technologies

Paul Macoun
BOOTS technician
Highland Technologies

Graham Gillespie
Marine Biologist/Fisheries and Oceans Canada Alumnus

Shelton Dupreez
Photographer Filmmaker
Luxury Yacht Film

Caroline Mc Nicoll
Communications/Media Relations
Fisheries and Oceans Canada

The partners
  • Nuu-chah-nulth Nations
    The Nuu-chah-nulth Tribal Council (NTC) provides programs and services to over 10,000 registered members and represents 14 Nuu-chah-nulth First Nations: Ahousaht, Ditidaht, Ehattesaht/Chinehkint, Hesquiaht, Hupacasath, Huu-ay-aht, Kyuquot/Cheklesaht, Mowachaht /Muchalaht, Nuchatlaht, Tla-o-qui-aht, Toquaht, Tseshaht, Uchucklesaht and Ucluelet. Uu-a-thluk, which means ‘taking care of’ in Nuu-chah-nulth language, is the name of the NTC fisheries department. The NTC and Uu-a-thluk are excited to be part of Pacific Seamounts Expedition 2019 as Nuu-chah-nulth peoples have been connected to the water since time immemorial and continue to maintain the utmost ‘iisaak’ (respect with caring) for the ocean. The Nuu-chah-nulth contribution of traditional ecological knowledge will be valuable as our representatives participate in modern scientific data collection during the expedition.
  • Ocean Networks Canada
The tools

Submersible Drop Camera

The Bathyal Ocean Observation and Televideo System, also known as “BOOTS,” is a submersible drop camera platform containing high-resolution cameras, flood lights and sensors. Attached to and controlled from aboard the ship, it can dive up to 2000 meters while delivering real-time imagery and oceans data on temperature, oxygen levels and depth.

BOOTS was designed and built in part at DFO’s Pacific Biological Station.

BOOTS. Copyright Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

BOOTS.  Dupreez/Fisheries and Oceans Canada

The area

The Offshore Pacific Area of Interest

In May 2017, Fisheries and Oceans Canada announced a new large offshore Area of Interest (AOI) off the coast of British Columbia, beginning the extensive process of establishing the area as an MPA under Canada’s Oceans Act. This area was designated as an AOI based on its unique seafloor features and ecosystems, which include several seamounts and a series of hydrothermal vents.

The AOI has interim protection through the Offshore Pacific Seamount and Vents Closure marine refuge, which was established in October 2017. The marine refuge aims to protect the area’s unique ecosystem and prohibits all bottom-contact commercial and recreational fishing activities.

Date modified:

Expédition des monts sous-marins 2019

Expédition des monts sous-marins 2019

Carte : Expédition des monts sous-marins 2019

Carte : Expédition des monts sous-marins 2019

L’expédition

Le 16 juillet 2019, une équipe de scientifique de Pêches et Océans Canada, des nations Nuu-chah-nulth et d'autres organisations partenaires entreprendront une expédition de deux semaines pour découvrir les mystères du plus grand volcan sous-marin du Canada, appelé Explorer. Celui-ci se situe au centre d'une potentielle zone de protection marine au large du Pacifique.

Cette expédition s'appuie sur les découvertes de l'l'Expédition des monts sous-marins du Pacifique Nord-Est 2018, où x espèces inconnues de la science ont été découvertes. Ces expéditions informent les décisions de conservation et de gestion concernant l'avenir de ces écosystèmes uniques que l'on trouve dans les eaux canadiennes.

Découvrez, vous aussi, les mystères des profondeurs grâce à la diffusion en direct quotidienne, et posez vos questions directement à notre équipe de scientifiques !

