Language selection

Search

Protection Standards to better conserve our oceans

On April 25, 2019 the Government of Canada adopted a new approach to marine conservation, including protection standards to better conserve sensitive and important parts of our oceans. These protection standards are based on the recommendations provided to the Minister of Fisheries, Oceans, and the Canadian Coast Guard by the independent National Advisory Panel on Marine Protected Area Standards.

New federal MPAs will now function similar to our national parks, providing a high level of environmental protection by including new protection standards that prohibit four key industrial activities: oil and gas activities, mining, dumping and bottom trawling. With respect to other effective area-based conservation measures, including marine refuges, activities within these areas will be assessed on a case-by-case basis. Activities may be allowed if they do not pose a risk to the biodiversity in the area. Both of these protection standards are in accordance with the National Advisory Panel's recommendations, as well as with international guidance. These new standards also provide enhanced clarity and certainty for fish harvesters and other industry stakeholders.

Marine Protected Areas

MPAs are parts of the ocean that legally protect a range of species, habitats and features from the impacts of a variety of activities, including fishing. The new protection standard for MPAs prohibit four key industrial activities in all new federal MPAs: oil and gas activities; mining; dumping; and bottom trawling.

Specifications

Scope of application

To help conserve and protect marine biodiversity the new protection standard will be applied to all federal MPAs, including:

Addressing prohibited activities in existing MPAs and impacts on our marine conservation target

In the short term, existing MPAs where there are oil and gas licences or where bottom trawling is currently authorized will continue to count towards our marine conservation target. Canada's MPAs are developed in close collaboration with partners and stakeholders and further analysis and consultation is required before making any significant changes to the management of existing MPAs. Therefore, all existing MPAs will be reviewed as part of their regular management review cycle.

In the case of an existing MPA overlapping with an area where there is an oil and gas licence or permit, as part of that MPA's regular management review cycle, we will work with our partners to consider adopting the new protection standard within the MPA. If an agreement is reached, the regulations for the MPA will be amended to prohibit oil and gas activity. If an agreement cannot be achieved, the MPA boundaries will remain unchanged but the area overlapping with the licence or permit area would no longer be counted towards Canada's marine conservation targets.

For areas where bottom trawling is currently authorized, we will re-evaluate the activity to determine if it is consistent with the specific MPA's conservation objectives. If it is not, the MPA regulations may be amended following consultation with partners and stakeholders.

Marine Refuges

Marine refuges are another tool we use to conserve our oceans. They offer more targeted protection to species and their habitat from the impacts of fishing.

The protection standard for other effective area-based conservation measures, including marine refuges, assess all activities on a case-by-case basis. Some activities may be allowed if they do not pose a risk to the biodiversity in the area. Before any proposed activity can take place, the Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard will need to be satisfied that any risks to the area have been avoided or mitigated effectively.

Impacts on our marine conservation target

Going forward, if there are oil and gas licenses or permits authorized in a marine refuge but no extraction is taking place, the overlap area will continue to count toward our marine conservation target. Once oil and gas extraction begins, the overlap area will no longer count toward our target.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Normes de protection pour mieux conserver nos océans

Le 25 avril 2019, le gouvernement du Canada a adopté une nouvelle approche à l’égard de la conservation marine, notamment des normes de protection visant à mieux conserver des parties sensibles et importantes de nos océans. Ces normes de protection sont fondées sur les recommandations adressées à la ministre des Pêches, des Océans et de la Garde côtière canadienne par un comité indépendant, le Comité de conseil national sur les normes concernant les aires marines protégées.

Les AMP du gouvernement du Canada fonctionneront désormais comme nos parcs nationaux; elles offriront un niveau élevé de protection de l’environnement grâce à de nouvelles normes de protection qui interdisent quatre activités industrielles clés : l’activité pétrolière et gazière, l’exploitation minière, le déversement, et le chalutage de fond. En ce qui concerne les autres mesures de conservation efficaces par zone, y compris les refuges marins, les activités dans ces zones seront évaluées au cas par cas. Les activités pourraient être autorisées si elles ne présentent pas de risque à la biodiversité dans la zone.

Ces deux normes de protection sont conformes aux recommandations du Comité de conseil national ainsi qu’aux directives internationales. Ces nouvelles normes offrent également plus de clarté et de certitude aux pêcheurs et aux autres intervenants de l’industrie.

Aires marines protégées

Les AMP sont des parties de l’océan qui protègent juridiquement un éventail d’espèces, d’habitats et de caractéristiques des répercussions de diverses activités, y compris la pêche. La nouvelle norme de protection pour les AMP interdit quatre activités industrielles clés dans toutes les nouvelles AMP fédérales : l’activité pétrolière et gazière, l’exploitation minière, le déversement, et le chalutage de fond.

Particularités

Champ d’application

En vue d’aider à conserver et à protéger la biodiversité marine, les nouvelles normes de protection s’appliqueront à toutes les AMP fédérales, y compris :

Faire face aux activités interdites dans les AMP existantes et à leurs répercussions sur notre cible de conservation marine

À court terme, les AMP existantes où il existe des permis d’exploitation pétrolière et gazière ou celles où le chalutage de fond est actuellement autorisé continueront de compter pour notre objectif de conservation marine. Les AMP du Canada sont déterminées en collaboration étroite avec les partenaires et les intervenants, et d’autres analyses et consultations sont nécessaires avant d’apporter des changements importants à la gestion des AMP existantes. Par conséquent, toutes les AMP existantes seront examinées dans le cadre de leur cycle habituel d’examen de la gestion.

Dans le cas d’une AMP existante qui empiète sur une zone où il existe un permis ou une licence d’exploitation pétrolière et gazière, dans le cadre du cycle régulier d’examen de la gestion de cette AMP, nous travaillerons avec nos partenaires pour envisager l’adoption de la nouvelle norme de protection dans l’AMP. Si une entente est conclue, le règlement de l’AMP sera modifié pour interdire les activités pétrolières et gazières. Si une entente ne peut être conclue, les limites de l’AMP demeureront inchangées, mais la zone qui empiète sur la zone visée par le permis ou la licence ne sera plus prise en compte dans les cibles de conservation marine du Canada.

Pour les zones où le chalutage de fond est actuellement autorisé, nous évaluerons de nouveau l’activité pour déterminer si elle est conforme aux objectifs de conservation de l’AMP concernée. Si ce n’est pas le cas, le règlement de l’AMP pourrait être modifié après consultation des partenaires et des intervenants.

Refuges marins

Les refuges marins sont un autre outil que nous utilisons pour conserver nos océans. Ils offrent une protection plus ciblée des espèces et de leur habitat contre les répercussions de la pêche.

La norme de protection applicable aux autres mesures de conservation efficaces par zone, y compris les refuges marins, évalue toutes les activités au cas par cas. Certaines activités pourraient être autorisées si elles ne présentent pas de risque pour la biodiversité dans la zone. Avant que toute activité proposée puisse avoir lieu, la ministre des Pêches, des Océans et de la Garde côtière canadienne devra être convaincue que les risques pour la zone ont été évités ou atténués de manière efficace.

Répercussions sur notre objectif de conservation marine

À l’avenir, s’il y a des permis ou des licences d’exploitation pétrolière et gazière autorisés dans un refuge marin, mais qu’il n’y a pas d’extraction, la zone d’empiétement continuera de compter pour notre objectif de conservation marine. Une fois l’extraction du pétrole et du gaz commencée, la zone d’empiétement ne comptera plus dans l’atteinte de notre objectif.

Date de modification :