Language selection

Search

Share and view ideas: Potential amendments to the Aquatic Invasive Species Regulations pertaining to authorities for the deposit of deleterious substances

Current status: Open

Opened on January 5, 2024 and will close to new input on March 31, 2024.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO), led by the Aquatic Invasive Species National Core Program (AIS NCP), is planning potential amendments to the federal Aquatic Invasive Species Regulations (AIS Regulations). These amendments are needed to improve the efficiency and environmental protections of authorized control activities for aquatic invasive species (AIS) that use pesticides (referred to as “pest control products” under the Pest Control Products Act).

On this page

Who is the focus of this engagement

DFO is committed to developing regulations and policies through engagement and early discussions with Canadians. We are engaging with the public, Indigenous Peoples, partners, and stakeholders to share information and seek early input on 3 changes to the AIS Regulations being considered.

All Canadians are invited to participate in the online engagement. These amendments may be of a particular interest to:

Those may include:

Background

DFO mandate

DFO is responsible for the administration and enforcement of subsections 36(3) to (6) of the Fisheries Act for subject matters such as the control or elimination of any AIS or aquatic species that represent a pest to fisheries (“Designation Order” 2014). This responsibility requires DFO to regulate the use of chemical substances (including pesticides) when used for AIS control purposes which it does through the AIS Regulations (2015) that were established under the Fisheries Act.

The federal AIS Regulations enable the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans Canada and specific federal, provincial or territorial ministers (section 18) to:

Pesticides must be registered or otherwise authorized for use by Health Canada’s Pest Management Regulatory Agency (PMRA) under the Pest Control Products Act (PCPA) before their use against an AIS can be authorized (paragraph 21(b) of the AIS Regulations).

What are aquatic invasive species?

In the context of this engagement, AIS are defined as any non-indigenous aquatic plant or animal species introduced by human activity outside of its natural or past distribution. Their introduction and spread may negatively impact:

Impacts from AIS on the environment include:

AIS can also cause socio-economic damages by impacting:

Some AIS can also cause damage to infrastructure, for example by clogging intake structures (such as reservoirs or pipes) in power stations and water treatment plants.

How are pesticides currently used to control AIS?

There are a number of control options available to federal, provincial or territorial governments and stakeholders. These options can be considered when responding to the detection of an AIS. Options may include a combination of:

In some situations, it is necessary to use pesticides to control an AIS and prevent their introduction, establishment or further spread in Canadian waters.

Pesticides registered in Canada, whose registered uses include uses against aquatic invasive species can be authorized under the AIS Regulations to control an AIS. Examples include:

Under the Fisheries Act, it is illegal to deposit, directly or indirectly, any deleterious substance into Canadian waters frequented by fish unless authorized to do so.

Anyone who wishes to use a pesticide to control an AIS must receive an authorization under the AIS Regulations (subsection 19(3)) from DFO or from the appropriate provincial or territorial regulator. In relation to the Crown’s duty to consult, these authorizations from DFO are subject to consultations with Indigenous groups whose Aboriginal and treaty rights may be affected by a specific project. If a project is approved, the authorization will include a number of conditions, in addition to those imposed under the PCPA, to ensure that the pesticide will be used as intended in an effective manner to manage impacts to the environment or human health.

Description of proposed changes

DFO’s AIS NCP is responsible for administering the federal AIS Regulations and for leading federal efforts against AIS in Canada. The AIS NCP is proposing to revise the AIS Regulations to address specific gaps and to further improve the efficiency and environmental protections of authorized projects that use pesticides to control AIS.

