Language selection

Search

Beneficial Ownership Survey

Current Status: Closed

The survey closed on April 30th, 2022; however, late submissions are still permitted.

From January 31, 2022 to April 30, 2022, a number of commercial fishing licence holders and vessel owners were required to complete a mandatory online survey. The information gathered through this survey will help the Department make better decisions for fish harvesters and their communities. While the survey has officially closed, late survey submission will be accepted. Over the coming weeks, Departmental officials will contact parties who have not yet submitted a survey.

If you require assistance in completing the survey, please contact DFO.SurveyHelp-AideSondage.MPO@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Infographic: Required Information (Pacific vessel-based licences)

Infographic: Required Information (Pacific vessel-based licences)

Infographic: Required Information (Atlantic, Quebec, Arctic and Pacific party-based)

Infographic: Required Information (Atlantic, Quebec, Arctic and Pacific party-based)

On this page:

About the survey

The Beneficial Ownership Survey will help the Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO) gather information about who is benefitting from having access to commercial fishing across Canada, including the amount of access allocated to small and medium sized businesses, concentration of access, and foreign ownership.

Beneficial owners are individuals who directly or indirectly own or control (in whole or in part) a corporation or an entity. Beneficial owners are not the corporations or entities.

The survey will request information from individuals – either vessel owners or licence holders – including: full names, citizenship, and the ownership percentage held by the beneficial owner(s). Individuals responsible for enterprises with multiple owners (“multi-tiered corporations”) will need to provide information about all of the direct or indirect beneficial owners for all parent companies that are in the full corporate structure related to the commercial fishing access.

The survey will be quite simple for most recipients to complete because they will only have a few questions to answer. Larger, multi-tiered corporations may need a little more time to collect the information required to complete the section designed for more complex organizations.

The survey will be online from January 31 to April 30, 2022. We encourage you to complete it as soon as possible.

Who must complete the survey?

In Pacific Region, the Beneficial Ownership Survey is mandatory for all:

In the Atlantic, Quebec, and Arctic regions, the Beneficial Ownership Survey is mandatory for all:

The following licence holders are exempt from the survey:

The surveys are mandatory and the Minister has the authority under the Fisheries Act to ask licence holders and vessel owners for this kind of information. Failure to provide the required information through the survey constitutes a prosecutable offence under section 78 of the Fisheries Act.

Number of survey submissions required

Pacific region licence holders may need to complete the Survey more than once if they hold multiple types of fisheries access:

Atlantic Canada, Quebec, and Arctic region licence holders are only required to submit one survey, regardless of the number of licences issued to them.

How to complete the survey?

The survey has three formats to capture information from the various types of access in Canada: party-based and vessel-based in Pacific region, as well as midshore, offshore, exempted fleet, and inshore Elver fisheries in Atlantic Canada, Quebec and the Arctic Region.

The survey is divided into three sections:

Identification

The first section is for identification purposes. We need the name of the licence holder as it is written on the licence or the name of the contact vessel owner as previously provided to DFO. The section also requests basic information, such as fisher identification number (FIN), business number, vessel registration number (VRN) and vessel name.

Fishing enterprises 100% owned by individuals and/or families

The second section is for small- to medium-sized fishing enterprises and vessels that are directly owned by one or more individuals or directly owned by one or more wholly owned corporations.

The Survey will require the names of the licence holder or vessel owner, their citizenship and the percentage of ownership. If the licence holder or vessel owner is a corporation, the country in which the corporation was registered will also be required. There is also a ‘yes/no’ question about whether the individuals listed are family members.

Multi-tiered enterprises with multiple beneficial owners

The third section is for multi-tiered companies with more complex corporate structures and multiple beneficial owners.

