2019 - Southern gulf of St. Lawrence snow crab conservation harvesting plan crab fishing area 12E

Moncton and Quebec – April 5, 2019

Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) releases the details of the 2019 Crab Fishing Area (CFA) 12E Conservation Harvesting Plan. 

Quota

The Total Allowable Catch (TAC) in CFA 12E is 214.51 t and is distributed to the existing fleet based on historic shares of 75% for New Brunswick (160.883 t), and 12.5% respectively for Quebec and Prince Edward Island (26.814 t each).

Quota reconciliation

Quota reconciliation is applied in this fishery. Quota overruns during the 2019 season by a licence holder will be deducted in 2020 on a one-for-one basis. It is the responsibility of the licence holder to respect the allocation granted while taking into consideration transfers and landings and has to make the necessary arrangements before departing for a fishing expedition to have quota to cover expected catches for the expedition. 

Temporary transfers

Licence holders who are subject to the owner-operator policy may transfer up to 50% of his or her initial quota on a temporary basis, within one fishing season.

At-Sea observer coverage

At-sea observer coverage representing 20% of fishing trips will be required for 2019.

Partnership arrangements

The creation of partnerships will be permitted. The trap limit for partnerships will be equal to the total traps of one licence, plus 50%.

2019 Management measures

The management measures in 2019 include, amongst others:

2019 Management measures to minimize interactions with North Atlantic Right Whales:

The Management measures to minimize interactions with North Atlantic Right Whales (NARW) are summarized below. Details of these measures can be found in licence conditions and will also be provided in a separate Notice to Fish Harvesters.

Permanent Fishing closures

Coral and sponge conservation areas:  On December 15, 2017, Fisheries and Oceans Canada created eleven coral and sponge conservation areas in the Estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence in order to protect areas with high concentrations of sponges and sea pens.

All fishing activities that use bottom-contact gear or gear designed to come into contact with the sea bed, including but not limited to bottom trawls, dredges, gillnets, bottom longlines, bottom seines and traps, are forbidden in the conservation areas.

For more information and maps of the eleven coral and sponge conservation areas, please visit the dedicated DFO website.

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

2019 - Plan de pêche axé sur la conservation de la pêche du crabe des neiges du sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent zone de pêche du crabe 12E

Moncton et Québec – 5 avril 2019

Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) annonce le plan de pêche axé sur la conservation 2019 de la pêche du crabe des neiges de la zone de pêche du crabe (ZPC) 12E.

Allocations

Le total admissible des captures (TAC) pour la ZPC 12E est établi à 214,51 t et est réparti à la flottille existante selon les parts historiques de 75 % au Nouveau-Brunswick (160,883 t), et 12,5 % respectivement au Québec et à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard (26,814 t chaque).

Conciliation de quota

La conciliation de quota est appliquée dans cette pêche. Tout dépassement de quota lors de la saison 2019 par un titulaire de permis sera déduit selon un facteur un-pour-un, de son quota de l’année 2020. Le détenteur de permis doit respecter la quantité qui lui est allouée en tenant compte de ses transferts et de ses débarquements et doit prendre les arrangements nécessaires avant le départ d’une expédition de pêche afin d’avoir le quota nécessaire pour couvrir les captures qui seront vraisemblablement effectuées lors de celle-ci.

Transferts temporaires

Le MPO permet des transferts temporaires jusqu’à 50% du quota initial d’un détenteur de permis assujetti à la politique du propriétaire-exploitant à l’intérieur d’une saison de pêche.

Couverture d’observateurs en mer

Une couverture d’observateurs en mer qui représente 20 % des voyages de pêche sera exigée pour 2019.

Ententes de partenariats

La création de partenariats sera permise. La limite de casiers pour les partenariats est égale au total de casiers d’un permis, plus 50%.

Mesures de gestion de 2019

Les mesures de gestion en 2019 comprennent entre autres :

Mesures de gestion de 2019 pour minimiser les interactions avec la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord :

Les mesures de gestion pour minimiser les interactions avec la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord (BNAN) sont résumées ci-dessous. Les détails de ces mesures se retrouvent dans les conditions de permis et seront aussi indiqués dans un Avis aux pêcheurs séparé.

Fermeture permanente des zones de pêche

Zones de conservations des coraux et des éponges : Le 15 décembre 2017, le MPO a mis en œuvre 11 zones de conservation des coraux et des éponges dans l’estuaire et le golfe du Saint-Laurent afin de protéger les aires de haute concentration des éponges et des plumes de mer.

Toutes les activités de pêche utilisant des engins de pêche qui touchent ou qui sont conçus pour toucher le fond marin, comprenant entre autres le chalut de fond, la drague, les filets maillants, la palangre de fond, la seine de fond et les casiers, sont interdites dans ces zones de conservation.

Signaler un problème ou une erreur sur cette page
Veuillez sélectionner toutes les cases qui s'appliquent :
Date de modification :