Language selection

Search

About the Ocean Decade

The United Nations has proclaimed a Decade of Ocean Science for Sustainable Development (Ocean Decade), beginning in 2021, to support efforts to reverse the cycle of decline in ocean health and ensure a sustainable ocean for future generations.

The Ocean Decade is coordinated and led by the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) of United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) and will encourage partners from around the world to collaborate to advance ocean science to support the sustainable development of our oceans.

The Ocean Decade will provide a once in a lifetime opportunity to create a new foundation to strengthen the management of our oceans and coasts for the benefit of all. Anyone can participate in the Ocean Decade and work with partners to ensure that science benefits both the ocean ecosystem and society.

Vision, mission and outcomes

The Ocean Decade will provide a common framework to ensure that ocean science can fully support countries’ actions to sustainably manage the Oceans, particularly to achieve the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

Ocean Decade vision:

Ocean Decade mission:

Related links

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

À propos de la Décennie de l’océan

Les Nations Unies ont proclamé une Décennie pour les sciences océaniques au service du développement durable (la Décennie de l’océan), qui commence en 2021, pour soutenir les efforts visant à renverser le cycle du déclin de la santé des océans et garantir la pérennité des océans pour les générations futures.

La Décennie de l’océan, coordonnée et dirigée par la Commission océanographique intergouvernementale (COI) de l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’éducation, la science et la culture (UNESCO), encouragera les partenaires de partout dans le monde à collaborer pour stimuler les sciences océaniques à l’appui du développement durable de nos océans.

La Décennie de l’océan fournira une occasion unique de jeter les bases permettant de consolider la gestion de nos océans et de nos côtes dans l’intérêt de tous. Tout le monde peut participer à la Décennie de l’océan et collaborer avec les partenaires pour garantir que la science profite à la fois aux écosystèmes océaniques et à la société en général.

Vision, mission et résultats

La Décennie de l’océan fournira un cadre commun qui permettra de veiller à ce que les sciences océaniques puissent appuyer pleinement les actions des États visant la gestion durable des océans, particulièrement dans l’atteinte des objectifs du Programme de développement durable à l’horizon 2030.

Vision de la Décennie de l’océan :

Mission de la Décennie de l’océan :

Liens connexes

Signaler un problème ou une erreur sur cette page
Veuillez sélectionner toutes les cases qui s'appliquent :
Date de modification :