Shorttail, or Jensen's, Skate

Amblyraja jenseni

Male shorttail (or jensen's) skate (Amblyraja jenseni) dorsal view
Male shorttail (or jensen's) skate (Amblyraja jenseni) dorsal view
Male shorttail (or jensen's) skate (Amblyraja jenseni) ventral view
Male shorttail (or jensen's) skate (Amblyraja jenseni) ventral view
Female shorttail (or jensen's) skate (Amblyraja jenseni) dorsal view
Female shorttail (or jensen's) skate (Amblyraja jenseni) dorsal view
Female shorttail (or jensen's) skate (Amblyraja jenseni) ventral view
Female shorttail (or jensen's) skate (Amblyraja jenseni) ventral view

Description

The shorttail skate - also known as Jensen's skate - is recognizable by its relatively short tail; the number of rows of sharp teeth in each of its jaws (56 - 66 rows); and its thorn-like spine pattern. Specifically, the shorttail skate has a median row of 24 - 31 large spines beginning at the nuchal region (or the nape of the neck) and continuing to first dorsal. Approaching and onto the tail, the thorns become smaller and more crowded. Other spines include 2 - 4 large spines on each shoulder, 1 large spine on the inner side of each spiracle, and 2 - 3 spines along the inner margin of each eye. Thorns are lacking on the anterior margins and mid-posterior parts of the pectorals, and on either side of the mid-dorsal ridge. Smaller, younger specimens have small spines on the ridge between the eyes and snout, which are lost in older individuals. The ventral surface of the shorttail skate is smooth. Two, slightly separated dorsal fins are located near the tip of the tail. The caudal fin is low, and the pelvics are deeply concave. Shortail skates are light grayish brown dorsally - with the margins of their fins being slightly darker - and white or yellowish to gray ventrally.

Size

The shorttail skate reaches a maximum size of approximately 74.3 cm TL (male) or 85 cm TL (female).

Range

This species is only reported occasionally in northwest Atlantic waters, with captures occurring from Halifax , NS and Georges Bank southward to off New England. It also occurs in Icelandic waters.

Habitat

The shorttail skate is a deepwater or bathydemersal species occurring from 336 - 840 m based on records from the Canadian Atlantic; and from 1907 - 2294 m based on records from off Georges Bank and southern New England, where it was captured in water temperatures between 3 - 4°C.

Life History

Unknown

Diet

The diet of this species has not yet been fully described; however, it is presumed to feed predominantly on free-swimming crustaceans and small fishes. A redfish was found in the stomach of one specimen taken on the Grand Bank.

Reproduction

Oviparous. Fecundity is assumed to be less than 100 individuals. For a look at the egg capsules of the shorttail skate, click on the link Identification of NW Atlantic Skate Egg Capsules

Close-up of the claspers and underside of the tail of a shorttail (or Jensen's) skate (Amblyraja jenseni)
Close-up of the claspers and underside of the tail of a shorttail (or Jensen's) skate (Amblyraja jenseni)
Female young of the year (YOY) shorttail or Jensen's skate (Amblyraja jenseni)
Female young of the year (YOY) shorttail or Jensen's skate (Amblyraja jenseni)

Raie à queue courte ou raie de Jensen

Amblyraja jenseni

Vue dorsale d'une raie à queue courte ou raie de Jensen (Amblyraja jenseni) mâle.
Vue dorsale d'une raie à queue courte ou raie de Jensen (Amblyraja jenseni) mâle.
Vue ventrale d'une raie à queue courte ou raie de Jensen (Amblyraja jenseni) mâle.
Vue ventrale d'une raie à queue courte ou raie de Jensen (Amblyraja jenseni) mâle.
Vue dorsale d'une raie à queue courte ou raie de Jensen (Amblyraja jenseni) femelle.
Vue dorsale d'une raie à queue courte ou raie de Jensen (Amblyraja jenseni) femelle.
Vue ventrale d'une raie à queue courte ou raie de Jensen (Amblyraja jenseni) femelle.
Vue ventrale d'une raie à queue courte ou raie de Jensen (Amblyraja jenseni) femelle.

Description

La raie à queue courte, aussi appelée raie de Jensen, est reconnaissable à sa queue relativement courte, le nombre de rangées de dents pointues dans chacune de ses mâchoires (56-66 rangées) et les motifs formés par ses épines. Plus précisément, la raie à queue courte est dotée d'une rangée médiane de 24 à 31 grosses épines, depuis la région nucale jusqu'à la première nageoire dorsale. Les épines deviennent plus petites et concentrées sur la queue et sur son pourtour. On trouve également de deux à quatre épines sur chaque épaule, une grosse épine sur le côté interne de chaque spiracle, et deux ou trois épines le long du bord interne de chaque œil. Les épines sont absentes des bords antérieurs et du milieu des parties postérieures des nageoires pectorales, ainsi que de chaque côté de la ligne médiane du dos. Les spécimens plus petits et plus jeunes sont dotés de petites épines entre les yeux et sur le museau, qui finissent par tomber. La surface ventrale de la raie à queue courte est lisse. Deux nageoires dorsales légèrement séparées se trouvent près de l'extrémité de la queue. La nageoire caudale est basse, et les nageoires pelviennes sont fortement concaves. Le dos de la raie à queue courte est gris-brun pâle (le bord des nageoires est légèrement plus foncé) et son ventre peut être de couleur blanche ou jaunâtre à gris.

Taille

La raie à queue courte atteint une longueur totale maximale d'environ 74,3 cm (mâle) ou 85 cm (femelle).

Aire de répartition

Cette espèce n'est qu'occasionnellement signalée dans l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest; on compte quelques captures entre Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse, et le banc de Georges vers le Sud jusqu'au large de la Nouvelle-Angleterre. Elle est aussi présente dans les eaux de l'Islande.

Habitat

La raie à queue courte est une espèce bathydémersale ou qui vit en eaux profondes de 336 à 840 m de profondeur d'après les observations dans le Canada atlantique, et de 1 907 à 2 294 m d'après les observations au large du banc de Georges et au sud de la Nouvelle-Angleterre, où des spécimens ont été capturés dans des eaux dont la température était comprise entre 3 et 4 °C.

Cycle biologique

Inconnu

Régime alimentaire

On ne connaît pas précisément le régime alimentaire de cette espèce; cependant, on pense qu'elle se nourrit principalement de crustacés nageant librement et de petits poissons. On a trouvé un sébaste dans l'estomac d'un spécimen capturé sur le Grand Banc.

Reproduction

Cette espèce est ovipare. Sur le plan de la fécondité, on suppose qu'elle pond moins de 100 œufs par an. Pour voir à quoi ressemblent les capsules d'œuf de la raie à queue courte, cliquez sur le lien Identification des capsules d'œuf de raies de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest.

Vue rapprochée des ptérygopodes et du dessous de la queue d'une raie à queue courte ou raie de Jensen (Amblyraja jenseni).
Vue rapprochée des ptérygopodes et du dessous de la queue d'une raie à queue courte ou raie de Jensen (Amblyraja jenseni).
Raie à queue courte ou raie de Jensen (Amblyraja jenseni) femelle jeune de l'année.
Raie à queue courte ou raie de Jensen (Amblyraja jenseni) femelle jeune de l'année.