Cold Water Corals and Sponges

Cold Water Corals and Sponges

In Canada, cold-water corals (also known as deep-sea corals) and sponges are known to inhabit the Pacific, Atlantic and eastern Arctic oceans. These organisms are increasingly being recognized as important components of benthic or bottom marine ecosystems. They provide the complex habitat structure that is important to invertebrates, fish and other deep sea life. High-complexity sponge reefs are associated with a greater abundance and diversity of species.

Their slow growth rates, longevity and limited habitat make corals and sponges particularly vulnerable to the adverse impacts of activities such as fishing, oil and gas exploration and development, and submarine cable and pipeline installation (see CSAS Advisory Report 2010/041:  Occurrence, susceptibility to fishing, and ecological function of corals, sponges, and hydrothermal vents in Canadian waters.) (CSAS SAR - 2010/041)

Increasing ocean acidification due to climate change is also a threat.

Due to their ecological importance and vulnerability, corals and sponges are the focus of international conservation and protection efforts and are examples of Vulnerable Marine Ecosystems (VMEs). Countries have a responsibility to implement conservation measures as defined in international conventions and agreements such as the Convention on Biological Diversity and United Nations General Assembly Resolution to protect VMEs.

For general information on corals and sponges, see the website for the Centre of Expertise for Cold-Water Corals and Sponge Reefs. The Department also produced three videos about exploring for cold water corals: Oasis of the Deep: Cold Water Corals of Canada and Revealing a Hidden Realm are online. The third video, Diving into the Deep - Coral and Sponge Conservation in Canada, will be online soon.

Placentia Bay-Grand Banks:

Since the early 2000s, scientists have been studying coral and sponges in the Newfoundland and Labrador region including specimens collected as trawl bycatch during multispecies surveys and the At-Sea Observer Program, for which private sector observers are placed aboard fishing vessels to report on activities. Other research projects have explored the biochemistry, habitat and geography of corals, and the importance of deep-sea corals to the structure and function of ecosystems, including their distribution, the relationship between corals and fish species, and trophic (food web) relationships. Results of these studies are available in: The Ecology of Deep-Sea Corals of Newfoundland and Labrador Waters: Biogeography, Life History, Biogeochemistry and Relation to Fishes.

In 2009, the research program was expanded to include ecological and taxonomic studies of deep-water sponges, which are now recognized as components of VMEs along with corals.

In 2007 and 2010, two dedicated deep-water research cruises were carried out to explore and document the biology and geology of the ocean bottom of the Southwest Grand Banks slope and areas adjacent to the Placentia Bay – Grand Banks LOMA (Flemish Cap and Orphan Knoll). Using the remote underwater vehicle, ROPOS (Remotely Operated Platform for Ocean Science), scientists carried out studies of deep-water ecosystems that support corals, including the first study of a seamount in the region.

Researchers analyzed concentrations of coral and sponge taxa (groups) for the Newfoundland-Labrador Shelves Bioregion, which encompasses the Placentia Bay-Grand Banks area, using an approach developed by the Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Organization. The coral database for this bioregion contains 38 coral taxa, of which:

  • 61% were soft corals belonging to family Nephtheidae;
  • 18% were sea pens;
  • 9% were large gorgonians (species of Paragorgia, Primnoa, Keratoisis and others);
  • 7.4% were small gorgonians (species of Acanella and Anthothela);
  • 0.01% were black corals (antipatharians); and
  • 0.04% were small cup corals (solitary scleractinians).

The largest catches of small gorgonian corals were on the Newfoundland and Labrador Shelf with two “significant” locations on the slope of the Grand Banks. Significant concentrations of large gorgonian corals also exist within the LOMA along the continental margins.

Although relationships between deep-sea corals and groundfish have not been extensively studied in the Northwest Atlantic, research indicates:

  • there are correlations between coral biomass and fish biodiversity and the diversity of both corals and fish species; and
  • soft corals, sea pens and small gorgonians are important to fish and invertebrates in this region.

Scotian Shelf:

In 1998, Fisheries and Oceans Canada began collaborating with university, non-governmental organizations and industry partners to collect information on corals in the Scotian Shelf region. The Department initiated a full coral research program in 2000, which included four research surveys on the Scotian Shelf to document the distribution, abundance, preferred habitats and condition of corals and the associated species. For more information see the Department’s web page on Coral Research in the Maritimes.