Objectifs de l’expédition

Les objectifs de cette expédition visent à effectuer des relevés et à documenter sur :

  • quels animaux résident dans ces oasis sous-marins et lesquels l'utilisent temporairement (par exemple, baleines et oiseaux de mer);
  • où vivent ces animaux et à quelle profondeur ;
  • les zones de grande diversité biologique, les jardins de coraux et d'éponges d'eau froide, les habitats d'espèces rares;
  • l'étendue spatiale de Spongetopia, sur le mont sous-marin Explorer ;
  • la variabilité chimique et biologique des eaux entourant les monts sous-marins (par exemple la base par rapport au sommet, les flancs côtiers par rapport aux flancs marins);
  • les caractéristiques des sédiments volcaniques, des types de lave et des formations géologiques ;
  • l’impact humain observable (par exemple les engins de pêche abandonnés comme les lignes, les casiers et les ancres)
  • l'emplacement, la forme et la profondeur des nombreux monts sous-marins récemment découverts mais inexplorés dans la région.
À propos des monts sous-marins

Les monts sous-marins

Les monts sous-marins sont des montagnes sous-marines qui s'élèvent à plus de 1 000 mètres du fond marin. Les parois abruptes des monts sous-marins, combinées aux courants océaniques, créent des zones sensibles de biodiversité. Ils créent un flux ascendant d'eau riche en éléments nutritifs, ce qui donne des écosystèmes diversifiés qui fournissent des habitats importants à de nombreuses espèces marines. Les monts sous-marins ont été reconnus pour leur :

  • caractère unique régional
  • vulnérabilité
  • productivité
  • diversité

Le mont sous-marin Explorer

Le mont sous-marin Explorer est un géant de l'océan. D'une superficie de plus de deux mille kilomètres carrés, il a la taille du Grand Vancouver. Fait remarquable, il s'agit du plus grand refuge en eaux peu profondes au large des côtes canadiennes (plus de deux fois la taille du deuxième plus grand mont sous-marin). Avec la même hauteur que le volcan terrestre actif Mount Baker, ses versants incrustés de lave s'élèvent à 2,5 km au-dessus du fond marin environnant jusqu'à un amas de crêtes et de sommets.

Le mont sous-marin Explorer ne ressemble à aucun autre que nous ayons visité jusqu’à présent. C'est le foyer d’un étrange habitat ressemblant à un récif, officieusement appelé Spongetopia, une étrange monoculture d'éponges qui s'étendait bien au-delà de la distance que les scientifiques pouvaient parcourir pendant la plongée de 2018. Pour ajouter au mystère, les caractéristiques géologiques, chimiques et écologiques de ce mont sous-marin sont toutes différentes de ce que les scientifiques en sont venus à attendre des monts sous-marins de la région.

Observation de Spongetopia, une forêt de coraux et d'éponges sur le mont sous-marin Explorer à l'aide d'un véhicule téléguidé. Copyright Ocean Exploration Trust, Northeast Pacific Seamount Expedition Partners.

Observation de Spongetopia, une forêt de coraux et d'éponges sur le mont sous-marin Explorer à l'aide d'un véhicule téléguidé. © Ocean Exploration Trust, Northeast Pacific Seamount Expedition Partners.

L’équipe

Tammy Norgard
Scientifique en chef de l'expédition, chef du programme d'Écologie en haute mer
Station biologique du Pacifique, Pêches et Océans Canada

Dr. Cherisse Dupreez
Biologiste de la vie marine
Institut des sciences de la mer, Pêches et Océans Canada

Katie Gale
Biologiste de la vie marine
Station biologique du Pacifique, Pêches et Océans Canada

Tamara Fraser
Technicienne en océanographie
Institut des sciences de la mer, Pêches et Océans Canada

Chelsea Stanley
Technicienne de recherche en acoustique marine
Institut des sciences de la mer, Pêches et Océans Canada

Benjamin Snow
Biologiste et navigateur de caméra de chute submersible
Station biologique du Pacifique, Pêches et Océans Canada

Cole Fields
Analyste spatial
Institut des sciences de la mer, Pêches et Océans Canada

