Management plan for Atlantic halibut in the Gulf of St. Lawrence

Moncton, Quebec, Saint John's and Halifax – June 5, 2020 – The Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO) today announces the management plan for Atlantic halibut in the Gulf of St. Lawrence Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Organization (NAFO) divisions 4RST.

A Total Allowable Catch (TAC) of 1,492 t for Atlantic halibut 4RST is established for a one year period from May 15, 2020 until May 14, 2021. From this TAC, a 60 t allocation has been set aside under section 10 of the Fisheries Act to support the industry/DFO longline survey and tagging project.

The remaining quota (1,432 t) is distributed based on the sharing formula announced in 2016 following the review of the inshore fixed gear fleet shares. The inshore fixed-gear fleet sector will receive a transfer of 92.5 % (356 t) of the mobile gear fleets' allocation, which is distributed equally between the eight inshore fixed-gear fleets involved in the directed Atlantic halibut fishery.

As a result, the 2020-21 initial allocations per fleet (calculated before quota reconciliation or carry-forward of previously uncaught quota where applicable) are as follows:

Fleets Allocations (t)
Eastern New Brunswick 96.08
Gulf Nova Scotia 64.54
Prince Edward Island 59.04
Western Newfoundland and Labrador 364.23
Quebec North Shore 126.73
Gaspésie 484.02
Magdalen Islands 98.78
Scotia Fundy 60.74
Mobile Gear ˂ 19.81 m 12.58
Fixed Gear 19.81 m – 30.48 m 49.10
Mobile Gear 19.81 m – 30.48 m 3.68
Vessels ˃ 30.48 m 12.58
Scientific survey 60
Total 1,492
Table description

The table indicates the allocations for all fleets. The less than 19.81 metres fleets include Eastern New Brunswick fleet receiving 96.08 tonnes, Gulf Nova Scotia fleet receiving 64.54 tonnes, Prince Edward Island fleet receiving 59.04 tonnes, Western Newfoundland fleet receiving 364.23 tonnes, Quebec North Shore fleet receiving 126.73 tonnes, Gaspésie fleet receiving 484.02 tonnes, Magdalen Islands fleet receiving 98.78 tonnes and Scotia Fundy fleet receiving 60.74 tonnes. The mobile gear less than 19.81 metres fleet is receiving 12.58 tonnes for by-catch, the fixed gear 19.81 metres to 30.48 metres fleet is receiving 49.10 tonnes, the mobile gear 19.81 metres to 30.48 metres fleet is receiving 3.68 tonnes for by catch and the greater than 30.48 metres fleet is receiving 12.58 for by catch. The scientific survey is receiving 60 tonnes and the total allowable catch is 1,492 tonnes.

Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) - Information for industry

Canadian fisheries and aquaculture sectors provide the world with sustainably-sourced, high quality, high value, fish and seafood.

Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard is committed to supporting our fisheries and aquaculture industry during these difficult times. The Government of Canada is taking the necessary steps to ensure that you can continue to operate safely and effectively and we will continue to keep you informed of the latest developments.

Visit our website to find out more: http://dfo-mpo.gc.ca/covid19/industry-industrie/index-eng.html.

For more information

Daniel Lapierre
Senior Regional Advisor
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Moncton, NB
506-962-7286

Steve Trottier
Senior Regional Advisor
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Québec, QC
418-648-4946

Shelley Dwyer
A/Senior Regional Advisor
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
St. John's, NL
709-728-8940

Jennifer Saunders
A/Senior Regional Advisor
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Dartmouth, NS
902-402-5508

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:
Date modified:

Plan de gestion du flétan atlantique dans le Golfe du Saint-Laurent

Moncton, Québec, Saint John's et Halifax – le 5 juin 2020 – Le ministère des Pêches et des Océans (MPO) annonce aujourd'hui le plan de gestion du flétan atlantique dans les divisions 4RST de l'Organisation des Pêches de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest (OPANO).

