Eastport Marine Protected Area (MPA)

Note:

Charts, diagrams and contact information on this website are provided for information purposes only and should not be used for fishing, navigation or other purposes. Please refer to the MPA Regulations or contact your regional Fisheries and Oceans Canada office for official coordinates.

At-A-Glance

At-A-Glance

Eastport MPA

Map: Eastport Marine Protected Area

Dataset for all MPAs available.

Location

Northeast coast of Newfoundland; Newfoundland-Labrador Shelves Bioregion.

Approximate Size (km2) contribution to Marine Conservation Targets

2 km2

Approximate % coverage contribution to Marine Conservation Targets

< 0.01%

Date of designation

September, 2005

Conservation Objectives
  • Maintain a viable population of American lobster through the conservation, protection, and sustainable use of resources and habitats within the Eastport Peninsula Lobster Management Area (EPLMA); and
  • Ensure the conservation and protection of threatened or endangered species.

Prohibitions

The Eastport MPA Regulations prohibit activities that disturb, damage, destroy or remove from this Area, living marine organisms or any part of their habitat, unless listed as exceptions in the Regulations or approved by the Minister.

Environmental Context

The Eastport Peninsula is one of the most picturesque areas of Bonavista Bay. The rich, productive waters surrounding the Peninsula are host to a wide range of groundfish, pelagic fish, shellfish, marine mammals, and aquatic plants. The MPA comprises two small “no-take” areas surrounding Round Island and the Duck Islands, within a 400km2 EPLMA conservation area. Fishing effort is restricted within the EPLMA, conservation measures such as v-notching are encouraged, and enforcement activity is increased. The EPLMA is also the focus of significant science monitoring and research.

The MPA was put in place to address declining lobster catches. There is now scientific evidence which suggests that protecting the two areas of prime lobster habitat and limiting lobster fisheries in the surrounding conservation area have sustained and perhaps enhanced the local lobster fishery.

Ecosystem

Ecosystem

The Eastport Peninsula, one of the most picturesque areas of Bonavista Bay, is located approximately three hours’ drive from St.John's, Newfoundland. The rugged coastline is interrupted by a number of headlands, coves, and beaches. Numerous islands found in the area provide habitat for a variety of marine wildlife. The rich, productive waters surrounding the Eastport Peninsula are host to a wide range of groundfish, pelagic fish, shellfish, marine mammals, and aquatic plants. Since early settlement the people of the Eastport Peninsula have relied on the fishery for their economic subsistence.

In 1995, to address declining catches, the Eastport Peninsula lobster fish harvesters formed the Eastport Peninsula Lobster Protection Committee (EPLPC). The aim of the Committee was to implement an overall lobster conservation strategy for the Eastport Peninsula. Committee members provided information and data required for the management of the resource and implemented various measures to address conservation and sustainability. Based on the initial success of various initiatives, the EPLPC developed an agreement with Fisheries and Oceans Canada in 1997 to close two areas of prime lobster habitat (under the Fisheries Act) and limit local lobster harvest in a 400km2 conservation area surrounding the MPA, known as the Eastport Peninsula Lobster Management Area (EPLMA). One benefit of these initiatives has been the ability of fish harvesters, government, community youth, academics, and scientists to work together and share information and knowledge for better management of the lobster fishery.

In 1999, the EPLPC approached Fisheries and Oceans Canada on establishing a Marine Protected Area (MPA) under the Oceans Act in the Eastport area. The EPLPC feel that establishing a MPA would support their current work and aid in implementing further conservation initiatives. There is scientific evidence that suggests that protecting the two areas of habitat has sustained and perhaps enhanced the local lobster fishery.

In October 2005, the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans Canada announced the designation of the Eastport Marine Protected Areas.

For further information please contact:
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Oceans Programs Division, Newfoundland Region
P.O. Box 5667
St. John's, NL A1C 5X1

Round Island. Copyright Canadian Waters.

Round Island. © Canadian Waters.

Duck Islands. Copyright Canadian Waters.

Duck Islands. © Canadian Waters.

