Recreational Fishing in Canada

Survey of Recreational Fishing in Canada


Cover page of the 2015 Survey

2015 Survey of Recreational Fishing in Canada


The 2015 Survey of Recreational Fishing in Canada will collect information about recreational fishing activities to assess the economic and social importance of recreational fisheries to Canada's provinces and territories. This nationally-coordinated study provides the most comprehensive information on recreational fisheries activities and harvests in all regions of the country. It is also the most up-to-date source of detailed statistics on the economic contribution made by anglers at both provincial/territorial and national levels.


Cover page of the 2010 Survey of Recreational Fishing in Canada

2010 Survey of Recreational Fishing in Canada


The 2010 Survey of Recreational Fishing in Canada collected information about recreational fishing activities to assess the economic and social importance of recreational fisheries to Canada's provinces and territories. This nationally-coordinated study provides the most comprehensive information on recreational fisheries activities and harvests in all regions of the country. It is also the most up-to-date source of detailed statistics on the economic contribution made by anglers at both provincial/territorial and national levels.
PDF Format (537 KB)    HTML Version



Cover page of the 2005 Survey of Recreational Fishing in Canada

2005 Survey of Recreational Fishing in Canada


The 2005 Survey of Recreational Fishing in Canada collected information about recreational fishing activities to assess the economic and social importance of recreational fisheries to Canada's provinces and territories. This nationally-coordinated study provides the most comprehensive information on recreational fisheries activities and harvests in all regions of the country. It is also the most up-to-date source of detailed statistics on the economic contribution made by anglers at both provincial/territorial and national levels.

PDF format (2,129 KB)   HTML Version  


2000 Survey of Recreational Fishing in Canada


The 2000 Survey of Recreational Fishing in Canada collected information about recreational fishing in Canada for the year 2000 to assess the economic and social importance of recreational fisheries to the provinces, the territories and the country as a whole. This survey was conducted by Statistical Services of the Department of Fisheries and Oceans headquarters in Ottawa in cooperation with all provincial and territorial fisheries licensing agencies, and the Pacific regional office of the Department. This is the first survey that reports on recreational fishing in Nunavut, Canada's newest territory.
HTML Version  


1995 Survey of Recreational Fishing in Canada


The 1995 Survey of Recreational Fishing in Canada collected information about recreational fishing in Canada in 1995 which indicates the economic and social importance of recreational fisheries to the country. This survey was conducted by the Statistical Services unit of the federal Department of Fisheries and Oceans in Ottawa, in cooperation with provincial and territorial governments.
HTML Version  


1990 Survey of Recreational Fishing in Canada


The 1990 Survey of Recreational Fishing in Canada collected information about recreational fishing in Canada in 1990 to assess the economic and social importance of recreational fisheries to the country. This survey was conducted by the Surveys Unit of the Department of Fisheries and Oceans headquarters in Ottawa, in cooperation with all provincial and territorial fisheries and licensing agencies, and the Pacific regional office of the Department.
HTML Version  

2007 Survey of the Recreational Cod Fishery of Newfoundland and Labrador


Cover page of the 2007 Survey of the Recreational Cod Fishery of Newfoundland and Labrador

2007 Survey of the Recreational Cod Fishery of Newfoundland and Labrador


With the 2007 opening of the fishery came a pledge by the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, Loyola Hearn, to conduct a post-season survey of catch and effort in the recreational cod fishery. It was considered essential, given the number of participants in the fishery, that an assessment of activity and success in the fishery be undertaken, in addition to normal surveillance of the fishing activity by DFO patrols. This report provides highlights, summary statistics and detailed information tables on all aspects of the survey.
PDF format (396 KB)   HTML Version  


Date modified:

Pêche Récréative au Canada

Enquête sur la pêche récréative au Canada


Page couverture de la publication 2015

Enquête sur la pêche récréative au Canada 2015


L'enquête de 2015 sur la pêche récréative au Canada recueillira de l'information sur les activités de pêche récréative afin d'évaluer l'importance économique et sociale de ces activités dans les provinces et les territoires du Canada. Cette enquête coordonnée à l'échelle nationale présente l'information la plus complète sur les activités de pêche récréative et les récoltes de poissons dans toutes les régions du pays. Il s'agit également de la source la plus à jour de statistiques détaillées sur la contribution économique effectuée par les pêcheurs aux échelons provinciaux/territoriaux et national.


