SGaan Kinghlas-Bowie Seamount Marine Protected Area (SK-B MPA)

Note:

Charts, diagrams and contact information on this website are provided for information purposes only and should not be used for fishing, navigation or other purposes. Please refer to the MPA Regulations or contact your regional Fisheries and Oceans Canada office for official coordinates.

At-A-Glance

At-A-Glance

Map: SGaan Kinghlas-Bowie Seamount Marine Protected Area (SK-B MPA)

Map: SGaan Kinghlas-Bowie Seamount Marine Protected Area (SK-B MPA)

Dataset for all MPAs available.

The SGaan Kinghlas–Bowie Seamount MPA logo

The SGaan Kinghlas-Bowie Seamount MPA logo

Location

West of Haida Gwaii, British Columbia; Offshore Pacific Bioregion. 

Approximate Size (km2) contribution to Marine Conservation Targets

6,103 km2

Approximate % of coverage contribution to Marine Conservation Targets

0.11%

Date of designation

April, 2008 (under the Oceans Act)
(Haida marine protected area since 1997)

Conservation Objectives
  • Conserve and protect the unique biodiversity and biological productivity of the area’s marine ecosystem, including seamounts and the surrounding waters, seabed and subsoil.

Prohibitions

The SK-B MPA Regulations prohibit activities that disturb, damage, destroy or remove from this Area, living marine organisms or any part of their habitat or the seabed. Similarly, any activity that deposits, discharges or dumps substances that are likely to result in the disturbance, damage, destruction or removal of living marine organisms or any part of their habitat is also prohibited. Certain activities may be carried out within the MPA (called “exceptions” in the SK-B Regulations) under specified conditions.

Environmental Context

The SGaan Kinghlas-Bowie (SK-B) Seamount is located 180 km offshore of Xaayda gwaay (Haida Gwaii), situated off the North Pacific coast. The boundaries of the SK-B MPA include the SGaan Kinghlas-Bowie, Hodgkins, and Davidson seamounts and their surrounding waters, seabed, and subsoil.

Seamounts are underwater mountains, formed by volcanic activity, that rise from the ocean floor but do not reach the surface. The SK-B Seamount has two distinct terraces at depths of 65–100 m and 220–250 m, and rises to within 24 m of the surface. In geological terms it is relatively young, having formed less than one million years ago. The SK-B Seamount is thought to have been an active volcanic island about 18,000 years ago during the last Ice Age.

Limited information is available about the water dynamics of the area, however oceanographic research of a similar nearby location suggests that the upper layer of ocean at the SK-B seamount likely contains an area of cold, nutrient-rich water with a high level of mixing. These conditions would increase phytoplankton growth, thereby contributing to the highly productive communities that often exist on shallow seamounts.

The SK-B MPA is also affected by regional eddies, known as “Haida Eddies.” It is believed that Haida Eddies carry coastal waters rich in larval fish, plankton and nutrients, such as nitrate and iron, from coastal waters out to the SK-B MPA, where they settle and mature.

Ecosystem

Ecosystem

The various oceanographic phenomena of the SK-B Seamount support a unique, rich biological community that, despite its shallowness, includes a combination of open ocean species (e.g. salps), deep water species (e.g. Prowfish and squat lobsters), and intertidal and shallow subtidal coastal species (e.g. taaXuu [California mussels] and k’aay [split leaf Laminarian kelp]).

Investigations of the seamount’s ecology have noted that due to water clarity, light can penetrate to depths of 40 m or more. The largest and most conspicuous algae, ngaalaagaas (flattened acid kelp), have been found at depths of 38 m. For most species of algae, their presence on the SK-B seamount represents new depth records, as benthic marine algae are rarely found at depths greater than 20 m in coastal waters.

In 2015 a gin gii hlk’uuwaansdlagangs (glass sponge) was discovered in the SK-B MPA, documented as the first member of the genus Doconesthes reported outside the North Atlantic Ocean and the first ever found in the Pacific Ocean. The following year, two skwaank’aa (sponge) samples were identified as new species previously unknown to science (Rhabdocalyptus trichotis and Pinulasma bowiensis). These discoveries suggest that the MPA may support other species that are currently unknown in the North Pacific and highlights the importance of ongoing research and monitoring in the area.

