Identifying and Reporting Blue Whales

DFO Research Scientist, Dr. Hilary Moors-Murphy, studies and monitors whales in Eastern Canada. She uses rare video footage and photos to show you how to identify whales on the water and report your sighting.

Transcript

Narrator: "Fisheries and Oceans Canada presents: Identifying and Reporting Blue Whales. DFO Research Scientist, Dr. Hilary Moors-Murphy, studies and monitors whales in Eastern Canada. She will help you identify these incredibly large whales. And maybe one day you’ll let her know when you see a Blue Whale too."

Dr. Hilary Moors-Murphy: "Blue Whales are an endangered species. Blue Whales occur throughout the North Atlantic Ocean and are most often seen in eastern Canada in spring, summer and fall. These whales have a huge blowhole and can often be spotted from a distance by their tall, straight blow. When Blue Whales come to the surface, we see their blow first, then their back, and then their small dorsal fin. Blue Whales can be easily distinguished from other large whales by their mottled blue-grey colour. This lighter colour can appear light blue underwater. These whales also have a small dorsal fin located far down their back. Growing up to 30 meters in length, Blue Whales are the largest creatures to ever live on Earth.

"Please help DFO monitor Blue Whales and report all sightings. Remember to provide important details about your sighting, including the number and type of whales seen, the date and time, and the location, such as your latitude and longitude. When possible, please share your photos and video as well. To report Blue Whale sightings, please call 1-844-800-8568 or email XMARWhaleSightings@dfo-mpo.gc.ca. If you see entangled, injured or dead whales, please contact the Marine Animal Response Society as soon as possible at 1-866-567-6277 or VHF Channel 16 or email marineanimalresponse@gmail.com."

Savoir identifier le rorqual bleu et en signaler l'observation

Une chercheuse de Pêches et Océans Canada, Mme Hilary Moors-Murphy, étudie et surveille les baleines dans l'est du Canada. Elle utilise de rares photos et séquences vidéo pour vous montrer comment identifier les rorquals bleus à la surface de l'eau et signaler vos observations.

Transcription

Narratrice : « Pêches et Océans Canada présente : Savoir identifier le rorqual bleu et en signaler l’observation. Une chercheuse de Pêches et Océans Canada, Mme Hilary Moors-Murphy, étudie et surveille les baleines dans l’est du Canada. Elle va vous aider à identifier ces immenses baleines. Peut-être qu’un jour, vous lui signalerez vos propres observations de rorquals bleus.

Le rorqual bleu est en voie de disparition. Les rorquals bleus se déplacent dans l’ensemble de l’Atlantique Nord, mais dans l’est du Canada, c’est au printemps, à l’été et à l’automne qu’on les observe le plus souvent. Ces baleines ont un très grand évent et sont repérables de loin grâce à leur souffle haut et bien droit. Alors que le rorqual bleu remonte à la surface, on voit son souffle en premier lieu, puis son dos, puis sa petite nageoire dorsale. Le rorqual bleu se distingue facilement des autres espèces de grandes baleines par ses taches bleues et grises. Cela peut lui donner une couleur bleu pâle quand il est sous l’eau. Ces baleines ont également une petite nageoire dorsale vers le bas de leur dos. Pouvant atteindre jusqu’à 30 mètres de long, le rorqual bleu est le plus gros animal qui ait jamais vécu sur terre.

Aidez le MPO à surveiller les rorquals bleus. Et n’oubliez pas de signaler vos observations. Il vous faudra donner des détails comme le nombre et le type des baleines observées, la date et l’heure de l’observation, ainsi que l’endroit et ses coordonnées. Si possible, envoyez-nous vos photos et vos vidéos. Pour signaler une observation de rorqual bleu, veuillez composer le 1-844-800-8568 ou envoyer un courriel à : XMARwhalesightings@dfo-mpo.gc.ca. Si vous voyez une baleine prise dans un filet, blessée ou morte, veuillez communiquer dès que possible avec la Marine Animal Response Society au 1-866-567-6277, ou par la bande radio VHF 16, ou par courriel à marineanimalresponse@gmail.com. »