There are 10 questions to help identify the beneficial owners. Some questions require the respondent to name persons and organizations with a direct or indirect share of 10% or more in the licence holder or vessel owner organization’s securities, as well as their citizenship and the percentage of ownership. This includes nominees and other beneficial owners. The Survey will include questions about foreign involvement in the licence holder’s organization, such as if any non-Canadians hold a position within the organization, if a member of the organization holds a position within a foreign organization, and if the organization is indebted to a foreign lender. The Survey does not contain requirements to disclose financial records or any dollar amounts. Following the Survey’s conclusion, DFO will conduct quality-checks in which Survey respondents may be required to provide documentation that supports their Survey submissions.

Survey results and protection of gathered information

The personal information collected by the Survey will be handled in accordance with the Privacy Act. We will publicly publish only grouped results from the survey in accordance with the Privacy Act. No personal information will be published and the security of personal information will be properly protected, stored, and destroyed after 7 years.

For more information

Contact DFO.SurveyHelp-AideSondage.MPO@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Sondage sur la propriété effective

État actuel : fermé

Le sondage a pris fin le 30 avril 2022, mais les soumissions tardives sont toujours autorisées.

Du 31 janvier 2022 au 30 avril 2022, un certain nombre de détenteurs de permis de pêche commerciale et de propriétaires de bateaux ont dû répondre à un sondage obligatoire en ligne. Les renseignements recueillis dans le cadre de ce sondage aideront le Ministère à prendre de meilleures décisions pour les pêcheurs et leurs communautés. Bien que le sondage soit officiellement terminé, les soumissions tardives seront acceptées. Au cours des prochaines semaines, les représentants du ministère communiqueront avec les parties qui n'ont pas encore soumis de sondage.

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour remplir le sondage, veuillez contacter DFO.SurveyHelp-AideSondage.MPO@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Infographie : Informations requises (Permis de pêche pour un navire basé dans la Pacifique)

Infographie : Informations requises (Permis de pêche pour un navire basé dans la Pacifique)

Infographie : Informations requises (Permis de pêche de l’Atlantique, du Quebec, du l’Arctique, et du Pacifique basé sur une partie)

Infographie : Informations requises (Permis de pêche de l’Atlantique, du Quebec, du l’Arctique, et du Pacifique basé sur une partie)

Sur cette page :

À propos du sondage

Le Sondage sur la propriété effective aidera le Ministère des Pêches et des Océans (MPO) à recueillir des renseignements sur les personnes qui bénéficient de l’accès à la pêche commerciale au Canada, y compris la quantité d'accès allouée aux petites et moyennes entreprises, la concentration de l’accès et la propriété étrangère.

Par bénéficiaires effectifs, on entend les personnes qui possèdent ou contrôlent directement ou indirectement, en totalité ou en partie, une personne morale ou une entité. Les bénéficiaires effectifs ne sont pas les sociétés ou les entités. Le sondage demandera donc des renseignements sur les particuliers – qu’ils soient propriétaires du bateau ou détenteurs du permis, tels que leur nom complet, leur citoyenneté et le pourcentage de propriété qui est détenu par les propriétaires effectifs. Les personnes responsables d’entreprises ayant plusieurs propriétaires directs et indirects (« sociétés à plusieurs niveaux ») devront fournir ces renseignements pour toutes les sociétés mères dans les structures d’entreprise liées à l’accès à la pêche commerciale.

Le sondage sera assez simple à remplir pour la plupart des détenteurs de permis et des propriétaires de bateaux, car ils n’auront à répondre qu’à quelques questions. Les grandes sociétés à plusieurs niveaux pourraient avoir besoin d’un peu plus de temps pour recueillir les renseignements nécessaires pour remplir la section conçue pour les organisations plus complexes.

Le sondage sera en ligne du 31 janvier au 30 avril 2022. Nous vous encourageons à le remplir dès que possible.

Qui doit répondre au sondage?

