Language selection

Search

Research Document 2022/018

Optical, Chemical, and Biological Oceanographic Conditions on the Scotian Shelf and in the eastern Gulf of Maine during 2020

By Casault, B., Johnson, C., Devred, E., Head, E., Beazley, L., and Spry, J.

Abstract

Ocean physical conditions in the Maritimes Region in 2020 were characterized by generally warm surface and bottom temperatures. The year 2020 was the third warmest of the 51-year time series with 2012 having been the warmest on record. Surface and deep nutrients inventories remained mainly near or below normal on the Scotian Shelf (SS) following the trend of the last 6–7 years. Higher-than-normal deep nitrate concentrations associated with warm salty water were observed in the fall on the eastern side of the Cabot Strait section and at the offshore stations of the Halifax section. The spring phytoplankton bloom on the central and the western SS was later than normal and shorter in duration with either near- or lower-than-normal magnitude. On the eastern SS, bloom conditions developed near the shelf break with normal onset timing and duration. Observations at the Halifax-2 (HL2) station indicated a continued pattern of mainly lower abundance of diatoms and higher abundance of ciliates and flagellates. Zooplankton indices (i.e., Calanus finmarchicus, Pseudocalanus spp., total copepods and non-copepods abundance, and mesozooplankton biomass) were mainly near or lower than average across most of the region but slightly above normal on the Browns Bank section. The abundance of copepod indicator species (i.e., Arctic Calanus, warm-offshore species and warm-shelf species) was generally near or slightly lower than normal, although spatial variability was observed. Observations at HL2 also indicate a continued pattern of generally higher-than-normal abundance of small cyclopoid copepods (e.g., Oithona atlantica).

Surface temperatures in Bedford Basin were, on average, slightly above normal in 2020, consistent with general trends observed across the SS. From January to September, bottom temperatures continued the trend of primarily negative anomalies observed in 2019. In October, both bottom temperature and salinity reverted to above-normal conditions, suggesting the occurrence of an offshore shelf-water intrusion event. Bottom nitrate, silicate, particulate organic carbon and nitrogen all reverted to below-normal conditions in October, coinciding with the timing of the suspected shelf-water intrusion event. Bottom chlorophyll and phytoplankton conditions were all below normal in 2020, marking a continuation of the primarily negative anomalies observed in these parameters since 2010.

The 2019 Continuous Plankton Recorder data indicated lower-than-normal annual abundances of diatoms and dinoflagellates on the Eastern Scotian Shelf (ESS) and Western Scotian Shelf (WSS), while the values of the phytoplankton colour index, a proxy for the phytoplankton biomass, were near (WSS) or above (ESS) normal. The annual abundances of Calanus CI–IV and C. finmarchicus CV–VI were above or near normal on the ESS and below normal on the WSS. Abundances of the other taxa (two arctic Calanus species, three small copepod taxa, two macrozooplankton taxa, and three acid-sensitive taxa) were near or lower than normal on the ESS and WSS, except for hyperiid amphipods, which were more abundant than normal on the ESS.

Accessibility Notice

This document is available in PDF format. If the document is not accessible to you, please contact the Secretariat to obtain another appropriate format, such as regular print, large print, Braille or audio version.

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Document de recherche 2022/018

Conditions océanographiques optiques, chimiques et biologiques sur le plateau néo-écossais et dans l’est du golfe du Maine en 2020

Par Casault, B., Johnson, C., Devred, E., Head, E., Beazley, L., et Spry, J.

Résumé

Les conditions océaniques physiques dans la région des Maritimes en 2020 étaient caractérisées par des températures de surface et de fond généralement plus chaudes que la normale. L’année 2020 était la troisième plus chaude de la série temporelle des 51 dernières années; 2012 ayant été la chaude enregistrée au cours de cette période. Les inventaires des éléments nutritifs en surface et en profondeur sont restés principalement près ou en dessous de la normale sur le plateau néo-écossais (SS) suivant la tendance des 6 à 7 dernières années bien que des concentrations de nitrate en profondeur plus élevées que la normale associées à de l’eau chaude et saline ont été observées en automne à certains endroits. La floraison printanière du phytoplancton sur le centre et l’ouest du SS était plus tardive que la normale et de durée plus courte avec une amplitude proche ou inférieure à la normale. Dans l’est du SS, les conditions de floraison se sont développées près du talus continental avec une initiation et une durée normales. Les observations à la station Halifax-2 (HL2) ont poursuivi la tendance caractérisée par une abondance moindre des diatomées et une abondance plus élevée des ciliés et des flagellés. Les indices du zooplancton (i.e., Calanus finmarchicus, Pseudocalanus spp., l’abondance totale des copépodes et des non-copépodes, et la biomasse du mésozooplancton) étaient principalement près ou inférieurs à la moyenne dans la majeure partie de la région, sauf pour la section du banc Browns. L’abondance des espèces indicatrices (Calanus arctique et les copépodes d’eaux chaudes côtières et extracôtières) était généralement près ou légèrement inférieure à la normale bien que variable spatialement. Les observations à HL2 continuent d’indiquer une abondance généralement supérieure à la normale de certains copépodes cyclopoïdes de petite taille (e.g., Oithona atlantica).

Les températures de surface dans le bassin de Bedford étaient en moyenne légèrement supérieures à la normale en 2020. En octobre, la température et la salinité au fond étaient supérieures à la normale, suggérant l’intrusion d’eau en provenance du plateau continental. Le nitrate, le silicate, le carbone et l’azote organique particulaire au fond étaient inférieurs à la normale en octobre, coïncidant avec l’événement d’intrusion. La chlorophylle et les autres indices du phytoplancton au fond étaient tous inférieurs à la normale en 2020, poursuivant la tendance des anomalies principalement négatives observées dans ces paramètres depuis 2010.

Les données de 2019 de l’enregistreur de plancton en continu ont indiqué des abondances annuelles des diatomées et des dinoflagellés inférieures à la normale sur le plateau néo-écossais est (ESS) et ouest (WSS), tandis que les valeurs de l’indice de couleur du phytoplancton, un proxy de la biomasse du phytoplancton, étaient près (WSS) ou supérieures (ESS) à la normale. Les abondances annuelles de Calanus CI–IV et de C. finmarchicus CV–VI étaient supérieures ou près de la normale sur l’ESS et inférieures à la normale sur le WSS. Les abondances des autres taxons (deux Calanus arctiques, trois petits copépodes, deux taxons de macrozooplancton et trois taxons sensibles à l’acidification) étaient près ou inférieures à la normale sur l’ESS et le WSS, à l’exception des amphipodes hyperiides, qui étaient plus abondants que la normale sur l’ESS.

Avis d’accessibilité

Ce document est disponible en format PDF. Si le document suivant ne vous est pas accessible, veuillez communiquer avec le Secrétariat pour l’obtenir sous une autre forme (par exemple un imprimé ordinaire, en gros caractères, en braille ou un document audio).

Signaler un problème ou une erreur sur cette page
Veuillez sélectionner toutes les cases qui s'appliquent :
Date de modification :