Language selection

Search

Spatial and temporal distribution and survival of farmed Atlantic salmon after experimental release from sea cage locations

PARR-2014-NL-04

Description

The expansion of the aquaculture industry in Newfoundland and the possible impacts escaped farmed salmon have raised questions about impacts to local wild salmon populations. Despite increased industry awareness and the implementation of a code of containment, escape events can still occur. Spawning between aquaculture-origin Atlantic salmon and wild Atlantic salmon has been scientifically documented in Canadian waters. Research is needed to better understand the potential risk of escapees on wild salmon populations.

The objective of this project was to determine the residency time, locations, migratory routes, and survival rates of escaped farmed Atlantic salmon by monitoring the movements of acoustically-tagged smolts, post-smolts, and adults, following a simulated escape of a group of fish at different times of the year. Identifying the migratory routes followed by escapees, as well as residency patterns and how they vary with the timing of the escape event (seasonal effects), informs the design of more efficient recapture strategies.

Study results can inform federal and provincial ecosystem-based management of the industry and provide key information for the development of strategies to minimize potential impacts of escaped farmed Atlantic salmon on the environment and wild salmon populations.

Findings

Research supported several other studies which indicate that recapture near the cage site is probably not feasible given the short time frames that escaped (released) fish remain in the area. Some success might be attained if recapture efforts occur over a larger area (i.e., >10 km from the release site in our study), within the first few weeks after release. Fish released in the spring exhibited a migratory behaviour highlighting the potential difficulty of recapture at that period of the year. It may be easier to capture a considerable proportion of fish that escape in late autumn (autumn and summer in our study) as opposed to spring.

This research was the first phase in documenting escapee movement to allow potential testing of recapture strategies. Recapture should be implemented as a last resort with a significant investment in containment technologies as a primary strategy.

Publications

Hamoutene, D., Cote, D., Marshall, K., Donnet, S., Cross, S.F., Hamilton, L., McDonald, S., Clarke, K. and Pennell, C. 2018. Spatial and temporal distribution of farmed Atlantic salmon after experimental release from sea cage sites in Newfoundland (Canada). Aquaculture 492:147-156.

Hamoutene, D., Costa, I., Burt, K., Lush, L. and Caines, J. 2015. Survival of farmed, wild and first generation hybrid Atlantic salmon (Salmo salar Linnaeus, 1758) to low temperatures following seawater transfer. Journal of Applied Ichthyology 31(2),:333-336.

Multimedia

Aquaculture research: Tracking released farmed salmon

Program Name

Program for Aquaculture Regulatory Research (PARR)

Year(s)

2014 - 2017

Principal Investigator(s)

Dounia Hamoutene
Research Scientist, Aquaculture Section, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Centre, Newfoundland and Labrador Region
Email: Dounia.Hamoutene@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Team Member(s)

Brian Dempson, Research Scientist, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Centre, Newfoundland and Labrador Region

Keith Clarke, Biologist, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Centre, Newfoundland and Labrador Region

Curtis Pennell, Biologist, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Centre, Newfoundland and Labrador Region

Kimberley Burt, Biologist, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Centre, Newfoundland and Labrador Region

Lynn Lush, Biologist, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Centre, Newfoundland and Labrador Region

Geoff Perry, Aquaculture Management Division, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Centre, Newfoundland and Labrador Region

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Répartition spatiotemporelle et survie des saumons atlantiques d'élevage après leur relâchement expérimental à partir de cages marines

PRRA-2014-NL-04

Description

L'expansion de l'industrie aquacole de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et le déclin des stocks de saumons sauvages ont suscité des questions quant aux impacts que l'évasion des saumons d'élevage pourrait avoir sur les populations sauvages locales. Malgré la sensibilisation accrue de l'industrie et la mise en place d'un code de confinement, il arrive encore que des évasions surviennent. Le frai entre le saumon atlantique issu de l'aquaculture et le saumon atlantique sauvage est scientifiquement documenté, grâce à des études menées dans les eaux canadiennes et à l'échelle internationale. Il faut mener des recherches pour mieux comprendre le risque que ces évasions peuvent représenter pour les populations de saumon sauvage.

