Language selection

Search

Statement of Canadian Practice with respect to the Mitigation of Seismic Sound in the Marine Environment

Statement of Canadian Practice with respect to the Mitigation of Seismic Sound in the Marine Environment

Statement of Canadian Practice with respect to the Mitigation of Seismic Sound in the Marine Environment (PDF, 388 KB)

Poster

Statement of Canadian Practice with respect to the Mitigation of Seismic Sound in the Marine Environment

MARINE SEISMIC SURVEYS IN CANADA are conducted in the Atlantic, Pacific and Arctic oceans in waters with very diverse biological, oceanographic and geomorphic characteristics. In response to public concerns over the potential impacts of seismic surveys on marine life, federal and provincial authorities responsible for the review and assessments of proposed surveys agreed to develop a national code of conduct.

DEVELOPMENT PROCESS

  1. National and international peers reviewed scientific evidence of potential physical, physiological and behavioural impacts associated with seismic survey, considering the direct, indirect, chronic or cumulative nature of those impacts.
  2. Technical experts reviewed and identified best mitigation practices used world wide.
  3. Public review of the draft Statement was completed.

OUTCOME

Conclusions were drawn using a risk-based approach that considered the likelihood of occurrence, the frequency and duration of the mitigated impact, the recovery potential and the ecological significance or severity of the impact.

THE STATEMENT DOES NOT APPLY TO ICE COVERED WATERS, TO NON-ESTUARINE PORTIONS OF RIVERS OR TO LAKES.

During the Planning Phase the Statement sets out mitigation requirements that must be met:

[PHOTO: Man observing something through binoculars]
[PHOTO: Frigate in the fog]
[PHOTO: Hands working on a drafting board]

EXERCISING PRECAUTION, operators must minimize the unnecessary introduction of sound and design survey which:

The peer review process concluded that at certain received sound levels, behavioural changes could be manifested by some marine fish, marine mammals and sea turtles. The review also recognized that additional precaution was called for to address the needs of marine species listed as endangered or threatened and that individual level impacts should therefore be mitigated.

Surveys must therefore be designed to avoid causing:

REDUCING THE IMPACT ON POPULATION

To reduce the potential impacts of the survey and to reflect the peer review conclusion that population-level impacts could result if surveys were conducted in areas and at times when large groups of marine mammals and fish were engaged in critical biological activity, surveys must be planned to avoid:

Surveys must also be planned to avoid:

REGIONAL FLEXIBILITY

The diverse biological, oceanographic, geomorphic characteristics of the Atlantic, Pacific and Arctic oceans require that regional flexibility be built into the code of conduct for seismic operations. Environmental processes and the associated regulatory reviews may require additional or modified mitigation as required to address regional specificities, chronic or cumulative effects, variations in sound propagation levels, or other region or project specific conditions.

During field operations a number of mitigative measures are required during the conduct of the seismic survey.

[PHOTO: Overhead view of a coast guard ship]
[PHOTO: Sea Turtle]
[PHOTO: Trio of dolphins]

THESE INCLUDE THE establishment and monitoring of a Safety Zone, which must at a minimum be 500m as measured from the center of the air source array.

SAFETY ZONE

The Statement recognizes that in certain circumstances, an environmental assessment process may identify the need for a safety zone greater than 500m. It further specifies that for 30 minutes prior to start up, the area must be clear of whale, dolphin, porpoise or sea turtles and that a regular watch maintained during the conduct of the survey.

Recognizing that many marine species appear to avoid seismic vessels when the air sources are active, seismic operators are required to start up the air source arrays with a pulse from the lowest energy source. The remainder of the sound sources on the array must be gradually activated over a fixed period of time.

SHUT DOWN

Survey activities must be suspended if an endangered or threatened marine mammal or sea turtle or if a marine mammal or sea turtle identified by an environmental assessment process as possibly subject to population-level impacts enters the safety zone. Air sources can be gradually ramped up when the animals have left the area.

LINE CHANGES AND MAINTENANCE

To futher reduce the amount of unnecessary sound entering the marine environment, operators are required to either shut down the energy source completely or shut down all but one source when active surveying ceases for example during line changes or for maintenance reasons.

LOW VISIBILITY

Reduced visibility due to shorten light periods, fog, storm conditions may limit the ability of the marine mammal observer to watch the full extent of the Safety zone. In situations of low visibility, the Statement calls for the use of alternate monitoring measures to detect the presence of cetaceans if the survey is in an area identified as critical habitat for an endangered or threatened vocalizing cetacean, or if the survey areas has been identified as an area where a species for which significant environmental impacts have been identified by an environmental process.