To date, five major orders of coral are known to inhabit the Scotian Shelf, including: soft corals (Alcyonacea), black/thorny corals (Antipatharia), branching corals (Gorgonacea), sea pens (Pennatulacea), stony corals and cup corals (Scleractinia). The Scotian Shelf is also home to sponges, but the overall biomass is relatively low. Sponge grounds here are typically composed of one or two large, structure-forming species and many smaller but abundant species. Unique populations of the large, barrel-shaped glass sponge Vazella pourtalesi (also known as “Russian Hats”) have been found in the vicinity of Emerald Basin and Sambro Bank as well as parts of the Northeast Channel.

Deep-sea corals and sponges form complex structures on the Scotian Shelf that:

  • provide shelter for many species;
  • support a greater diversity of fish and invertebrates compared to most other benthic (bottom) habitats;
  • provide habitats at key life stages of many marine species; and
  • serve as a food source for other invertebrates.

Pacific North Coast:

More than 80 species of cold-water corals and some 250 species of sponges inhabit the coastal waters of British Columbia. The Pacific North Coast Integrated Management Area (PNCIMA) is home to many of these, including the rare hexactinellid (glass) sponge reefs. Some of the coral colonies may be more than a century old, while some sponge reef communities may have developed over thousands of years. For example, in Hecate Strait and Queen Charlotte Sound (within the LOMA), sponge reefs that are approximately 9,000 years old live in channels carved by icebergs long ago.

Found in both shallow coastal and deep offshore waters, these organisms provide many ecosystem functions that are not yet fully understood. Cold-water corals and sponges host distinctive communities of fish and other species while sponge reefs provide important nursery habitat for young rockfish.

For more information about corals and sponges in this area, see the CSAS report: Distribution of cold-water coral, sponges and sponge reefs in British Columbia with options for identifying significant encounters. (CSAS ResDocs - 2010/090)

Impacts Related to Cold Water Coral and Sponges

Corals and sponges are vulnerable to anthropogenic disturbance due to their slow growth and sensitivity to physical and chemical changes. Adequate protection is necessary to prevent the loss of these ecologically important species and the valuable habitat they provide for other marine life.

On the Scotian Shelf, for example, evidence of fishing impacts on corals includes broken live corals, tilted corals, scattered skeletons, tracks made by fishing gear where corals occur, and lost longlines entangled in corals. Other types of fishing gear can also disturb and damage bottom habitat and cause entanglement and breakage of bottom features such as corals.

Increasing ocean acidification is a threat to organisms that produce calcite and aragonite shells or structures, including corals, pteropods and shellfish.

Addressing Cold Water Coral and Sponge Conservation

In 2008, Fisheries and Oceans Canada established the Centre of Expertise in Cold-Water Corals and Sponge Reefs, located at Fisheries and Oceans Canada’s Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Centre in St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador. The Centre helps coordinate the Government of Canada’s approach to coral and sponge conservation by:

  • providing strategic advice to senior management;
  • supporting regional, national, and international conservation efforts;  and
  • developing tools to improve coral and sponge conservation in Canada.

In order to deliver this mandate, the Centre has built a strong network within Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Parks Canada and Natural Resources Canada. For more information, see: Status Report on Coral and Sponge Conservation in Canada.

The Department carried out a national science advisory process which was convened in March 2010 to review the available information and provide science advice, concerning the occurrence, sensitivity to fishing, and ecological function of corals, sponges and hydrothermal vents in Canadian waters. Another national science advisory meeting held in March 2011 provided advice for the development of a protocol regarding encountering corals and sponges in Canadian waters. This advice is available through a Science Advisory Report, which is available on the CSAS website.

Placentia Bay-Grand Banks:

Corals and sponges are one of the four conservation priorities in the Placentia Bay-Grand Banks area. Priority research areas for deep-sea corals have been identified based on areas of high biodiversity and abundance in the Region. Management measures for their protection are ongoing. Work is also underway to increase regional expertise in the identification of sponges and to learn more about their biology and ecology.

