What is Ocean Acidification?

What is Ocean Acidification?

Ocean acidification is a global threat with potential impacts on marine food webs, ecosystem productivity, commercial fisheries and global food security. This threat has prompted the international scientific community, including Fisheries and Oceans Canada, to investigate the implications of this significant international governance issue.

Each year, about one third of the carbon dioxide (CO2) in fossil fuel emissions dissolves in ocean surface waters, forming carbonic acid and increasing ocean acidity. Over the next century or so, acidification will be intensified near the surface where much of the marine life that humans depend upon live.

The ocean surface is becoming more acidic with increasing atmospheric CO2, and acidity has increased by about 30% since the beginning of the industrial revolution. Estimates of future carbon dioxide levels, based on "business as usual" CO2 emission scenarios, indicate that by the end of this century, the surface waters of the ocean could be nearly 150% more acidic, resulting in a pH (a measure of acidity) that the oceans haven't experienced for more than 20-million years and raising serious concerns about the ability of marine organisms to adapt. This scenario is based on information provided by the U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA).

Monitoring ocean acidification and assessing its potential impacts are essential to the development of an ecosystem approach to managing the marine resources that are likely to be affected by this global threat.

Canada's cold coastal waters may be particularly prone to acidification due to the natural occurrence of undersaturated waters at shallow depths (Pacific coast), or large freshwater input (Arctic coast). Freshwater input from runoff and ice melt reduces the ocean's capacity to buffer against changes in pH. Runoff may also contain organic matter from land which can also increase acidification.

Acidification and the Saturation State of Calcium Carbonate

CarbonateAcidification hampers the ability of marine organisms to form shells and skeletons of calcium carbonate (CaCO3). The degree to which seawater is saturated with CaCO3 is known as the "saturation state" (denoted by the Greek symbol omega, Ω). Saturated water has a saturation state (Ω) of greater than or equal to (≥) 1.0. Water with a Ω > 1 is oversaturated and the mineral will tend to precipitate (form a solid). Water with a Ω of less than (<) 1 is undersaturated and the mineral will tend to dissolve.

Increasing acidification reduces the saturation state of calcite and aragonite, the two most common forms of CaCO3. When undersaturation occurs, it is impossible for organisms to maintain or grow CaCO3 shells and skeletons. The saturation state of CaCO3 is determined primarily by the concentration of carbonate ions (CO32-) and pressure (i.e., depth), with temperature and salinity playing smaller roles. It is also affected by ocean processes, including inputs of CO2 from the decay of organic matter or the uptake of anthropogenic CO2 from the atmosphere, surface temperature change, freshwater runoff, stratification and mixing of the water column.

Acidification in Canada's Oceans

Pacific North Coast:

In summer along the west coast of Canada, acidic water from depths of 100 to 200 metres upwells onto the continental shelf and into the ocean surface layer. This upwelling water is acidic due to a high concentration of dissolved inorganic carbon. However, the exposure of the continental shelf to this water is expected to be intermittent since the uptake of CO2 by phytoplankton and outgassing of CO2 to the atmosphere remove the excess dissolved inorganic carbon. Nonetheless the combination of undersaturated water at relatively shallow depths and winds that favour upwelling make the British Columbia shelf particularly vulnerable.

Over the last century, the depth below which the aragonitic shells of shellfish, corals and some plankton dissolve — known as the aragonite saturation depth or horizon (Ωa) — has become shallower by, typically, 30-50 metres. In the Northeast Pacific Ocean, the saturation horizon is naturally shallow – as little as 100 metres below the surface. Scientists expect the saturation depth to become shallower as global atmospheric CO2 concentrations increase over the coming century, putting organisms close to the surface at risk from ocean acidification.

Beaufort Sea:

Ocean acidification in this Large Ocean Management Area has been observed in the Canada Basin of the Beaufort Sea. However, increasing ice melt and runoff in summer, combined with higher atmospheric CO2, may increase the frequency and/or area affected by acidified waters on the Canadian Beaufort shelf, a broad estuarine region of the southeastern Beaufort Sea.