It is recognized that the field of cetacean detection technology is a rapidly evolving one and that there are limitations to the current technology particularly with respect to the location and identification of the vocal signature of the cetacean. Required use of cetacean detection technology is limited to areas where operators can expect the presence of endangered or threatened cetaceans or species for which special concerns have been identified through an environmental process. Precaution is called for and operators are directed to treat all non-identified cetacean vocalizations as those of endangered, threatened or species for which concern has been identified by the environmental process and to shut down until the area until no vocalizations have been detected for a fixed period of time.

The Statement of Practice is reviewed annually by the governments. The review allows for revisions to the requirements based upon new technologies, science findings, innovative industry practices and discussion with other government regulators.
Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Énoncé des pratiques canadiennes d'atténuation des ondes sismiques en milieu marin

Énoncé des pratiques canadiennes d'atténuation des ondes sismiques en milieu marin

Énoncé des pratiques canadiennes d'atténuation des ondes sismiques en milieu marin (PDF, 415 Ko)

Affiche

Énoncé des pratiques canadiennes d’atténuation des ondes sismiques en milieu marin

DES LEVÉS SISMIQUES SONT MENÉS EN MILIEU MARIN au Canada dans les eaux de l'Atlantique, du Pacifique et de l'Arctique, aux caractéristiques biologiques, océanographiques et géomorphologiques très différentes. En réponse aux préoccupations du public que soulevaient les effets possibles des levés sismiques sur la vie marine, les autorités fédérales et provinciales responsables de l'examen et de l'évaluation des projets de levé ont convenu d'élaborer un code de conduite national.

PROCESSUS D'ÉLABORATION

  1. Des spécialistes canadiens et étrangers ont passé en revue la documentation scientifique sur les effets physiques, physiologiques et comportementaux possibles des activités de levé sismique, en tenant compte de la nature directe, indirecte, chronique ou cumulative de ces effets.
  2. Des experts techniques ont identifié et évalué les meilleures mesures reconnues internationalement pour l'atténuation de ces effets.
  3. Un examen public du projet d'énoncé a été fait.

CONCLUSIONS

Les spécialistes ont tiré des conclusions reposant sur une démarche axée sur le risque tenant compte de la vraisemblance de divers effets biologiques et écologiques, de la fréquence et de la durée de l'effet atténué, du potentiel de rétablissement et de la gravité possible de divers effets biologiques et écologiques.

L'ÉNONCÉ NE S'APPLIQUE PAS AUX LEVÉS SISMIQUES EFFECTUÉS DANS LES EAUX MARINES PRISES PAR LES GLACES, DANS LES PARTIES NON ESTUARIENNES DE FLEUVES OU DANS DES LACS.

L'Énoncé établit les mesures d'atténuation qui doivent être satisfaites à la phase de planification.

[PHOTO : J'aime bien mes jumelles]
[PHOTO : Un gros navire]
[PHOTO : Table de travail]

EN FAISANT PREUVE DE PRÉCAUTION, les promoteurs doivent réduire au minimum la production inutile d'ondes et concevoir un relevé de façon :

Le processus d'examen par les pairs a permis de conclure que, à certains niveaux sonores, des modifications du comportement pouvaient se produire chez certains poissons marins, mammifères marins et tortues marines. l'examen a également permis de reconnaître qu'il fallait faire preuve de précaution additionnelle pour répondre aux besoins des espèces marines inscrites à la liste des espèces en voie de disparition ou menacée et que, chez ceux-ci, les effets néfastes sur les individus devaient être atténués.

Les levés sismiques menés en milieu marin doivent donc être conçus de façon à éviter :

RÉDUIRE L'IMPACT SUR LES POPULATIONS

Afin de réduire les effets possibles des levés sismiques et de tenir compte de la conclusion de l'examen par les pairs que des effets à l'échelon des populations pourraient se produire si les levés étaient effectués à des endroits et à des moments lorsque de grands groupes de mammifères marins ou des agrégations de poissons se livrent à une activité biologique critique, les levés sismiques menés en milieu marin doivent être conçus de façon à éviter :

Les levés sismiques menés en milieu marin doivent également être conçus de façon à éviter :

SOUPLESSE À L'ÉCHELLE RÉGIONALE

Les caractéristiques biologiques, océanographiques et géomorphologiques très différentes des océans Atlantique, Pacifique et Arctique exigent qu'une souplesse à l'échelle régionale soit intégrée dans le code de conduite pour les levés sismiques. Des mesures d'atténuation additionnelles ou modifiées peuvent être exigées au titre des processus d'évaluation environnementale et des examens réglementaires connexes afin de tenir compte des spécificités régionales, des effets chroniques ou cumulatifs, des variations dans les niveaux de propagation des sons ou d'autres conditions particulières à une région ou à un projet de levé.

