Interim report of the National Advisory Panel on Marine Protected Area Standards

Submitted to the Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard

Interim report of the National Advisory Panel on Marine Protected Area Standards

Interim report of the National Advisory Panel on Marine Protected Area Standards (PDF, 275 KB)

August 15, 2018

Table of Contents

Acronyms

DFO
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
ECCC
Environment and Climate Change Canada
ICE
Indigenous Circle of Experts
IPA
Indigenous Protected Areas
IUCN
International Union for the Conservation of Nature
MPA
Marine Protected Area
OECM
Other Effective Area-Based Conservation Measures
PC
Parks Canada

Introduction

Around the world, concerns are mounting about the declining health of our oceans. Canada has joined other countries in making clear commitments to strengthen ocean management and conservation, including through the establishment of marine protected areas (MPAs).

The National Advisory Panel on Marine Protected Area Standards was created in March, 2018 to offer guidance to the Minister of Fisheries, Oceans, and the Canadian Coast Guard on the development of protection standards for federal MPAs. The Panel’s work has included eight meetings on Canada’s three coasts, in which it heard from intervenors and deliberated extensively, and consideration of online submissions from across Canada. The Panel is now at a point where it can offer an interim report based on what it has learned.

In offering guidance, the Panel was invited to consider the framework of categories and protection standards developed by the International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN). The Panel has been asked to offer advice on Indigenous Protected Areas (IPAs) drawing on the “relevant recommendations of the Indigenous Circle of Experts.”Footnote 1

In Canada, there are two federal departments and one agency that have the mandate to establish MPAs: Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO), Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC), and Parks Canada (PC).Footnote 2 These agencies have sometimes worked in partnership with Indigenous peoples and provinces to jointly establish or co-manage MPAs. The Panel’s recommendations should apply consistently to MPAs created through each of these processes, which will lead to consistent protections across Canada and therefore more effective MPAs.

This report begins with an introduction to the IUCN framework and a discussion of Indigenous Protected Areas. Then, it reports on what Panelists have heard in their broad consultations across the country with diverse intervenors. The report next introduces a series of principles which will serve as a basis for the final report. It concludes with a section on the IUCN standards and how they may shape the Panel’s final recommendations.

IUCN framework as a baseline

The IUCN is the internationally-recognized expert body for the conservation of nature. This Panel’s task is to consider IUCN categories and standards and offer recommendations on their application in Canada. The IUCN defines a protected area as:

A clearly defined geographical space, recognized, dedicated, and managed through legal or other effective means, to achieve the long-term conservation of nature with associated ecosystem services and cultural values.

N. Dudley (ed.) 2008. Guidelines for Applying Protected Area Management Categories. IUCN: Gland, Switzerland.

The IUCN recognizes that while MPAs have conservation as the primary objective, other effective area-based conservation measures (OECM) can also deliver biodiversity protection. OECMs offer biodiversity protection as a secondary outcome regardless of their primary management objective:

A geographically defined area other than a Protected Area, which is governed and managed in ways that achieve positive and sustained long-term outcomes for the in situ conservation of biodiversity with associated ecosystem functions and services and, where applicable, cultural, spiritual, socioeconomic and other locally relevant values.

Convention on Biological Diversity’s Subsidiary Body on Scientific, Technical and Technological Advice 6 July 2018. Recommendation on Protected Areas and Other Effective Area-Based Conservation Measures to the Conference of the Parties. CBD/SBSTTA/22/L.2.

Note that this definition has been proposed for adoption by the Conference of the Parties at its fourteenth meeting in October 2018.

The Panel will consider the relationship between MPAs and OECMs in Canada in its final report.

Canada participates as a voting member of the IUCN, and Canadian scientists were involved in creating the MPA and OECM standards and guidelines. The Panel believes that Canada’s continued alignment with the IUCN MPA framework offers significant value. First, the interconnectedness of all Earth’s oceans means that the protection of ocean health is an international responsibility, and formal alignment with the IUCN framework will help Canada collaborate effectively with other countries in international research, monitoring, and evaluation initiatives. Second, alignment with the IUCN framework means that Canadian standards will be understood by, and have credibility with, the international community. The Panel’s recommendations will address the applicability of the IUCN framework to federal MPAs. They will also recognize the importance of flexibility and practicality to respond to the diverse needs of Indigenous peoples and stakeholders across the country.