Management & Conservation

Management & Conservation

The regulatory conservation objectives for Eastport are:

  • to maintain a viable population of American lobster through the conservation, protection, and sustainable use of resources and habitats within the EPLMA; and
  • to ensure the conservation and protection of threatened or endangered species

While not directly related to the conservation and protection of the American lobster and its habitats, non-regulatory conservation objectives do support general marine conservation and the overarching goals of the steering committee. The non-regulatory conservation objectives are:

  • to ensure participation of interested and affected stakeholders and the overall management of the resource
  • to increase stewardship and public awareness of lobster, the ecosystem of the Eastport MPAs and marine conservation measures
  • to promote scientific research to increase levels of understanding regarding the Eastport MPA ecosystem and to help achieve the conservation objectives; and
  • to ensure potential economic benefits resulting from conservation of the resource are centred in the local communities of the Eastport Peninsula; and to maintain and enhance the quality of the Eastport ecosystem.
American Lobster. Copyright Todd Fowler.

American Lobster. © Todd Fowler.

Lobster trap. Copyright Thomas Collins, Happy Adventure, 2018.

Lobster trap. © Thomas Collins, Happy Adventure, 2018.

Activity Application

Activity application for Eastport MPA

Scientific and educational activities are allowed in the Eastport MPA if a proponent submits an activity plan to Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) and it receives Ministerial approval.

Begin Activity Application process

Research and Publications

Research and Publications

Date modified:

Zone de protection marine (ZPM) d’Eastport

Remarque :

Les cartes, diagrammes et coordonnées sur ce site Web sont fournis à titre indicatif seulement et ne doivent pas être utilisés pour la pêche, la navigation ou autres. Veuillez consulter le Règlement sur la zone de protection marine ou communiquer avec votre bureau régional de Pêches et Océans Canada pour obtenir les coordonnées officielles.

En bref

En bref

La ZPM d'Eastport

Carte : Zone de protection marine d'Eastport

Ensemble de données sur les ZPM disponible.

Emplacement

Côte nord-est de Terre-Neuve; Biorégion des plates-formes de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador.

Contribution approximative en taille (km2) aux objectifs de conservation marine

2 km2

Contribution approximative en pourcentage de couverture aux objectifs de conservation marine

< 0,01 %

Date de désignation

Septembre 2005

Objectifs de conservation
  • Maintenir une population viable de homards d’Amérique grâce à la conservation, la protection et l’utilisation durable des ressources et des habitats dans la zone de gestion du homard de la péninsule d’Eastport (ZGHPE);
  • Assurer la conservation et la protection des espèces en voie de disparition ou menacées.

Interdictions

Le Règlement sur les zones de protection marines (ZPM) d’Eastport interdit les activités qui perturbent, endommagent, détruisent ou enlèvent de cette zone des organismes marins vivants ou toute partie de leur habitat, à moins que ces activités ne soient visées par une exemption en vertu du Règlement ou, encore, soient approuvées par le ministre.

Contexte environnemental

La péninsule d’Eastport est l’un des secteurs les plus pittoresques de la baie de Bonavista. Les eaux riches et productives qui entourent la péninsule regorgent d’espèces variées de poissons de fond et pélagiques, de mollusques et de crustacés, de mammifères marins et de plantes aquatiques. Cette ZPM est constituée de deux petites régions où la prise est interdite autour de l’île Round et des îles Duck, au sein d’une zone de conservation de 400 km2 de la ZGHPE. L’effort de pêche est limité à l’intérieur de la ZGHPE, les mesures de conservation telles que l’encoche en v sont encouragées, et les activités de mise en application sont accrues. La ZGHPE se trouve également au cœur d’importantes activités de surveillance et de recherche scientifiques.

La ZPM a été mise en place en vue de s’attaquer à la baisse des prises de homard. Il y a à présent des recherches scientifiques qui indiquent que la protection de ces deux aires principales d’habitat du homard et la limitation de la pêche au homard dans la zone de conservation environnante ont permis de maintenir et peut-être même d’améliorer la pêche au homard dans la région.

Écosystème

Écosystème

La péninsule d’Eastport, l’un des lieux les plus pittoresques de la baie de Bonavista, est située à quelque trois heures de route de St. John’s (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador). Son littoral accidenté est entrecoupé de promontoires, d’anses et de plages. Ce secteur compte de nombreuses îles, qui fournissent un habitat à une faune marine très diversifiée. Les eaux riches et productives qui entourent la péninsule d’Eastport regorgent d’espèces variées de poissons de fond et pélagiques, de mollusques et de crustacés, de mammifères marins et de plantes aquatiques. Depuis les débuts de la colonisation, les habitants de la péninsule d’Eastport se sont toujours appuyés sur la pêche pour assurer leur subsistance économique.

