Report on Regulatory Development Initiatives for Offshore Aquaculture in the United States

November 2017

Introduction

Marine aquaculture is expanding into deeper offshore environments in response to growing consumer demand for seafood, improved technology, and limited potential to increase capture from wild fisheries. Offshore aquaculture is being explored as the new paradigm in marine aquaculture.

Offshore aquaculture, also known as open ocean aquaculture, has been defined using a variety of criteria, including water depth, distance from the shore, wave exposure, and jurisdictional boundaries.  It is an emerging approach to marine aquaculture where fish farms are moved to deeper ocean waters away from the shore. The farms are positioned in deeper waters where ocean currents are stronger than they are near the coast. Siting aquaculture facilities in deeper waters that are farther away from the coast can potentially reduce environmental impacts and conflicts with other coastal users. Currently, offshore aquaculture is practiced in countries such as Japan, Korea, China, Norway, Ireland, Italy, Spain, Greece, Cyprus, Malta, Croatia, Portugal, Libya, the Caribbean, and Latin America.

Offshore aquaculture (i.e., aquaculture in federal waters) is currently among the most talked-about technologies associated with the future of seafood production in the United States (U.S.). The recent wave of interest in the offshore has strong roots in Chapter 24 of the U.S. Commission on Ocean Policy’s September 2004 report to Congress, entitled “An Ocean Blueprint for the 21st Century”. In its report, the Commission recommended that the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) develop a comprehensive, environmentally sound permitting and regulatory program for marine aquaculture.

In December 2004, the President’s Ocean Action Plan specifically called for national legislation to allow aquaculture in U.S. Federal waters, which extend from 3 nautical miles off most U.S. coastal states (9 nautical miles off of Texas, the west coast of Florida and Puerto Rico) to the outer limit of the Exclusive Economic Zone. NOAA’s legislative proposal to establish a regulatory framework was submitted to Congress in 2005 and again in 2007. The latter proposal called for an expanded research program for U.S. marine aquaculture.

Although Congress has yet to enact national legislation for offshore aquaculture, NOAA has continued to work with other federal agencies to enable offshore aquaculture under existing laws. While several permits have been issued for offshore aquaculture, these have been mainly for smaller scale research projects and no commercial offshore venture has ever been established in federal waters. Economic, scientific, regulatory, and social challenges remain for the industry to reach its full potential.

Fishery Management Plan for Regulating Offshore Marine Aquaculture in the Gulf of Mexico

On January 13, 2016, NOAA Fisheries published a final rule in the U.S. Federal Register (Volume 81, Number. 8) which implemented the Fishery Management Plan for Regulating Offshore Marine Aquaculture in the Gulf of Mexico (FMP).  The final rule went into effect 30 days later on February 12, 2016.

The FMP was prepared by the Gulf of Mexico Fishery Management Council (Council) and was implemented through regulations at 50 CFR part 622 (Code of Federal Regulations) under the authority of the Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act. The FMP provides a comprehensive framework for authorizing and regulating offshore aquaculture in the Gulf of Mexico (Gulf) and establishes a programmatic approach for evaluating the potential impacts of aquaculture in the region.

The purpose of the FMP and final rule is to establish a regional permitting program (i.e., Gulf Aquaculture Permit or GAP) to manage the development of an environmentally sound and economically sustainable aquaculture industry” in Federal waters of the Gulf. 

In summary, the FMP and final rule establish an aquaculture permitting process, operational conditions and restrictions, and permit duration of 10 years with 5-year renewals for up to 20 offshore aquaculture operations. Culture of native, non-genetically engineered and non-transgenic Council-managed species (excluding shrimps and corals) only are allowed. The FMP and final rule provide guidelines for approval of grow-out systems, establishes criteria for siting marine aquaculture facilities, and creates a restricted access zone for each aquaculture facility. It also establishes recordkeeping, reporting and operational requirements, as well as biological reference points and status determination criteria. Moreover, the final rule specifies framework procedures for modifying biological reference points (e.g., optimum yield, maximum sustainable yield) and management measures.