Page couverture de la publication Enquête sur la pêche récréative au Canada 2010

Enquête sur la pêche récréative au Canada 2010


L'enquête de 2010 sur la pêche récréative au Canada a permis de recueillir de l'information sur les activités de pêche récréative afin d'évaluer l'importance économique et sociale de ces activités dans les provinces et les territoires du Canada. Cette enquête coordonnée à l'échelle nationale présente l'information la plus complète sur les activités de pêche récréative et les récoltes de poissons dans toutes les régions du pays. Il s'agit également de la source la plus à jour de statistiques détaillées sur la contribution économique effectuée par les pêcheurs aux échelons provinciaux/territoriaux et national.
Format PDF (564 KB)   Version HTML  



Page couverture de la publication Enquête sur la pêche récréative au Canada 2005

Enquête sur la pêche récréative au Canada 2005


L'Enquête de 2005 sur la pêche récréative au Canada a permis de recueillir de l'information sur les activités de pêche récréative afin d'évaluer l'importance économique et sociale des pêches récréatives dans les provinces et territoires du Canada. Cette enquête coordonnée à l'échelle nationale présente l'information la plus complète sur les activités de pêche récréative et les récoltes de poissons dans toutes les régions du pays. Il s'agit également de la source la plus à jour de statistiques détaillées sur la contribution économique effectuée par les pêcheurs aux échelons provinciaux/territoriaux et national.
Format PDF (1 888 KB)   Version HTML  


Enquête sur la pêche récréative au Canada 2000


L'enquête sur la pêche récréative au Canada en 2000 a permis de recueillir de l'information sur cette activité pratiquée au Canada en 2000, pour évaluer l'importance au niveau économique et social de la pêche récréative pour les Canadiens. Cette enquête a été réalisée par Services statistiques à l'administration centrale du ministère des Pêches et des Océans à Ottawa, en collaboration avec tous les organismes provinciaux et territoriaux responsables des pêches et de la délivrance des permis, et avec le bureau régional du Pacifique qui relève du Ministère. L'enquête de 2000 est la première qui traite le Nunavut comme un nouveau territoire.
Version HTML  


Enquête sur la pêche récréative au Canada 1995


L'Enquête de 1995 sur la pêche récréative au Canada a permis de recueillir des données qui révèlent l'importance économique et sociale de cette activité pour le Canada. Elle a été réalisée par les Services statistiques du ministère des Pêches et des Océans, à Ottawa, en collaboration avec les gouvernements des provinces et des territoires.
Version HTML  


Enquête sur la pêche récréative au Canada 1990


L'enquête sur la pêche récréative au Canada en 1990 a permis de recueillir de l'information sur cette activité pratiquée au Canada en 1990, pour évaluer l'importance au niveau économique et social de la pêche récréative pour les Canadiens. Cette enquête a été réalisée par l'Unité des enquêtes à l'administration centrale du ministère des Pêches et des Océans à Ottawa, en collaboration avec tous les organismes provinciaux et territoriaux responsables des pêches et de la délivrance des permis, et avec le bureau régional du Pacifique qui relève du Ministère.
Version HTML  


Enquête de 2007 sur la pêche récréative de la morue à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador disponible


Page couverture de la publication Enquête de 2007 sur la pêche récréative de la morue à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador disponible

Enquête de 2007 sur la pêche récréative de la morue à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador disponible


À l'ouverture de la pêche récréative de la morue en 2007, le ministre des Pêches et des Océans, l'honorable Loyola Hearn, s'est engagé à procéder à une enquête sur les prises et l'effort à la fin de la saison. Il était considéré comme essentiel, étant donné le nombre de participants, qu'une évaluation du niveau d'activité et de succès de la pêche soit effectuée, en plus de la surveillance routinière des activités de pêche par les agents du MPO. Le présent rapport contient les points saillants, des statistiques sommaires et des tableaux de données détaillées sur tous les aspects de l'enquête.
Format PDF (607 KB)   Version HTML