Research Document - 2006/064

Catch-age models for Pacific herring: Evaluation of alternative assumptions about fishery and stock dynamics and alternative error distributions

By Haist, V., and J. Schweigert

Abstract

The herring stock assessment catch-age model (EASM) was designed for Pacific herring and includes assumptions unique to those stocks. A new catch-age model (NASM) was recently developed for a B.C. herring objective based fisheries management evaluation. The two models differ in some of their assumptions about the fisheries and population dynamics, and it is not clear which should be used in the annual stock assessment process.

We present another catch-age model, HCAM, which incorporates the structure and assumptions of both the EASM and the NASM, with the purpose of determining which assumptions of the EASM and NASM models result in better performance. To the extent possible, objective criteria are used to assess model performance.

Both the EASM and NASM models over-weight the data (that is, residuals tended to be over-dispersed relative to the error assumed for individual data components) and both models have strong age-related patterns in the residuals from fitting the age composition data. The EASM analyses have strong retrospective bias in abundance estimates; for the NASM-like analyses the retrospective patterns are not as large and relatively unbiased.

We evaluated numerous implementations of the HCAM, attempting to minimize the areas of concern with the EASM and the NASM implementations. An implementation of this model was developed that we believe has better performance than either the EASM or the NASM, although it incorporates aspects of both those models. Diagnostics from the HCAM implementation that we believe indicate better performance are; a reduction in the magnitude of the retrospective pattern; a reduction in the magnitude of the age-related pattern in age-composition residuals, and better coherence between the assumed and empirical estimates of the lack of model fit to the data.

 Complete PDF document
(67 pages; 582K)

Accessibility Notice:

This document is available in PDF format. If the following document is not accessible to you, please contact the Secretariat to obtain another appropriate format, such as regular print, large print, Braille or audio version.

Active offer to produce in both official languages:

This report uses scientific and technical terms and is published in the official language of the working group or scientific expert that produced the document. If this document is not accessible to you in the official language of your choice, please contact the Secretariat.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Document de recherche 2006/064

Modèle des prises selon l’âge pour le hareng du Pacifique : évaluation d’autres hypothèses à propos de la pêche et de la dynamique des stocks et d’autres distributions de l’erreur

Par Haist, V., et J. Schweigert

Résumé

Le modèle existant de la structure d’âge (MSAE) utilisé pour l’évaluation des stocks de hareng a été conçu précisément pour le hareng du Pacifique et comporte des hypothèses qui sont propres grave ces stocks. Un nouveau modèle de la structure d’âge (NMSA) a récemment été bâti en vue de réaliser une évaluation de la gestion par objectif de la pêche du hareng de la C. B. Les deux modèles diffèrent quant aux hypothèses posées à propos de la pêche et de la dynamique des populations et l’on ne sait pas encore lequel devrait être utilisé pour le processus annuel d’évaluation des stocks.

Nous présentons un autre modèle des prises selon l’âge (MPAH) auquel ont été intégrées la structure et les hypothèses des précédents, soit le MSAE et le NMSA, en vue de déterminer quelles hypothèses du MSAE et du NMSA donnent la meilleure performance. Dans la mesure du possible, des critères objectifs sont utilisés pour évaluer la performance du modèle.

Les deux modèles, le MSAE et le NMSA, entraînent une surpondération des données (c.-à-d. que les valeurs résiduelles tendent à être trop dispersées par rapport à l’erreur hypothétique des différents éléments de données) et ils affichent de fortes tendances selon l’âge dans les données résiduelles découlant de l’application des données de la composition par âge. Les analyses selon le MSAE montrent un fort biais rétrospectif dans l’estimation de l’abondance. Dans les analyses selon le NMSA, les tendances rétrospectives ne sont pas aussi fortes et sont relativement non biaisées.

Nous avons évalué de nombreuses applications du MPAH, en essayant de minimiser les points de préoccupation du MSAE et du NMSA. Nous avons développé une application de ce modèle qui, à notre avis, donne une meilleure performance que le MSAE ou le NMSA, bien qu’elle comporte des aspects de ces deux modèles. Les résultats de l’application du MPAH qui nous permettent de dire qu’il a une meilleure performance sont les suivants : une réduction de l’ampleur de la tendance rétrospective, une diminution de l’ordre de grandeur de la tendance liée à l’âge dans les valeurs résiduelles de la composition selon l’âge et une meilleure cohérence entre les estimations hypothétiques et empiriques du manque d’ajustement du modèle aux données.

Avis d’accessibilité :

Ce document est disponible en format PDF. Si le document suivant ne vous est pas accessible, veuillez communiquer avec le Secrétariat pour l’obtenir sous une autre forme (par exemple un imprimé ordinaire, en gros caractères, en braille ou un document audio).

Signaler un problème ou une erreur sur cette page
Veuillez sélectionner toutes les cases qui s'appliquent :
Date de modification :