From 1997 to 2008, the saturation state of aragonite in the surface water of the Canada Basin decreased by 0.4 due to sea ice melt and increases in atmospheric CO2. Surveys in 2008 revealed that aragonite was undersaturated in the surface layer, with the lowest values near the centre of the Beaufort Gyre (Ωa about 0.8). Since saturation states are affected by water temperature, warming surface waters in the Canadian Basin counteracted some of the effects of ice melt and increasing atmospheric CO2. Calcite was still marginally oversaturated (Ωc of 1.1-2.0) in surface waters of the Canada Basin in 2008.

Although recent measurements of CaCO3 saturation states are offshore in this LOMA, scientists anticipate that ocean acidification will affect the continental shelf waters due to factors such as the upwelling of nutrient rich, Pacific-origin water (which has a low aragonite saturation state) across the shelfbreak.

Scotian Shelf:

Data from the Scotian Shelf indicates that pH has declined by about 0.1 to 0.2 units since the early 1930s, indicating that ocean acidification is ongoing. There is concern that the outflow of more acidic water from the Arctic will affect Atlantic Canadian waters downstream.

Gulf of St. Lawrence:

There has been no significant change in the pH of surface waters in the St. Lawrence Estuary and Gulf since 1934. With the exception of transient acidified water in the shallow southern Gulf of St. Lawrence, acidified waters in this LOMA are generally deeper than 100 metres.

The pH of bottom waters at depths of 170 to 335 metres has decreased by 0.2 to 0.3 units over the 73 years from 1934 to 2007, which is similar to the change predicted for the open ocean over the next century. It is important to note that this decline in pH was not due to the uptake of anthropogenic CO2 from the atmosphere. Rather, it was the result of an increase in CO2 due to the decay of organic matter in the deeper waters of the estuary, which were isolated from the atmosphere during that time. Calcite is now only slightly supersaturated in the estuary while aragonite is highly undersaturated in the waters below 150 metres.

Impacts of Ocean Acidification

The most direct biological impact of acidification will be on marine "calcifiers" — organisms that form shells and skeletons containing CaCO3. These organisms include phytoplankton, zooplankton and other invertebrates including molluscs, crustaceans, gastropods, sea urchins and other echinoderms, and corals. Several of these groups include species of commercial importance (e.g., bivalve molluscs, oysters, clams).

When there is too much CO2 in seawater, the saturation state of CaCO33 is low (see text box on "saturation state") and organisms have to use more energy to produce skeletons and shells.

In addition to decreases in calcification, or a softening of shells, studies reveal that a more acidic ocean environment also reduces growth rates and increases mortality in some marine species. A decline in the growth of marine calcifiers such as American Lobster, Ocean Quahog, and scallops means less shellfish meat to sell and to eat. Acidification is also expected to affect the reproduction and development of marine organisms to varying degrees.

Differences in the response of organisms to reduced pH could have a considerable impact on biodiversity, marine community structure, and ecosystem goods and services. Such goods and services pertain to the value and benefits that all living things derive from healthy ecosystems. Increasing acidity may also alter the chemistry of marine waters in other ways, potentially affecting nutrient availability and toxicity of some pollutants.

There is already evidence that acidification is having negative impacts on key marine species in the Arctic (i.e., the pelagic mollusc Limacina helicina). The undersaturation of aragonite in the Gulf of St. Lawrence suggests that acidification may already be affecting biota in that ecosystem, especially in deeper waters. Laboratory and microcosm experiments conducted throughout the world show that species such as crabs and shrimps may exhibit reduced rates of net calcification and even dissolution under conditions such as those currently encountered in the St. Lawrence hypoxic waters.

If atmospheric CO2 doubles from preindustrial levels in the middle of the 21st century, it would reduce the CaCO33 saturation state by 30%, which would affect plankton and favour non-calcifying species. The reorganization of the lower food chain would have impacts on the rest of the food web.

Addressing Ocean Acidification

Continued scientific research into ocean acidification is necessary to identify its impacts and drivers, which vary by location, with a view to developing a coherent response to the issue. Other studies are exploring the timing of seasonal acidification events and the potential impacts of a more acidic ocean environment on various organisms. Several international research programs are underway to examine possible impacts on pteropods, which are the most vulnerable organisms in the Gulf of Alaska because their shells are made of aragonite, the form of calcium carbonate that dissolves more readily. Plankton, which are at the bottom of the food chain and controlled by climate, should be intensely monitored as a sentinel of climate change impacts.