Your ideas and input are sought around 3 potential amendments to the AIS Regulations within the scope of this engagement. These proposed amendments seek to:

  1. expand the scope of section 21 to provide authority to deposit substances, such as “deactivating agents, reactants, agents to remove taste and odours and utility modifier adjuvants” when an authorized pesticide is deposited and where the use of the substance is referred to on the pest control product approved label, in order to mitigate potential adverse impacts of the pesticide on the environment
  2. obtain the authority for a regulator to amend, suspend, or cancel an authorization it has issued under subsection 19(3) to reduce the administrative burden on persons to whom an authorization is issued and regulators
  3. strengthen accountability by specifying that conditions of an authorization issued under subsection 19(3) must be followed by persons to whom an authorization is issued when using authorized classes of deleterious substances, including pesticides, to control an AIS

The rationale for the proposed amendments is explained in the sections below.

Feedback provided on other aspects of the AIS Regulations, including the existing power to authorize the deposit of deleterious substances to control AIS and DFO’s process to authorize projects, is beyond the scope of this engagement, but may be considered for future modifications to the AIS Regulations.

Proposed modification 1

Provide authority to deposit substances, such as “deactivating agents, reactants, agents to remove taste and odours and utility modifier adjuvants” when an authorized pesticide is deposited and where the use of the substance is referred to on the pest control product approved label, in order to mitigate potential adverse impacts of the pesticide on the environment.

Issue

Health Canada-approved labels of registered pesticides may list a number of substances that could be used together with the pesticide itself to help mitigate impacts or improve its effectiveness. Such substances currently include:

These substances can help make sure that pesticide treatments used to control AIS can be carried out effectively.
Deactivating agents, agents to remove taste and odours, reactants, and utility modifier adjuvants are not pesticides and are therefore not registered or otherwise authorized under the PCPA. Therefore, their use cannot be authorized currently under the AIS Regulations.

Example

Rotenone is one of the only pesticides that is registered in Canada for the control of invasive fish, and it is an important tool for the management of AIS in Canada. When pesticides containing rotenone are used in lotic waters (flowing waters such as rivers), the pesticide label references the use of potassium permanganate (KMnO4) with the pesticide. Potassium permanganate deactivates the rotenone before it migrates downstream of the area being treated to prevent unintended impacts to the surrounding aquatic environment.

In other cases, pest control product label directions:

Proposed amendment

The AIS Regulations were created to provide safe and effective tools to control AIS across Canada. The absence of a process to authorize the use of these other substances in conjunction with the pesticides whose labels refer to their use, can undermine the use of pesticides to control AIS.

DFO proposes updating section 21 of the AIS Regulations to add all other substances referenced on the labels of pesticides, such as “deactivating agents, reactants, agents to remove taste and odours, and utility modifier adjuvants”, to the list of approved chemical substances when using a pesticide only. The use of these substances would only be authorized when the use of the pesticide is also authorized under the AIS Regulations and when the substance is referenced on the Health Canada-approved label to be used with the pesticide.

This proposed amendment would give DFO and other regulators under the AIS Regulations the ability to authorize the use of other substances referred to on product labels of pesticides, when their use is appropriate. Proposed amendments will, therefore, harmonize the AIS Regulations with requirements on the pesticide labels, so that all existing regulatory safeguards apply to AIS control projects.

Proposed modification 2

Provide authority for a regulator to amend, suspend or cancel an authorization it has issued under subsection 19(3) of the AIS Regulations. This would reduce the administrative burden on persons to whom an authorization is issued and regulators.

Issue

A second issue relates to the absence of a process in the AIS Regulations to amend (i.e., modify), suspend or cancel an authorization issued under the AIS Regulations.

Currently, project applicants wishing to modify their subsection19(3) authorization permitting their use of pesticides that has already been approved by DFO, must submit a new project proposal to DFO for review and re-approval, regardless of the extent of the changes being proposed. A similar process must also be used for project applicants who wish to postpone their projects by suspending their authorization.

DFO and other regulators also lack the ability under the AIS Regulations to suspend or cancel a project proposing to use pesticides that they have already approved under the AIS Regulations.