James Pegg
Technicien principal de planeurs océaniques
Pêches et Océans Canada/Installation d’observation robotique de l’océan du Pacifique canadien

Travis Poehlke
Analyste, Programme des océans
Pêches et Océans Canada

Aline Carrier
Coordonnatrice du renforcement des capacités
Les Nations Nuu-chah-nulth

Joshua Watts
Étudiant en Biologie/terre et océan, et Sciences de l’atmosphère, Université de Victoria
Les Nations Nuu-chah-nulth

Kim Wallace
Technicien pour la caméra de chute submersible
Highland Technologies

Paul Macoun
Technicien pour la caméra de chute submersible
Highland Technologies

Graham Gillespie
Biologiste de la vie marine retraité de Pêches et Océans Canada

Shelton Dupreez
Photographer Filmmaker
Luxury Yacht Film

Caroline Mc Nicoll
Communications/Relations avec les médias
Pêches et Océans Canada

Les partenaires
  • Les Nations Nuu-chah-nulth (contenu en anglais seulement)
    Le Conseil tribal Nuu-chah-nulth offre des programmes et des services à plus de 10 000 membres inscrits et représente 14 Premières nations Nuu-chah-nulth : Ahousaht, Ditidaht, Ehattesaht/Chinehkint, Hesquiaht, Hupacasath, Huu-ay-aht, Kyuquot/Cheklesaht, Mowachaht /Muchalaht, Nuchatlaht, Tla-o-qui-aht, Toquaht, Tseshaht, Uchucklesaht et Ucluelet. Uu-a-thluk, qui signifie « prendre soin de » en langue Nuu-chah-nulth, est le nom du département des pêches du Conseil tribal Nuu-chah-nulth. Le Conseil tribal Nuu-chah-nulth et Uu-a-thluk sont ravis de participer à l'Expédition des monts sous-marins du Pacifique de 2019. Après tout, les Nuu-chah-nulth sont reliés à l'eau depuis des temps immémoriaux et continuent de maintenir le plus grand « iisaak » (respect de l'océan). La contribution des connaissances écologiques traditionnelles des Nuu-chah-nulth sera précieuse au fur et à mesure que nos représentants participeront à la collecte de données scientifiques modernes pendant l'expédition.
  • Ocean Networks Canada (contenu en anglais seulement)
Les outils

Caméra de chute submersible

Le système Bathyal Ocean Observation and Televideo, aussi appelé «BOOTS», est une plate-forme de caméra submersible contenant des caméras haute résolution, des projecteurs et des capteurs. Attaché et contrôlé à bord du navire, le système peut plonger jusqu'à 2000 mètres sous la surface de l’eau tout en fournissant en temps réel des images et des données océanographiques sur la température, les niveaux d'oxygène et la profondeur.

BOOTS a été conçu et construit en partie à la station biologique du Pacifique du MPO.

BOOTS. Photo : Shelton Dupreez

BOOTS. Photo : Shelton Dupreez

La zone

La zone d'intérêt extracôtière du Pacifique

En mai 2017, Pêches et Océans Canada a annoncé la création d'une nouvelle grande zone d'intérêt extracôtière (ZI) au large des côtes de la Colombie-Britannique, amorçant ainsi le vaste processus d'établissement de la zone comme zone de protection marine en vertu de la Loi sur les océans du Canada. Cet endroit a été désigné comme zone d'intérêt en raison de ses caractéristiques et écosystèmes uniques du fond marin, qui comprennent plusieurs monts sous-marins et une série d’évents hydrothermaux.

La ZI bénéficie d’une protection provisoire en vertu du refuge marin de la Fermeture dans les monts sous-marins et des évents hydrothermaux du Pacifique, établi en octobre 2017. Le refuge marin vise à protéger l’écosystème unique de la zone, et interdit toute activité de pêche commerciale et récréative utilisant des engins de fond.

Date de modification :