For more information, see: Ocean Acidification

Date modified:

Qu’est-ce que l’acidification de l’océan?

Qu'est-ce que l'acidification de l'océan?

L'acidification de l'océan est une menace mondiale qui peut avoir des répercussions sur les réseaux trophiques marins, la productivité des écosystèmes, les pêches commerciales et la sécurité alimentaire mondiale. Cette menace a incité la communauté scientifique internationale, dont Pêches et Océans Canada, à étudier les répercussions de cet important problème de gouvernance internationale.

Chaque année, environ le tiers du dioxyde de carbone (CO2) contenu dans les émissions de combustible fossile se dissout dans les eaux de surface de l'océan, formant ainsi de l'acide carbonique et augmentant l'acidité des océans. Au cours du prochain siècle, l'acidification s'intensifiera à proximité de la surface où se concentre une grande partie de la vie marine qui est exploitée par les humains.

La surface de l'océan devient de plus en plus acide à cause du CO2 atmosphérique, et l'acidité a augmenté d'environ 30 % depuis le début de la révolution industrielle. Les estimations des niveaux futurs de dioxyde de carbone, qui ont été établies en fonction de scénarios de « statu quo » en matière d'émissions de CO2, indiquent que les eaux de surface de l'océan pourraient être environ 150 % plus acides d'ici la fin du siècle, de sorte que le pH (une mesure d'acidité) de l'océan atteindrait un niveau encore jamais enregistré depuis plus de 20 millions d'années. Cette hausse soulèverait d'ailleurs de sérieuses préoccupations concernant la capacité des organismes marins à s'adapter. Ce scénario est fondé sur des renseignements fournis par la National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration des États-Unis.

La surveillance de l'acidification de l'océan et l'évaluation de ses répercussions potentielles sont essentielles pour élaborer une approche écosystémique relative à la gestion des ressources marines qui risquent d'être touchées par cette menace mondiale.

Les eaux côtières froides du Canada peuvent être particulièrement touchées par l'acidification en raison de la présence naturelle d'eaux sous-saturées dans les eaux peu profondes (côte du Pacifique) ou du grand apport en eau douce (côte de l'Arctique). L'apport en eau douce provenant du ruissellement et de la fonte des glaces réduit la capacité de l'océan à composer avec les changements dans les niveaux de pH. De plus, les eaux de ruissellement peuvent contenir des matières organiques provenant du sol qui peuvent également accroître l'acidification.

Acidification et taux de saturation du carbonate de calcium

L'acidification due au carbonate gêne la capacité des organismes marins à produire des coquilles et des squelettes à partir du carbonate de calcium (CaCO3). Le degré de saturation de l'eau de mer par le CaCO3 est appelé « taux de saturation », qui est exprimé par la lettre grecque oméga, dont le symbole est « Ω ». L'eau saturée a un taux de saturation (Ω) égal ou supérieur à (≥) 1,0. L'eau dont le taux de saturation (Ω) est supérieur à (>) 1 est sursaturée et le minéral a tendance à se précipiter (se solidifier). L'eau dont le taux de saturation (Ω) est inférieur à (<) 1 est sous-saturée et le minéral tend à se dissoudre.

L'augmentation de l'acidification réduit le taux de saturation de la calcite et de l'aragonite, qui sont les deux formes les plus courantes du CaCO3. Lorsque la sous­saturation se produit, les organismes ne peuvent pas conserver ou produire des coquilles et des squelettes faits de CaCO3. Le taux de saturation du CaCO3 est principalement établi en fonction de la concentration d'ions carbonates (CO32-) et de la pression (c.-à-d. la profondeur), alors que la température et la salinité ont très peu d'influence sur son calcul. Il est également établi en fonction des processus océaniques, dont les apports de CO2 provenant de la décomposition de matière organique ou de l'accumulation de CO2 anthropique de l'atmosphère, le changement de température de la surface, le débit d'eau douce, la stratification et le brassage de la colonne d'eau.