Example

Projects proposing to use pesticides to control AIS are complex and require careful planning, coordination and execution. These projects may take place in remote locations that are not easily accessible, and their effectiveness may depend on circumstances that are difficult to predict (weather, water temperatures, etc.). Projects can also evolve over time in unexpected ways causing delays that require changes to the original project proposal (for example, the spread of AIS beyond the proposed project area). Projects may also need to be suspended or canceled for example due to unforeseen extreme weather events (floods, drought, etc.) or due to a non-compliance issue that risks damage to fish and fish habitat.

Proposed amendments

DFO suggests updating the AIS Regulations to give DFO and regulators that are prescribed under the AIS Regulations the authority to amend, suspend or cancel authorizations issued under subsection 19(3) of the AIS Regulations. DFO already has the authority to amend, suspend or cancel other project approvals issued under the Fisheries Act, for projects potentially causing the death of fish or the harmful alteration, disruption and destruction of fish habitat. The proposed changes would provide equal authority to DFO and regulators prescribed under the AIS Regulations over projects proposing to use pesticides to control AIS that have been authorized under the AIS Regulations.

The process to amend, suspend or cancel a project approval could be initiated by the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans Canada, other regulators prescribed under the AIS Regulations or authorization holders. Any request to amend, suspend or cancel an authorization issued for a project proposing to use pesticides to control AIS would be subject to a review similar to the initial application, as appropriate. When amending a project approval, the Minister would set out the new or revised conditions in the notification to the project applicant. In order to suspend a subsection 19(3) authorization, the Minister could include the date the work is allowed to resume, or state that the project is suspended until the applicant submits a request to update their proposal.

In the case of a project cancellation, the applicant would require a new project proposal be approved in order to continue the project and any associated activities related to the use of pesticides.

Proposed modification 3

Strengthen accountability by specifying that conditions of an authorization issued under subsection 19(3) must be followed by persons to whom an authorization is issued when using authorized classes of deleterious substances, including pesticides, to control an AIS.

Issue

When DFO or other regulators prescribed under the AIS Regulations issue a project approval to use pesticides to control AIS, the authorization may include a number of conditions specifying how the project must be conducted. These conditions are referred to as “directions for their deposit” in subsection 19(3) of the AIS Regulations. Project applicants must obey all conditions in order to make sure their project is conducted safely, effectively and in compliance with the pollution prevention section of the Fisheries Act (section 36).

Subsection 30(1) of the AIS Regulations specifies that every person to whom a direction is given under subsection 22(2), 26(1) or 27(1) of the AIS Regulations must follow the requirements specified in the direction, and are prohibited from engaging in any activity contrary to the requirements specified in the direction. This section does not include subsection 19(3) and this gap could be misinterpreted to incorrectly signify that persons to whom an authorization is issued are not required to follow conditions of authorizations issued under subsection 19(3).

Sufficient authorities already exist under the Fisheries Act to enforce conditions of authorizations issued under subsection 19(3) of the AIS Regulations. For example, a failure to respect these conditions could invalidate the legality of an authorization. This would expose a person to whom an authorization is issued to the prohibition against the deposit of deleterious substances (subsection 36(3)). However, for greater clarity it is recommended to amend the existing regulations to make it clear that a failure to respect the conditions of an authorization issued under subsection 19(3) of the AIS Regulations is, in and of itself, an offence under the regulation.

Proposed amendments

Clear requirements for persons to whom an authorization is issued to respect conditions of authorizations for projects intending to deposit pesticides are necessary to ensure that those projects are carried out properly and do not cause unacceptable harm to Canadian ecosystems.

DFO proposes to update subsection 30(1) of the AIS Regulations to make it clear that directions or conditions outlined in a project approved under subsection 19(3) must be followed by persons to whom an authorization is issued and are enforceable by regulators.

