Atlantic Fisheries
Research Document 1996/067

Intercalibration of eight otter-trawlers participating in the sentinel fisheries in the northern Gulf of St. Lawrence (3Pn,4RS) in 1995 through the use of SCANMAR sensors

By A. Fréchet

Abstract

The use of multiple vessels to perform a stratified random groundfish survey presents a difficulty given that the trawls may not have the same geometry. The geometry of a standard otter trawl may vary from one boat to another because of unique properties of each boat. We have tried to reduce this inter-boat variability by forcing the use of a single type of otter trawl. In order to verify the geometry of the trawls in a fishing situation, trials were done using SCANMAR acoustic sensors.

We found that the wing-spread varied from one boat to the next, the range could reach 20%. Coefficients were derived in order to compare the fishing power of each boat. The average catches are thus calculated with a standard of 19 meters for the whole fleet. It was recommended to control gear geometry with the use of a restraining cable instead of adjusting the catch using parameters derived for wing-spread because in fact, it is the catchability of the whole gear that reacts with changes in wing spread.

 Complete PDF document
(16 pages; 774K)

Accessibility Notice:

This document is available in PDF format. If the following document is not accessible to you, please contact the Secretariat to obtain another appropriate format, such as regular print, large print, Braille or audio version.

Offer to produce in both official languages:

This report uses scientific and technical terms and is published in the official language of the working group or scientific expert that produced the document. If this document is not accessible to you in the official language of your choice, please contact the Secretariat.

Date modified:

Pêches de l'Atlantique
Document de Recherche 1996/067

Inter-calibration de huit chalutiers participants aux pêches sentinelles dans le nord du golfe du Saint-Laurent (3Pn,4RS) en 1995 à l'aide de sondes SCANMAR

Par A. Fréchet

Résumé

L'Utilisation de plusieurs bateaux pour effectuer un relevé stratifié aléatoire présente une difficulté car il est possible que les chalut n'aient pas la même géometrie. La géometrie d'un même chalut lorsqu'il est remorqué peut varier d'un navire à l'autre à cause des propriétés propres à chaque navire. Nous avons tenté de réduire la variabilité inter-bateau en forçant l'usage d'un seul type de chalut. Afin de vérifier la géometrie des chaluts en situation de pêche nous avons effectué des essais en mer à l'aide de sondes acoustiques SCANMAR.

Nous avons constaté que la distance entre les ailes varie d'un navire à l'autre, l'écart pouvant aller jusqu'à 20%. Des coefficients on été dérivés afin de pouvoir comparer la puissance de pêche de chaque navire. les calculs de rendements s'effectuent donc avec une valeur standard de 19 mètres de distance des ailes pour l'ensemble de la flotte. Il a été recommandé de contrôler la géometrie des chaluts à l'aide de câbles de rétention au lieu de modifier les captures à l'aide des paramètres calculés pour la distance entre les ailes, car en fait c'est l'ensemble du chalut qui modifie sa capturabilité avec des changements aux ailes.

Avis d’accessibilité :

Ce document est disponible en format PDF. Si le document suivant ne vous est pas accessible, veuillez communiquer avec le Secrétariat pour l’obtenir sous une autre forme (par exemple un imprimé ordinaire, en gros caractères, en braille ou un document audio).

Date de modification :