Research Document - 2007/086

Potential impacts of the British Columbia herring roe fishery on the spatial and temporal distribution of herring spawn: examination of the serial depletion hypothesis

By Hay, D.E., P.B. McCarter and K.S. Daniel

Abstract

The British Columbia herring roe fishery is conducted on or near inter- and sub-tidal spawning locations. It is a conservative fishery, taking a maximum of 20 percent of the spawning biomass in any of the five major assessment areas. The assessment areas are large and may contain a number of different spawning and fishing sites. As a rough approximation, each assessment area consists of about 5-10 smaller geographic units, called sections. Sections are geographic units used almost exclusively by the Fisheries and Oceans Canada Science Branch. In most years the fishery may be concentrated in a few sections, so the section-specific catch rates sometimes exceed twenty percent. Some observers suggest that these localized intense fisheries may lead to serial depletion of unique spawning components of the populations. This report addresses the hypothesis that, since its inception in the early 1970’s, the herring roe fishery has led to systematic reduction in the number of distinct spawning locations. We examined the spatial-temporal patterns of spawning by comparing the frequency of section-specific spawning between two periods: a 31-year period between 1940 and 1970 (prior to the roe fishery, when catch rates were very high in most years) and a 36 year period corresponding to the roe fishery, from its initiation to the present. When examined among assessment areas, there was no evidence of a decrease in the frequency of spawning between the two periods. We also compared the temporal pattern of catch and spawn data for each of the approximately 100 geographic sections. Using the annual assessment estimates (from 2006) we scaled spawn data units to metric tonnes and then examined the temporal history of spawn and catch in each section. We found three instances where a cessation of spawning coincided approximately with a roe fishery. In each instance, however, more detailed analyses showed that none represented a clear example of depletion following a fishery. Instead these examples represented fisheries that occurred in locations where spawning activity was not consistent in time or space in years prior to the fishery, or where the geographic dimensions of the section were exceptionally small. The geographic range of each section is arbitrary, and not based on biology. We show that in one case, in the central coast of BC, the simplest explanation is a slight shift in spawning between adjacent spawning sites in sections that are much smaller than others on the BC coast. Herring spawn locations are dynamic and changes in spawning patterns are evident from the results of this report and many previous studies. However our results indicate that there is no evidence to support the hypothesis of serial depletion during the roe fishery as an explanation for those changes. The report concludes with a discussion of the tradeoffs and associated risks between the managerial and logistical benefits and of taking the (total allowable catch) TAC in a fewer number of larger openings in small areas (few sections) versus the preferable biological goal of spreading the TAC and fishing effort to a larger number of smaller openings over a broad geographic area (many sections). This report contains two substantial appendices. One is an annotated list of each herring section, showing graphical analyses and key statistics on spawning and catch data from 1940-2006 (mean spawning date, cumulative spawn area and cumulative catches by season).

The second appendix is a brief report, titled “Spatial and temporal distribution of the fishery” that describes the development of a spatial data base of the herring roe and discusses the technical limitations to geo-referencing herring roe catch data.

 Complete PDF document
(97 pages; 4563K)

Accessibility Notice:

This document is available in PDF format. If the following document is not accessible to you, please contact the Secretariat to obtain another appropriate format, such as regular print, large print, Braille or audio version.

Offer to produce in both official languages:

This report uses scientific and technical terms and is published in the official language of the working group or scientific expert that produced the document. If this document is not accessible to you in the official language of your choice, please contact the Secretariat.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Document de recherche 2007/086

Répercussions possibles de la pêche du hareng rogué en Colombie-Britannique sur la répartition spatiale et temporelle de la ponte de hareng : examen de l’hypothèse d’épuisement continu