Have your say

Your ideas and input are sought around these 3 proposed amendments to the AIS Regulations. Feedback obtained through this process will be compiled and published in a “What we’ve heard report” that will be accessible to the public. This input will be used to inform the formal regulatory amendment process that will be initiated when public engagement is completed. Once the draft AIS Regulations have been developed, they will be published in the Canada Gazette Part 1 for a 30-day public comment period. These changes will be carried out according to the Cabinet Directive on Regulation from the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat.

Send us an email

Email us your ideas or comments to make yourself heard.

Participate by mail

Send a letter with your ideas and input (see Contact us below).

Attend a meeting

Virtual national information sessions are being held. Dates and software for the information sessions:

Virtual national information sessions
Session Date and time Meeting software
Virtual information session #1 (bilingual) February 28, 2024 Zoom (contact us to register)
Virtual information session #2 (bilingual) March 6, 2024 Zoom (contact us to register)

Contact us

AIS National Core Program, Biodiversity Management, Programs Sector
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
200 Kent Street
Ottawa, ON K1A 0E6
DFO.NationalAIS-EAENational.MPO@DFO-MPO.GC.CA

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Partage et consultation d’idées : Modifications potentielles au Règlement sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes concernant les pouvoirs relatifs au rejet de substances nocives

État actuel : Ouvert

Ouvert le 5 janvier 2024 et fin des nouveaux commentaires le 31 mars 2024.

Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO), sous la direction du Programme national sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes (PN EAE), planifie des projets de modification au Règlement sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes (Règlement sur les EAE) du gouvernement fédéral. Ces modifications sont nécessaires pour améliorer l’efficacité et les protections environnementales résultant des activités autorisées pour lutter contre les espèces aquatiques envahissantes (EAE) utilisant des pesticides (appelés « produits antiparasitaires » en vertu de la Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires).

Sur cette page

À qui s’adresse ce processus consultatif?

Le MPO s’est engagé à élaborer des règlements et des politiques en organisant des mobilisations et des discussions préliminaires avec les Canadiens. Nous consultons le public, les peuples autochtones, les partenaires et les intervenants afin d’échanger de l’information et de recueillir  des commentaires sur trois modifications envisagées au Règlement sur les EAE.

Tous les Canadiens sont invités à participer à la consultation en ligne. Ces modifications présentent un intérêt particulier pour :

Il peut s’agir des organismes suivants :

Contexte

Mandat du MPO

Le MPO est responsable de l’administration et de l’application des paragraphes 36(3) à (6) de la Loi sur les pêches pour des questions telles que le contrôle ou l’élimination des espèces aquatiques envahissantes ou des parasites aquatiques nuisibles aux pêches (« décret de désignation » de 2014). Le MPO doit ainsi réglementer l’utilisation de produits chimiques (y compris les pesticides) à des fins de contrôle des EAE, ce qu’il fait par l’entremise du Règlement sur les EAE (2015) qui a été établi en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches.

Le Règlement sur les EAE permet au ministre des Pêches et des Océans et à certains ministres fédéraux, provinciaux ou territoriaux (article 18) :

Les pesticides doivent être homologués ou leur utilisation autrement autorisée par l’Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire (ARLA) de Santé Canada en vertu de la Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires avant qu‘un organisme de règlementation désigné puisse en autoriser l’utilisation contre une EAE (alinéa 21b) du Règlement sur les EAE).

Définition des espèces aquatiques envahissantes

Dans le contexte de cette consultation, les espèces aquatiques envahissantes sont définies comme toute espèce de plantes ou d’animaux aquatiques non indigènes introduite par l’activité humaine en dehors de son aire de répartition naturelle ou passée. Leur introduction et leur propagation peuvent avoir une incidence négative sur :

Les répercussions des EAE sur l’environnement comprennent :

Les EAE peuvent également causer des dommages socio-économiques en ayant une incidence sur :

Certaines EAE peuvent également endommager les infrastructures, par exemple en obstruant les structures de prise d’eau (comme les réservoirs ou les tuyaux) dans les centrales électriques et les usines de traitement de l’eau.