Le but de ce projet est de déterminer les lieux de résidence, la durée du séjour, les routes migratoires et les taux de survie des saumons atlantiques d'élevage échappés, en surveillant les déplacements de saumoneaux, de postsaumoneaux et de saumons adultes munis d'un émetteur acoustique après l'évasion simulée d'un groupe de poissons à différents moments de l'année. En connaissant les routes migratoires suivies par les individus échappés, les tendances sur le plan de l'habitat et la façon dont ces éléments varient selon le moment où l'évasion survient (effets saisonniers), on sera en mesure d'élaborer des stratégies de recapture plus efficaces.

Les résultats de cette étude de recherche serviront de base à la gestion écosystémique de l'industrie à l'échelle fédérale et provinciale et fourniront des renseignements clés pour l'élaboration de stratégies visant à atténuer les impacts que les saumons atlantiques d'élevage échappés pourraient avoir sur le milieu et les populations de saumon sauvage.

Constatations

La recherche appuyait plusieurs autres études qui indiquent que la recapture près du site des cages n'est probablement pas réalisable, compte tenu de la courte durée pendant laquelle les poissons fugitifs (relâchés) restent dans la zone. Certains résultats pourraient être obtenus si les efforts de recapture étaient menés sur une zone plus étendue (c.‑à-d. à plus de 10 km du site de relâche dans notre étude), dans les premières semaines suivant la relâche. Le comportement de migration observé chez les poissons relâchés au printemps met en évidence la difficulté que représente la recapture à ce moment de l'année. Il serait peut-être plus facile de capturer une proportion importante des poissons qui s'échappent à la fin de l'automne (automne et été dans notre étude) comparativement au printemps.

Cette recherche constituait la première phase de consignation de données sur les déplacements des fugitifs en vue de la mise à l'essai potentielle de stratégies de recapture. La recapture devrait être une mesure de dernier recours, et un investissement important dans des technologies de confinement devrait être la première stratégie à adopter.

Publications

Hamoutene, D., Cote, D., Marshall, K., Donnet, S., Cross, S.F., Hamilton, L., McDonald, S., Clarke, K. et Pennell, C. 2018. Spatial and temporal distribution of farmed Atlantic salmon after experimental release from sea cage sites in Newfoundland (Canada). Aquaculture 492:147-156.

Hamoutene, D., Costa, I., Burt, K., Lush, L. et Caines, J. 2015. Survival of farmed, wild and first generation hybrid Atlantic salmon (Salmo salar Linnaeus, 1758) to low temperatures following seawater transfer. Journal of Applied Ichthyology 31(2),:333-336.

Multimédia

Recherche en aquaculture : où vont les saumons d'élevage relâchés dans la nature

Nom du programme

Programme de recherche sur la réglementation de l'aquaculture (PRRA)

Année

2014 - 2017

Chercheur(euse) principal(e)

Dounia Hamoutene
chercheuse scientifique, Section de l'aquaculture, Pêches et Océans Canada, Centre des pêches de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest, région de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
Courriel: Dounia.Hamoutene@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Membres de l'équipe

Brian Dempson, chercheur scientifique, Pêches et Océans Canada, Centre des pêches de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest, région de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Keith Clarke, biologiste, Pêches et Océans Canada, Centre des pêches de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest, région de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Curtis Pennell, biologiste, Pêches et Océans Canada, Centre des pêches de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest, région de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Kimberley Burt, biologiste, Pêches et Océans Canada, Centre des pêches de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest, région de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Lynn Lush, biologiste, Pêches et Océans Canada, Centre des pêches de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest, région de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Geoff Perry, Division de la gestion de l'aquaculture, Pêches et Océans Canada, Centre des pêches de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest, région de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Signaler un problème ou une erreur sur cette page
Veuillez sélectionner toutes les cases qui s'appliquent :
Date de modification :