Gilbert Bay Marine Protected Area (MPA)

Note:

Charts, diagrams and contact information on this website are provided for information purposes only and should not be used for fishing, navigation or other purposes. Please refer to the MPA Regulations or contact your regional Fisheries and Oceans Canada office for official coordinates.

At-A-Glance

At-A-Glance

Gilbert Bay Marine Protected Area

Map: Gilbert Bay Marine Protected Area

Dataset for all MPAs available.

Location

Southeast coast of Labrador; Newfoundland-Labrador Shelves Bioregion.

Approximate Size (km2) contribution to Marine Conservation Targets

60 km2

Approximate % coverage contribution to Marine Conservation Targets

<0.01%

Date of Designation

September 2005

Conservation Objectives
  • Conservation and protection of the Gilbert Bay cod and its habitats.
  • Conservation and protection of the Gilbert Bay ecosystem.
  • Facilitation of scientific research opportunities in the Gilbert Bay ecosystem.
  • Promotion of public awareness, education, and support of the Gilbert Bay MPA.

Prohibitions

The Gilbert Bay MPA Regulations prohibit activities that disturb, damage, destroy or remove from this Area, living marine organisms or any part of their habitat, unless listed as exceptions in the Regulations or approved by the Minister.

Environmental Context

The MPA provides long-term protection of the Gilbert Bay cod and its habitats. Gilbert Bay cod are a unique resident population of Atlantic cod, characterized by significant differences in the genetics, behavior, and physiology compared to other northern cod populations. The waters of Gilbert Bay also support a wide range of other marine species including shellfish, demersal and pelagic fish, and a wide variety of marine organisms and plants. The area is frequented by several species of waterfowl and marine mammals.

Ecosystem

Ecosystem

Gilbert Bay MPA

Gilbert Bay MPA

The Gilbert Bay MPA was designated in 2005 at the request of local stakeholders, to protect a genetically distinct resident population of golden cod in Gilbert Bay known as the Gilbert Bay cod. Scientists from Memorial University of Newfoundland (MUN) initially began studying the Gilbert Bay cod in 1996. By 1998, a collaborative monitoring program was established by MUN and DFO with assistance from the NunatuKavut Fisheries Guardians. It was initially thought that the Gilbert Bay cod carried out their entire life cycle inside the MPA, but long term monitoring results have now shown that large (commercial size) Gilbert Bay cod move out of the MPA into Alexis Bay during the summer (June-September) to feed, where they overlap with Northern cod and associated fisheries.

Genetic studies provide evidence that chromosomal differences between Gilbert Bay cod and Northern cod are associated with marked differences in behavior and physiology:

  • Gilbert Bay cod are localized (non-migratory), and
  • Gilbert Bay cod are uniquely adapted to tolerate local environmental conditions that potentially kill cod of other populations
  • Gilbert Bay cod thrived in cold ocean in 1990s, while Northern cod declined

The waters of Gilbert Bay also support a wide range of marine resources including sea urchins, several species of shellfish (mussels, scallops, snails, shrimp), Northern cod, pelagic fishes (herring, capelin, salmon, eels, smelt, Arctic char) and aquatic plants (eel grass, kelp). The area is also frequented by several species of marine mammals and waterfowl including black ducks, geese and mergansers.

Management & Conservation

Management & Conservation

The results of the monitoring program have shown a steep decline in Gilbert Bay cod, particularly large (commercial sized) cod, since the reopening of the commercial and recreational Northern cod fisheries in 2006. Management strategies have focused on reducing fishing mortality of Gilbert Bay cod outside the MPA during the summer.

The impacts of climate change are also a concern. Gilbert Bay cod are adapted to thrive in cold (sub-zero) coastal waters that would deter other over-wintering species including Northern cod. Warming winter water temperatures may increase competition with and predation by other groundfish species.

Two loons and a cabin.

Two loons and a cabin. © DFO, Corey Morris.

Research vessel.

Research vessel. © DFO, Corey Morris.

Activity Application

Activity application for Gilbert Bay MPA

Gilbert Bay.

Gilbert Bay. © DFO, Corey Morris

Scientific and educational activities are allowed in the Gilbert Bay MPA if a proponent submits an activity plan to the Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO) for Ministerial approval.

Begin Activity Application process

Research and Publications

Research and Publications

Date modified:

Zone de protection marine (ZPM) de la baie Gilbert

Remarque :

Les cartes, diagrammes et coordonnées sur ce site Web sont fournis à titre indicatif seulement et ne doivent pas être utilisés pour la pêche, la navigation ou autres. Veuillez consulter le Règlement sur la zone de protection marine ou communiquer avec votre bureau régional de Pêches et Océans Canada pour obtenir les coordonnées officielles.

En bref

En bref

Zone de protection marine de la baie Gilbert.

Carte : Zone de protection marine de la baie Gilbert

Ensemble de données sur les ZPM disponible.

Emplacement

Côte sud-est du Labrador; Biorégion des plate-formes de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador.