Comment les pesticides sont-ils utilisés actuellement pour lutter contre les EAE?

Les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux et les intervenants disposent d’un certain nombre d’options de contrôle qui peuvent être prises en compte dans l’intervention à la suite de la détection d’une EAE et comprendre une combinaison des éléments suivants :

Dans certaines situations, il est nécessaire d’utiliser des pesticides pour contrôler une EAE et empêcher son introduction, son établissement ou sa propagation dans les eaux canadiennes.

Les pesticides homologués au Canada, dont les utilisations homologuées comprennent les utilisations contre les espèces aquatiques envahissantes, peuvent être autorisés en vertu du Règlement sur les EAE pour contrôler une EAE. Par exemple :

En vertu de la Loi sur les pêches, il est illégal de rejeter, directement ou indirectement, une substance nocive dans les eaux canadiennes où vivent des poissons, à moins d’y être autorisé.

Quiconque souhaite utiliser un pesticide pour contrôler une EAE doit recevoir une autorisation délivrée en vertu du Règlement sur les EAE (paragraphe 19(3)) par le MPO ou l’organisme de réglementation provincial ou territorial approprié. En ce qui concerne l’obligation de la Couronne de consulter, ces autorisations émises par le MPO font l’objet de consultations avec les groupes autochtones dont les droits ancestraux et les droits issus de traités pourraient être affectés par un projet spécifique. Si un projet est approuvé l'autorisation doit stipuler un certain nombre de conditions, en plus de celles imposées en vertu de la Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires, afin que le pesticide soit utilisé comme prévu de manière efficace pour gérer les répercussions sur l'environnement ou la santé humaine.

Description des modifications proposées

Le Programme national sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes du MPO est responsable de l’administration du Règlement fédéral sur les EAE et dirige les efforts fédéraux de lutte contre les EAE au Canada. Il propose de réviser le Règlement sur les EAE afin de combler certaines lacunes et d’améliorer encore l’efficacité et les protections environnementales des projets autorisés qui utilisent des pesticides pour lutter contre les EAE.

Nous sollicitons vos idées et vos commentaires au sujet de trois projets de modifications au Règlement sur les EAE dans le cadre de cette consultation. Ces projets de modifications visent à :

  1. élargir la portée de l'article 21 pour accorder le pouvoir de rejeter des substances comme « les agents neutralisants, les réactifs, les agents pour enlever le goût et les odeurs et les modificateurs d'utilité générale » lorsqu'un pesticide autorisé est déposé et lorsque l'utilisation de la substance est mentionnée sur l'étiquette du produit antiparasitaire approuvée, afin d'atténuer les effets nocifs potentiels du pesticide sur l'environnement.
  2. donner à un organisme de réglementation le pouvoir de modifier, de suspendre ou de révoquer une autorisation qu'il a délivrée en vertu du paragraphe 19(3) afin d'alléger le fardeau administratif des personnes à qui une autorisation est délivrée et celui des organismes de réglementation;
  3. renforcer la responsabilisation en précisant que les personnes à qui une autorisation est délivrée en vertu du paragraphe 19(3) doivent respecter les conditions de cette autorisation lorsqu'elles utilisent des catégories autorisées de substances nocives, y compris des pesticides, pour lutter contre une EAE.

La justification des projets de modification est expliquée dans les sections qui suivent.

Les commentaires fournis sur d’autres aspects du Règlement sur les EAE, incluant les autorités existantes pour autoriser le rejet ou l’immersion de substances nocives et le processus de révision du MPO pour les demandes d’autorisation règlementaire, sortent de la portée de la présente consultation, mais pourraient être pris en considération pour de futures modifications du Règlement.

Projet de modification 1

Accorder le pouvoir de rejeter des substances comme les « agents neutralisants, les réactifs, les agents pour enlever le goût et les odeurs et les modificateurs d’utilité générale » lorsqu’un pesticide autorisé est déposé et lorsque l’utilisation de la substance est mentionnée sur l’étiquette du produit antiparasitaire approuvé, afin d’atténuer les effets nocifs potentiels du pesticide sur l’environnement.