Un total autorisé des captures (TAC) de 1 492 t est établi pour une période d'un an du 15 mai 2020 au 14 mai 2021. Une allocation de 60 t prélevée du TAC a été mise de côté en vertu de la section 10 de la Loi sur les pêches pour soutenir le projet de relevé à la palangre et le programme d'étiquetage annuel mené par le MPO en partenariat avec l'industrie.

La formule de partage annoncée en 2016, suite à la révision des parts des flottilles géographiques avec engins fixes, sera utilisée pour distribuer le contingent restant, soit 1 432 t. Un contingent de 356 t, représentant 92,5% de l'allocation des flottilles avec engins mobiles, sera partagé de façon égale entre les huit flottilles côtières régionales qui participent à la pêche dirigée du flétan atlantique dans 4RST.

Par conséquent, les allocations initiales par flottille pour 2020-21 (calculées avant la conciliation des dépassements de contingents ou les reports de contingents, le cas échéant) sont les suivantes :

Flottilles Allocations (t)
Est du Nouveau-Brunswick 96,08
Golfe-Nouvelle-Écosse 64,54
Île-du-Prince-Édouard 59,04
Ouest de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador 364,23
Côte nord de Québec 126,73
Gaspésie 484,02
Îles de la Madeleine 98,78
Scotia Fundy 60,74
Engins mobiles ˂ 19,81 m 12,58
Engins fixes 19,81 m – 30,48 m 49,10
Engins mobiles 19,81 m – 30,48 m 3,68
Bateaux ˃ 30,48 m 12.58
Relevé scientifique 60
Total 1,492
Description du tableau

Le tableau indique l'allocation de toutes les flottilles. Les flottilles utilisant des engins fixes avec des bateaux de moins de 19,18 mètres sont celles de l'Est du Nouveau-Brunswick qui reçoit 96,08 tonnes, Golfe-Nouvelle-Écosse qui reçoit 64,54 tonnes, l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard qui reçoit 59,04 tonnes, l'ouest de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador qui reçoit 364,23 tonnes, Côte nord de Québec qui reçoit 126,73 tonnes, la Gaspésie qui reçoit 484,02 tonnes, les îles de la Madeleine qui reçoit 98,78 tonnes et Scotia Fundy qui reçoit 60,74 tonnes. La flottille utilisant des engins mobiles avec des bateaux de moins de 19,81 mètres reçoit 12,58 tonnes pour prises accessoires. La flottille utilisant des engins fixes avec des bateaux entre 19,81 mètres et 30,48 mètres reçoit 49,1 tonnes. La flottille utilisant des engins mobiles avec des bateaux entre 19,81 mètres et 30,48 mètres reçoit 3,98 tonnes pour prises accessoires et la flottille utilisant des bateaux de plus de 30,48 mètres reçoit 12,58 tonnes pour prises accessoires. Le relevé scientifique reçoit 60 tonnes et le total autorisé de capture est 1 492 tonnes.

Coronavirus (COVID-19) – Information pour l'industrie

Les secteurs canadiens de la pêche et de l'aquaculture fournissent au monde des poissons et des fruits de mer de haute qualité et de grande valeur, provenant de sources durables.

Pêches, Océans et la Garde côtière canadienne s'engagent à soutenir notre industrie de la pêche et de l'aquaculture en ces temps difficiles. Le gouvernement du Canada prend les mesures nécessaires pour que vous puissiez continuer à exercer vos activités en toute sécurité et avec efficacité, et nous continuerons à vous tenir informés des derniers développements.

Visitez notre site Web pour en savoir plus : http://dfo-mpo.gc.ca/covid19/industry-industrie/index-fra.html.

Pour plus d'information :

Daniel Lapierre
Conseiller principal
Pêches et Océans Canada
Moncton, Nouveau-Brunswick
506-962-7286

Steve Trottier
Conseiller principal
Pêches et Océans Canada
Québec, Québec
418-648-4946

Shelley Dwyer
Conseillère principale p.i.
Pêches et Océans Canada
St. John's, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
709-728-8940

Jennifer Saunders
Conseillère principale p.i.
Pêches et Océans Canada
Dartmouth, Nouvelle-Écosse
902-402-5508

Date de modification :