Gulf Aquaculture Permit Program for Federal Waters of the Gulf of Mexico

Permit requirements, eligibility and transferability

Application and operational requirements

Permit duration, species and systems

Siting requirements and conditions

Restricted access zones

Recordkeeping and reporting

Management reference points and framework procedures

Establishment of an interagency work group

Concluding remarks

To date, NOAA has not received any GAP applications.  NOAA continues to work with other Federal agencies to ensure coordination of permitting processes and reduce duplication and will update guidance materials for aquaculture in federal waters of the Gulf of Mexico, as necessary, in response to industry concerns and lessons learned.  Currently, NOAA is working with the Western Pacific Fishery Management Council to develop a similar program for offshore aquaculture in Hawaii and the Pacific Islands.

The inventory and identification of regulatory development initiatives and tools for offshore aquaculture in the U.S. will provide the opportunity for Canada to examine the U.S. framework and enable future alignment of Canada’s framework for offshore aquaculture to that of the U.S.

Appendix I: Federal permitting and authorization process

appendix 1

Appendix I: Federal permitting and authorization process

Pre-application meeting

Read A Guide to the Application Process for Offshore Aquaculture Operations in U.S. Federal Waters of the Gulf of Mexico.

Prepare information outlined in the Pre-Application Checklist. Once information is complete, contact NOAA to schedule the Pre-Application Meeting.

Approximately 30 days after NOAA receives the completed information, a Pre-Application Meeting will be scheduled.

Participate in the Pre-Application Meeting with all relevant federal agencies.

Complete any necessary follow-up with relevant Federal agency(ies).

Application process

Contact Federal Agencies (NMFS, USACE, EPA, BOEM, USCG) individually to request application information.

Prepare and submit NMFS Gulf Aquaculture Permit Application, including Baseline Environmental Survey requirements. Prepare and submit USACE ENG Form 4345 to USACE. Following USACE Part 10 approval, prepare Private Aids to Navigation Application Form (CG-2554). Prepare and submit EPA Forms 1 and 2B and the Baseline Environmental Survey requirements. Prepare and submit a BOEM RUE request, if applicable.

Maintain open communication with Federal Agencies throughout the application process, weigh in during public notice and comment periods and participate in any public meetings, should they occur.

Permit issuance and operational phase

Thoroughly read all permits and authorizations as soon as they are issued. Review and familiarize yourself with all permit terms and conditions. Permittees may not commence operations until all permits and authorizations have been issued.

Comply with all monitoring, reporting and recordkeeping requirements as specified in permits and authorizations. Work with Federal agencies to complete compliance reviews or inspections.

Contact Federal agencies well in advance of permit and authorization expirations or renewals. All permits and authorizations must remain current in order for a facility to remain operational.

Appendix II: Aligning the permitting processes

appendix 2

Appendix II: Aligning the permitting processes

Aligning the permitting processes. There are four separate permitting processes: 1) the United States Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) process; 2) the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) process; 3) the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Process; and 4) the Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM)/ Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement (BSEE) process. The graph shows the key steps in each process from the pre-application phase, through to the “deploy and commence operations phase.”

  1. The USACE process: This process begins with submitting a complete ENG Form 4345 to USACE. The application is then put on public notice, and sent for a Section 10 Permit Decision. After this is completed, the Section 10 Permit decision is submitted to the United States Coast Guard (USCG), and goes through the USCG process for approval.
  2. EPA process: This process begins by submitting the complete Forms 1 and 2B and the Biological Evaluations (BEs) to EPA. The application is posted for public notice, and once approved, an National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permit is issued.
  3. NOAA process: The applicant submits a completed Gulf Aquaculture Permit (GAP) application and the BEs to NOAA. The application is posted by NOAA for public notice. Once approved, a GAP is issued.
  4. BOEM/BSEE Process: The applicant submits a completed Right of Use and Easement (RUE) request to BOEM. From this, a formal RUE is established.

