Pelagic Stingray

Dasyatis violacea

Pelagic Stingray (Dasyatis violacea)

Pelagic Stingray (Dasyatis violacea)

  • Rare
  • Pelagic at surface to 250 m
  • Total length to 98 cm
  • Both surfaces uniform dark purple in colour
  • Broad, wedge-shaped disc
  • Whip-like tail with long, stinging spine
  • Lacks caudal, dorsal and pelvic fins

Description

The pelagic stingray is easily distinguished by its characteristic, serrated tail spine which is flattened dorsoventrally and attached rigidly to the skin of the tail. Cells at the base of the spine secrete a poison which can inflict exceedingly painful wounds. It is possible, as with other members of the family Dasyatidae, that new spines develop before an old one is lost. The tail itself is less than twice the length of the body, with a long, lower caudal finfold ending well forward of the tapered tip of the tail. The body of the pelagic stingray is disc-shaped and depressed but thick, with a blunt, rounded snout and angular pectorals. The mouth is small and curved, and filled with bands of small, rounded teeth with cusps, ridges, or tubercles. The eyes - located on the dorsal surface of the head along with the spiracles - are small and do not protrude. Dorsal and anal fins are absent, and pectorals are continuous anteriorly along the sides of the head. The pectoral disc is without thorns. Pelagic stingrays have no prominent markings on their skin, and vary in colour from uniformly violet or purple to dark blue-green, both on their dorsal and ventral surfaces.

Size

The pelagic stingray reaches a total maximum length (TL) of approximately 160 cm.

Range

In Canadian north Atlantic waters, the pelagic stingray is thought to be a migratory species only, with occasional incidental captures on longlines reported from the eastern edge of the Grand Bank and from Georges Bank. A small number of captures during exploratory cruises have also been noted since early records (1962, 1965). More broadly, the pelagic stingray occurs southward from Canadian waters along the coast of the United States to the Lesser Antilles. It is also found in the Pacific Ocean and the Mediterranean Sea.

Habitat

As its name suggests, the pelagic stingray occupies open surface and near surface waters, usually occurring in the first 100 m of the water column but reaching depths of 381 m. It is often reef-associated, and is perhaps the only totally pelagic member of the family Dasyatidae.

Life History

Unkown

Diet

Pelagic stingrays have a wide diet that includes coelenterates (including medusae), squid, decapod crustaceans, and fish.

Reproduction

The pelagic stingray is ovoviviparous, with embryos developing within the oviduct of the female prior to being born live. Fecundity is thought to be 1-9 young per litter, with the possibility of two litters per year.

Interaction with people

Traditionally, spines of members of this family (Dasyatidae) were used for spear tips, awls, and daggers, and are currently sold as curios. However, the pelagic stingray is of no great commercial importance, and - due to its pelagic existence - comes into contact with humans only rarely.

Pastenague violette

Dasyatis violacea

Pastenague violette (Dasyatis violacea)

Pastenague violette (Dasyatis violacea)

  • Rare
  • Pélagique (de la surface jusqu’à 250 m)
  • Longueur totale de 98 cm
  • Les deux surfaces sont de couleur violette foncée
  • Large disque en forme de coin
  • Queue de type fouet avec une longue colonne vertébrale
  • Manque de nageoires caudale, dorsale et pelvienne

Description

On distingue facilement la pastenague violette par ses caractéristiques, c'est-à-dire son épine caudale dentelée aplatie dorsoventralement et fermement plantée dans la peau de la queue. Des cellules à la base de l'épine sécrètent un poison pouvant infliger une blessure horriblement douloureuse. Comme pour d'autres membres de la famille des Dasyatidae, une nouvelle épine peut se développer lorsque la vieille épine tombe. La queue elle-même fait moins de deux fois la longueur du corps de cette raie et est dotée d'un long repli caudal inférieur situé bien avant le bout aplati de la queue. Le corps de la pastenague violette a la forme d'un disque déprimé mais épais, avec un museau rond émoussé et des nageoires pectorales anguleuses. La bouche est petite et courbée; elle contient plusieurs rangées de petites dents rondes dotées de cuspides, de crêtes ou de tubercules. Les yeux, qui sont situés sur la surface dorsale de la tête à côté des spiracles, sont petits et ne dépassent pas de la tête. Cette espèce est dépourvue de nageoires dorsales et anales, et ses nageoires pectorales continuent vers l'avant, de chaque côté de la tête. Le disque pectoral est dépourvu d'épines. Les pastenagues violettes n'affichent aucune marque particulière sur leur peau, et leur couleur varie entre mauve ou violet uniforme à bleu-vert foncé sur le dos et le ventre.

Taille

La pastenague violette atteint une longueur totale (LT) maximale d'environ 160 cm.

Aire de répartition

Dans les eaux canadiennes de l'Atlantique Nord, la pastenague violette n'est considérée que comme une espèce migratoire, ayant été capturée à seulement quelques reprises à la palangre du bord est des Grands Bancs et du banc de Georges. On a aussi signalé un petit nombre de captures dans le cadre de campagnes exploratoires depuis les premiers enregistrements (1962, 1965). De façon plus générale, la pastenague violette est présente dans les eaux canadiennes vers le Sud le long de la côte des États-Unis jusqu'aux Petites Antilles. Elle vit également dans l'océan Pacifique et en mer Méditerranée.

Habitat

La pastenague violette vit à la surface de l'eau ou aux abords de celle-ci, généralement dans la première portion de 100 m de la colonne d'eau, mais on peut la trouver à une profondeur de 381 m. On l'associe souvent aux récifs, et il s'agit peut-être de la seule espèce entièrement pélagique de la famille des Dasyatidae.

Cycle biologique

Inconnu

Régime alimentaire

La pastenague violette a un régime alimentaire varié composé notamment de Coelentérés (y compris des méduses), de calmars, de crustacés décapodes et de poissons.

Reproduction

La pastenague violette est ovovivipare : les embryons se développent dans l'oviducte de la femelle avant de naître tout formés. Sur le plan de la fécondité, on pense que la femelle donne naissance à des petits dont le nombre est compris entre un et neuf, peut-être deux fois par an.

Interaction avec l'homme

Par le passé, on utilisait les épines des espèces de la famille de Dasyatidae pour fabriquer des pointes de lances, des alènes et des dagues; aujourd'hui, ces épines se vendent comme des objets de curiosité. Cependant, la pastenague violette n'a pas de valeur commerciale et interagit rarement avec l'homme en raison de sa nature pélagique.