Research Document - 2004/008

Pacific Herring Spawn Disappearance and Recolonization Events

By Ware, D.M., Tovey, C.

Abstract

This is the fourth in a series of papers outlining the evidence that British Columbia herring are spatially structured and interact as a metapopulation. The purpose of this paper is to analyze the spawn time series for indications of “disappearance” and “recolonization” events. Some local communities in British Columbia (BC) believe that each bay where herring spawn contains a genetically discrete stock. Accordingly, if one of these “stocks” fails to return to spawn the implication is that some unique genetic diversity has probably been lost. The metapopulation concept provides an ecological basis for explaining that small, herring spawning aggregations can disappear for a time due to dispersal and other natural causes. And that vacant habitat will eventually be recolonized, when suitable conditions return. We analyzed the spawn time series (from 1943 to 2002) in 76 spatial “sections” where herring spawn in BC. We identified 82 spawn disappearance events, and found that 55% of the sections experienced one or more disappearance events in the last 60 years. We found that small sections experience more disappearance and recolonization events than sections with larger amounts of spawn habitat. Stray spawners from other areas recolonize vacant sections in 11 years, on average. Some sections were recolonized in less than five years; while at the other extreme, one section has not been recolonized for 35 years. Only 53 % of the recolonization attempts were successful. The high degree of straying between nearby sections explains why herring spawning aggregations at the "section" spatial-scale are so dynamic from year-to-year, and have a very low coherence. We found that 18 sections currently contain no spawn. These vacant sections have smaller amounts of spawn habitat, and a higher probability of disappearance events than occupied sections. The balance between the spawn disappearance and recolonization rates changed in Southern BC toward the end of the last “cool” climate regime. During the first half of the warm regime that followed the disappearance rate tended to be much higher than the recolonization rate, so the number of sections occupied by spawners declined. In the Northern sections, the disappearance and recolonization rates have tended to be more balanced. However, over the last 60-years when the disappearance (and recolonization) rates were higher in the South, they also tend to be higher in the North. In 34 of the 76 sections examined, there were no spawn disappearance events. These important sections contain about 85% of the total herring spawn habitat in BC, and therefore should be protected from shoreline development, pollution and other sources of habitat degradation. Loss of these habitats will almost certainly have a negative impact on the dynamics and resilience of the metapopulation.

 Complete PDF document
(52 pages; 295K)

Accessibility Notice:

This document is available in PDF format. If the following document is not accessible to you, please contact the Secretariat to obtain another appropriate format, such as regular print, large print, Braille or audio version.

Active offer to produce in both official languages:

This report uses scientific and technical terms and is published in the official language of the working group or scientific expert that produced the document. If this document is not accessible to you in the official language of your choice, please contact the Secretariat.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Document de recherche 2004/008

Périodes d'absence et de reprise de la fraie du hareng du Pacifique

Par Ware, D.M., Tovey, C.

Résumé

Ce document est le quatrième d'une série de documents qui présentent des données montrant que, par sa répartition spatiale et ses interactions, le hareng de la Colombie-Britannique (C.-B.) forme une métapopulation. Ce document vise à analyser une série chronologique pour y déceler les périodes sans reproduction et les périodes de reprise de celle-ci dans les zones de fraie. Dans certaines collectivités de la C.-B., on croit que chaque baie où le hareng fraie contient un stock génétiquement distinct. Si un de ces «stocks» ne revient pas frayer, cela signifierait probablement qu'une composante unique de la diversité génétique est perdue. Le concept de métapopulation offre une explication écologique du fait que de petits groupes de géniteurs peuvent disparaître pour un certain temps en raison de leur dispersion ou d'autres causes naturelles et que l'habitat inoccupé sera recolonisé lorsque les conditions redeviendront favorables. Nous avons analysé la série chronologique de données sur la fraie (de 1943 à 2002) dans 76 secteurs de fraie du hareng en C.-B. Nous avons relevé 82 périodes sans fraie et trouvé qu'il y a eu au moins une de ces périodes dans 55 % des secteurs depuis 60 ans. Les périodes de disparition et de reprise de la fraie étaient plus fréquents dans les petits secteurs que dans ceux contenant davantage d'habitat de fraie. En moyenne, les secteurs inoccupés sont recolonisés au bout de 11 ans par des géniteurs égarés provenant d'autres secteurs. Certains secteurs ont été recolonisés en moins de cinq ans, tandis qu'un secteur ne l'a pas été depuis 35 ans. Seulement 53 % des tentatives de recolonisation ont été réussies. Le niveau d'égarement élevé entre des secteurs avoisinants explique pourquoi les groupes de géniteurs sont si dynamiques d'une année à l'autre (à l'échelle des secteurs) et présentent une très faible cohérence. Dix-huit secteurs connaissent actuellement une période sans fraie : ils contiennent moins d'habitat de fraie et présentent une probabilité plus forte de périodes sans fraie que les secteurs occupés. Dans le sud de la C.-B., le rapport entre les taux de disparition et de reprise de la fraie a changé vers la fin du dernier régime climatique « frais ». Durant la première moitié du régime « chaud » qui a suivi, le taux de disparition était beaucoup plus élevé que le taux de recolonisation, et le nombre de secteurs occupés par des géniteurs a donc baissé. Dans les secteurs nordiques, les taux de disparition et de recolonisation tendent à être plus équilibrés. Toutefois, depuis 60 ans, lorsque les taux de disparition (et de recolonisation) sont plus élevés dans le sud, ils ont tendance à l'être aussi dans le nord. Trente-quatre des 76 secteurs étudiés n'ont connu aucune période sans fraie; ces secteurs importants contiennent environ 85 % de l'ensemble de l'habitat de fraie du hareng en
C.-B. et devraient donc être protégés contre l'aménagement du littoral, la pollution et d'autres facteurs de dégradation de l'habitat. La perte de ces habitats nuirait presque sûrement à la dynamique et à résilience de la métapopulation.

Avis d’accessibilité :

Ce document est disponible en format PDF. Si le document suivant ne vous est pas accessible, veuillez communiquer avec le Secrétariat pour l’obtenir sous une autre forme (par exemple un imprimé ordinaire, en gros caractères, en braille ou un document audio).

Signaler un problème ou une erreur sur cette page
Veuillez sélectionner toutes les cases qui s'appliquent :
Date de modification :