Indigenous Protected Areas

MPAs are one tool for marine protection and conservation. IPAs are another emerging tool to achieve biodiversity protection and enhancement—if they achieve these goals and meet the IUCN definition, IPAs may be accepted as MPAs. While the primary purpose of MPAs is to further biodiversity and associated ecosystem services and cultural values, IPAs may be created to advance a broader range of objectives relating to Indigenous self-determination, conservation, cultural preservation, economic development, and resource management. In other words, IPAs could be MPAs but not all IPAs will be MPAs.

A New Shared Arctic Leadership Model (authored by Panel co-chair Mary Simon) describes the basic principles that underpin the IPA concept:

Indigenous protected areas are based on the idea of a protected area explicitly designed to accommodate and support an Indigenous vision of a working landscape. This kind of designation has the potential to usher in a broader, more meaningful set of northern benefits and bring definition to the idea of a conservation economy.

Mary Simon, Minister’s Special Representative (2017). A New Shared Arctic Leadership Model.

The Panel believes that IPAs hold great promise as tools to advance conservation and biodiversity protection alongside cultural and socio-economic values. They can also serve as a way to give effect to legal obligations and policy commitments in support of Crown-Indigenous reconciliation and nation-building. IPAs have the potential to create economic, employment and educational benefits, and to recognize stewardship and management authorities of Indigenous peoples.

What the panel has heard

The Panel has learned much from Indigenous peoples and many individuals and organizations working in academia, aquaculture, commercial and recreational fishing, environmental conservation, extractive industries, and the shipping industry. It is clear that people who work and live in coastal communities care deeply about those communities, care about ocean health, and hold generations of knowledge about the ocean. While the Panel heard many different perspectives in its meetings across the country, a number of consistent themes emerged:

Principles

Against the backdrop of what the Panel has heard, the following principles will guide its recommendations:

Effectiveness of conservation and biodiversity protection

The protection of biodiversity, ecosystem services, and associated cultural and community values is the primary purpose of MPAs. The extent to which MPAs can be designed to meet this overarching purpose, along with their specific conservation objectives, will be at the heart of the Panel’s recommendations

Respect for Indigenous rights

Indigenous peoples are rights holders in conservation planning and management, and their authorities and expertise are essential to marine conservation. All MPA designations must respect constitutionally-protected Indigenous and treaty rights. The Panel will look for opportunities to strengthen partnerships between the Crown and Indigenous peoples, and to ensure Indigenous knowledge is fully embedded alongside other sciences in the planning and design, governance, and management of IPAs and MPAs.

Delivering social and economic benefits

Well-managed MPAs and IPAs can deliver important economic benefits both directly through conservation-oriented employment, community economic development, and capacity-building; and indirectly, by enhancing the overall productivity of marine ecosystems that support socially and commercially valuable resources. Robust planning processes engage all interests around clear objectives, resolve conflicts among competing resource uses, and deliver certainty for businesses and investors. The Panel’s recommendations will recognize that MPAs and economic and social interests are not necessarily in opposition.

Clarity and transparency

Objectives, rules, management processes, monitoring, and governing structures should be clear, and well-communicated. Processes that involve stakeholders and rights holders should be accessible to all. The Panel will look for opportunities to strengthen engagement and build confidence in MPA planning and management processes.

Flexibility to reflect diverse circumstances

Canada has the longest coastline of any country in the world, and its three oceans encompass very diverse marine and coastal ecosystems. Canada’s MPAs to date have been characterized by experimentation and regional diversity and a ‘one-size-fits-all’ approach is not possible. Each MPA or IPA will be rooted in the needs of a particular region and community and its design will reflect the knowledge, needs, and aspirations of coastal communities and Indigenous peoples. The Panel’s alignment with the IUCN framework will remain responsive to Canada’s distinct bioregions and cultures.

Quality matters

Delivering meaningful biodiversity protection is more important than hitting numeric targets. Resources must be targeted to areas of high ecological value. Likewise, quality planning and management processes that enable real collaboration between the Crown and Indigenous peoples, and that provide for meaningful engagement of stakeholders, cannot be rushed. The Panel will aim to ensure that up-front investments in good MPA planning and design are ultimately repaid in more effective and durable outcomes.

Next steps

MPAs are not the only tool for sustainable ocean management. Environmental laws, resource management regulations, and other spatial planning tools are all part of Canada’s ocean management toolkit. MPAs are specifically aimed at protecting important habitats, features, and ecosystem functions. The Panel will focus its recommendations on ensuring that MPAs in Canada are as effective as they can be in fulfilling this aim.

The IUCN sets out four broad standards as a foundation for evaluating key elements of effective MPAs:

In the final report, the Panel will offer a suite of recommendations linked to these standards that will support the creation of effective MPAs in Canada. The Panel’s recommendations will also aim to advance the work that is already under way to recognize IPAs as essential and well-integrated components of protecting marine ecosystems in Canada’s oceans.

