Roughtail Stingray

Dasyatis centroura

Description

As with all stingrays, the roughtail stingray is easily distinguished by its serrated tail spine embedded within the tough skin of its long, slender tail. Also present on the tail are a number of large, well-spaced mid-dorsal bucklers that end anterior to the tail spine, as well as numerous rows of small spines that extend to the tapered tip of the tail. The dorsal caudal finfold is absent, and the ventral finfold is long and not easily seen. The disc of the roughtail stingray is subquadrangular in shape, ending in a blunt snout. Conspicuous tubercles are visible on the outer parts of the disc. Colouration is variable, ranging from olivaceous, olive brown, brownish to black above, and from white to yellowish-white below.

Size

The roughtail stingray may attain total lengths of over 100 cm.

Range

This species is subtropical, ranging in the western Atlantic from off Cape Cod southward to southeastern Florida and the Gulf of Mexico. It is very rare to find this species north of Cape Cod ; however, it is a straggler during summer months in the Gulf of Maine and on Georges Bank. A specimen (91.4 cm TL) was reportedly caught in Northumberland Strait in 1953, but positive identification is uncertain. In the eastern Atlantic, this species is widespread from the southern Bay of Biscay to Angola, occurring also in the Mediterranean Sea, Madeira, and around the Canary Islands.

Habitat

This species is demersal, inhabiting coastal marine and brackish waters ranging in depth from 3 to 270 m. It tends to occur primarily above muddy or sandy bottoms.

Life History

Unknown

Diet

The diet of the roughtail stingray consists of a variety of bottom-living organisms, including invertebrates such as crustaceans, mollusks, annelid worms, as well as small fishes.

Reproduction

The roughtail stingray is ovoviviparous, with 2 - 6 embryos developing within the oviduct of the female prior to being born live.

Interaction with people

In some areas of the world, the wings of the roughtail stingray are marketed fresh, smoked, dried, and/or salted. This species is also landed for its oil, and for the production of fishmeal. It is potentially dangerous to bathers and waders due to its venomous spine. In Canada, however, this species is of no commercial importance and poses little or no threat to humans due to its rarity.

Pastenague à queue épineuse

Dasyatis centroura

Description

Comme pour toutes les pastenagues, on reconnaît facilement la pastenague à queue épineuse grâce à l'épine caudale dentelée plantée dans la peau épaisse de sa longue queue effilée. Sa queue est aussi dotée de nombreux gros boucliers espacés au milieu du dos jusqu'à l'extrémité antérieure de l'épine caudale, ainsi qu'un grand nombre de rangées de petites épines qui s'étendent jusqu'à l'extrémité effilée de la queue. La nageoire caudale est dépourvue de repli sur sa partie dorsale, et le repli ventral est long et difficile à voir. Le disque de la pastenague à queue épineuse a la forme d'un quadrilatère aux coins arrondis se terminant par un museau émoussé. Des tubercules proéminents sont visibles sur les parties externes du disque. La couleur est variable, allant d'olivâtre, de brun olive et de brunâtre à noir sur le dessus, et de blanc à blanc jaunâtre en dessous.

Taille

La pastenague à queue épineuse peut atteindre une longueur totale de plus de 100 cm.

Aire de répartition

Il s'agit d'une espèce subtropicale présente de l'ouest de l'Atlantique au large de Cape Cod vers le Sud jusqu'au sud-est de la Floride et le golfe du Mexique. Il est très rare d'observer cette espèce au nord de Cape Cod; toutefois, la pastenague à queue épineuse est une visiteuse pendant l'été dans le golfe du Maine et sur le banc de Georges. La capture d'un spécimen (91,4 cm de LT) a été déclarée dans le détroit de Northumberland en 1953, mais l'identification positive demeure incertaine. Dans l'est de l'Atlantique, cette espèce est répandue du sud du golfe de Gascogne jusqu'à l'Angola, de même que dans la mer Méditerranée, à l'île Madère et près des îles Canaries.

Habitat

Cette espèce démersale réside dans les eaux marines côtières et les eaux saumâtres à des profondeurs allant de 3 à 270 m. Elle vit principalement sur des fonds sablonneux ou vaseux.

Cycle biologique

Inconnu

Régime alimentaire

Le régime alimentaire de la pastenague à queue épineuse est composé de divers organismes benthiques, notamment des invertébrés comme des crustacés, des mollusques, des annélides et de petits poissons.

Reproduction

La pastenague à queue épineuse est ovovivipare : entre deux et six embryons se développent dans l'oviducte de la femelle avant de naître tout formés.

Interaction avec l'homme

Dans certaines régions du monde, les ailes de la pastenague à queue épineuse sont vendues fraîches, fumées, séchées ou salées. Cette espèce est aussi pêchée pour fabriquer de l'huile et de la farine de poisson. Elle représente un danger potentiel pour les nageurs et les pêcheurs en bottes-pantalon en raison de son épine venimeuse. Toutefois, au Canada, cette espèce n'a aucune valeur commerciale et ne représente pas vraiment une menace pour l'homme étant donné sa rareté.