Language selection

Search

Pikialasorsuaq (North Water Polynya)

Map: Pikialasorsuaq (North Water Polynya). Copyright DFO.

Map: Pikialasorsuaq (North Water Polynya). © DFO.

Location

Pikialasorsuaq is a large polynya (area of year-round open water surrounded by sea-ice cover) located in the northern part of Baffin Bay, indicated on the map by the dotted yellow line. The name means “great upwelling” in Greenlandic and is the word used by Inuit in Canada and Greenland. Early European explorers referred to the area as the North Water Polynya. Canada and Greenland share jurisdiction over Pikialasorsuaq.

Environmental Challenges

There are challenges facing this unique and important ecosystem and the communities that depend on it. Pikialasorsuaq is under pressure from environmental changes taking place in the Arctic, particularly climate change, which could make the polynya less stable. Climate change is also making the polynya more easily accessible, potentially leading to increased development, such as shipping, fisheries, tourism, and mining. These stressors may have serious implications for the marine biodiversity and communities in the area.

Ecological Importance

Pikialasorsuaq is the largest polynya in the Canadian Arctic, and is one of the most biologically productive regions north of the Arctic Circle.

Pikialasorsuaq remains ice-free in winter, providing important habitat for Arctic and migratory species to carry out essential activities such as feeding, mating, and reproducing. It is vital to a range of species, including birds, marine mammals such as walrus, beluga and bowhead whales, narwhals, ringed, bearded and harp seals, and polar bears, as well as fish. The unique characteristics of this polynya also result in a plankton explosion in the early spring, providing food for numerous species.

Conservation Approaches

Fiords of Jones Sound near Grise Fiord. Copyright Leah Brown, DFO.

Fiords of Jones Sound near Grise Fiord. © Leah Brown, DFO.

In January 2016, the Inuit Circumpolar Council (ICC) established the Pikialasorsuaq Commission to recommend an Inuit strategy for safeguarding and monitoring the health of the polynya. The Commission’s report, "People of the Ice Bridge: The Future of the Pikialasorsuaq", was released on November 23, 2017. The report recognizes the importance of this area to local Inuit communities; it sustains Inuit with food and resources, making it invaluable for cultural and spiritual well-being. The report recommends identifying a protected area that includes the polynya and a larger management zone. The report also recommends moving toward Inuit-led management of the region, and free movement across Pikialasorsuaq for Inuit people between historically connected communities in Canada and Greenland.

Advancing reconciliation and pursuing a renewed relationship with Indigenous peoples based on the recognition of rights, respect, co-operation, and partnership is a priority for the Government of Canada. In the marine context, Fisheries and Oceans Canada supports Indigenous leadership and collaboration on marine conservation initiatives. Inuit in Canada and Greenland have begun discussing a path forward to implementing the Commission’s recommendations. The Government of Canada has also begun engaging with key Canadian Inuit partners in support of the report’s recommendations, and has initiated discussions with the Government of Greenland and the Kingdom of Denmark, as Greenland is part of the Kingdom of Denmark.

Resources

Pikialasorsuaq Atlas and Planning Tool (the Inuit Circumpolar Council collaborated with a range of partners in Canada and Greenland to gather all available Indigenous and scientific knowledge into an Atlas. The Planning Tool illustrates how different activities may overlap or interact with marine resources in the region).

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Pikialasorsuaq (polynie des eaux du Nord)

Carte : Pikialasorsuaq (polynie des eaux du Nord). Copyright MPO.

Carte : Pikialasorsuaq (polynie des eaux du Nord). © MPO.

Emplacement

Pikialasorsuaq est une grande polynie (zone d’eau libre à longueur d’année entourées d’une couverture de glace de mer) située dans la partie nord de la baie de Baffin, représentée sur la carte par la ligne pointillée jaune. Le nom signifie « grande remontée d’eau » en groenlandais et est le terme utilisé par les Inuits du Canada et du Groenland. Les premiers explorateurs européens ont appelé cette région la polynie des eaux du Nord. Le Canada et le Groenland partagent la juridiction sur Pikialasorsuaq.

Défis environnementaux

Cet écosystème unique et important ainsi que les collectivités qui en dépendent font face à des défis uniques. Pikialasorsuaq subit la pression des changements environnementaux qui se produisent dans l’Arctique, particulièrement les changements climatiques, qui pourraient nuire à la stabilité de la polynie. Le changement climatique rend également la polynie plus facilement accessible, ce qui pourrait entraîner un développement accru, notamment en matière de transport maritime, de pêche, de tourisme et d’exploitation minière. Ces facteurs de stress peuvent avoir de graves répercussions sur la biodiversité marine et les communautés de la région.

Importance écologique

Pikialasorsuaq est la plus grande polynie de l’Arctique canadien et l’une des régions les plus productives sur le plan biologique au nord du cercle arctique.

Pikialasorsuaq demeure libre de glace en hiver, ce qui fournit un habitat important aux espèces arctiques et migratrices pour leurs activités essentielles comme l’alimentation, l’accouplement et la reproduction. Il est vital pour toute une gamme d’espèces, notamment les oiseaux, les mammifères marins comme le morse, le béluga et la baleine boréale, le narval, le phoque annelé, le phoque barbu, le phoque du Groenland, l’ours blanc, ainsi que les poissons. Les caractéristiques uniques de cette polynie entraînent également une explosion du plancton au début du printemps, fournissant de la nourriture à de nombreuses espèces.

Approches de conservation

Fjords du détroit de Jones près du fjord Grise. Copyright Leah Brown, MPO.

Fjords du détroit de Jones près du fjord Grise. © Leah Brown, MPO.

En janvier 2016, le Conseil circumpolaire inuit (CCI) a créé la Commission Pikialasorsuaq dont le mandat est de recommander une stratégie inuite visant à protéger et à surveiller la santé de la polynie. Le rapport de la Commission, « People of the Ice Bridge : The Future of the Pikialasorsuaq » a été publié le 23 novembre 2017. Le rapport reconnaît l’importance de cette région pour les collectivités inuites locales; elle fournit aux Inuits de la nourriture et des ressources, ce qui la rend précieuse pour leur bien-être culturel et spirituel. Le rapport recommande la désignation d’une aire protégée qui comprend la polynie et une zone de gestion plus vaste. Le rapport recommande également d’adopter une gestion de la région dirigée par les Inuits et la libre circulation des Inuits à travers Pikialasorsuaq entre les communautés historiquement reliées du Canada et du Groenland.

Une des priorités du gouvernement du Canada consiste à faire progresser la réconciliation et à maintenir une relation renouvelée avec les peuples autochtones fondée sur la reconnaissance des droits, le respect, la coopération et le partenariat. Dans le contexte marin, Pêches et Océans Canada soutient les dirigeants autochtones et favorise la collaboration avec les communautés autochtones pour réaliser des initiatives de conservation marine. Les Inuits du Canada et du Groenland ont commencé à discuter de la voie à suivre pour mettre en œuvre les recommandations de la Commission. Le gouvernement du Canada a également commencé à collaborer avec des partenaires inuits canadiens clés à l’appui des recommandations du rapport et a entamé des discussions avec le gouvernement du Groenland et le Royaume du Danemark, puisque le Groenland fait partie du Royaume du Danemark.

Ressources

Signaler un problème ou une erreur sur cette page
Veuillez sélectionner toutes les cases qui s'appliquent :
Date de modification :