Science Advisory Report 2019/030

Cumulative Effects Assessment for Northern and Southern Resident Killer Whale (Orcinus Orca) Populations in the Northeast Pacific

Summary

  • Southern Resident (SRKW) and Northern Resident Killer Whales (NRKW) were listed as Endangered and Threatened, respectively, in 2003 under the Species at Risk Act (SARA). A Recovery Strategy for these populations was completed in 2008 (most recently amended in 2018; DFO 2018) and an Action Plan was completed in 2017 (DFO 2017a).
  • The Species at Risk Act (SARA) Recovery Strategy (amended) identifies three principal threats to Resident Killer Whales – reduced prey availability, acoustic and physical disturbance, and environmental contaminants (DFO 2018).
  • The current work aims to address the high priority recovery measure (RM #11) in the Action Plan which identifies the need to "Assess cumulative effects of potential anthropogenic impacts on Resident Killer Whales using an appropriate impact assessment framework for aquatic species".
  • In the current analysis, potential mitigation measures and management actions have not been addressed. Future changes in anthropogenic activities have not been included. The population level effects of low probability-high impact events, such as catastrophic oil spills, were out of scope for this assessment.
  • The cumulative effects assessment framework developed consisted of two phases, the first being a Pathways of Effects (PoE) conceptual model that described the linkage pathways between threats and Resident Killer Whale mortality and birth rates, including potential interactions between threats.
  • The second phase of the cumulative effects assessment framework was a Population Viability Analysis (PVA) model that quantitatively assessed the effects of the priority threats on the population trajectories of Resident Killer Whales.
  • Seven of the 13 linkage pathways identified in the PoE could be quantified in the second phase of the assessment framework (PVA model) based on current data and knowledge.
  • A number of key assumptions were made in the PVA modeling. The consequence of exposure to threats is assumed to be the same for both populations while the exposure to the threats is assumed to be population-specific. Quantification of linkage pathways to mortality rate and birth rate was based on information mostly obtained in the Salish Sea area in the summer/fall period but was assumed to represent threat conditions throughout the range and throughout the year. Chinook salmon abundance, irrespective of size selectivity by killer whales, was assumed to represent preferred prey available to Resident Killer Whales.
  • Population models were constructed using demographic and genealogy data from DFO and Center for Whale Research, and a previously published population model for SRKW (Lacy et al. 2017).
  • The impacts of individual and cumulative threat scenarios on modelled SRKW and NRKW populations were compared to the observed population trajectories (2000-2017) in order to define a model that best captured the real-world dynamics of the two populations. Individual and cumulative threat scenarios were each tested by running 10,000 model simulations. 
  • Individual threat scenarios used both updated and newly available parameters for Chinook salmon abundance, vessel noise/physical presence, vessel strike, and polychlorinated biphenyl (PCB) contamination. Taken one at a time, the modeled effects of individual threats did not replicate the observed population trajectories for NRKW and SRKW populations, suggesting that a cumulative model could better replicate the trends in Resident Killer Whale populations.
  • When the threats are considered together (Chinook salmon abundance, vessel noise/physical presence, vessel strike and PCB contamination), the output of the PVA model closely replicated the observed population trajectories for the two populations, suggesting it is a useful model for the assessment of cumulative effects.
  • The cumulative effects PVA model was then used to project population trajectories for NRKW and SRKW into the future (10,000 model simulations), based on recent threat levels, best available knowledge, and the assumption that no future mitigation will take place. The model outputs indicate that the average modelled NRKW population trajectory increases to the carrying capacity set in the model within 25 years. In contrast, the average modelled SRKW population trajectory declines, with a 26% probability of population extinction (defined in the model as only one sex remaining), and in those projections extinction was estimated to occur after 75-97 years.
  • The model highlights the importance of considering threats collectively. Specifically, within the cumulative effects PVA assessment, Chinook salmon abundance and its interactions with vessel noise and PCBs strongly influenced modelled killer whale population dynamics.
  • The cumulative effects framework developed, that combines a PoE with a PVA model, is a novel approach that explicitly identifies and quantifies threat linkage pathways, and associated uncertainties, and this approach has the potential for use in other populations and species.

This Science Advisory Report is from the March 12-13, 2019 Cumulative effects assessment for Northern and Southern Resident Killer Whale populations in the Northeast Pacific. Additional publications from this meeting will be posted on the Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) Science Advisory Schedule as they become available.

 Complete PDF Document

Accessibility Notice:

This document is available in PDF format. If the following document is not accessible to you, please contact the Secretariat to obtain another appropriate format, such as regular print, large print, Braille or audio version.

Date modified:

Avis scientifique 2019/030

Évaluation des effets cumulatifs sur les populations d'épaulards résidents du nord et du sud (orcinus orca) dans le pacifique nord-est