Ce sondage sur la propriété effective est obligatoire dans la région Pacifique pour:

Pour les régions de l'Atlantique, du Québec et de l'Arctique le sondage sur la propriété effective est obligatoire pour :

Les détenteurs de permis suivants sont exemptés du sondage :

Les sondages sont obligatoires et la ministre a le pouvoir, en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches, de demander ce type d’information aux détenteurs de permis et propriétaires de bateaux. Ne pas fournir les renseignements demandés au moyen du sondage constitue une infraction passible de poursuite aux termes de l’article 78 de la Loi sur les pêches.

Nombre de soumissions de sondage requises

Il est possible que vous ayez à compléter le sondage plusieurs fois si vous détenez plusieurs types d'accès aux pêches:

Pour les régions de l'Atlantique, du Québec et de l'Arctique, les détenteurs de plusieurs permis sont tenus de soumettre qu'un seul sondage.

Comment répondre au sondage?

Il y a trois formats de sondage pour saisir les renseignements selon les différents types d’accès au Canada : deux pour la région du Pacifique : établi en fonction d’une partie et rattaché à un bateau; et un pour les détenteurs de permis de pêche hauturière, semi-hauturière, de flottille exemptée et de pêche côtière de la civelle au Canada atlantique, au Québec et dans la région de l’Arctique.

Le sondage est divisé en trois sections :

Identification

La première section est destinée à l’identification. Nous avons besoin du nom du détenteur de permis tel qu'il est inscrit sur le permis ou du propriétaire du bateau contact tel qu'il a été fourni au MPO. La section demande également des informations de base, tels que le numéro d’identification du pêcheur (NIP), le numéro d’entreprise, le numéro d’immatriculation du bateau (NEB) et le nom du bateau.

Entreprises de pêche détenues à 100 % par des individus et/ou des familles

La deuxième section concerne les petites et moyennes entreprises de pêche et les bateaux qui sont directement détenus par un ou plusieurs individus ou directement détenus par une ou plusieurs sociétés à part entière.

Le sondage nécessitera les noms des détenteurs de permis ou des propriétaires de bateau, leur citoyenneté et le pourcentage de propriété. Si le détenteur de permis ou le propriétaire du bateau est une société, le pays d’incorporation dans lequel la société a été enregistrée sera également requis. Il y a également une question « oui/non » pour savoir si les personnes citées sont des membres de la famille.

Entreprises à plusieurs niveaux avec plusieurs propriétaires effectifs

La troisième section est destinée aux sociétés à plusieurs niveaux, avec des structures d’entreprise plus complexes et des bénéficiaires effectifs multiples.

Il y a 10 questions pour identifier les bénéficiaires effectifs. Certaines questions demandent au répondant de nommer les personnes et les organisations ayant une part directe ou indirecte de 10 % ou plus dans les titres du détenteur de permis ou de l’organisation propriétaire du bateau, ainsi que leur citoyenneté et le pourcentage de propriété. Cela inclut les prête-noms et les autres bénéficiaires effectifs. Le sondage inclura des questions sur la participation étrangère dans l’organisation du détenteur de permis, par exemple si des non-Canadiens occupent un poste au sein de l’organisation, si un membre de l’organisation occupe un poste au sein d’une organisation étrangère et si l’organisation est endettée auprès d’un prêteur étranger. Le sondage ne contient aucune exigence de divulgation de documents financiers ou de montants en dollars. Après la conclusion du sondage, le MPO effectuera des contrôles de qualité au cours desquels les répondants au sondage pourraient être tenus de fournir des documents à l'appui de leurs soumissions.

Résultats du sondage et protection des renseignements recueillis

Les renseignements personnels recueillis dans le cadre du sondage seront traités conformément à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Nous ne publierons que les résultats groupés du sondage, conformément à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Aucun renseignement personnel ne sera publié et la sécurité des renseignements personnels sera correctement protégée, stockée et détruite après 7 ans.

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Communiquez avec : DFO.SurveyHelp-AideSondage.MPO@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Date de modification :