A wolf-eel peaks out of its shelter surrounded by aggregating anemones and algae. Copyright Fisheries and Oceans Canada

A wolf-eel peaks out of its shelter surrounded by aggregating anemones and algae © Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Crimson anemone surrounded by colonial zoanthids Copyright Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Crimson anemone surrounded by colonial zoanthids © Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Management and Conservation

Management and Conservation

Transcript

For more than a decade, the Haida Nation and the Government of Canada have been working together.

To protect the SGaan Kinghlas-Bowie Seamount Marine Protected Area.

This culturally and ecologically unique area.

Contains one of the shallowest seamounts in the North Pacific Ocean.

This underwater mountain provides biologically rich habitat for at-risk species.

It provides an important feeding area for fish, marine mammals and seabirds.

Like orcas and halibut.

This area is located off the coast of Haida Gwaii, British Columbia.

Together we are safeguarding it for current and future generations.

The Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between the Haida Nation, as represented by the Council of the Haida Nation (CHN), and Canada, as represented by the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, confirms a commitment to a relationship based on mutual respect and understanding and facilitates the cooperative planning and management of the SK-B MPA, including an adaptive co-management approach. It demonstrates the shared responsibility of the Haida Nation and Canada (the “parties”) to protect and conserve the SK-B MPA for the benefit, education and enjoyment of present and future generations. With this understanding, both parties agreed to work together through a Management Board to develop a management plan to contribute to the protection of the SK-B MPA.

The Management Board consists of two CHN representatives and two DFO representatives designated by the respective parties. The Management Board seeks to operate on a consensus basis and submits recommendations to the CHN and the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans for their respective consideration.

Management of the SK-B MPA is further supported by advice from an Advisory Committee. The Advisory Committee is a multi-stakeholder group that works collaboratively to provide advice to the Management Board regarding planning and management of the MPA.

Activity Application

Activity application for SGaan Kinghlas/Bowie Seamount MPA

Under the SK-B Regulations, scientific research, monitoring, educational, or commercial marine tourism activities are allowed in the SK-B MPA if the activity is consistent with the Plan’s goals and objectives, increases public awareness of the area, and is approved by way of an activity plan.

Begin Activity Application process

Research and Publications

Research and Publications

Crew aboard the E/V Nautilus carefully maneuvering the immersion of Hercules, a remotely operated vehicle, during the 2018 Expedition to SK-B Seamount. Photo credit: Oceans Network Canada

Crew aboard the E/V Nautilus carefully maneuvering the immersion of Hercules, a remotely operated vehicle, during the 2018 Expedition to SK-B Seamount. Photo credit: Oceans Network Canada

Date modified:

Zone de protection marine du mont sous-marin SGaan Kinghlas-Bowie (ZPM SK-B)

Remarque :

Les cartes, diagrammes et coordonnées sur ce site Web sont fournis à titre indicatif seulement et ne doivent pas être utilisés pour la pêche, la navigation ou autres. Veuillez consulter le Règlement sur la zone de protection marine ou communiquer avec votre bureau régional de Pêches et Océans Canada pour obtenir les coordonnées officielles.

En bref
Carte : Zone de protection marine du mont sous-marin SGaan Kinghlas-Bowie (ZPM SK-B)

Carte : Zone de protection marine du mont sous-marin SGaan Kinghlas-Bowie (ZPM SK-B)

Ensemble de données sur les ZPM disponible.

Logo du mont sous-marin SGaan Kinghlas–Bowie

Logo du mont sous-marin SGaan Kinghlas-Bowie

En bref

Emplacement

À l'ouest de Haïda Gwaii, en Colombie-Britannique; biorégion de l’extracôtière du Pacifique.

Contribution approximative en superficie (km2) aux objectifs de conservation marine

6 103 km2

Contribution approximative en pourcentage de couverture aux objectifs de conservation marine

0,11%

Date de désignation

Avril 2008 (en vertu de la Loi sur les océans)
(Aire marine protégée Haïda depuis 1997)

Objectifs de conservation

Conserver et protéger la biodiversité et la productivité biologique uniques de l’écosystème marin de cette zone, où se trouvent les monts sous-marins ainsi que les eaux environnantes, les fonds marins et le sous-sol. 