Sommaire

  • En 2003, les épaulards résidents du sud et du nord ont été inscrits en tant que populations « en voie de disparition » et « menacée », respectivement, en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP). Un programme de rétablissement pour ces populations a été achevé en 2008 (modifié en dernier lieu en 2018; MPO 2018) et un plan d'action en 2017 (MPO 2017a).
  • Le programme de rétablissement (modifié) élaboré en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) définit trois principales menaces pour les épaulards résidents : la disponibilité réduite des proies, les perturbations acoustiques et physiques et les contaminants environnementaux (MPO 2018).
  • Les travaux en cours visent à aborder la mesure de rétablissement hautement prioritaire (MR n°1) du plan d'action, qui détermine le besoin « d'évaluer les effets cumulatifs des impacts anthropiques possibles sur les épaulards résidents à l'aide d'un cadre approprié d'évaluation des impacts sur les espèces aquatiques ».
  • Dans la présente analyse, les mesures d'atténuation et de gestion potentielles n'ont pas été abordées. Les changements futurs des activités anthropiques n'ont pas été inclus. Les effets au niveau de la population des événements à impact élevé et de faible probabilité, comme les déversements catastrophiques d'hydrocarbures, ne sont pas pris en compte dans cette évaluation.
  • Le cadre d'évaluation des effets cumulatifs élaboré comportait deux phases : un modèle conceptuel des séquences des effets (SE) qui décrivait les voies de liaison entre les menaces et les taux de mortalité et de natalité des épaulards résidents, y compris les interactions potentielles entre les menaces;
  • Et un modèle d'analyse de viabilité de la population (AVP) qui évaluait quantitativement les effets des menaces prioritaires sur les trajectoires des populations d'épaulards résidents.
  • Les données et connaissances actuelles ont permis de quantifier sept des 13 voies de liaison identifiées dans les SE pendant la deuxième phase du cadre d'évaluation (modèle d'AVP).
  • Un certain nombre d'hypothèses clés ont été formulées dans la modélisation de l'AVP. On suppose que les conséquences de l'exposition aux menaces sont les mêmes pour les deux populations, et que l'exposition aux menaces est propre à la population. La quantification des voies de liaison entre le taux de mortalité et le taux de natalité a été fondée sur l'information principalement obtenue dans la région de la mer des Salish pendant l'été et l'automne, mais on a supposé qu'elle représentait des conditions des menaces dans l'ensemble de l'aire de répartition et durant toute l'année. On a présumé que l'abondance du saumon quinnat, indépendamment de la sélectivité par taille exercée par les épaulards, représentait la proie préférée à la disposition des épaulards résidents.
  • Les modèles de population ont été construits à partir des données démographiques et généalogiques du MPO et du Center for Whale Research, et d'un modèle de population déjà publié pour l'épaulard résident du sud (Lacy et al. 2017).
  • On a comparé les impacts des scénarios de menaces individuelles et cumulatives sur les populations modélisées d'épaulards résidents du sud et d'épaulards résidents du nord aux trajectoires des populations observées (2000-2017) afin de définir un modèle qui reflète le mieux la dynamique réelle des deux populations. Des scénarios de menaces individuelles et cumulatives ont été mis à l'essai à l'aide de 10 000 simulations de modèles.
  • Les scénarios des menaces individuelles utilisaient des paramètres mis à jour et nouvellement disponibles pour l'abondance du saumon quinnat, le bruit et la présence physique des navires, les collisions avec les navires et la contamination par les biphényles polychlorés (BPC). Pris un à la fois, les effets modélisés des menaces individuelles n'ont pas reproduit les trajectoires des populations observées pour les populations d'épaulards résidents du nord et du sud, ce qui suggère qu'un modèle cumulatif pourrait mieux répliquer les tendances de ces populations.
  • Lorsque les menaces sont considérées ensemble (abondance du saumon quinnat, bruit et présence physique des navires, collision avec les navires et contamination par les BPC), les résultats du modèle de l'AVP reproduisent fidèlement les trajectoires des populations observées pour les deux populations, ce qui donne à penser que ce modèle est utile pour évaluer les effets cumulatifs.
  • Le modèle d'AVP des effets cumulatifs a ensuite été utilisé pour projeter les trajectoires des populations d'épaulards résidents du nord et du sud dans l'avenir (10 000 simulations de modèles), en fonction des niveaux de menaces récents, des meilleures connaissances disponibles et de l'hypothèse selon laquelle aucune mesure d'atténuation future ne sera prise. Les sorties du modèle indiquent que la trajectoire moyenne modélisée de la population d'épaulards résidents du nord augmente jusqu'à la capacité de charge fixée dans le modèle en 25 ans. En revanche, la trajectoire moyenne modélisée de la population d'épaulards résidents du sud diminue, avec une probabilité de 26 % d'extinction de la population (définie dans le modèle comme un seul sexe restant); dans ces projections, l'extinction était estimée se produire après 75 à 97 ans.
  • Le modèle souligne l'importance de considérer les menaces collectivement. Plus précisément, dans le cadre de l'évaluation de l'AVP des effets cumulatifs, l'abondance du saumon quinnat et ses interactions avec le bruit des navires et les BPC ont fortement influencé la dynamique modélisée des populations d'épaulards.
  • Le cadre des effets cumulatifs élaboré, qui combine une SE et un modèle d'AVP, est une nouvelle approche qui identifie et quantifie explicitement les voies de liaison des menaces et les incertitudes connexes. Cette approche pourrait être utilisée pour d'autres populations et espèces.

Le présent avis scientifique découle de la réunion du 12 au 13 mars 2019 sur l'Évaluation des effets cumulatifs sur les populations d'épaulards résidents du nord et du sud dans le Pacifique Nord-Est. Toute autre publication découlant de cette réunion sera publiée, lorsqu'elle sera disponible, sur le calendrier des avis scientifiques de Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO).

 Document PDF complet

Avis d’accessibilité :

Ce document est disponible en format PDF. Si le document suivant ne vous est pas accessible, veuillez communiquer avec le Secrétariat pour l’obtenir sous une autre forme (par exemple un imprimé ordinaire, en gros caractères, en braille ou un document audio).

Date de modification :