Problème

Les étiquettes des pesticides homologués approuvées par Santé Canada peuvent énumérer un certain nombre de substances qui pourraient être utilisées avec le pesticide lui-même pour aider à en atténuer les effets ou à améliorer son efficacité. Actuellement, ces substances sont les suivantes :

Ces substances peuvent contribuer à garantir l'efficacité des traitements antiparasitaires utilisés pour lutter contre les EAE.

Les agents neutralisants, les agents pour éliminer le goût et les odeurs, les réactifs et les modificateurs d’utilité générale ne sont pas des pesticides et ne sont donc pas homologués ou autrement autorisés en vertu de la Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires. Par conséquent, il n’est pas possible actuellement d’autoriser leur utilisation en vertu du Règlement sur les EAE.

Exemple

La roténone est l’un des seuls pesticides homologués au Canada pour la lutte contre les poissons envahissants, et c’est un outil important pour la gestion des espèces aquatiques envahissantes au Canada. Lorsque des pesticides contenant de la roténone sont utilisés dans les eaux lotiques (les eaux courantes, comme les rivières), l’étiquette du pesticide fait référence à l’utilisation du permanganate de potassium (KMnO4) avec le pesticide. Le permanganate de potassium neutralise la roténone avant qu’elle ne migre en aval de la zone traitée afin de prévenir les effets imprévus sur le milieu aquatique environnant.

Dans d’autres cas, les instructions figurant sur les étiquettes des produits antiparasitaires :

Projet de modification

Le Règlement sur les EAE a été créé pour fournir des outils sûrs et efficaces de lutte contre les EAE partout au Canada. L’absence de processus pour autoriser l’utilisation de ces autres substances avec les pesticides lorsque leur utilisation est mentionnée sur l’étiquette du pesticide, peut nuire à l’application de pesticides pour lutter contre les EAE.

Le MPO propose de mettre à jour l’article 21 du Règlement sur les EAE afin d’ajouter toutes les autres substances mentionnées sur les étiquettes des pesticides, comme « les agents neutralisants, les réactifs, les agents pour enlever le goût et les odeurs et les modificateurs d’utilité générale », à la liste des substances chimiques approuvées lorsqu’on utilise un pesticide seulement. L’utilisation de ces substances ne serait autorisée que lorsque l’application du pesticide est également autorisée en vertu du Règlement sur les EAE et lorsque l’utilisation la substance avec le pesticide est mentionnée sur l’étiquette approuvée par Santé Canada.

Ce projet de modification donnerait au MPO et à d’autres organismes de réglementation, en vertu du Règlement sur les EAE, la capacité d’autoriser l’utilisation d’autres substances mentionnées sur les étiquettes des produits de pesticides, lorsque leur utilisation est appropriée. Les modifications proposées permettront donc d'harmoniser le Règlement sur les EAE avec les exigences figurant sur les étiquettes des pesticides, de sorte que toutes les garanties réglementaires existantes s'appliquent aux projets autorisés utilisant des pesticides pour contrôler des EAE.

Projet de modification 2

Habiliter un organisme de réglementation à modifier, à suspendre ou à révoquer une autorisation qu’il a délivrée en vertu du paragraphe 19(3) du Règlement sur les EAE pour alléger le fardeau administratif des personnes à qui une autorisation est délivrée et celui des organismes de réglementation.

Problème

Un deuxième problème concerne l’absence de processus dans le Règlement sur les EAE pour amender (c.-à-d. modifier), suspendre ou révoquer une autorisation délivrée en vertu du Règlement.