To date, several dedicated areas in the proximity of the Region, including some in the Placentia Bay-Grand Banks area, have been closed to fishing due to the presence of corals and sponges. Closures include:

  • an interim prohibition on trawling at depths of 800 to 2000 metres within the NAFO Division 3O until 2014;
  • a restriction on all bottom fishing activities from January 1, 2010 until December 2014 for the NAFO closed areas in the Tail of the Grand Banks (NAFO Div. 3N), Flemish Pass/Eastern Canyon (NAFO Div. 3LN) and the Sackville Spur (NAFO Div. 3LM). A small part of the latter area is within the boundary of the LOMA. The boundaries of these closed areas have been determined by NAFO, and can be seen in the NAFO Conservation and Enforcement Measures (www.nafo.int).

The Newfoundland and Labrador/Eastern Arctic coral conservation strategy is currently being drafted. This strategy involves both the Newfoundland and Labrador Region and Central and Arctic Region.

Scotian Shelf:

Conservation measures on the Scotian Shelf include the establishment of Marine Protected Areas and coral conservation areas to protect habitat, ecologically significant species and species at risk. For example, bottom fishing is restricted year-round in the Northeast Channel Coral Conservation Area and the Lophelia Coral Conservation Area.

The Department has also developed a Maritimes Region Coral Conservation Plan, which summarizes the conservation efforts to date, identifies issues that require more work, and prioritizes activities to address coral conservation in the future.

Pacific North Coast:

To protect these rare and sensitive components of Canada’s west coast marine ecosystem, the Department developed the Pacific Region Cold-Water Coral and Sponge Conservation Strategy, which:

  • describes the state of knowledge of Pacific cold-water corals and sponges;
  • describes the biology of cold-water corals and sponges;
  • identifies conservation, management and research objectives, associated strategies and actions, and information gaps;
  • discusses socio-economic and conservation implications with respect to cold-water coral and sponge conservation measures; and
  • identifies management tools to aid in cold-water coral and sponge conservation.
Date modified:

Récifs de coraux et d’éponges d’eau froide

Récifs de coraux et d'éponges d'eau froide

Au Canada, les coraux d'eau froide (aussi appelés coraux des grands fonds) et les éponges d'eau froide peuplent les fonds de l'océan Pacifique, de l'océan Atlantique et de la partie est de l'océan Arctique. On reconnaît de plus en plus ces organismes comme étant des composants importants des écosystèmes benthiques. Ils fournissent la structure de l'habitat complexe dont ont besoin les invertébrés, les poissons et autres organismes des fonds marins. Plus les récifs d'éponges sont complexes, plus les espèces qui les habitent risquent d'être abondantes et diversifiées.

En raison de leur faible taux de croissance, de leur longévité et de leur habitat limité, les coraux et les éponges sont particulièrement vulnérables aux effets nuisibles d'activités comme la pêche, l'exploration et l'exploitation pétrolière et gazière, et la pose de câbles et de pipelines sous-marins (veuillez consulter l'avis scientifique 2010/041 du Secrétariat canadien de consultation scientifique, intitulé « Occurrence, vulnérabilité à la pêche et fonction écologique des coraux, des éponges et des griffons hydrothermaux dans les eaux canadiennes (SCCS AS - 2010/041)  »).

L'augmentation de l'acidification des océans causée par le changement climatique constitue elle aussi une menace pour ces organismes.

En raison de leur importance écologique et de leur vulnérabilité, les coraux et les éponges font l'objet d'efforts internationaux de conservation et de protection, et ils constituent des exemples d'écosystèmes marins vulnérables. Pour protéger ces écosystèmes, les pays concernés sont tenus de prendre des mesures de conservation comme le définissent les conventions et les ententes internationales pertinentes, comme la Convention des Nations Unies sur la diversité biologique et la résolution sur les pêches durables de l'Assemblée générale des Nations Unies.

Pour des renseignements généraux sur les coraux et les éponges, consulter le site Web du centre d'expertise sur les récifs de coraux et d'éponges d'eau froide. De plus, le Ministère a produit trois vidéos sur l'exploration des coraux d'eau froide : Oasis des profondeurs : les coraux des eaux froides de l'Atlantique canadien et Exploration d'un royaume caché, disponible en ligne. La troisième vidéo, Regard en profondeur : la conservation des coraux et des éponges au Canada, sera bientôt elle aussi disponible en ligne.

