Research Document - 2011/136

Moving towards the sustainable fisheries framework for Pacific herring: data, models, and alternative assumptions; Stock Assessment and Management Advice for the British Columbia Pacific Herring Stocks: 2011 Assessment and 2012 Forecasts

By S.J.D. Martell, J.F Schweigert, V. Haist, and J.S. Cleary

Abstract

B.C. herring stocks are managed as five major and two minor stock areas. Accordingly, catch and survey information is collected independently for each of these seven areas and science advice is provided on the same scale. All available biological data on spawn deposition, size and age composition of the spawning stocks, as well as commercial harvest data, were used to determine current abundance levels. In recent years external reviewers have suggested substantial revisions to the herring assessment framework, including revisions to the catch-age model. As such, we present a new integrated statistical catch-age model ( ISCAM ) for jointly estimating the abundance of Pacific herring stocks and associated reference points (Part I). This includes simulation testing to demonstrate the model is capable of estimating all parameters and parameterization of the new assessment model as per the previous assessment model (Herring Catch Age Model, or HCAM) in order to compare parameter estimates and estimates of spawning stock biomass (using data from 1951:2010) between old (HCAM) and new (ISCAM ) models. Part II of this document implements this new assessment framework using the data for the five major and two minor stock areas. Finally, we present pre-fishery biomass estimates and catch advice based on decision tables that utilize poor, average, and good age-3 recruitment forecasts as well as risk probability tables to inform decision making.

 Complete PDF document
(163 pages; 18535K)

Accessibility Notice:

This document is available in PDF format. If the following document is not accessible to you, please contact the Secretariat to obtain another appropriate format, such as regular print, large print, Braille or audio version.

Active offer to produce in both official languages:

This report uses scientific and technical terms and is published in the official language of the working group or scientific expert that produced the document. If this document is not accessible to you in the official language of your choice, please contact the Secretariat.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Document de recherche 2011/136

Vers un cadre pour la pêche durable au hareng du Pacifique : données, modèles et hypothèses; Évaluation des stocks de hareng de la Colombie-Britannique et avis pour la gestion: évaluation de 2011 et prévisions pour 2012

Par S.J.D. Martell, J.F. Schweigert, V. Haist et J.S. Cleary

Résumé

Les stocks de hareng de la C.-B. sont gérés en fonction de cinq zones de stocks principales et de deux zones secondaires. En conséquence, l'information sur les prises et celle provenant des relevés est recueillie de façon indépendante pour le sept zones, et on formule des avis scientifiques pour chacune. On s'est servi de toutes les données biologiques disponibles sur la ponte, la composition selon l'âge et la taille des stocks reproducteurs ainsi que sur les prélèvements de la pêche commerciale pour déterminer les niveaux d'abondance actuels. Ces dernières années, des examinateurs externes ont suggéré que d'importantes révisions soient approtées au cadre d'évaluation du hareng, y compris au modèle des prises selon l'âge (ISCAM) pour estimer conjointement l'abondance des stocks de hareng du Pacifique et les points de référence connexes (partie I). Ce modèle comprend des essais de simulation pour démontrer que le modèle peut estimer tous les paramètres ainsi qu'une paramétrisation du nouveau modèle d'évaluation comme le précédent modèle d'évaluation (modèle des prises de hareng selon l'âge ou HCAM) pour que l'on puisse comparer les estimations des paramètres et les estimations de la biomasse du stock reproducteur (en utilisant les données de 1951 à 2010) entre l'ancien modèle (HCAM) et le nouveau (ISCAM). La partie II de ce document reflète le nouveau cadre d'évaluation avec des données des cinq zones de stocks principales et des deux zones secondaires. Finalement, nous présentons des estimations de la biomasse avant la pêche et un avis sur les prises fondé sur les tableaux sur les décisions qui utilisent les prévisions du recrutement à l'âge 3 faible, moyen et bon ainsi que sur les tableaux sur la probabilité du risque afin d'éclairer la prise de décision.

Avis d’accessibilité :

Ce document est disponible en format PDF. Si le document suivant ne vous est pas accessible, veuillez communiquer avec le Secrétariat pour l’obtenir sous une autre forme (par exemple un imprimé ordinaire, en gros caractères, en braille ou un document audio).

Signaler un problème ou une erreur sur cette page
Veuillez sélectionner toutes les cases qui s'appliquent :
Date de modification :