Language selection

Search

Research Document 2019/055

Optical, Chemical, and Biological Oceanographic Conditions on the Newfoundland and Labrador Shelf during 2016-2017

By G. Maillet, D. Bélanger, G. Doyle, A. Robar, S. Fraser, J. Higdon, D. Ramsay, P. Pepin

Abstract

The overall pattern of variation among the nutrients and lower trophic levels surveyed in this report (phytoplankton biomass and zooplankton abundance) highlighted the relationship between biogeochemical conditions (nitrate standing stock) and primary (phytoplankton biomass) and secondary (zooplankton abundance and biomass) production.

Optical and chlorophyll a indices indicate reduction in phytoplankton biomass and delayed timing of the production cycle at the high frequency sampling station (S27) in 2016 – 2017. The replenishment of key macronutrients in the deep (> 50 m) strata has undergone further reduction in recent years. The absence of an autumn bloom may be related to changes in renewal processes. The deep inventories of macronutrients across the standard oceanographic sections have transitioned from mostly positive to mainly negative anomalies in the last decade. Phytoplankton biomass have declined overall in line with the trends in macronutrient inventories. Increased abundance of zooplankton observed throughout the northwest Atlantic may also contribute to higher grazing pressure and reduction of phytoplankton standing stocks.

The general trend of increasing zooplankton abundance observed over the past nineteen years continued during 2016 – 2017 with abundance reaching historical highs from southern Labrador to the southern Grand Banks. In contrast, the biomass of zooplankton remained below the climatology in all oceanographic sections and was at a record low on the southern Labrador shelf and on the Grand Banks. The abundance of large copepods (Calanus finmarchicus, Calanus hyperboreus), which has been declining for 3-5 years throughout much of the region, remained low on the Newfoundland and Labrador (NL) Shelf but showed signs of recovery on the Grand Banks. The abundance of small copepods (Pseudocalanus spp., Oithona similis, Microcalanus spp., Oncea spp.) and other non-copepod organisms continued to increase throughout the region. The production cycle of early copepodite stages of keystone copepods species (Calanus finmarchicus and Pseudocalanus spp.) was delayed by ~1 month in 2016 and 2017 compared to climatology at S27, possibly because of the delayed spring bloom and general cooling and freshening of the system in that area. More research is needed to understand the mechanisms behind the observed shift in zooplankton community structure and their potential impacts at higher trophic levels.

Accessibility Notice

This document is available in PDF format. If the document is not accessible to you, please contact the Secretariat to obtain another appropriate format, such as regular print, large print, Braille or audio version.

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Document de recherche 2019/055

Conditions optiques, chimiques et biologiques de l'océan sur le plateau continental de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador au cours de 2016-2017

Par G. Maillet, D. Bélanger, G. Doyle, A. Robar, S. Fraser, J. Higdon, D. Ramsay et P. Pepin

Résumé

Le profil général de variation entre les nutriments et les niveaux trophiques inférieurs étudiés dans le présent rapport (biomasse du phytoplancton et abondance du zooplancton) a mis en évidence la relation entre les conditions biogéochimiques (stock permanent de nitrate) et la production primaire (biomasse du phytoplancton) et secondaire (abondance et biomasse du zooplancton).

Les indices optiques et de chlorophylle a indiquent une réduction de la biomasse du phytoplancton et un retard dans le cycle de production à la station d'échantillonnage à haute fréquence (S27) en 2016-2017. La reconstitution des principaux macronutriments dans les couches profondes (> 50 m) a encore diminué ces dernières années. L'absence d'une floraison automnale peut être liée à des changements dans les processus de renouvellement des nutriments. Les concentrations en profondeur de macronutriments dans les sections océanographiques standards sont passées d'anomalies généralement positives à anomalies principalement négatives au cours de la dernière décennie. La biomasse du phytoplancton a diminué globalement, conformément aux tendances observées pour les concentrations de macronutriments. L'abondance accrue du zooplancton observée à travers l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest peut également contribuer à l'augmentation de la pression exercée par le broutage et à la réduction des stocks de phytoplancton actuels.

La tendance générale à l'augmentation de l'abondance du zooplancton observée au cours des dix-neuf dernières années s'est poursuivie de 2016 à 2017, l'abondance atteignant des sommets sans précédent du sud du Labrador au sud des Grands Bancs. Par contre, la biomasse du zooplancton est demeurée inférieure aux données climatologiques pour l'ensemble des sections océanographiques et se situait à un creux record sur le sud du plateau continental du Labrador et dans les Grands Bancs. L'abondance des grands copépodes (Calanus finmarchicus, Calanus hyperboreus), qui est en déclin depuis 3 à 5 ans dans la majeure partie de la région, est demeurée faible sur le plateau continental de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (T.-N.-L.), mais a montré des signes de rétablissement sur les Grands Bancs. L'abondance des petits copépodes (Pseudocalanus spp., Oithona similis, Microcalanus spp., Oncea spp.) et d'autres organismes zooplanctoniques autres que les copépodes a continué d'augmenter dans la région. Le cycle de production des premiers stades copépodites pour les espèces clés (Calanus finmarchicus et Pseudocalanus spp.) a été retardé d'environ un mois en 2016 et 2017 par rapport aux données climatologiques de la station S27, peut-être en raison du retard de la floraison printanière, ainsi que du refroidissement général et de la baisse de salinité dans cette région. D'autres recherches sont nécessaires pour comprendre les mécanismes à l'origine des changements observés dans la structure des communautés de zooplancton et leurs impacts potentiels à des niveaux trophiques supérieurs.

Avis d’accessibilité

Ce document est disponible en format PDF. Si le document suivant ne vous est pas accessible, veuillez communiquer avec le Secrétariat pour l’obtenir sous une autre forme (par exemple un imprimé ordinaire, en gros caractères, en braille ou un document audio).

Signaler un problème ou une erreur sur cette page
Veuillez sélectionner toutes les cases qui s'appliquent :
Date de modification :