Baie Placentia et Grands Bancs

Depuis le début des années 2000, des scientifiques étudient les coraux et les éponges de la Région de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, y compris des spécimens capturés en tant que prises accessoires de la pêche au chalut, dans le cadre de relevés plurispécifiques et du Programme des observateurs en mer, pour lequel des observateurs du secteur privé montent à bord de bateaux de pêche pour faire des comptes rendus de leurs activités. D'autres projets de recherche ont permis d'étudier la biochimie, l'habitat et la géographie des coraux, ainsi que l'importance des coraux des grands fonds pour la structure et la fonction des écosystèmes, notamment leur distribution, leurs relations avec les espèces de poissons et les relations trophiques (réseau trophique) sous-jacentes. Les conclusions de ces recherches peuvent être consultées dans le rapport suivant (en anglais seulement) : The Ecology of Deep-Sea Corals of Newfoundland and Labrador Waters: Biogeography, Life History, Biogeochemistry and Relation to Fishes (écologie des coraux des grands fonds des eaux de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador : biogéographie, cycle biologique, biogéochimie et relations avec les poissons).

En 2009, on a ajouté au programme de recherche des études écologiques et taxonomiques sur les éponges des grands fonds, qui sont désormais reconnues comme des écosystèmes marins vulnérables au même titre que les coraux.

En 2007 et en 2010, on a mené deux expéditions de recherche en eaux profondes pour étudier et documenter la biologie et la géologie du fond de l'océan au talus sud-ouest des Grands Bancs et aux secteurs adjacents à la ZEGO de la baie Placentia et des Grands Bancs (Bonnet Flamand et dôme Orphan). À l'aide de ROPOS (Remotely Operated Platform for Ocean Science), un véhicule sous-marin contrôlé à distance, les scientifiques ont pu mener des études sur les écosystèmes en eaux profondes qui appuient les coraux, y compris la première étude sur un mont sous-marin dans la région.

Les chercheurs ont analysé les concentrations de taxons (groupes) de coraux et d'éponges dans la biorégion des plateaux de Terre-Neuve-et- Labrador, qui englobe la zone de la baie Placentia et des Grands Bancs, en appliquant une méthode mise au point par l'Organisation des pêches de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest. La base de données sur les coraux créée pour cette biorégion comporte 38 taxons de corail, parmi lesquels :

  • 61 % sont des coraux mous de la famille Nephtheidae;
  • 18 % sont des pennatules;
  • 9 % sont des grandes gorgones (Paragorgia, Primnoa, Keratoisis et autres);
  • 7,4 % sont des petites gorgones (Acanella et Anthothela);
  • 0,01 % sont des coraux noirs (antipathaires);
  • 0,04 % sont des petits madréporaires (coraux durs solitaires).

Les plus grosses prises de petites gorgones se sont faites dans les plateaux de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, à deux emplacements « importants » sur le talus des Grands Bancs. On a également observé d'importantes concentra- tions de grandes gorgones dans la ZEGO, le long des marges continentales.

Même si les relations entres les coraux des grands fonds et les poissons de fond n'ont pas été étudiées de façon approfondie dans l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest, les recherchent indiquent :

  • qu'il existe des corrélations, d'abord entre la biomasse de coraux et la biodiversité des poissons, et ensuite entre la diversité des coraux et celle des poissons;
  • que les coraux mous, les pennatules et les petites gorgones sont importants pour les poissons et les invertébrés de la région.

Plateau néo-écossais

En 1998, Pêches et Océans Canada a commencé à collaborer avec différents partenaires (universités, organisations non gouvernementales et intervenants de l'industrie) en vue de recueillir des données sur les coraux de la région du plateau­néo-écossais. En 2000, le Ministère a lancé un programme complet de recherche sur les coraux qui prévoyait quatre relevés de recherche sur le plateau néo-écossais, afin de documenter la distribution, l'abondance, la condition et les habitats préférés des coraux et des espèces associées. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter la page Web du Ministère intitulée « Recherche sur les coraux d'eau froide dans la Région des Maritimes ».