Par Hay, D.E., P.B. McCarter et K.S. Daniel

Résumé

La pêche du hareng rogué en Colombie-Britannique est pratiquée dans les eaux médiolittorales et infralittorales ou à proximité. Il s’agit d’une pêche prudente au cours de laquelle ne sont pris que 20 % au maximum de la biomasse génitrice dans l’une ou l’autre des cinq principales zones de l’évaluation. Ces dernières sont vastes et peuvent contenir un certain nombre de lieux de ponte et de pêche différents. De façon générale, chaque zone d’évaluation comprend environ de 5 à 10 petites unités géographiques, appelées sections. Celles ci sont des unités géographiques utilisées presque exclusivement par la Direction des sciences de Pêches et Océans Canada. Au cours de la plupart des années, la pêche est concentrée dans quelques sections, de sorte que le taux de prise dans certaines sections en particulier peut dépasser 20 %. Selon certains observateurs, ces pêches intensives localisées pourraient mener à l’épuisement continu de composantes de ponte uniques de la population. Le présent rapport prend pour point de départ l’hypothèse selon laquelle, depuis son introduction, au début des années 1970, la pêche du hareng rogué a entraîné une réduction systématique du nombre de lieux de ponte distincts. Nous avons examiné les tendances spatiales et temporelles de la ponte en comparant les fréquences de ponte dans des sections particulières au cours de deux périodes : une période de 31 ans, entre 1940 et 1970 (avant la pêche du hareng rogué, quand les taux de prise étaient très élevés au cours de la plupart des années) et une période de 36 ans, correspondant à la pêche du hareng rogué, depuis ses débuts jusqu’à maintenant. Quand on compare les données des zones d’évaluation, il ne semble y avoir aucun signe de diminution de la fréquence de ponte entre les deux périodes. Nous avons aussi comparé la tendance temporelle dégagée des données sur les prises et la ponte pour chacune des 100 sections géographiques environ. En utilisant l’estimation obtenue à partir de l’évaluation annuelle (de 2006), nous avons réduit les unités des données sur la ponte en tonnes métriques, puis examiné les antécédents temporels de ponte et de prise de chaque section. Nous avons découvert trois cas où la cessation de la ponte a coïncidé approximativement avec la pêche du hareng rogué. Dans chaque cas, toutefois, des analyses plus détaillées ont révélé qu’aucune ne constituait un exemple clair d’épuisement consécutif à la pêche. Ces situations représentaient plutôt des pêches qui ont eu lieu à des endroits où l’activité de ponte n’était pas constante dans le temps ou l’espace au cours des années précédant la pêche, ou encore dans des sections dont les dimensions géographiques étaient exceptionnellement restreintes. L’étendue géographique de chaque section est arbitraire et n’est pas fondée sur des caractéristiques biologiques. Nous montrons que dans un des cas, sur la côte centrale de la C. B., l’explication la plus simple est un léger déplacement de la ponte entre des lieux de ponte adjacents dans des sections qui sont beaucoup plus petites que d’autres sur les côtes de la province. Les lieux de ponte du hareng sont dynamiques et les tendances changent comme en témoignent les résultats de notre rapport et de nombreuses études précédentes. Toutefois, nos résultats révèlent que rien ne vient appuyer l’hypothèse d’un épuisement continu pendant la pêche du hareng rogué pour expliquer ces changements. Nous concluons par une discussion des compromis et des risques connexes des avantages administratifs et logistiques et de la réalisation du TAC (total autorisé de captures) dans un nombre moins important de grandes ouvertures dans de petites zones (quelques sections) comparativement à l’objectif biologique privilégié de la répartition du TAC et de l’effort de pêche entre un plus grand nombre de petites ouvertures dans une grande zone géographique (de nombreuses sections).

Le présent rapport contient deux annexes substantielles. L’une est une liste annotée de chaque section du hareng, montrant les analyses graphiques et les principales statistiques issues des données sur la ponte et les captures entre 1940 et 2006 (date de ponte moyenne, zone de ponte cumulative et prises cumulatives par saison). La seconde est un bref rapport sur la répartition spatiale et temporelle de la pêche, qui décrit la création d’une base de données spatiale sur la pêche du hareng rogué et expose les limites techniques du géo-référençage des données sur les prises de hareng rogué.

Avis d’accessibilité :

Ce document est disponible en format PDF. Si le document suivant ne vous est pas accessible, veuillez communiquer avec le Secrétariat pour l’obtenir sous une autre forme (par exemple un imprimé ordinaire, en gros caractères, en braille ou un document audio).

Signaler un problème ou une erreur sur cette page
Veuillez sélectionner toutes les cases qui s'appliquent :
Date de modification :