Acidification des océans canadiens

Côte nord du Pacifique

Pendant l'été, l'eau acide se trouvant à des profondeurs de 100 à 200 mètres le long de la côte ouest du Canada remonte vers le plateau continental jusqu'à la couche superficielle de l'océan. Cette eau remontante est acide en raison d'une forte concentration de carbone inorganique dissous. Toutefois, cette eau ne devrait toucher le plateau continental que de façon intermittente, puisque l'apport de CO2 par le phytoplancton et le rejet de CO2 dans l'atmosphère éliminent le carbone inorganique dissous qui est excédentaire. Néanmoins, l'eau sous-saturée présente dans des eaux relativement peu profondes ainsi que les vents favorisant la remontée d'eau rendent le plateau de la Colombie-Britannique particulièrement vulnérable.

Au cours du dernier siècle, le point sous lequel les coquilles et les squelettes d'aragonite des crustacés, des coraux et de certains planctons se dissolvent – qui est appelé profondeur ou horizon de saturation par l'aragonite (Ωa) – a généralement diminué de 30 à 50 mètres. Dans le nord-est de l'océan Pacifique, l'horizon de saturation est naturellement peu profond, se retrouvant à seulement 100 mètres sous la surface. Les scientifiques prévoient que la profondeur de saturation sera moins élevée à mesure que les concentrations atmosphériques mondiales de CO2 augmenteront au cours du prochain siècle, de sorte que les organismes à proximité de la surface seront menacés par l'acidification de l'océan.

Mer de Beaufort

L'acidification de l'océan dans cette ZEGO a été observée dans le bassin Canada de la mer de Beaufort. Cependant, l'accroissement de la fonte des glaces et du ruissellement pendant l'été, en plus de la hausse des niveaux de CO2 atmosphérique, peuvent augmenter la fréquence et élargir la zone touchée par les eaux acides dans le plateau de la mer de Beaufort du Canada, une grande région estuarienne du sud-est de la mer de Beaufort.

Entre 1997 et 2008, le taux de saturation de l'aragonite dans l'eau de surface du bassin Canada a diminué de 0,4 unité en raison de la fonte des glaces de mer et de l'augmentation des niveaux de CO2 atmosphérique. Les études menées en 2008 ont révélé que l'aragonite était sous saturée dans la couche superficielle, et que les plus petites valeurs avaient été enregistrées près du centre du tourbillon de Beaufort (Ωa d'environ 0,8). Comme la température de l'eau influence les taux de saturation, le réchauffement des eaux de surface du bassin Canada a neutralisé certains des effets de la fonte des glaces et de l'augmentation des niveaux de CO2 atmosphérique. La calcite était encore légèrement sursaturée (Ωc se situant entre 1,1 et 2,0) dans les eaux de surface du bassin Canada en 2008.

Bien que les récentes mesures des taux de saturation du CaCO3 aient été prises au large de cette ZEGO, les scientifiques prévoient que l'acidification de l'océan aura des répercussions sur les eaux du plateau continental en raison de différents facteurs, comme la remontée de l'eau riche en éléments nutritifs qui provient du Pacifique (laquelle a un faible taux de saturation de l'aragonite) sur le rebord de la plate­forme continentale.

Plateau néo-écossais

Les données sur le plateau néo-écossais indiquent que le pH a diminué de 0,1 à 0,2 unité depuis les années 1930, ce qui montre que l'acidification de l'océan est en cours. On craint que l'écoulement de l'eau plus acide en provenance de l'Arctique ait des répercussions sur les eaux canadiennes en aval de l'Atlantique.

Golfe du Saint-Laurent

Le pH des eaux de surface de l'estuaire et du golfe du Saint-Laurent n'a pas changé de façon significative depuis 1934. À l'exception de la présence passagère des eaux acides dans les eaux peu profondes du sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent, les eaux acides se retrouvent généralement à plus de 100 mètres de profondeur dans cette ZEGO.

Par contre, le pH des eaux de fond (de 170 à 335 mètres) a diminué de 0,2 à 0,3 unité sur 73 ans, soit de 1934 à 2007, ce qui est semblable au changement de pH prévu en haute mer au cours du prochain siècle. Il importe de souligner que cette diminution du pH n'est pas attribuable à l'accumulation de CO2 anthropique provenant de l'atmosphère. Elle est plutôt due à l'augmentation des niveaux de CO2 en raison de la décomposition de matière organique dans les eaux profondes de l'estuaire, qui étaient isolées de l'atmosphère pendant ce temps. La calcite n'est maintenant que légèrement sursaturée dans l'estuaire, tandis que l'aragonite est grandement sous-saturée dans les eaux en dessous de 150 mètres.

