Research Document - 2000/118

Saturation Index for longlines and gill nets in Sentinel Fisheries of cod in the Northern Gulf of St. Lawrence.

By S. Brulotte and A. Fréchet

Abstract

Catch rates from cod directed fixed gear Sentinel Fisheries thus complement other tools available for the assessment of the northern Gulf of St. Lawrence cod stock. The saturation index was estimated for longlines and gill nets used in the cod directed Sentinel Fisheries from 1994 to 1998. The areas covered by these surveys are the West Coast of Newfoundland and North Shore of Quebec, 49 fishing sites. Since the onset of Sentinel Fisheries by fixed gear, fishers have used their traditional fishing sites and traditional fishing gear as prior to the moratorium on the cod fishery. The number of cod (Atlantic and Ogac) caught was generally calculated from the number of Atlantic cod sampled. For the other species caught (fish, sharks, crustacean, etc.) an average individual weight was used. The index saturation of the longline was calculated from the total number of specimens caught divided by number of hooks used. For the gill nets, the index was calculated from the total number of specimens caught divided by number of nets used.

A total of 2985 trips were done with longlines between 1994 and 1998, of which 2591 were done in Newfoundland and 394 in Quebec. Out of a total of 2985 trips done, 104 had no catch, 1113 had only cod, 1663 had mixed catches of cod and other species and only 105 without cod but with other species caught. Cod represents more than 60 % of the numbers caught in over of the trips (62.4 %). The index of saturation (all species) in the longline is low for most observations; 80.8 % of the trips had saturation indices between 0 and 20 %. A total of 4311 trips were done between 1994 and 1998 with gill nets of which 1709 were done in Newfoundland and 2602 in Quebec. Out of the 4311 trips done only 81 had no catch, 838 trips had caught only cod, 3192 had cod and other species and only 200 trips had species other than cod caught. In Newfoundland, the proportion of cod caught in gill nets are similar to longline with 57.3 % of trips having over 60 % cod in their catches. In Quebec, this proportion drops to 30,3 % of the trips with over 60 % of cod catches. In Newfoundland and Quebec, the frequency of a saturation of 25 individuals or less per net is generally over 80 % of the trips.

The gear saturation is a measure of loss of efficiency of a gear as the number of fish caught increases. Saturation has thus a very direct effect on catch rates. In the case of Sentinel Fisheries, for most trips with longlines and gill nets, the saturation indices are likely too low to bias catch rates.

 Complete PDF document
34 pages (248K)

Accessibility Notice:

This document is available in PDF format. If the following document is not accessible to you, please contact the Secretariat to obtain another appropriate format, such as regular print, large print, Braille or audio version.

Offer to produce in both official languages:

This report uses scientific and technical terms and is published in the official language of the working group or scientific expert that produced the document. If this document is not accessible to you in the official language of your choice, please contact the Secretariat.

Date modified:

Document de Recherche 2000/118

Indice de saturation de la palangre et du filet maillant dans les relevés des Pêches Sentinelles à la morue dans le nord du golfe du Saint Laurent

Par S. Brulotte et A. Fréchet

Résumé

Les taux de capture obtenus à partir des engins fixes du programme des Pêches Sentinelles à la morue sont un outil complémentaire aux autres méthodes d'évaluation de la biomasse de la morue du nord du golfe Saint-Laurent. Des indices de saturation ont été estimés pour la palangre et le filet maillant des Pêches Sentinelles à la morue de 1994 à 1998. Les régions couvertes sont la côte ouest de Terre-Neuve et la Côte-Nord du Québec, soit 49 sites de pêche. Le protocole d'échantillonnage des Pêches Sentinelles a été conçu de manière à ce que les pêcheurs utilisent les sites, les engins et les méthodes traditionnels de pêche, soit les mêmes pratiques qu’avant le moratoire sur la pêche à la morue. Le nombre de morues (franche et ogac) capturées a généralement été calculé à partir des échantillons de morues franches prélevés. Pour les autres espèces capturées (poisson, requin, crustacés, etc…), une estimation du poids moyen individuel a été utilisé. L'indice de saturation de la palangre a été estimé en divisant le nombre d'individus capturés par le nombre d'hameçons immergés. Pour le filet maillant l'indice de saturation a été estimé en divisant le nombre d'individus capturés par le nombre de filets utilisés.

Il y a eu 2 985 sorties à la palangre de 1994 à 1998, soit 2 591 sorties provenant de Terre-Neuve et 394 sorties effectuées au Québec. De ces 2 985 sorties, il y en a eu 104 sans aucune capture, 1 113 avec seulement de la morue, 1 663 avec des captures mixtes de morues et autres espèces et finalement 105 sorties sans capture de morue mais avec d'autres espèces. La morue représente plus de 60 % des nombres capturés dans plus de la moitié des sorties (62,4 %). L'indice de saturation de la palangre (toutes les espèces) est faible pour l'ensemble des sorties, 80,8 % des sorties ont un indice compris entre 0 et 20 % de saturation. Les moyennes des indices de saturation par site de pêche suivent les mêmes tendances, la majorité ayant un indice inférieur à 20 %. Il y a eu 4 311 sorties effectuées au filet maillant de 1994 à 1998, dont 1 709 sorties à Terre-Neuve et 2 602 sorties au Québec. De ce nombre, il y a eu 81 sorties sans aucune capture, 838 sorties avec seulement de la morue, 3 192 sorties avec des captures de morues et autres espèces et 200 sorties sans capture de morue mais avec d'autres espèces. À Terre-Neuve, la proportion de morues dans les captures est similaire à celle obtenue à la palangre, dans 57,3 % des sorties la morue représente plus de 60 % des individus capturés. Tandis qu'au Québec, la proportion baisse à 30 % des sorties. À Terre-Neuve et au Québec, plus de 80 % des sorties effectuées au filet maillant ont un indice de saturation de 25 individus et moins par filet.

La saturation d'un engin de pêche affecte directement sa capacité à capturer de nouveaux individus. Il en résulte donc un plafonnement des taux de capture à mesure que l'engin devient saturé. Toutefois, la majorité des indices de saturation estimés pour les Pêches Sentinelles à la palangre et au filet maillant, sont suffisamment faibles pour ne pas biaiser les taux de capture. 

Avis d’accessibilité :

Ce document est disponible en format PDF. Si le document suivant ne vous est pas accessible, veuillez communiquer avec le Secrétariat pour l’obtenir sous une autre forme (par exemple un imprimé ordinaire, en gros caractères, en braille ou un document audio).

Date de modification :