À l’heure actuelle, les promoteurs qui souhaitent modifier l’autorisation d’utiliser des pesticides qui leur a été délivrée en vertu du paragraphe 19(3) par le MPO doivent soumettre une nouvelle proposition de projet au MPO aux fins d’examen et de nouvelle approbation, quelle que soit l’ampleur des changements proposés. Les promoteurs qui souhaitent reporter leurs projets en suspendant leur autorisation doivent eux aussi suivre un processus semblable.

Le MPO et les autres organismes de réglementation n’ont pas non plus la capacité, en vertu du Règlement sur les EAE, de suspendre ou de révoquer un projet proposant d’utiliser des pesticides qu’ils ont déjà approuvés en vertu du Règlement.

Exemple

Les projets proposant d’utiliser des pesticides pour lutter contre les EAE sont complexes et exigent une planification, une coordination et une exécution minutieuses. Ils peuvent être réalisés dans des endroits éloignés qui ne sont pas facilement accessibles et leur efficacité peut dépendre de circonstances difficiles à prévoir (conditions météorologiques, température de l’eau, etc.). Les projets peuvent également évoluer au fil du temps de façon inattendue, ce qui entraîne des retards qui nécessitent de modifier la proposition initiale (par exemple, la propagation des EAE au-delà de la zone de projet proposée). Il peut également être nécessaire de suspendre ou d’annuler les projets en raison, par exemple, de phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes imprévus (inondations, sécheresse, etc.) ou d’un problème de non-conformité qui risque de causer des dommages au poisson et à son habitat.

Projet de modification

Le MPO propose de mettre à jour le Règlement sur les EAE afin de l’autoriser, ainsi que les organismes de réglementation prescrits par le Règlement, à modifier, à suspendre ou à révoquer les autorisations délivrées en vertu du paragraphe 19(3) du Règlement. Le MPO a déjà le pouvoir de modifier, de suspendre ou de révoquer en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches, d’autres autorisations de projet qui pourraient causer la mort du poisson ou la détérioration, la destruction et la perturbation de l’habitat du poisson. Les modifications proposées donneraient au MPO et aux organismes de réglementation des pouvoirs équivalents, en vertu du Règlement sur les EAE, pour les projets autorisés aux termes du Règlement et proposant d’utiliser des pesticides pour lutter contre les EAE.

Le processus de modification, de suspension ou de révocation d’une autorisation de projet pourrait être amorcé par le ministre des Pêches et des Océans, d’autres organismes de réglementation prescrits par le Règlement sur les EAE ou les titulaires d’une autorisation. Toute demande de modification, de suspension ou de révocation d’une autorisation délivrée pour un projet proposant d’utiliser des pesticides pour lutter contre les EAE serait assujettie à un examen semblable à la demande initiale, le cas échéant. Lors de la modification d’une approbation de projet, le ministre énoncerait les conditions nouvelles ou révisées dans l’avis au promoteur du projet. Afin de suspendre une autorisation en vertu du paragraphe 19(3), le ministre pourrait inclure la date à laquelle les travaux peuvent reprendre ou déclarer que le projet est suspendu jusqu’à ce que le promoteur présente une demande de mise à jour de sa proposition.

Dans le cas d’une annulation de projet (révocation d’une autorisation), le promoteur devrait faire approuver une nouvelle proposition de projet afin de poursuivre le projet et les activités connexes liées à l’utilisation de pesticides.

Projet de modification 3

Renforcer la responsabilisation en précisant que les personnes à qui une autorisation est délivrée en vertu du paragraphe 19(3) doivent respecter les conditions de cette autorisation lorsqu’elles utilisent des catégories autorisées de substances nocives, y compris des pesticides, pour lutter contre une EAE.