Contribution approximative en superficie (km2) aux objectifs de conservation marine

60 km2

Contribution approximative en pourcentage de couverture aux objectifs de conservation marine

< 0,01 %

Date de désignation

Septembre 2005

Objectifs de conservation

  • Conserver et protéger la population de morue de la baie Gilbert et ses habitats.
  • Conserver et protéger l’écosystème de la baie Gilbert.
  • Faciliter les occasions de recherche scientifique dans l’écosystème de la baie Gilbert.
  • Favoriser la sensibilisation et l’éducation du public au sujet de la ZPM de la baie Gilbert et l’inciter à la soutenir.

Interdictions

Le Règlement sur la ZPM de la baie Gilbert interdit les activités qui perturbent, endommagent, détruisent ou enlèvent de cette zone des organismes marins vivants ou toute partie de leur habitat, à moins que ces activités ne soient visées par une exemption en vertu du Règlement ou, encore, soient approuvées par le ministre.

Contexte environnemental

La ZPM permet de conserver et de protéger la population de morue de la baie Gilbert et ses habitats. La morue de la baie Gilbert est une population résidente unique de morue franche, qui se distingue des autres populations de morues du Nord par de grandes différences génétiques, comportementales et physiologiques. Les eaux de la baie Gilbert abritent aussi de nombreuses autres espèces marines, notamment des mollusques et crustacés, des poissons démersaux et pélagiques et un vaste éventail de plantes et organismes marins. La zone est fréquentée par plusieurs espèces de sauvagines et de mammifères marins.

Écosystème

Écosystème

La ZPM de la baie Gilbert

La ZPM de la baie Gilbert

La ZPM de la baie Gilbert a été créée en 2005 à la demande d’intervenants locaux, afin de protéger une population résidente de morues dorées aux caractéristiques génétiques distinctes, connue sous le nom de « morue de la baie Gilbert ». Des scientifiques de l’université Memorial de Terre-Neuve ont commencé à étudier la morue de la baie Gilbert en 1996. En 1998, l’université et le MPO avaient mis en place un programme de surveillance collaboratif, avec l’assistance des gardiens des pêches NunatuKavut. On pensait à l’origine que la morue de la baie Gilbert passait tout son cycle vital dans la ZPM, mais les résultats de la surveillance à long terme nous ont enseigné que les grandes morues (de taille commerciale) sortent de la ZPM pour se rendre dans la baie Alexis pendant l’été (de juin à septembre) afin de s’alimenter. Elles y côtoient la morue du Nord et les pêches correspondantes.

Des études génétiques ont prouvé que les différences chromosomiques entre la morue de la baie Gilbert et la morue du Nord correspondent à des différences marquées de comportement et de physiologie.

  • La morue de la baie Gilbert est localisée (non migratoire) et
  • adaptée de manière unique afin de tolérer les conditions environnementales locales, qui peuvent s’avérer mortelles pour les morues des autres populations.
  • La morue de la baie Gilbert a prospéré dans l’océan froid des années 1990, alors que la morue du Nord déclinait.

Les eaux de la baie Gilbert abritent également une grande variété de ressources marines, notamment des oursins, plusieurs espèces de mollusques (moule, pétoncle, escargot, crevette), la morue du Nord, des poissons pélagiques (hareng, capelan, saumon, anguille, éperlan, omble chevalier) et des plantes marines (zostères, varech). Cette zone est aussi fréquentée par plusieurs espèces de mammifères marins et de sauvagines, notamment des canards à sourcils, des oies et des harles.

Gestion et conservation

Gestion et conservation

Les résultats du programme de surveillance ont montré un déclin brutal de la morue de la baie Gilbert, en particulier des morues de grande taille (taille commerciale), depuis la réouverture des pêches commerciales et récréatives de la morue du Nord en 2006. Les stratégies de gestion visaient à réduire la mortalité par pêche de la morue de la baie Gilbert hors de la ZPM pendant l’été.

Les impacts des changements climatiques sont également une source de préoccupation. La morue de la baie Gilbert est adaptée pour prospérer dans les eaux côtières froides (négatives) qui ne conviennent pas à d’autres espèces hivernantes, y compris à la morue du Nord. Le réchauffement des températures de l’eau en hiver pourrait intensifier la concurrence avec d’autres espèces de poissons de fond et la prédation par celles-ci.

Deux huards et une cabine.

Deux huards et une cabine. © MPO, Corey Morris.

Navire de recherche

Navire de recherche. © MPO, Corey Morris.

Demandes d'activités

Demande d’activité dans la ZPM de la baie Gilbert

La baie Gilbert.

La baie Gilbert. © MPO, Corey Morris.

Certaines activités scientifiques et d’éducation peuvent être réalisées dans la ZPM de la baie Gilbert si un promoteur soumet un plan d’activités au ministère des Pêches et des Océans (MPO) aux fins d’approbation ministérielle.

Lancer le processus de demande d’autorisation d’activité

Recherche et publications

Recherche et publications

Date de modification :