Research Document - 2010/052

Assessment of Habitat Quality and Habitat Use by the Extirped Striped Bass Population (Morone saxatilis) of the St. Lawrence Estuary, Quebec

By J. Robitaille

Abstract

This is a report on the knowledge of the habitats of the former striped bass population of the St. Lawrence, which disappeared in the late 1960s.

There is no information on spawning, incubation and larval life. Striped bass individuals from the former population with spawning size spent the winter in the upper Estuary and Lake Saint-Pierre. However, they seemed to have left these places when the water temperature should have triggered spawning.

Juveniles from the former population appeared in early July in fixed fishing gear installed on the foreshore. These small striped bass individuals were caught from early July at Neuville, then gradually at sites further downstream in August and September. The places where these juveniles were caught were in bays and coves sheltered from the current with various substrate conditions and most often near seagrass beds. Juvenile striped bass fed primarily on local food resources, especially invertebrates. These small individuals became more mobile as they grew and were reported in a larger number of sites in late summer. Most of the changes that may have affected the habitats of juvenile striped bass, between the disappearance of the former population and the reintroduction of the new one, were concentrated near Quebec City, between the Quebec Bridge and the Ile d’Orléans bridge; in other areas, habitat alterations were less extensive and were more punctual.

Striped bass individuals of one year and older did not appear associated with a habitat that could be characterized or defined in terms of particular physical-chemical characteristics. The best descriptors of their habitat would be the distribution and abundance of their preferred prey, i.e. crustaceans and soft-ray fish, especially clupeoid juveniles. One+ year-old individuals showed changes in their longitudinal distribution in the Estuary depending on their age and period of the year. Larger striped bass individuals (over 370 mm) had the largest seasonal movements. They frequented the lower Estuary, up to the Kamouraska area, during summer; as the colder season approached, they returned to the upper Estuary and Lake Saint-Pierre, a move that could be associated with reproduction. Habitat changes that occurred during dredging operations in the 1950s, seemed to have affected the summer distribution of immature individuals, exacerbating the effects of fishing. The dredging practices have improved since then, but the possible impacts on the new population must nevertheless be monitored.

Data on the population currently being recolonized indicate that natural reproduction has resumed in the St. Lawrence. It appears that the habitats required at each stage of the life cycle still exist. Priority should be given to locating breeding and early development sites in order to ensure their protection.

Accessibility Notice:

This document is available in PDF format. If the document is not accessible to you, please contact the Secretariat to obtain another appropriate format, such as regular print, large print, Braille or audio version.

Date modified:

Document de recherche 2010/052

Évaluation de la qualité de l’habitat et de son utilisation par la population disparue de bar rayé (Morone saxatilis) de l'estuaire du Saint Laurent, Québec

Par J. Robitaille

Résumé

Ce document fait le bilan des connaissances sur les habitats de l'ancienne population de bar rayé du Saint-Laurent, disparue vers la fin des années 1960.

On ne possède aucun renseignement sur la fraie, l'incubation et la vie larvaire. Des bars de l'ancienne population ayant la taille de reproducteurs séjournaient dans l'estuaire supérieur et le lac Saint-Pierre durant l'hiver. Cependant, ils semblaient avoir quitté ces endroits au moment où la température de l'eau aurait dû déclencher la fraie.

Les juvéniles de l'ancienne population apparaissaient au début de juillet dans des engins de pêche fixes installés sur l'estran. Ces petits bars étaient capturés à partir de début juillet à Neuville, puis graduellement dans des sites plus en aval, en août et septembre. Les lieux où on prenait ces bars juvéniles étaient des baies et des anses à l'abri du courant, présentant diverses conditions de substrat et voisinant le plus souvent des herbiers. Les bars juvéniles semblaient s'alimenter d'abord des ressources alimentaires locales, surtout des invertébrés. Ces petits bars devenaient plus mobiles à mesure qu'ils croissaient et étaient rapportés dans un plus grand nombre de sites vers la fin de l'été. La majorité des modifications susceptibles d'avoir touché des habitats de bars juvéniles, entre la disparition de l'ancienne population et la réintroduction de la nouvelle, se trouvent concentrées aux abords de la ville de Québec, entre le pont de Québec et celui de l'île d'Orléans; ailleurs, les altérations de ces habitats touchent de moins grandes superficies et sont plus ponctuelles.

Les bars d'un an et plus ne semblaient pas associés à un habitat qu'on puisse caractériser, ni délimiter en fonction de conditions physico-chimiques particulières. Les meilleurs descripteurs de leur habitat seraient plutôt la distribution et l'abondance de leurs proies de prédilection, c'est-à-dire des crustacés et des poissons à rayon mous, en particulier des clupéidés juvéniles. Les bars d'un an et plus montraient des changements de leur distribution longitudinale dans l'estuaire en fonction de leur âge et de la période de l'année. Les bars les plus gros (plus de 370 mm) effectuaient les plus grands déplacements saisonniers. Ils fréquentaient l'estuaire moyen, jusqu'aux environs de Kamouraska, pendant l’été; au début de la saison froide, ils remontaient vers l'estuaire supérieur et le lac Saint-Pierre, un déplacement qui pourrait être associé à la reproduction. Des modifications d'habitat survenues lors d'opérations de dragage, dans les années 1950, semblent avoir touché la distribution estivale des bars immatures et accentué les effets de la pêche. Les pratiques en matière de dragage ont été améliorées depuis cette époque, mais on devra quand même vérifier leurs éventuelles répercussions sur la nouvelle population.

Les données sur la population en cours de recolonisation indiquent que la reproduction naturelle a redémarré dans le Saint-Laurent. Il semble donc que les habitats requis à chaque étape du cycle vital existent toujours. On devrait en priorité localiser ces sites de reproduction et de premier développement afin d'assurer leur protection.

Avis d’accessibilité :

Ce document est disponible en format PDF. Si le document suivant ne vous est pas accessible, veuillez communiquer avec le Secrétariat pour l’obtenir sous une autre forme (par exemple un imprimé ordinaire, en gros caractères, en braille ou un document audio).

Date de modification :