Problème

Lorsque le MPO ou d’autres organismes de réglementation prescrits en vertu du Règlement sur les EAE délivrent une approbation de projet concernant l’utilisation de pesticides pour lutter contre des EAE, l’autorisation peut stipuler un certain nombre de conditions précisant comment le projet doit être mené. Ces conditions sont appelées « instructions à l’égard de leur immersion ou de leur rejet » au paragraphe 19(3) du Règlement sur les EAE. Les promoteurs doivent respecter toutes les conditions afin de s’assurer que leur projet est mené de façon sécuritaire, efficace et conforme à l’article de la Loi sur les pêches portant sur la prévention de la pollution (article 36).

Le paragraphe 30(1) du Règlement sur les EAE précise que toute personne qui fait l’objet d’une instruction donnée en vertu des paragraphes 22(2), 26(1) ou 27(1) du Règlement doit respecter les exigences spécifiées dans l’instruction et ne peut exercer aucune activité qui va à l’encontre des exigences spécifiées dans l’instruction. Cet article n’inclut pas le paragraphe 19(3) et cette lacune pourrait être mal interprétée comme signifiant que les personnes à qui une autorisation est délivrée ne sont pas tenues de respecter les conditions des autorisations délivrées en vertu du paragraphe 19(3).

Les pouvoirs déjà prévus à la Loi sur les pêches sont suffisants pour faire appliquer les conditions des autorisations délivrées en vertu du paragraphe 19(3) du Règlement sur les EAE. Par exemple, le non-respect de ces conditions pourrait invalider la légalité d’une autorisation. Une personne à qui une autorisation est délivrée serait ainsi exposée à l’interdiction de rejeter des substances nocives [paragraphe 36(3)]. Toutefois, pour plus de clarté, il est recommandé de modifier le règlement existant afin d’indiquer clairement que le défaut de respecter les conditions d’une autorisation délivrée en vertu du paragraphe 19(3) du Règlement sur les EAE constitue en soi une infraction au Règlement.

Projet de modification

Il est nécessaire d’indiquer clairement que les personnes à qui une autorisation est délivrée sont tenues de respecter les conditions des autorisations pour les projets visant à rejeter des pesticides afin que ces projets soient réalisés correctement et qu’ils ne causent pas de dommages inacceptables aux écosystèmes canadiens.

Le MPO propose de mettre à jour le paragraphe 30(1) du Règlement sur les EAE afin qu’il soit clair que les instructions ou les conditions énoncées dans un projet approuvé en vertu du paragraphe 19(3) doivent être suivies par les personnes à qui une autorisation est délivrée et qu’elles sont exécutoires par les organismes de réglementation.

À vous la parole

Nous sollicitons vos idées et vos commentaires au sujet de ces trois projets de modification au Règlement sur les EAE. Les commentaires recueillis dans ce processus seront compilés et publiés dans un « Rapport sur ce que nous avons entendu » qui sera accessible au public. Ils serviront à guider le processus officiel de modification de la réglementation qui sera lancé lorsque la consultation du public sera terminée. Une fois le projet de Règlement sur les EAE élaboré, il sera publié dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada pour une période de commentaires publics de 30 jours. Ces modifications seront effectuées conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur la réglementation du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada.

Envoyez-nous un courriel!

Envoyez-nous vos idées ou vos commentaires par courriel pour vous faire entendre.

Participez par la poste

Envoyez une lettre contenant vos idées et vos commentaires (voir Coordonnées ci-dessous).

Assistez à une réunion

Des séances d’information nationales virtuelles sont organisées. Les dates et le logiciel des séances d’information :

Séances d’information nationales virtuelles
Séance Date et heure Logiciel de réunion
Séance d’information virtuelle n° 1 (bilingue) 28 février 2024 Zoom (communiquez avec nous pour vous inscrire)
Séance d’information virtuelle n° 2 (bilingue) 6 mars 2024 Zoom (communiquez avec nous pour vous inscrire)

Coordonnées

Programme national sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes, Gestion de la biodiversité, Secteur des programmes
Pêches et Océans Canada
200, rue Kent Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0E6
DFO.NationalAIS-EAENational.MPO@DFO-MPO.GC.CA

Date de modification :