Interdictions

Le Règlement sur la ZPM SK-B interdit dans cette zone toute activité qui perturbe, endommage, détruit ou enlève tout organisme marin vivant ou toute partie de son habitat ou du fond marin. De plus, il est interdit de mener toute activité, y compris déposer, déverser ou rejeter une substance dans la ZPM, qui peut entraîner la perturbation, l’endommagement, la destruction, ou l’enlèvement de tout organisme marin vivant ou de toute partie de son habitat au sein de la zone. Certaines activités peuvent être menées au sein de la ZPM (appelées « exceptions » dans le Règlement sur la ZPM SK-B) selon des conditions précises.

Contexte environnemental

Le mont sous-marin SGaan Kinghlas-Bowie est situé à 180 kilomètres au large des côtes de la Colombie-Britannique à l’ouest de Haida Gwaii dans le nord-est du Pacifique. Les limites de la ZPM SK-B comprennent les monts sous-marins SGaan Kinghlas-Bowie, Hodgkins et Davidson ainsi que les eaux environnantes, le fond et le sous-sol marins.
Les monts sous-marins sont des montagnes sous-marines formées par l’activité volcanique qui se dressent sur le plancher océanique, mais qui n’atteignent pas la surface. Le mont sous-marin SK-B possède deux terrasses distinctes à des profondeurs de 65-100 m et 220-250 m, et s’élève jusqu’à 24 m sous la surface de l’eau. Du point de vue géologique, le mont sous-marin est relativement jeune, puisqu’il s’est formé il y a moins d’un million d’années. On pense que le mont sous-marin SK-B a été une île volcanique active il y a environ 18 000 ans, pendant la dernière période glaciaire.  

On dispose de peu d’informations sur la dynamique des eaux dans la zone, mais les recherches océanographiques effectuées sur un site semblable situé à proximité indiquent que la couche supérieure de l’océan à lʼemplacement du mont sous-marin SK-B contient probablement une zone d’eau froide riche en nutriments avec un niveau élevé de mélange. Ces conditions pourraient permettre la hausse de la croissance du phytoplancton, et ainsi favoriser les communautés hautement productives que l’on trouve souvent sur les monts sous-marins peu profonds.

La ZPM SK-B est aussi touchée par des tourbillons régionaux, appelés « tourbillons Haïda ». On pense que les tourbillons Haïda transportent des eaux côtières riches en larves de poisson, en plancton et en nutriments, tels que le nitrate et le fer, jusqu’à la ZPM SK-B, où elles s’installent et mûrissent.

Écosystème

Écosystème

Les différents phénomènes océanographiques présents sur le mont sous-marin SK-B appuient une communauté biologique riche et unique qui, en dépit de la faible profondeur, comprend une combinaison d’espèces de haute mer (salpes), d’espèces vivant en profondeur (zaproras et galatées), et d’espèces côtières des zones intertidale et infratidale peu profonde (taaXuu [moules de Californie] et k’aay [laminaires à feuille divisée]).

Les enquêtes menées à propos de l’écologie du mont sous-marin ont indiqué qu’en raison de la limpidité de l’eau, la lumière pouvait pénétrer jusqu’à une profondeur de 40 m ou plus. Les algues les plus grandes et les plus remarquables, les ngaalaagaas (Desmarestia ligulata), ont été repérées à 38 m de profondeur. En ce qui concerne la plupart des espèces d’algues, leur présence sur le mont sous-marin SK-B donne lieu à de nouveaux records de profondeur, étant donné que les algues marines benthiques se trouvent rarement à des profondeurs supérieures à 20 m dans les eaux côtières.

En 2015, une gin gii hlk’uuwaansdlagangs (éponge siliceuse) a été découverte dans la ZPM SK-B; il s’agissait du premier spécimen du genre Doconesthes découvert en dehors de l’océan Atlantique Nord, et le tout premier dans l’océan Pacifique. L’année suivante, deux échantillons de skwaank’aa (éponges) ont été identifiés comme de nouvelles espèces précédemment inconnues des scientifiques (Rhabdocalyptus trichotis et Pinulasma bowiensis). Ces découvertes laissent à penser que la ZPM peut contenir d’autres espèces qui sont à l’heure actuelle inconnues dans le Pacifique Nord, et cela montre l’importance des recherches en cours et de la surveillance dans la zone.