Répercussions de l'acidification de l'océan

L'effet biologique le plus direct de l'acidification se fera sentir sur les « calcificateurs » marins, des organismes qui produisent des coquilles et des squelettes faits de CaCO33. Ces organismes comprennent le phytoplancton, le zooplancton et d'autres invertébrés comme les mollusques, les crustacés, les gastéropodes, les oursins et d'autres échinodermes, ainsi que les coraux. Plusieurs de ces groupes comprennent des espèces d'importance commerciale (p. ex. les mollusques bivalves, les huîtres, les palourdes).

Lorsqu'il y a trop de CO2 dans l'eau de mer, le taux de saturation du CaCO33 est faible (voir l'encadré sur le taux de saturation) et les organismes doivent dépenser plus d'énergie pour produire des squelettes et des coquilles.

Les études ont révélé qu'un milieu océanique plus acide peut non seulement entraîner une diminution de la calcification, ou le ramollissement des coquilles, mais aussi une réduction des taux de croissance et une hausse de la mortalité chez certaines espèces marines. La réduction du taux de croissance des calcificateurs marins comme le homard, le quahog nordique et le pétoncle entraîne une diminution de l'abondance de la chair de mollusques destinée à la consommation et à la vente. On prévoit également que l'acidification aura diverses répercussions sur la reproduction et la croissance des organismes marins.

Les différences de réponses des organismes à l'égard du pH réduit peuvent avoir des répercussions considérables sur la biodiversité, la structure des communautés marines, et les biens et services des écosystèmes. Ces biens et ces services constituent la valeur et les avantages que tous les organismes vivants tirent des écosystèmes sains. La hausse de l'acidité peut aussi changer la composition chimique des eaux marines d'autres façons, touchant potentiellement la disponibilité des nutriments et la toxicité de certains polluants.

Il a déjà été démontré que l'acidification a des effets négatifs sur les principales espèces marines de l'Arctique, comme le mollusque pélagique Limacina helicina. La sous-saturation de l'aragonite dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent suggère que l'acidification a peut-être déjà des répercussions sur le biote présent dans cet écosystème, particulièrement dans les eaux profondes. De plus, des expériences en laboratoire et sur le microcosme menées à travers le monde démontrent que des espèces comme le crabe et la crevette peuvent afficher des taux réduits de calcification nette et même de dissolution dans certaines conditions telles que celles observées dans les eaux hypoxiques du Saint-Laurent.

Si les niveaux de CO2 atmosphérique doublaient par rapport aux niveaux préindustriels enregistrés au milieu du 21e siècle, le taux de saturation du CaCO33 diminuerait de 30 %, ce qui aurait une incidence sur le plancton et avantagerait les espèces non calcifiantes. De plus, la réorganisation de la partie inférieure de la chaîne alimentaire aurait des répercussions sur le reste du réseau trophique.

Traiter l'acidification de l'océan

Il est nécessaire d'effectuer d'autres recherches concernant l'acidification de l'océan afin de déterminer ses répercussions et ses facteurs, qui diffèrent selon l'endroit, dans le but d'élaborer un plan d'intervention cohérent à l'égard de ce problème. D'autres études traitent de la chronologie des cas d'acidification saisonniers et des répercussions que pourrait avoir un milieu océanique plus acide sur différents organismes. Plusieurs programmes de recherche internationaux sont en cours afin d'examiner les répercussions que pourrait avoir l'acidification de l'océan sur le ptéropode, l'organisme le plus vulnérable du golfe d'Alaska en raison de sa coquille qui est faite d'aragonite, qui est une forme de carbonate de calcium qui se dissout plus rapidement. Le plancton, qui est à la base de la chaîne alimentaire et qui est contrôlé par le climat, doit faire l'objet d'un suivi rigoureux puisqu'il agit à titre d'indicateur des répercussions du changement climatique.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter l'article suivant : Acidification de l'océan

Date de modification :