À ce jour, on recense cinq grands ordres de coraux sur le plateau néo-écossais, à savoir les coraux mous (Alcyonacea), les coraux noirs (Antipatharia), les coraux branchus (Gorgonacea), les pennatules (Pennatulacea), et les madrépores (Scleractinia). On trouve également des éponges sur le plateau, mais leur biomasse totale est relativement faible. Dans la région, les fonds marins dominés par les éponges sont pour la plupart composés d'une ou de deux grandes espèces formant la structure du plancher océanique et de nombreuses espèces plus petites et plus abondantes. De plus, on a recensé des populations uniques d'éponges siliceuses Vazella pourtalesi (grandes éponges en forme de tonneau) à proximité du bassin d'Émeraude et du banc Sambro, ainsi que dans certaines zones du chenal Nord-Est.

Sur le plateau néo-écossais, les coraux et les éponges des grands fonds forment des structures complexes qui :

  • procurent des abris à de nombreuses espèces;
  • appuient une plus grande diversité de poissons et d'invertébrés que la majorité des autres habitats benthiques;
  • fournissent des habitats à de nombreuses espèces marines à des étapes importantes de leur croissance;
  • servent de source de nourriture pour d'autres espèces d'invertébrés.

Côte nord du Pacifique

Plus de 80 espèces de coraux d'eau froide et quelque 250 espèces d'éponges vivent dans les eaux du littoral de la Colombie-Britannique. La ZGICNP abrite bon nombre de ces espèces, y compris l'éponge hexactinellide (siliceuse), une espèce rare qui forme des récifs. Certaines colonies de coraux peuvent avoir plus de cent ans, alors que certaines communautés d'éponges peuvent s'être développées sur une période de plusieurs millénaires. Par exemple, dans le détroit d'Hecate et le détroit de la Reine-Charlotte (dans la ZEGO), on trouve des récifs d'éponges d'environ 9 000 ans dans des chenaux que les icebergs ont taillés il y a longtemps.

Ces organismes, qui habitent les eaux côtières peu profondes aussi bien que les eaux extracôtières profondes, assurent de nombreuses fonctions écosystémiques qui ne sont pas encore pleinement comprises. Les coraux et les éponges d'eau froide abritent des communautés distinctes de poissons et d'autres espèces, alors que les récifs d'éponges fournissent un important habitat de frai pour les scorpènes juvéniles.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les coraux et les éponges de la côte nord du Pacifique, veuillez consulter le rapport du Secrétariat canadien de consultation scientifique intitulé « Répartition des coraux, éponges et récifs d'éponges d'eaux froides en Colombie-Britannique avec options aux fins de repérage des rencontres importantes (SCCS DocRech - 2010/090)  ».

Répercussions associées aux coraux et aux éponges d'eau froide

Les coraux et les éponges sont vulnérables à la perturbation anthropique en raison de leur faible taux de croissance et de leur sensibilité aux changements physiques et chimiques. Il faut prendre des mesures de protection adéquates pour prévenir la perte de ces espèces importantes sur le plan écologique et de l'habitat précieux qu'ils fournissent aux autres organismes marins.

Sur le plateau néo-écossais, par exemple, les preuves de répercussions de la pêche sur les coraux comprennent : la présence de coraux vivants brisés, de coraux inclinés et de squelettes de coraux épars; des traces laissées par l'équipement de pêche dans les récifs de coraux; la présence de lignes de fond perdues, emmêlées dans les coraux. D'autres types d'équipement de pêche peuvent également perturber et endommager l'habitat benthique et s'emmêler à des éléments du fond marin, comme les coraux, et les briser.

L'augmentation de l'acidification des océans pose une menace pour les organismes qui produisent des carapaces ou des structures composées de calcium ou d'aragonite, comme les coraux, les ptéropodes, les mollusques et les crustacés.

Gestion de la conservation des coraux et des éponges d'eau froide

En 2008, Pêches et Océans Canada a créé le Centre d'expertise sur les récifs de coraux et d'éponges d'eau froide, qui se trouve au Centre des pêches de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest du Ministère, à St. John's (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador). Le Centre aide à coordonner les efforts de conservation déployés par le gouvernement du Canada pour les coraux et les éponges, notamment en

  • fournissant des conseils stratégiques à la haute direction;
  • appuyant les efforts régionaux, nationaux et internationaux pour la conservation des coraux et des éponges;
  • élaborant des outils visant à améliorer la conservation des coraux et des éponges au Canada.