Durant les opérations sur le terrain, diverses mesures d'atténuation doivent être appliquées durant l'exécution d'un levé sismique.

[PHOTO : Des navires sur l'eau]
[PHOTO : Tortue de mer]
[PHOTO : Trois dauphins heureux]

CES MESURES INCLUENT l'établissement et la surveillance d'une zone de sécurité, d'au moins 500 mètres à partir du centre de la source des tirs sismiques.

ZONE DE SÉCURITÉ

Il est reconnu dans l'Énoncé que, dans certaines circonstances, l'établissement d'une zone de sécurité de plus de 500 mètres peut être exigé dans une évaluation environnementale. Il est également établi dans l'Énoncé que, durant une période de 30 minutes avant l'activation des bulleurs sismiques, aucun individu d'une espèce de baleines, de dauphins, de marsouins ou de tortues marines ne doit être présent dans la zone de sécurité. Une surveillance régulière doit être maintenue durant l'exécution du levé.

Du fait que de nombreuses espèces marines semblent éviter les navires sismologiques lorsque les levés sismiques sont en cours, les opérateurs doivent activer un seul bulleur, qui doit être celui qui produit le moins de bruit et d'énergie. Ils doivent ensuite activer les autres bulleurs de façon croissante durant une période fixe.

ARRÊT DES BULLEURS

Les bulleurs sismiques doivent être stoppés lorsqu'un individu d'une espèce de mammifères marins ou de tortues marines en voie de disparition ou menacée, ou un individu d'une espèce de mammifères marins ou de tortues marines identifiée dans le cadre d'une évaluation environnementale comme pouvant subir des effets à l'échelon des populations, entre dans la zone de sécurité. Les bulleurs sismiques peuvent être graduellement activés lorsque les animaux ont quitté la zone de sécurité.

CHANGEMENT DE LIGNES ET ENTRETIEN

Afin de réduire davantage le niveau de sons inutiles qui entrent dans le milieu marin, les opérateurs doivent stopper ou réduire les bulleurs sismiques à une seule source d'énergie lorsque les activités de levé (collectes de données) cessent, par exemple durant le changement de lignes de relevé ou pour l'entretien du matériel.

VISIBILITÉ RÉDUITE

Une visibilité réduite en raison de jours plus courts, de brouillard ou de conditions de tempête peut limiter la capacité de l'observateur des mammifères marins de surveiller l'ensemble de la zone de sécurité. Lorsque la visibilité est faible, l'Énoncé prescrit l'utilisation d'autres moyens de surveillance pour localiser les cétacés lorsqu'un levé est exécuté dans un secteur connu comme étant un habitat essentiel d'une espèce de cétacés en voie de disparition ou menacée, ou lorsque le secteur de levé a été identifié dans le cadre d'une évaluation environnementale comme étant un endroit où une espèce pourrait subir d'importants effets néfastes.

On reconnaît que le domaine de la technologie de localisation des cétacés évolue rapidement et que la technologie actuelle a des lacunes, en particulier au plan de la localisation des cétacés et de l'identification de leur signature vocale. L'application de techniques de localisation des cétacés est exigée seulement dans les secteurs où les opérateurs peuvent s'attendre à se retrouver en présence d'un individu d'une espèce de cétacés en voie de disparition ou menacée ou d'espèces identifiées comme préoccupantes dans une évaluation environnementale. La précaution est d'ordre et les opérateurs doivent considérer toutes les vocalisations de cétacés non identifiés comme provenant d'un individu d'une espèce de cétacés en voie de disparition ou menacée ou d'une espèce identifiée comme préoccupante dans une évaluation environnementale et stopper les bulleurs sismiques jusqu'à ce qu'aucune vocalisation n'ait été décelée pendant une période déterminée.

les autoriés gouvernementales concernées passent l’énoncé des pratiques canadiennes en revue tous les ans. cet examen permet de réviser les exigences en regard des nouvelles technologies, des découvertes scientifiques, des pratiques innovatrices de l’industrie et des discussions avec d’autres organismes gouvernementaux deréglementation.
Signaler un problème ou une erreur sur cette page
Veuillez sélectionner toutes les cases qui s'appliquent :
Date de modification :