The Panel has been impressed with the quality of perspectives that it has heard. Canada’s oceans are a precious and vital resource and everyone who has appeared before the Panel has been seized by the need to act decisively. The final report of the Panel will honour this commitment to protect the future of Canada’s oceans.

Date modified:

Rapport provisoire du Comité de conseil national sur les normes concernant les aires marines protégées

Présenté au ministre des Pêches, des Océans et de la Garde côtière canadienne

Rapport provisoire du Comité de conseil national sur les normes concernant les aires marines protégées

Rapport provisoire du Comité de conseil national sur les normes concernant les aires marines protégées (PDF, 426 Ko)

Le 15 août 2018

Table des matières

Acronymes

AMCEZ
Autres mesures de conservation efficaces par zone
AMP
Aire marine protégée
APA
Aires protégées autochtones
CAE
Cercle autochtone d’experts
ECCC
Environnement et Changement climatique Canada
MPO
Pêches et Océans Canada
PC
Parcs Canada
UICN
Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature
ZPM
Zone de protection marine

Introduction

Partout dans le monde, on s’inquiète de plus en plus de la dégradation de l’état de santé de nos océans. Le Canada s’est associé à d’autres pays pour prendre des engagements clairs en vue de renforcer la gestion et la préservation des océans, notamment en créant des aires marines protégées (AMP).

Le Comité de conseil national sur les normes concernant les aires marines protégées a été créé en mars 2018 afin de fournir au ministre des Pêches, des Océans et de la Garde côtière canadienne une orientation sur l’élaboration de normes de protection pour les AMP fédérales. Le travail du Comité s’est appuyé sur huit réunions tenues sur les trois côtes du Canada. Au cours de ces réunions, le Comité a prêté une oreille attentive aux intervenants et délibéré longuement, tout en prenant en compte les soumissions en ligne provenant de partout au Canada. Le Comité peut maintenant proposer un rapport provisoire selon ce qu’il a appris.

Dans le cadre des activités d’orientation, on a invité le Comité à examiner le cadre des catégories et des normes de protection élaborées par l’Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN). On a demandé au Comité de donner des conseils sur les aires protégées autochtones (APA) en s’inspirant des « recommandations pertinentes du cercle d’experts autochtones ».Note de bas de page 1

Au Canada, deux ministères fédéraux et une agence ont le mandat de créer des AMP : Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO), Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (ECCC) et Parcs Canada (PC)Note de bas de page 2 . A travers le Canada, ces ministères et cette agence ont parfois travaillé en partenariat avec les peuples autochtones et les provinces pour établir ou gérer conjointement des AMP. Les recommandations du Comité devraient s’appliquer de manière uniforme aux AMP créées dans le cadre de chacun de ces processus, de sorte à obtenir des protections uniformes partout au Canada et, par conséquent, des AMP plus efficaces.

Le présent rapport commence par une présentation du cadre de l’UICN et une discussion sur les aires protégées autochtones. Il présente ensuite ce que les membres du Comité ont retenu de leurs consultations, menées partout au pays auprès de divers intervenants. Le rapport aborde ensuite une série de principes qui serviront de base au rapport final. Le rapport se termine par une section sur les normes de l’UICN et sur la manière dont elles peuvent façonner les recommandations finales du Comité.

Le cadre de l’UICN comme point de référence

L’UICN est l’organisme d’experts internationalement reconnu pour la conservation de la nature. Le travail du Comité consiste à examiner les catégories et les normes de l’UICN et à formuler des recommandations concernant leur application au Canada. L’UICN définit une aire protégée comme suit:

Un espace géographique clairement défini, reconnu, consacré et géré, par tout moyen éfficace, juridique ou autre, afin d’assurer à long terme la conservation de la nature, ainsi que les services écosystémiques et les valeurs culturelles qui lui sont associés.

N. Dudley (ed.) 2008. Lignes directrices pour l’application des catégories de gestion aux aires protégées. UICN : Gland, Suisse.

L’UICN reconnaît que même si les AMP ont pour objectif principal la conservation, d’autres mesures de conservation efficaces par zone (AMCEZ) peuvent également assurer la protection de la biodiversité. Les AMCEZ assurent la protection de la biodiversité comme résultat secondaire indépendamment de leur objectif principal de gestion :

Une zone géographiquement définie autre qu’une aire protégée, régie et gérée de manière à obtenir des résultats positifs et durables à long terme pour la conservation in situ de la biodiversité, avec des fonctions et des services écosystémiques associés et, le cas échéant, culturels, spirituels, des valeurs socioéconomiques et autres valeurs locales pertinentes.