These processes can occur concurrently. U.S. federal agencies collaborate on issues relevant to timely decisions on the proposed offshore project; for example, aligning public notice periods, developing consistent permit provisions, and collaborating on the U.S. Endangered Species Act and the National Environmental Policy Act consultations.

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Rapport sur les initiatives de développement réglementaires pour l’aquaculture extracôtière aux États-Unis

Novembre 2017

Introduction

L’aquaculture marine s’étend dans les environnements extracôtiers profonds en réponse à la demande croissante de produits de la mer de la part des consommateurs, à la technologie améliorée, et à la possibilité limitée d’augmenter la capture des pêches sauvages. L’aquaculture extracôtière fait l’objet d’une étude comme nouveau paradigme potentiel de l’aquaculture marine.

L’aquaculture extracôtière, également connue comme l’aquaculture en haute mer, est définie selon divers critères, y compris la profondeur de l’eau, la distance de la côte, l’exposition aux vagues, et les limites de compétences. Il s’agit d’une nouvelle approche de l’aquaculture marine où les exploitations aquacoles sont déplacées dans les eaux océaniques profondes éloignées de la côte. Les exploitations sont installées dans les eaux profondes où les courants océaniques sont plus puissants que près de la côte. La sélection des sites d’installations aquacoles en eaux profondes très éloignées de la côte pourrait réduire les impacts environnementaux et les conflits avec les autres usagers de la zone côtière. Actuellement, l’aquaculture extracôtière est pratiquée dans les pays comme le Japon, la Corée, la Chine, la Norvège, l’Irlande, l’Italie, l’Espagne, la Grèce, Chypre, Malte, la Croatie, le Portugal, la Libye, les Caraïbes et l’Amérique latine.

L’aquaculture extracôtière (c.-à-d. l’aquaculture dans les eaux fédérales) fait partie actuellement des technologies dont on parle le plus associées à l’avenir de la production de produits de la mer aux États-Unis (É.-U.). Le récent engouement pour l’aquaculture extracôtière tire son origine du chapitre 24 du rapport au Congrès de septembre 2004 de la U.S. Commission on Ocean Policy, intitulé « An Ocean Blueprint for the 21st Century ». Dans son rapport, la Commission recommande que la National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) élabore un programme réglementaire et de délivrance de permis complet et respectueux de l’environnement pour l’aquaculture marine.

En décembre 2004, le Plan d’action sur les océans du Président annonçait une législation nationale afin d’autoriser l’aquaculture dans les eaux fédérales aux États-Unis, qui s’étendent au-delà de 3 milles marins de la plupart des États côtiers des États-Unis (9 milles marins au large du Texas, de la côte ouest de la Floride et de Puerto Rico) jusqu’à la limite externe de la zone économique exclusive. La proposition réglementaire de la NOAA d’établir un cadre réglementaire a été présentée au Congrès en 2005 et encore une fois en 2007. La dernière proposition prévoyait un programme de recherche élargi pour l’aquaculture marine des États-Unis.

Bien que le Congrès ait encore à adopter la législation nationale pour l’aquaculture extracôtière, la NOAA continue de travailler avec les autres organismes fédéraux en vue d’autoriser l’aquaculture extracôtière en vertu des lois existantes. Tandis que plusieurs permis ont été délivrés pour l’aquaculture extracôtière, ils l’ont été essentiellement pour des projets de recherche à plus petite échelle et aucune entreprise commerciale en mer n’a été établie dans les eaux fédérales. Il reste des défis économiques, scientifiques, réglementaires et sociaux à relever pour que l’industrie atteigne son plein potentiel.

Plan de gestion des pêches pour réglementer l’aquaculture extracôtière dans le golfe du Mexique

Le 13 janvier 2016, NOAA Fisheries a publié une règle définitive dans le U.S. Federal Register (volume 81, numéro 8) qui met en place le Plan de gestion des pêches pour réglementer l’aquaculture extracôtière dans le golfe du Mexique (PGP) (anglais seulement). La règle définitive est entrée en vigueur 30 jours après, le 12 février 2016.

