Season opening for the mackerel fishery in the southern gulf of St. Lawrence

Moncton, NB – May 28, 2020 – The Department of Fisheries and Oceans announces today the mackerel fishery in mackerel fishing area 16 will open on June 1, 2020 as specified under the Atlantic Fisheries Regulation, 1985.

The Total Allowable Catch (TAC) for Eastern Canada will remain at 8,000 tonnes for 2020. The minimum fish size for commercial and recreational mackerel retention will also remain at 268 mm.

In addition to the management measures implemented in recent years to improve monitoring and reporting of catches in the mackerel fishery, fish harvesters will be required to comply with new management measures on gear marking published in the notice to fish harvesters available here.

Next year, Fisheries and Oceans Canada plans to implement a minimum mesh size of  69,85 mm (2 3/4 inches) and a maximum mesh size of 76.2 mm (3 inches ) in order to standardize the mesh size for gill nets used in the mackerel fishery in the Gulf of St. Lawrence.

Eligible harvesters wishing to participate in this fishery are now able to obtain their mackerel licence through the National Online Licensing System (NOLS).  The Department wants to remind licence holders that they are required to have entered into an agreement with a dockside monitoring company designated by Fisheries and Oceans Canada prior to the start of their mackerel fishing season.

The rebuilding plan for mackerel, developed in collaboration with various stakeholders, should be finalized over the next year and will provide guidelines to improve the state of the stock which is currently in the critical zone according to  the precautionary approach framework.

Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) - Information for industry

Canadian fisheries and aquaculture sectors provide the world with sustainably-sourced, high quality, high value, fish and seafood.

Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard is committed to supporting our fisheries and aquaculture industry during these difficult times. The Government of Canada is taking the necessary steps to ensure that you can continue to operate safely and effectively and we will continue to keep you informed of the latest developments.

Visit our website to find out more.

For more information:

Sandra Comeau
Resource Management, Eastern NB
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Tracadie, NB
506-395-7765
Ben Moore
Resource Management, PEI
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Charlottetown, PEI
902-370-7094
Alan Dwyer
Resource Management, Gulf NS
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Antigonish, NS
902-735-7114
Mario Gaudet
Regional Advisor, Resource Management
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Moncton, NB
506-871-0648
Date modified:

Ouverture de la saison de pêche du maquereau dans le sud du Golfe du Saint-Laurent

Moncton, N.-B. – 28 mai, 2020 –Le ministère des Pêches et des Océans annonce que la saison de pêche du maquereau dans la zone de pêche du maquereau 16 débutera le 1 juin 2020 conformément au Règlement de Pêche de l’Atlantique de 1985.

Le total admissible des captures (TAC) pour l’est du Canada a été maintenu à 8 000 tonnes métriques pour cette année. La taille minimale du maquereau sera également maintenu à 268 mm pour la pêche commerciale et récréative.

En plus des mesures de gestion mises en œuvre au cours des dernières années pour améliorer la surveillance et la déclaration des captures dans la pêche au maquereau, les pêcheurs devront se conformer aux nouvelles mesures de gestion sur le marquage des engins publiées dans l’avis aux pêcheurs disponible ici.

Dès l’an prochain, Pêches et Océans Canada prévoit imposer une taille de maille minimale de 69.85 mm (2 ¾ po.) et une taille de maille maximale de 76.2 mm (3 po.) afin de normaliser le maillage pour les filets maillants utilisés dans la pêche du maquereau pour l’ensemble du Golfe du Saint-Laurent.

Les pêcheurs admissibles qui souhaitent participer à cette pêche pourront obtenir des conditions de permis de maquereau en utilisant le système national d’émission des permis en ligne (SNEPL) à partir de maintenant. Le ministère désire rappeler aux titulaires de permis qu’ils devront avoir conclus une entente avec une compagnie de vérification à quai désignée par Pêches et Océans Canada avant d’entamer leur saison de pêche du maquereau.

Le plan de rétablissement du maquereau, élaboré en collaboration avec divers intervenants, sera finalisé au cours de la prochaine année et fournira des lignes directrices pour améliorer l’état du stock qui se trouve actuellement dans la zone critique du cadre d’de l’approche de précaution.

Coronavirus (COVID-19) – Information pour l’industrie

Les secteurs canadiens de la pêche et de l'aquaculture fournissent au monde des poissons et des fruits de mer de haute qualité et de grande valeur, provenant de sources durables.

Pêches, Océans et la Garde côtière canadienne s'engagent à soutenir notre industrie de la pêche et de l'aquaculture en ces temps difficiles. Le gouvernement du Canada prend les mesures nécessaires pour que vous puissiez continuer à exercer vos activités en toute sécurité et avec efficacité, et nous continuerons à vous tenir informés des derniers développements.

Visitez notre site Web pour en savoir plus.

Pour plus de renseignements :

Sandra Comeau
Chef de secteur, Gestion de la ressource
Pêches et Océans Canada
Tracadie (N.-B.)
506-395-7765
Ben Moore
Chef de secteur, Gestion de la ressource
Pêches et Océans Canada
Charlottetown (Î.-P.-É.)
902-370-7094
Alan Dwyer
Chef de secteur, Gestion de la ressource
Pêches et Océans Canada
Antigonish (N.-É.)
902-735-7114
Mario Gaudet
Conseiller régional, Gestion de la ressource
Pêches et Océans Canada
Moncton (N.-B.)
506-871-0648
Date de modification :