Convention on Biological Diversity’s Subsidiary Body on Scientific, Technical and Technological Advice 6 July 2018. Recommendation on Protected Areas and Other Effective Area-Based Conservation Measures to the Conference of the Parties (Recommandations sur les aires protégées et sur les autres mesures de conservation efficaces par zone à la Conférence des parties). CBD/SBSTTA/22/L.2.

Notez que cette définition a été proposée pour adoption par la Conférence des Parties à sa quatorzième réunion tenue en octobre 2018.

Dans son rapport final, Le Comité examinera la relation entre les AMP et les AMCEZ au Canada.

Le Canada participe en tant que membre votant de l’UICN et des scientifiques canadiens ont participé à la création des normes et des lignes directrices des AMP et des AMCEZ. Le Comité estime que l’alignement continu du Canada sur le cadre des AMP de l’UICN se traduit par un apport significatif. Premièrement, l’interconnectivité de tous les océans du monde signifie que la protection de la santé des océans constitue une responsabilité internationale, et l’harmonisation formelle avec le cadre de l’UICN aidera le Canada à collaborer efficacement avec d’autres pays aux initiatives internationales de recherche, de suivi et d’évaluation. Deuxièmement, l’harmonisation avec le cadre de l’UICN signifie que les normes canadiennes seront comprises et jugées crédibles par la communauté internationale. Les recommandations du Comité porteront sur l’applicabilité du cadre de l’UICN aux AMP fédérales. Le Comité reconnaîtra également l’importance de la souplesse et de l’aspect pratique à répondre aux divers besoins des peuples autochtones et des intervenants partout au pays.

Aires protégées autochtones

Les AMP sont l’un des outils qui servent à la protection marine et la conservation. Les APA sont un autre outil émergent pour atteindre les objectifs de la protection et de l’amélioration de la biodiversité; si ces objectifs sont atteints et qu’elles sont conformes à la définition de l’UICN, les APA peuvent être acceptées comme des AMP. Même si l’objectif principal des AMP est de promouvoir la biodiversité, les services écosystémiques associés et les valeurs culturelles, les APA peuvent être créées pour appuyer un plus large éventail d’objectifs liés à l’autodétermination des peuples autochtones, la conservation, la préservation culturelle, le développement économique et la gestion des ressources. En d’autres mots, des APA pourraient devenir des AMP, mais pas toutes les APA deviendront des AMP.

Un nouveau modèle de leadership partagé dans l’Arctique (rédigé par la coprésidente du Comité, Mary Simon) décrit les principes fondamentaux qui sous-tendent le concept d’APA :

Le principe des aires protégées autochtones repose sur l’idée d’une zone protégée qui tient explicitement compte de la vision autochtone de ce qu’est un territoire fonctionnel et qui met en pratique cette vision. Ce genre de désignation permettrait de créer de nouveaux avantages distinctifs dans le Nord et de définir l’idée d’une économie de conservation.

Mary Simon, représentante spéciale du ministre (2017). Un nouveau modèle de leadership partagé dans l’Arctique.

Le Comité estime que les APA sont très prometteuses en tant qu’outils pour promouvoir la conservation et la protection de la biodiversité, parallèlement aux valeurs culturelles et socioéconomiques. Elles peuvent également servir à donner effet aux obligations juridiques et aux engagements politiques en faveur de la réconciliation entre la Couronne et les peuples autochtones, mais également en faveur de l’édification de la nation. Les APA offrent la possibilité de créer des avantages économiques, professionnels et éducatifs et de reconnaître les pouvoirs d’intendance et de gestion des peuples autochtones.

Ce que le Comité a entendu

Le Comité a beaucoup appris des peuples autochtones et de nombreuses personnes et organisations œuvrant dans l’aquaculture, la conservation de l’environnement, les industries extractives, la pêche commerciale et récréative, l’industrie du transport maritime, et le milieu universitaire. Il est évident que les personnes qui travaillent et vivent au sein des collectivités côtières ont très à cœur la vie de ces communautés, se soucient de la santé des océans et conservent des connaissances de plusieurs générations sur l’océan. Bien que le Comité ait entendu de nombreux points de vue différents lors de ses réunions à travers le pays, un certain nombre de thèmes récurrents en sont ressortis :

Principes

Dans le contexte de ce que le Comité a entendu, ses recommandations s’appuieront sur les principes suivants :

Efficacité de la conservation et de la protection de la biodiversité

Les AMP ont comme principal objectif la protection de la biodiversité, des services écosystémiques, ainsi que des valeurs culturelles et communautaires qui s’y rattachent. La mesure dans laquelle les AMP peuvent être conçues pour atteindre cet objectif général, ainsi que leurs objectifs spécifiques de conservation, sera au cœur des recommandations du Comité.