Le PGP a été préparé par le Gulf of Mexico Fishery Management Council (Council) et a été mis en place par le règlement pris en vertu du titre 50, partie 622 du CFR (Code of Federal Regulations) sous l’autorité de la Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act. Le PGP fournit un cadre complet pour autoriser et réglementer l’aquaculture extracôtière dans le golfe du Mexique (golfe) et établit un programme permettant d’évaluer les éventuelles répercussions de l’aquaculture dans la région.

L’objectif du PGP et de la règle définitive est d’établir un programme régional de délivrance de permis (c.-à-d. un permis d’aquaculture dans le golfe) en vue de gérer le développement d’une industrie aquacole respectueuse de l’environnement et durable sur le plan économique dans les eaux fédérales du golfe.

En résumé, le PGP et la règle définitive établissent un processus de délivrance de permis d’aquaculture, les conditions opérationnelles et les restrictions des permis, et une durée de permis de 10 ans avec des renouvellements de 5 ans pour un maximum de 20 exploitations aquacoles en mer. Seule la culture d’espèces indigènes, non génétiquement modifiées et non transgéniques gérées par le Council (sauf les crevettes et les coraux) est autorisée. Le PGP et la règle définitive fournissent des directives pour l’approbation des systèmes d’élevage, établissent des critères pour la sélection des installations d’aquaculture marine, et créent une zone d’accès restreint pour chaque installation d’aquaculture. Ils établissent également les exigences de tenue de registres, de rapport et opérationnelles, ainsi que les points de référence biologiques et les critères de détermination de l’état. De plus, la règle définitive précise les procédures du cadre pour modifier les points de référence biologiques (p. ex., rendement optimal, rendement maximal soutenu) et les mesures de gestion.

Programme de délivrance de permis d’aquaculture dans le golfe pour les eaux fédérales du golfe du Mexique

Exigences en matière de permis, admissibilité et transférabilité

Exigences concernant les demandes et opérationnelles

Durée des permis, espèces et systèmes

Exigences et conditions liées à la sélection du site

Zones d’accès restreint

Tenue de registres et rapport

Gestion des points de référence et procédures du cadre

Établissement d’un groupe de travail interorganismes

Mot de la fin

À ce jour, la NOAA n’a pas reçu de demande de permis d’aquaculture dans le golfe. La NOAA continue de travailler avec les autres organismes fédéraux afin d’assurer la coordination des processus de délivrance de permis et de réduire le chevauchement et mettra à jour les documents d’orientation pour l’aquaculture dans les eaux fédérales du golfe du Mexique, au besoin, en réponse aux préoccupations et aux leçons apprises de l’industrie. Actuellement, la NOAA travaille avec le Western Pacific Fishery Management Council pour mettre au point un programme similaire pour l’aquaculture extracôtière à Hawaï et dans les îles du Pacifique.

L’inventaire et l’identification des initiatives et des outils de développement réglementaires pour l’aquaculture extracôtière aux États-Unis permettront au Canada d’examiner le cadre des États-Unis et de faciliter l’alignement à l’avenir du cadre du Canada pour l’aquaculture extracôtière sur celui des États-Unis.

Annexe I : Processus fédéral de délivrance de permis et d’autorisations

appendix 1

Annexe I : Processus fédéral de délivrance de permis et d’autorisations

Rencontre préalable à la demande

Lire A Guide to the Application Process for Offshore Aquaculture Operations in U.S. Federal Waters of the Gulf of Mexico.

Préparer les renseignements indiqués dans la liste de vérification de la rencontre préalable à la demande. Une fois que tous les renseignements sont réunis, contacter la NOAA pour fixer la date de la rencontre préalable à la demande.

Près de 30 jours après la réception par la NOAA des renseignements réunis, une rencontre préalable à la demande sera organisée.

