Recreational Fishing

Archived information

The Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

1990 Survey of Recreational Fishing in Canada

The 1990 Survey of Recreational Fishing in Canada collected information about recreational fishing in Canada in 1990 to assess the economic and social importance of recreational fisheries to the country. This survey was conducted by the Surveys Unit of the Department of Fisheries and Oceans headquarters in Ottawa, in cooperation with all provincial and territorial fisheries and licensing agencies, and the Pacific regional office of the Department.

The component provincial and territorial surveys are part of a nationally coordinated study conducted to provide data on a wide variety of topics of interest to fisheries managers at the various levels of government. The results of these surveys provide the most authoritative and up-to-date information on activity and harvest in our recreational fisheries. As well, they provide the only detailed information on the economic dimensions of the recreational fisheries in all regions of the country. Once aggregated, the results of the surveys form the base of information used to provide managers and researchers with nation-wide data. This base is used to assess changes with respect to pressure on fisheries resources as well as to determine the economic contribution made by anglers at both the regional and national levels.

The 1990 survey was the fourth in the series of surveys begun in 1975. Highlights from previous surveys were reported in bulletins published under similar titles.

This report presents both the highlights of the aggregated results from the 1990 surveys as well as detailed tables of common data. Information for each province and territory and for Pacific tidal waters was provided to the responsible licensing agencies for assessment and acceptance for use in this report.

Table of Contents

  1. Survey Highlights
    » Angler Profile
    » Fishing Effort
    » Harvest
    » Non-resident Trip Characteristics
    » Expenditures and Investments
    » Willingness to Pay
    » Conclusion

  2. Appendix 1: Detailed Statistical Tables
  3. Appendix 2: Methodology
  4. Appendix 3: Glossary of Terms
  5. Appendix 4: Survey Contacts by Jurisdiction

Pêche récréative

Informations archivées

La Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

L'enquête de 1990 sur la pêche récréative au Canada

L'enquête sur la pêche récréative au Canada en 1990 a permis de recueillir de l'information sur cette activité pratiquée au Canada en 1990, pour évaluer l'importance au niveau économique et social de la pêche récréative pour les Canadiens. Cette enquête a été réalisée par l'Unité des enquêtes à l'administration centrale du ministère des Pêches et des Océans à Ottawa, en collaboration avec tous les organismes provinciaux et territoriaux responsables des pêches et de la délivrance des permis, et avec le bureau régional du Pacifique qui relève du Ministère.

Les volets des enquêtes provinciale et territoriale font partie d'une étude coordonnée au niveau national qui vise à procurer des données sur une vaste gamme de sujets qui intéressent les gestionnaires des pêches à divers niveaux du gouvernement. Les résultats de ces enquêtes fournissent les données les plus dignes de foi et les plus récentes sur les activités et les prises dans le cadre de la pêche récréative au pays. En outre, ils fournissent la seule information détaillée sur les aspects économiques de la pêche récréative dans toutes les régions du pays. Une fois regroupés, les résultats des enquêtes forment la base des données dont se servent des gestionnaires et des chercheurs dans tout le pays. Cette base permet d'évaluer les changements relatifs aux pressions exercées sur les ressources halieutiques, et de déterminer la contribution économique des pêcheurs récréatifs, aux niveaux régional et national.

L'enquête de 1990 était la quatrième d'une série entreprise en 1975. Les points saillants des enquêtes précédentes ont été publiés dans des bulletins qui portaient le même titre.

Le présent bulletin expose les points saillants des résultats de toutes les enquêtes de 1990 et des tableaux détaillés renfermant des données communes. Les informations pour chaque province et territoire et pour les eaux à marées du Pacifique ont été fournies aux bureaux des organismes de délivrance de permis de pêche pour les faire évaluer et approuver aux fins du présent rapport.

Table des matières

  1. Points saillants
    » Profil du pêcheur
    » Effort de pêche
    » La prise
    » Caractéristiques des voyages des non-résidents
    » Dépenses et investisssements
    » Volonté de payer
    » Conclusion

  2. Annexe 1 : Tableaux de statistiques détaillés
  3. Annexe 2 : Méthodologie
  4. Annexe 3 : Vocabulaire utilisé
  5. Annexe 4 : Personnes-ressources, selon la province, le territoire ou le secteur