Un loup ocellé sort de son abri entouré d’anémones et d’algues © Pêches et Océans Canada

Un loup ocellé sort de son abri entouré d’anémones et d’algues © Pêches et Océans Canada

Anémone pourpre entourée de zoanthidés coloniaux © Pêches et Océans Canada

Anémone pourpre entourée de zoanthidés coloniaux © Pêches et Océans Canada

Gestion et conservation

Gestion et conservation

Transcription

Depuis plus d’un décennie, la Nation haïda et le gouvernement du Canada travaillent ensemble.

Pour protéger la zone de protection marine du mont sous-marin SGaan Kinghlas-Bowie.

Cette zone, unique sur le plan écologique et culturel.

Contient l’un des monts sous-marins les moins profonds de l’océan Pacifique Nord.

Cette montagne sous-marine offre un habitat biologiquement riche aux espèces en péril.

Il offre une importante zone d’alimentation pour les oiseaux de mer, les poissons et les mammifères marins.

Comme l’épaulard et le flétan.

Cette zone se situe au large de la côte de Haïda Gwaii, en Colombie-Britannique.

Ensemble, nous la préservons pour les générations actuelles et futures.

Le Protocole dʼentente (en anglais seulement)  conclu entre la Nation haïda, représentée par le Conseil de la nation haïda (CNH), et le Canada, représenté par la ministre des Pêches et des Océans, souligne les principes d’une relation axée sur le respect et la compréhension mutuels, et prévoit la planification et la gestion en coopération de la ZPM SK-B, y compris en suivant une approche de cogestion adaptative. Le Protocole d’entente souligne la responsabilité partagée de la Nation haïda et du Canada (les « parties ») en ce qui concerne la protection et la conservation de la ZPM SK-B pour le bien-être, l’éducation et le plaisir des générations actuelles et futures. Dans le cadre de cette entente, les deux parties se sont engagées à collaborer par l’entremise d’un conseil de gestion afin de mettre au point un plan de gestion pour contribuer à la protection de la ZPM SK-B.

Le conseil de gestion comprend deux représentants du CNH et deux représentants du MPO désignés par les parties respectives. Le conseil de gestion vise à opérer sur la base du consensus, et il présente des recommandations au CNH et au ministre des Pêches et des Océans aux fins de considération.

Un comité consultatif fournit également des conseils en ce qui a trait à la gestion de la ZPM SK-B. Le comité consultatif correspond à un groupe composé de multiples intervenants qui travaillent de concert pour fournir des conseils au conseil de gestion en ce qui concerne la planification et la gestion de la ZPM.

Règlement sur la zone de protection marine du mont sous-marin Bowie (DORS/2008-124)

Résumé de l’étude d’impact de la réglementation

Plan de gestion de la zone de protection marine du mont sous-marin SGaan Kinghlas-Bowie Gin siigee tl’a damaan kinggangs gin k’aalaagangs 2019

We all take care of SG̱aan Ḵinghlas (2017) (en anglais seulement)

Council of Haida Nation Marine Planning Program (en anglais seulement)

Demandes d'activités

Demande d’activité dans la ZPM du mont sous-marin SGaan Kinghlas-Bowie

Selon le Règlement sur la ZPM SK-B, les activités de recherche et de surveillance scientifiques ainsi que les activités éducatives ou de tourisme maritime commercial sont permises dans la ZPM SK-B si elles sont conformes aux buts et objectifs du plan, sensibilisent davantage le public à la zone et sont approuvées au moyen d’un plan d’activités.

Commencer le processus de demande d'activité

Recherche et publications

Recherche et publications

L’équipage à bord du navire d’exploration Nautilus qui effectue soigneusement l’immersion du Hercules, un véhicule télécommandé, pendant l’expédition de 2018 au mont sousmarin SK-B. Source : Oceans Network Canada

L’équipage à bord du navire d’exploration Nautilus qui effectue soigneusement l’immersion du Hercules, un véhicule télécommandé, pendant l’expédition de 2018 au mont sousmarin SK-B. Source : Oceans Network Canada

Indicateurs, protocoles et stratégies de surveillance pour la zone de protection marine du mont sous-marin Bowie (Sgaan Kinghlas) (2011)

Protocole dʼentente (en anglais seulement) signé en avril 2007 entre le gouvernement du Canada et le Conseil de la nation haïda (CNH)

Plan de gestion de la zone de protection marine du mont sous-marin SGaan Kinghlas-Bowie Gin siigee tl’a damaan kinggangs gin k’aalaagangs (2019)

Ecosystem Overview Report (2003) (en anglais seulement)

Date de modification :