Participer à la rencontre préalable à la demande avec tous les organismes fédéraux pertinents.

Effectuer tout suivi nécessaire auprès des organismes fédéraux pertinents.

Processus de demande

Contacter les organismes fédéraux (NMFS, USACE, EPA, BOEM, USCG) individuellement pour obtenir des renseignements sur la demande.

Préparer et présenter la demande de permis d’aquaculture dans le golfe du NMFS, y compris les exigences concernant le relevé environnemental de base. Préparer et présenter le formulaire USACE ENG Form 4345 au USACE. Une fois la partie 10 du USACE approuvée, préparer le formulaire Private Aids to Navigation Application Form (CG-2554). Préparer et présenter les formulaires 1 et 2B de la EPA et les exigences concernant le relevé environnemental de base. Préparer et présenter une demande RUE au BOEM, au besoin.

Maintenir une communication ouverte avec les organismes fédéraux au cours du processus de demande, donner son avis lors des périodes de commentaires et d’avis publics et participer aux réunions publiques, le cas échéant.

Délivrance de permis et phase opérationnelle

Lire attentivement tous les permis et toutes les autorisations à leur délivrance. Examiner et se familiariser avec toutes les conditions de permis. Les détenteurs de permis ne peuvent pas commencer les opérations tant que tous les permis et toutes les autorisations n’ont pas été délivrés.

Satisfaire à toutes les exigences concernant la surveillance, le rapport et la tenue de registres comme cela est indiqué dans les permis et les autorisations. Travailler avec les organismes fédéraux afin de réaliser les examens ou les inspections de conformité.

Contacter les organismes fédéraux bien avant la date d’expiration et de renouvellement des permis et des autorisations. Tous les permis et les autorisations doivent demeurer à jour pour qu’une installation puisse demeurer opérationnelle.

Annexe II : Alignement des processus de délivrance de permis

appendix 2

Annexe II : Alignement des processus de délivrance de permis

Alignement des processus de délivrance de permis. Il existe quatre processus de délivrance de permis distincts : 1) le processus du United States Army Corps of Engineers (USACE); 2) le processus de la Environmental Protection Agency (EPA); 3) le processus de la National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA); et 4) le processus du Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM)/Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement (BSEE). Le graphique illustre les étapes principales de chaque processus, de la phase préalable à la demande jusqu’à la « phase de déploiement et de début des opérations ».

  1. Processus du USACE : ce processus commence par la présentation du formulaire Engineer Form 4345 rempli au USACE. La demande est ensuite publiée comme avis public et envoyée pour une décision relative à la délivrance de permis en vertu de l'article 10. Après l’achèvement de cette étape, la décision relative à la délivrance de permis en vertu de l’article 10 est envoyée au United States Coast Guard (USCG) et est soumise à son processus d’approbation.
  2. Processus de la EPA : ce processus commence par la présentation des formulaires 1 et 2B et les évaluations biologiques (BEs) à la EPA. La demande est affichée sous forme d’avis public. Une fois la demande approuvée, un permis du National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) est délivré.
  3. Processus de la NOAA : le demandeur présente une demande de permis d’aquaculture dans le golfe remplie et les BEs à la NOAA. La NOAA publie la demande sous forme d’avis public. Une fois celle-ci approuvée, un permis d’aquaculture dans le golfe est délivré.
  4. Processus du BOEM/BSEE : le demandeur présente une demande de droit d'usage et de servitude (RUE) au BOEM. À partir de cette demande, une RUE officielle est établie.

Ces processus peuvent avoir lieu en même temps. Les organismes fédéraux américains collaborent sur les questions relatives aux décisions en temps opportuns sur le projet en mer proposé, p. ex., alignement des périodes d’avis publics, élaboration de dispositions relatives aux permis et collaboration concernant les consultations sur les lois américaines Endangered Species Act et National Environmental Policy Act.

Signaler un problème ou une erreur sur cette page
Veuillez sélectionner toutes les cases qui s'appliquent :
Date de modification :