2019 - Southern Gulf of St. Lawrence Snow Crab Total Allowable Catch (Areas 12, 12E, 12F and 19)

Moncton and Quebec – April 5, 2019

Precautionary Approach Harvest Decision Rules and Total Allowable Catch

Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) announces the Total Allowable Catch (TAC) for Snow Crab in the Southern Gulf of St. Lawrence (SGSL). By applying the harvest decision rules of the Precautionary Approach, the TAC for the 2019 fishery will be set at 32,480.03 t based on an exploitation rate of 40.9%. This takes into consideration a lower exploitation rate of 27.987% in Crab Fishing Area (CFA) 12F, at the request of this fleet, as a precautionary measure.   

Scientific Survey Quota

In accordance with Section 10 of the Fisheries Act, a quota of 450 t of Snow Crab has been identified to assist with the financing of the annual scientific trawl survey, which is part of the DFO-Industry joint project to fund science support for effective management of the SGSL Snow Crab stock. This allocation will be taken off the top of the 2019 TAC.

As in 2018, a joint project agreement will be in place with eight Snow Crab fish harvesters associations who expressed interest in the project and will manage and transfer the necessary funds to carry out DFO’s scientific survey and supporting research activities. 

The eight associations will designate the Association des Crabiers Acadiens (ACA) to manage the associated quota. The ACA will be contacting the various groups representing the SGSL stakeholders, as well as Indigenous communities and the new access, to offer them the option to acquire a share of this allocation for the purpose of funding the 2019 scientific survey.

Distribution of the TAC

The distribution of the TAC in each of the management zones in the SGSL and the scientific survey allocation is as follows:

  Quota 2019 (t)
Area 12 27,905.51
Area 12E 214.51
Area 12F 1,158.09
Area 19 2,751.92
Scientific survey quota 450.00
Total 32,480.03

Other information

Details on management measures for each CFA will follow in separate notices to fish harvesters.

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

2019 - Total admissible des captures pour le crabe des neiges du sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent (zones 12, 12E, 12F et 19)

Moncton et Québec – 5 avril 2019

Règles de décision de l’approche de précaution et total admissible des captures

Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) annonce le total admissible des captures (TAC) pour le crabe des neiges du sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent (SGSL). En appliquant les règles de décision de l’Approche de précaution, le TAC pour la pêche de 2019 correspond à 32 480,03 t basé sur un taux d’exploitation de 40,9 %. Ceci tient compte d’un taux d’exploitation plus bas, soit 27,987 %, dans la zone de pêche du crabe (ZPC) 12F, à la demande de cette flottille en tant que mesure de précaution.

Allocation - Relevé scientifique

En vertu de l'article 10 de la Loi sur les pêches, une allocation de 450 t de crabe des neiges dans le SGSL a été identifiée pour assister au financement du relevé scientifique annuel qui fait partie d’un projet conjoint MPO-industrie pour financer le soutient à la science pour la gestion efficace du stock de crabe des neiges du SGSL. Cette allocation sera soustraite du TAC de 2019 avant la répartition initiale du contingent.

Comme en 2018, un accord de projet conjoint sera mis en place avec huit associations de pêche du crabe des neiges qui ont exprimé leurs intérêts dans ce projet et qui vont assurer la gestion et le transfert des fonds nécessaires pour réaliser le relevé scientifique et supporter les activités de recherche du MPO. 

Les huit associations mandateront l'Association des Crabiers Acadiens (ACA) pour la gestion de l'allocation associée au relevé scientifique. L'ACA contactera prochainement les différents groupes qui représentent les pêcheurs de crabe des neiges du SGSL, incluant les communautés Autochtones et le nouvel accès, afin de leur offrir la possibilité d'acquérir une part de cette allocation pour le financement du relevé scientifique de 2019.

Répartition du TAC

La distribution du TAC dans chacune des zones du SGSL et de l’allocation du relevé scientifique est la suivante :

  Quota 2019 (t)
Zone 12 27 905,51
Zone 12E 214,51
Zone 12F 1 158,09
Zone 19 2 751,92
Allocation - Relevé scientifique 450,00
Total 32 480,03

Autres informations

Les mesures de gestion spécifiques à chaque ZPC suivront par l’entremise d’avis aux pêcheurs.

Signaler un problème ou une erreur sur cette page
Veuillez sélectionner toutes les cases qui s'appliquent :
Date de modification :