Research Document - 2004/081

Stock assessment for British Columbia herring in 2004 and forecasts of the potential catch in 2005

By Schweigert, J.F.

Abstract

Herring stock abundance in British Columbia waters was assessed for 2004 and forecasts were made for 2005 using an age structured assessment model for the major stock assessment regions and an escapement model for the minor stocks in Areas 2W and 27. These models have been applied to assess herring abundance since 1984. As in recent assessments a fixed spawn conversion or catchability factor was applied for the dive survey era beginning in 1988 and a free fitted parameter was estimated for the earlier surface survey period. In addition, a year specific logistic function was applied to model the availability of fish on the spawning grounds. Penalty weights adopted for the preceding assessment were again used this year. All available biological data on total harvest, spawn deposition, and age and size composition of the spawning runs were used to determine current abundance levels. No significant problems were evident in the extent and comprehensiveness of the data collections. However, fewer samples were aged in 2004 due to constraints imposed on the ageing laboratory. All available data were included in and summarized from an Access database. Coastwide, the estimated pre-fishery stock biomass for all assessment regions in 2004 was 221,000 tonnes based on the age-structured model which represents a 2% decrease from the 2003 abundance level. This reflects stable or minor increases in all stocks except the Strait of Georgia where biomass decreased slightly. Recruitment of the 2001 year-class was very poor in the north and poor to average in the southern stocks.

The estimated harvestable surplus in 2005 (20% of the 2005 forecast herring run) based on forecast abundance to the five assessment regions is 37,540 tonnes for the B.C. coast assuming average recruitment to all areas except the Queen Charlotte Islands where the stock remains at depressed levels and no surplus is available.

 Complete PDF document
(95 pages; 1053K)

Accessibility Notice:

This document is available in PDF format. If the following document is not accessible to you, please contact the Secretariat to obtain another appropriate format, such as regular print, large print, Braille or audio version.

Active offer to produce in both official languages:

This report uses scientific and technical terms and is published in the official language of the working group or scientific expert that produced the document. If this document is not accessible to you in the official language of your choice, please contact the Secretariat.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Document de recherche 2004/081

Évaluation de 2004 des stocks de hareng de la Colombie-Britannique et prévisions des prises en 2005

Par Schweigert, J.F.

Résumé

On utilise un modèle d’évaluation structuré par âge pour déterminer l’abondance du hareng chez les principaux stocks de la Colombie-Britannique en 2004 et faire des prévisions des prises en 2005, et un modèle d’échappement pour les petits stocks des zones 2W et 27. Ces modèles sont utilisés à cette fin depuis 1984. Comme pour les dernières évaluations, un facteur fixe de conversion de l’indice de frai ou de capturabilité est appliqué à la série de données recueillies en plongée depuis 1988 et un paramètre librement ajusté est estimé pour la période précédente de relevés en surface. On introduit aussi une fonction logistique par année pour modéliser la disponibilité du poisson dans les frayères. Les poids de pénalité utilisés dans la dernière évaluation sont encore utilisés cette année. Toutes les données biologiques disponibles sur les prises totales, la ponte et la composition par âge et par taille des reproducteurs ont été utilisées pour déterminer les niveaux d’abondance actuels. Aucun problème important n’est évident dans l’étendue et la représentativité des séries de données. Par contre, moins d’échantillons ont été soumis à une détermination de l’âge en 2004 à cause de contraintes imposées sur le laboratoire concerné. Toutes les données ont été saisies dans une base de données Access, puis résumées, à l’échelle de la côte, la biomasse estimative des stocks dans toutes les zones évaluées avant qu’ils soient pêchés en 2004 s’élevait à 221 000 t d’après le modèle structuré par âge, ce qui représente une baisse de 2 % par rapport à 2003. Cette baisse reflète une augmentation stable ou faible de l’abondance chez tous les stocks, sauf dans le détroit de Georgia, où la biomasse a quelque peu diminué. Le recrutement de la classe d’âge de 2001 était médiocre chez les stocks du nord et de faible à moyen chez les stocks du sud.

Pour l’ensemble de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique, l’excédent pêchable en 2005 (20 % du nombre prévu de reproducteurs en 2005) estimé d’après l’abondance prévue dans les cinq zones évaluées se chiffre à 37 540 t dans l’hypothèse d’un recrutement moyen dans toutes les zones, sauf dans le cas des îles de la Reine-Charlotte; le stock y demeurant à un niveau faible, aucun excédent n’est disponible.

Avis d’accessibilité :

Ce document est disponible en format PDF. Si le document suivant ne vous est pas accessible, veuillez communiquer avec le Secrétariat pour l’obtenir sous une autre forme (par exemple un imprimé ordinaire, en gros caractères, en braille ou un document audio).

Signaler un problème ou une erreur sur cette page
Veuillez sélectionner toutes les cases qui s'appliquent :
Date de modification :