Respect des droits autochtones

Les peuples autochtones sont titulaires de droits en matière de planification et de gestion de la conservation, et leurs pouvoirs ainsi que leur expertise sont essentiels à la conservation marine. Toutes les désignations d’AMP doivent respecter les droits ancestraux et droits issus des traités garantis par la Constitution. Le Comité étudiera les possibilités de renforcer les partenariats entre la Couronne et les peuples autochtones et de veiller à ce que le savoir autochtone soit pleinement intégré aux autres sciences dans le cadre de la planification, la conception, la gouvernance et la gestion des APA et des AMP.

Générer des avantages sociaux et économiques

Des AMP et APA bien gérées peuvent être des sources d’avantages économiques importants, tant directement par le biais d’emplois axés sur la conservation, du développement économique des collectivités et du renforcement des capacités, qu’indirectement, par l’amélioration de la productivité globale des écosystèmes marins qui soutiennent des ressources socialement et commercialement précieuses. Des processus de planification robustes permettent de regrouper tous les intérêts autour d’objectifs clairs, de résoudre les conflits découlant des différentes utilisations des ressources et de donner la confiance aux entreprises et aux investisseurs. Les recommandations du Comité ne manqueront pas de reconnaître que les AMP et les intérêts économiques et sociaux ne sont pas nécessairement antagonistes.

Clarté et transparence

Les objectifs, les règles, les processus de gestion, le suivi et les structures de gouvernance doivent être clairs et bien communiqués. Les processus auxquels participent les parties prenantes et les titulaires de droits devraient être accessibles à tous. Le Comité étudiera les possibilités de renforcer l’engagement et la confiance à l’égard des processus de planification et de gestion des AMP.

Souplesse pour tenir compte de diverses circonstances

Le Canada possède le plus long littoral au monde et ses trois océans ont des écosystèmes marins et côtiers très divers. À ce jour, les AMP du Canada ont été caractérisées par l’expérimentation et la diversité régionale, et une « approche universelle » ne saurait être possible. Chaque AMP ou APA sera adaptée aux besoins d’une région et d’une collectivité particulières et sa conception reflétera les savoirs, les besoins et les aspirations des collectivités côtières et des peuples autochtones. L’harmonisation du Comité avec le cadre de l’UICN se fera en tout en restant réceptifs aux différentes biorégions et cultures du Canada.

Importance de la qualité

Offrir une protection de la biodiversité digne de ce nom est plus important qu’atteindre des objectifs numériques. Les ressources doivent être ciblées sur des zones de grande valeur écologique. De même, les processus de planification et de gestion de la qualité qui permettent une véritable collaboration entre la Couronne et les peuples autochtones et qui mobilisent un engagement réel des parties prenantes ne sauraient être précipités. L’objectif du Comité consistera à veiller à ce que les investissements initiaux dans la planification et la conception d’AMP dignes de ce nom se traduisent ultimement par des résultats plus efficaces et durables.

Prochaines étapes

Les AMP ne constituent pas les seuls outils de gestion durable des océans. Les lois sur l’environnement, les règlements sur la gestion des ressources et d’autres outils de planification spatiale font tous partie de la trousse à outils de la gestion des océans du Canada. Les AMP visent spécifiquement à protéger les habitats, les caractéristiques et les fonctions écosystémiques importants. Le Comité axera ses recommandations pour faire en sorte que les AMP au Canada soient aussi efficaces que possible pour atteindre cet objectif.

L’UICN définit quatre normes générales comme base d’évaluation des éléments clés d’AMP efficaces:

Dans son rapport final, le Comité formulera une série de recommandations liées à ces normes, ce qui permettra d’appuyer la création d’AMP efficaces au Canada. Les recommandations du Comité viseront également à faire avancer le travail déjà en cours pour reconnaître les APA comme des composantes essentielles et bien intégrées de la protection des écosystèmes marins dans les océans du Canada.

Le Comité a trouvé impressionnante la qualité des perspectives émises par les intervenants. Les océans du Canada constituent une ressource précieuse et vitale et tous ceux qui sont intervenus devant le Comité ont été saisis par un besoin d’agir de manière décisive. Le rapport final du Comité respectera cet engagement pour la protection de l’avenir des océans du Canada.

Date de modification :