Appointment opportunities: Atlantic Fisheries Licence Appeal Board

We know that our country is stronger — and our government more effective — when decision-makers reflect Canada's diversity. The Government of Canada has implemented an appointment process that is transparent and merit-based, strives for gender parity, and ensures that Indigenous Canadians and minority groups are properly represented in positions of leadership. We will continue to search for Canadians who reflect the values that we all embrace: inclusion, honesty, fiscal prudence, and generosity of spirit. Together, we will build a government as diverse as Canada.

The overarching goal of the Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard is to protect our three oceans, coasts, waterways and fisheries and ensure that they remain healthy for future generations.

The Government of Canada is currently seeking applications from diverse and talented Canadians from across the country who are interested in the following positions:

Board Member (part-time positions)
Atlantic Fisheries Licence Appeal Board

The Atlantic Fisheries Licence Appeal Board is an appeal board that operates at arm's length from the Department of Fisheries and Oceans Canada. It provides commercial fish harvesters with an independent last level of appeal when they are dissatisfied with licensing decisions made by departmental officials. In addition to making recommendations to the Minister on such appeals, the Board also reviews and makes recommendation on any licensing decision referred to it by the Minister.

The Board is comprised of members appointed by the Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard to serve one of the following regions: Newfoundland and Labrador; Maritimes; Gulf (Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick); and Quebec. Candidates are asked to specify the regional Board for which they are seeking appointment.

Board members are responsible for hearing licence appeal cases and providing recommendations to the Minister based on participation in the hearings.

Further details about the Board's composition and its role in the appeal process can be found by reviewing Chapter 7 and Annex V of the Commercial Fisheries Licensing Policy for Eastern Canada – 1996.

Candidates must apply online by January 31, 2021. English and French appointment opportunities will be produced in an alternative format upon request. Your cover letter and résumé should be sent to appointments-nominations@dfo-mpo.gc.ca at the Department of Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

Per Diem: $250 for Board members ($350 for the Chair), plus travel and living expenses; there is also a $75 flat rate per case for reviewing case documents
Position Location: Various locations

Official languages and diversity

The Government of Canada will consider bilingual proficiency and diversity in assessing candidates for these positions. You are therefore encouraged to include in your online profile your ability to speak and understand your second official language. Preference may be given to candidates who are members of one or more of the following groups: women, Indigenous peoples, disabled persons, and members of visible minorities.

Please note that there will be no interviews held for this selection process. It is therefore imperative that you clearly demonstrate in your application with concrete examples how you meet the following Essential requirements:

Education and experience

Knowledge, skills and abilities

The following qualifications, though not essential, will be considered assets:

Asset qualifications

If you move on to the next stage of the selection process, we will contact your references to confirm that you meet the above Essential requirements and that you possess the following Personal Attributes:

Eligibility factors and conditions of employment

In your application, it will be important that you confirm you meet the following requirements:

If you are appointed to one of these positions:

A roster of qualified candidates may be established and may be used for similar opportunities.

Possibilités de nomination : Office des appels relatifs aux permis de pêche de l'Atlantique

Nous savons que notre pays est plus fort et notre gouvernement plus efficace lorsque les décideurs reflètent la diversité du Canada. Le gouvernement du Canada a mis en œuvre un processus de nomination transparent et fondé sur le mérite qui cherche à assurer la parité entre les sexes et une représentation adéquate des Canadiens autochtones et des groupes minoritaires dans les postes de direction. Nous continuerons de rechercher des Canadiens qui incarnent les valeurs qui nous sont chères : l'inclusion, l'honnêteté, la prudence financière et la générosité d'esprit. Ensemble, nous créerons un gouvernement aussi diversifié que le Canada.

Le principal objectif du ministre des Pêches, des Océans et de la Garde côtière canadienne est de protéger nos trois océans, nos côtes, nos voies maritimes ainsi que nos pêches afin d'en assurer la vitalité pour les générations futures.

Le gouvernement du Canada sollicite actuellement des candidatures auprès de divers Canadiens talentueux provenant de partout au pays qui manifestent un intérêt pour les postes suivants :

Membre de l'Office (postes à temps partiel)
Office des appels relatifs aux permis de pêche de l'Atlantique

L'Office des appels relatifs aux permis de pêche de l'Atlantique est une commission d'appel qui fonctionne sans lien de dépendance avec Pêches et Océans Canada. Il offre aux pêcheurs un dernier niveau d'appel lorsqu'ils sont insatisfaits des décisions en matière de délivrance de permis par les représentants de Pêches et Océans Canada. L'Office formule des recommandations à l'intention du ministre sur ces appels, sur les modifications apportées à la politique de délivrance des permis et contribue, sur demande, à la sélection des nouveaux titulaires de permis.

L'Office est composé de membres nommés par le ministre des Pêches, des Océans et de la Garde côtière canadienne pour servir l'une des régions suivantes : Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador ; les Maritimes ; le Golfe (Île-du-Prince-Édouard, Nouvelle-Écosse et Nouveau-Brunswick) ; et le Québec. Les candidats sont invités à préciser pour quelle commission régionale ils souhaitent être nommés.

Les membres de l'Office sont chargés d'entendre les appels relatifs aux permis et de formuler des recommandations à l'intention du ministre en fonction de la participation aux audiences.

Pour plus de détails sur la composition de l'Office et sur son rôle dans la procédure d'appel, veuillez consulter le chapitre 7 et l'annexe V de la Politique d'émission des permis pour la pêche commerciale dans l'Est du Canada - 1996 sur le site web.

Les candidats doivent soumettre leur demande en ligne au plus tard le 31 janvier 2021. Les possibilités de nomination décrites en anglais et en français peuvent être produites en média substitut sur demande. Votre lettre d'accompagnement et votre curriculum vitæ doivent être envoyés à l'adresse appointments-nominations@dfo-mpo.gc.ca à Pêches et Océans Canada.

Indemnité quotidienne : 250 $ pour les membres de la Commission (350 $ pour le président), en plus des frais de déplacement et de subsistance ; il y a également un forfait de 75 $ par dossier pour l'examen des documents de la cause.

Lieu du poste : Divers endroits

Langues officielles et diversité

Le gouvernement du Canada tiendra compte du bilinguisme et de la diversité des candidats au moment de les évaluer pour ces postes. Par conséquent, nous vous encourageons à indiquer dans votre profil en ligne votre compréhension de la langue seconde officielle et votre capacité de vous exprimer dans cette langue. La préférence pourrait être accordée aux candidats qui appartiennent à l'un des groupes suivants : femmes, Autochtones, personnes handicapées et membres de minorités visibles.

Pour que votre candidature soit prise en considération pour un de ces postes, veuillez fournir dans votre demande des exemples tirés de votre expérience professionnelle qui démontrent en quoi vous satisfaites aux critères suivants :

Études et expérience

Connaissance, habiletés et capacités

Les qualifications suivantes, bien qu'elles ne soient pas essentielles, seront considérées comme des atouts:

Qualifications constituant un atout

Si vous passez à l'étape suivante du processus de sélection, nous contacterons vos références pour confirmer que vous remplissez les conditions essentielles ci-dessus et que vous possédez les attributs personnels suivants :

Facteurs d'admissibilité et conditions d'emploi

Dans votre demande, il sera important que vous confirmiez que vous remplissez les conditions suivantes :

Si vous êtes nommé à un de ces postes :

Un bassin de candidats qualifiés pourrait être établi et utilisé pour des possibilités de nomination semblables.