Pour être en mesure de réaliser son mandat, le Centre a établi un réseau solide au sein de Pêches et Océans Canada, de Parcs Canada et de Ressources naturelles Canada. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consulter le Rapport de situation sur la conservation du corail et des éponges au Canada.

Le Ministère a mené en mars 2010 un processus national de consultation scientifique en vue d'examiner les données disponibles et de fournir des conseils scientifiques sur la distribution, la vulnérabilité à la pêche et la fonction écologique des coraux, des éponges et des griffons hydrothermaux habitant les eaux canadiennes. Une autre réunion de consultation scientifique nationale menée en mars 2011 a permis de fournir des conseils sur l'élaboration d'un protocole régissant le traitement des coraux et des éponges dans les eaux canadiennes. Ces conseils ont été consignés dans un avis scientifique pouvant être consulté sur le site Web du Secrétariat canadien de consultation scientifique.

Baie Placentia et Grands Bancs

Les coraux et les éponges constituent l'une des quatre priorités de conservation de la zone de la baie Placentia et des Grands Bancs. On a ciblé des secteurs prioritaires pour la recherche sur les éponges des grands fonds en se fondant sur les zones de la Région présentant une grande biodiversité et une grande abondance. On applique actuellement des mesures de gestion pour assurer la protection de ces secteurs. On travaille également à accroître l'expertise régionale en matière d'identification des éponges et à en apprendre davantage sur leur biologie et leur écologie.

À ce jour, plusieurs secteurs protégés à proximité de la Région, dont certains se trouvent dans la zone de la baie Placentia et des Grands Bancs, sont fermés à la pêche en raison de la présence de coraux et d'éponges. Ces fermetures prévoient :

  • une interdiction provisoire de pêcher au chalut dans des profondeurs de 800 à 2 000 mètres à l'intérieur de la division 3O de l'OPANO, et ce, jusqu'en 2014;
  • l'imposition de restrictions à toute activité de pêche de fond, en vigueur du 1er janvier 2010 jusqu'en décembre 2014, dans les secteurs fermés par l'OPANO dans la Queue des Grands Bancs (division 3N), le Bonnet Flamand/Canyon de l'est (division 3LN) et l'Éperon de Sackville (division 3LM). Une petite portion de la division 3LM se trouve dans les limites de la ZEGO. Les frontières de ces secteurs fermés, qui ont été délimitées par l'OPANO, se trouvent dans les mesures de conservation et de mise en application de l'OPANO (www.nafo.int).

Le Ministère élabore actuellement une stratégie de conservation pour le corail de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et de l'est de l'Arctique. Cette stratégie nécessitera la participation de la Région de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et de la Région du Centre et de l'Arctique.

Plateau néo-écossais

Les mesures de conservation prévues pour le plateau néo-écossais comprennent l'établissement de zones de protection marine et de zones de conservation du corail pour protéger l'habitat, les espèces importantes sur le plan écologique et les espèces à risque. Par exemple, on impose toute l'année des restrictions à la pêche de fond dans la zone de conservation du corail du chenal Nord-Est et la zone de conservation du corail Lophelia.

Le Ministère a également établi le Plan de conservation du corail de la Région des Maritimes, qui résume les efforts de conservation déployés jusqu'à maintenant, recense les problèmes sur lesquels il faut se pencher et établit l'ordre de priorité des activités qu'on prévoit réaliser pour assurer la conservation du corail.

Côte nord du Pacifique

Afin de protéger les espèces rares et fragiles de l'écosystème marin de la côte ouest du Canada, le Ministère a établi le Plan de conservation pour les coraux et les éponges d'eau froide de la Région du Pacifique, un document qui :

  • décrit l'état actuel des connaissances sur les coraux et les éponges d'eau froide du Pacifique;
  • décrit la biologie des coraux et des éponges d'eau froide;
  • répertorie les objectifs de conservation, de gestion et de recherche, les stratégies et les mesures connexes, ainsi que les lacunes en matière d'information;
  • traite des conséquences socio-économiques et des répercussions quant aux mesures de conservation des coraux et des éponges d'eau froide;
  • précise les outils de gestion pouvant faciliter la conservation des coraux et des éponges d'eau froide.
Date de modification :