Recreational Fishing

Archived information

The Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

1995 Survey of Recreational Fishing in Canada

The 1995 Survey of Recreational Fishing in Canada collected information about recreational fishing in Canada in 1995 which indicates the economic and social importance of recreational fisheries to the country. This survey was conducted by the Statistical Services unit of the federal Department of Fisheries and Oceans in Ottawa, in cooperation with provincial and territorial governments.

The component provincial and territorial surveys formed part of a nationally coordinated study which provides data on topics of interest to the public and government fisheries managers. The results of these surveys provide the most authoritative and up-to-date information on activity and harvest in our recreational fisheries. As well, they provide the only detailed source of information on the economic dimensions of recreational fisheries across all regions of the country. Once aggregated, the results of the surveys are used to provide managers and researchers with nation-wide data. These data are used to assess changes with respect to the level of fishing effort as well as to determine the economic impacts of angler expenditures at both the regional and national levels.

The 1995 survey was the fifth in the series of surveys that have been undertaken once every five years since 1975. Highlights from previous surveys were also published in bulletins similar to this one.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

  1. Survey Highlights
    » Summary
    » Comparisons with 1990
    » Angler Profile
    » Fishing Effort
    » Harvest
    » Nonresident Trip Characteristics
    » Expenditures and Investments
    » Willingness to Pay

  2. Appendix 1: Detailed Statistical Tables
  3. Appendix 2: Methodology
  4. Appendix 3: Glossary of Terms
  5. Appendix 4: Survey Contacts by Jurisdiction
  6. Appendix 5: Table of Comparisons 1990 - 1995 (Excluding Ontario Resident Anglers)

Pêche Récréative

Informations archivées

La Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

L'Enquête de 1995 sur la pêche récréative au Canada

L'Enquête de 1995 sur la pêche récréative au Canada a permis de recueillir des données qui révèlent l'importance économique et sociale de cette activité pour le Canada. Elle a été réalisée par les Services statistiques du ministère des Pêches et des Océans, à Ottawa, en collaboration avec les gouvernements des provinces et des territoires.

Les volets provinciaux et territoriaux de l'enquête s'inscrivent dans le cadre d'une étude coordonnée à l'échelle nationale dont l'objectif est de recueillir des données sur une vaste gamme de sujets intéressant la population et les gestionnaires des pêches de divers ordres de gouvernement. Les résultats de ces enquêtes constituent l'information la plus digne de foi et la plus récente sur les activités et les prises dans le cadre de la pêche récréative au Canada. Ils constituent en outre la seule source d'information détaillée sur les dimensions économiques de la pêche récréative dans toutes les régions du pays. Une fois regroupés, les résultats des enquêtes forment la base des données nationales dont se servent gestionnaires et chercheurs. Ces données permettent d'évaluer tout changement dans la pratique de cette activité et à déterminer l'incidence économique des dépenses des pêcheurs récréatifs, tant à l'échelle régionale que nationale.

L'enquête de 1995 était la cinquième d'une série d'enquêtes menées tous les cinq ans depuis 1975. Les résultats saillants des enquêtes précédentes ont été publiés dans des bulletins semblables à celui-ci.

Tables des matières

  1. Points saillants
    » Comparisons par rapport à 1990
    » Profil du pêcheur
    » Effort de pêche
    » La prise
    » Caractéristiques des voyages des non-résidents
    » Dépenses et investissements
    » Volonté de payer
  2. Annexe 1 : Tableaux de statistiques détaillés
  3. Annexe 2 : Méthodologie
  4. Annexe 3 : Vocabulaire utilisé
  5. Annexe 4 : Personnes- ressources, selon la province, le territoire ou le secteur
  6. Annexe 5 : Comparisons des statistiques, 1990 - 1995 à l'exclusion des pêcheurs résidents de l'Ontario