En 1995, face à un déclin des prises, les pêcheurs de homards locaux ont créé le Eastport Peninsula Lobster Protection Committee, dont l’objectif était de mettre en œuvre une stratégie globale de conservation du homard pour la péninsule d’Eastport. Les membres du Comité ont fourni l’information et les données nécessaires à la gestion de la ressource, puis ils ont adopté diverses mesures de conservation et d’exploitation durable. Fort du succès initial de diverses initiatives, l’EPLPC a conclu en 1997 une entente avec Pêches et Océans Canada en vue de fermer deux aires principales d’habitat du homard (en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches) et de limiter la pêche au homard locale dans une zone de conservation de 400 km2 autour de la ZPM, connue sous le nom de zone de gestion du homard de la péninsule d’Eastport (ZGHPE). L’une des retombées de ces mesures a été la capacité des diverses parties - pêcheurs, gouvernements, jeunesse locale, universitaires et scientifiques - de collaborer et de mettre en commun l’information et le savoir dans le but d’améliorer la gestion de la récolte du homard.

En 1999, le Comité a demandé à Pêches et Océans Canada d’établir, dans le secteur d’Eastport, une zone de protection marine (ZPM) en vertu de la Loi sur les océans, estimant qu’une telle mesure appuierait leurs travaux en cours et faciliterait la mise en œuvre de nouvelles mesures de conservation. Des recherches scientifiques indiquent que la protection de l’habitat dans ces deux sites a permis de maintenir et peut-être même d’améliorer la pêche du homard dans la région.

Le MPO a annoncé Eastport comme zone de protection marine en octobre 2005.

Pour en savoir plus, veuillez communiquer avec :
Pêches et Océans Canada
Division des programmes sur les océans, Région de Terre-Neuve
Case postale 5667
St. John’s (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador) A1C 5X1

Île Round. Copyright Canadian Waters.

Île Round. © Canadian Waters.

Île Duck. Copyright Canadian Waters.

Île Duck. © Canadian Waters.

Gestion et conservation

Gestion et conservation

Voici les objectifs de conservation réglementaires pour Eastport :

  • maintenir une population viable de homards d’Amérique grâce à la conservation, à la protection et l’utilisation durable des ressources et des habitats dans la zone de gestion du homard de la péninsule d’Eastport;
  • assurer la conservation et la protection des espèces en voie de disparition ou menacées.

Bien qu’ils ne soient pas directement liés à la conservation et à la protection du homard et de ses habitats, les objectifs de conservation non réglementaires appuient la conservation marine en général et les objectifs généraux du Comité directeur. Voici les objectifs de conservation non réglementaires :

  • Assurer la participation des parties intéressées et la gestion globale de la ressource;
  • Augmenter l’intendance et la sensibilisation du public à l’égard du homard, de l’écosystème des zones de protection marines d’Eastport et des mesures de conservation marine;
  • Promouvoir la recherche scientifique pour améliorer la compréhension concernant l’écosystème des zones de protection marines d’Eastport et contribuer à l’atteinte des objectifs de conservation;
  • Garantir que les avantages économiques potentiels découlant de la conservation de la ressource sont centrés dans les collectivités de la péninsule d’Eastport et maintenir et améliorer la qualité de l’écosystème de la région d’Eastport.
Homard. Copyright Todd Fowler.

Homard. © Todd Fowler.

Casier à homard. Copyright Thomas Collins, Happy Adventure, 2018.

Casier à homard. © Thomas Collins, Happy Adventure, 2018.

Demande d'activités

Demande d’activités pour la ZPM d’Eastport

Les activités scientifiques et éducatives sont autorisées dans la ZPM d’Eastport si un promoteur soumet un plan d’activités au ministère des Pêches et des Océans (MPO) et s’il obtient l’approbation du Ministère.

Lancer le processus de demande d’activités

Recherche et publications

Recherche et publications

Date de modification :