Research Document - 1999/014

Distribution and timing of herring spawning in British Columbia

By D.E. Hay and P.B. McCarter

Abstract

This paper examines spatial and temporal variation in herring spawn in British Columbia, from 1928 to 1998. We present summaries of temporal variation in indexes of spawn abundance for 6 different regions: (1) Queen Charlotte Islands (QCI), (2) Prince Rupert District (PRD), (3) Central Coast (CC), (4) Johnstone Strait (JS), (5) Strait of Georgia (SOG), and (6) West Coast of Vancouver Island (WCVI). Within the regions we also distinguish between 'non-assessment' areas and 'assessment' areas. Assessment areas are the geographic units applicable to the annual stock assessments, and they make up approximately 55% of the total coast. In all regions, the total amount of spawn has fluctuated during the last 71 years, but the trend varies with location. The trend in spawn deposition for the last 20 years has been to increase in 3 of the 5 assessment regions: PRD, CC and SOG. No trend is clear for WCVI but there is a long-term decline in QCI, although QCI spawn indexes have increased in the last few years. There appears to be a decline in spawn indexes for most non-assessment areas in the QCI, CC, and SOG. Spawn has decreased in the JS, a non-assessment region, but increased slightly in the non-assessment areas of WCVI.

In general, the geographical range of spawning areas is contracting. The BC coast consists of 108 different geographic units called herring sections, 101 of which have been used for spawning in one or more years since 1928. The numbers of herring sections receiving spawn is lower in 1998 than in all previous records since the 1930s, when the records were known to be incomplete. In part, however, this recent reduction could reflect declining survey effort in recent years. Similarly, the duration of the spawning period is becoming shorter, with later starts and early completions, in most areas. Some but not all of this trend also could be attributed to the reduction in survey effort. In the 3 major areas where spawn indexes are increasing, they are increasing substantially, so that the total coastal spawn deposition, if measured by the indexes presented here, is higher than in all previous assessment years. Therefore, as a generalization, we observe that spawning is contracting in space and time but increasing in abundance. The recent trend for an increase in spawn deposition is consistent with trends in spawning biomass reported in recent assessment documents, but the assessment documents do not consider the declining spatial and temporal ranges of herring, or make any comment about spawn in non-assessment areas. The reasons for the spatial and temporal changes in spawn deposition are not clear, but could be related to one or more factors including fisheries and climate change. Unfortunately some of the apparent changes could reflect declining survey efforts, particularly in the non-assessment areas.

 Complete PDF document
44 pages (1227K)

Accessibility Notice:

This document is available in PDF format. If the following document is not accessible to you, please contact the Secretariat to obtain another appropriate format, such as regular print, large print, Braille or audio version.

Active offer to produce in both official languages:

This report uses scientific and technical terms and is published in the official language of the working group or scientific expert that produced the document. If this document is not accessible to you in the official language of your choice, please contact the Secretariat.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Document de Recherche - 1999/014

Distribution and timing of herring spawning in British Columbia

Par D.E. Hay et  P.B. McCarter

Résumé

Le document traite de la variation spatiale et temporelle de la ponte du hareng en Colombie-Britannique, de 1928 à 1998. Nous présentons des résumés de la variation temporelle fondés sur des indices de l’abondance des œufs dans six régions : 1) Îles de la Reine Charlotte (QCI), 2) district de Prince Rupert (PRD), 3) côte du Centre (CC), 4) détroit Johnstone (JS)¸ 5) détroit de Georgia (SOG) et 6) côte ouest de l’île de Vancouver (WCVI). Nous établissons aussi une distinction au sein des régions entre les zones de « non évaluation » et les zones « d’évaluation ». Les zones d’évaluation sont les unités géographiques servant aux évaluations annuelles des stocks; elles représentent 55 % environ de la totalité de la côte. Dans toutes les régions, la quantité totale d’œufs a fluctué au cours des 71 dernières années, mais la tendance varie selon l’endroit. Au cours des 20 dernières années, la ponte a augmenté dans trois des cinq régions d’évaluation : QCI, CC et SOG. Aucune tendance nette n’est décelable en WCVI, mais l’on note un déclin à long terme pour la région QCI bien que l’indice y ait augmenté au cours des dernières années. Il semble y avoir déclin des indices dans la plupart des zones de non évaluation QCI, CC et SOG. La ponte a diminué en JS, une région de non évaluation, mais s’est accrue légèrement dans les zones de non évaluation de WCVI.

De façon générale, la superficie des zones de frai diminue. La côte de la C.-B. est divisée en 108 unités géographiques, les sections du hareng, dont 101 ont été utilisées pour le frai au moins au cours d’une année depuis 1928. Le nombre de sections où il y a eu ponte en 1998 est inférieur à celui de toutes les années depuis les années 1930, où les registres étaient incomplets. Cette baisse récente pourrait cependant s’expliquer par un déclin de l’effort des relevés au cours des dernières années. De façon semblable, la durée de la période de frai se raccourcit, débutant plus tard et se terminant plus tôt, dans la plupart des zones. Une partie seulement de cette tendance peut être attribuable à une réduction des relevés. Dans les trois principales zones où les indices de ponte sont à la hausse, l’augmentation est appréciable de sorte que la ponte totale sur la côte, si elle était mesurée par les indices présentés ici, serait plus importante que celle de toutes les années d’évaluation antérieures. Nous notons donc, de façon générale, une contraction spatiale et temporelle de la ponte, mais une augmentation de son abondance. La tendance récente d’une augmentation de la ponte est cohérente avec les tendances de la biomasse signalée dans les récents documents d’évaluation, mais ces derniers ne tiennent pas compte la réduction spatiale et temporelle des aires de répartition du hareng ni ne font état de la ponte dans les zones non évaluées. Les raisons de cette variation spatiale et temporelle de la ponte sont mal comprises, mais elles pourraient être liées à un ou plusieurs facteurs, comme la pêche et le changement climatique. Malheureusement, une partie des changements notés pourrait s’expliquer par la baisse des efforts des relevés, particulièrement dans les zones non évaluées.

Avis d’accessibilité :

Ce document est disponible en format PDF. Si le document suivant ne vous est pas accessible, veuillez communiquer avec le Secrétariat pour l’obtenir sous une autre forme (par exemple un imprimé ordinaire, en gros caractères, en braille ou un document audio).

Signaler un problème ou une erreur sur cette page
Veuillez sélectionner toutes les cases qui s'appliquent :
Date de modification :