Atlantic Manta

Manta birostris

Description

An Atlantic manta (Manta birostris) interacting with a diver

An Atlantic manta (Manta birostris) interacting with a diver

The Atlantic manta is a distinctly shaped batoid, due in part to its pelagic lifestyle. It has a wide, dorso-ventrally flattened body; a very long, whip-like tail longer than the body that tapers into a lash-like tip; and a broad, dorsally flattened (or slightly convex) head distinct from the disc formed by the trunk and the enlarged pectorals. The mouth of the Atlantic manta is terminal or subterminal and nearly straight, with the roof containing a broad transverse curtain that is either smooth-edged or finely fringed at the margins. The teeth of the Atlantic manta are minute and the eyes and spiracles - which are lateral on either side of the head - are small. Each broad pectoral fin is divided anteriorly at the head to form two widely separated cephalic fins that curve forward from the front of the head flanking the mouth. A single, small dorsal fin is present on the base of tail, whereas the caudal fin is absent. The skin of the Atlantic manta is smooth and lacking scales, although some small prickles are sometimes present. Colouration on the dorsal surface varies from reddish to olivaceous brown to black on the dorsal surface, with or without white markings, whereas the ventral surface is white toward centre of disc and gray around the margins, occasionally with various dark blotches near the gills and on the abdomen. The rear part of the tail is gray in colour.

Size

The maximum disc width attained by Atlantic mantas is approximately 6.1 m. The maximum recorded weight is 1360 kg.

Range

Atlantic mantas occur in the western Atlantic generally from the Carolinas south as far as Brazil. They are also found in waters around Bermuda, Madeira and tropical West Africa. They are very rarely found in colder waters of the northwest Atlantic; however, strays have been caught in southern New England and Georges Bank waters.

Habitat

The Atlantic manta occupies surface or near surface waters, progressing through the water column by flapping its enlarged pectorals in a wing-like motion.

Life History

Unknown

Diet

The food of the Atlantic manta consists of small pelagic organisms such as smaller schooling fishes and planktonic crustaceans, where are sometimes funneled into the mouth with the aid of the large cephalic fins on either side of the head. Water exits through the gill plates. Aerial displays are not uncommon among mantas, and may be a result of active prey pursuit.

Reproduction

This batoid is ovoviviparous, bearing live young.

Interaction with people

The Atlantic manta is on no economic importance. However, it is a prized sportfish and is also sought after by divers.

Common Names

Also known as devil rays or devil fish.

Mante atlantique

Manta birostris

Description

Mante atlantique (Manta birostris) en pleine interaction avec un plongeur

Mante atlantique (Manta birostris) en pleine interaction avec un plongeur

La mante atlantique est un batoïde de forme particulière, entre autres à cause de son mode de vie pélagique. Elle a un corps aplati dorsoventralement, une queue en forme de fouet plus longue que le corps et dont l'extrémité est très effilée, et une tête aplatie dorsalement (ou légèrement convexe) distincte du disque formé par le tronc et les immenses nageoires pectorales. La bouche de la mante atlantique est terminale ou subterminale et presque droite, le palais contenant un large rideau transversal au fini lisse ou légèrement frangé sur les bords. Les dents de la mante atlantique sont minuscules, et les yeux ainsi que les spiracles, qui se trouvent de chaque côté de la tête, sont petits. Chaque large nageoire pectorale est divisée antérieurement à la tête pour former deux nageoires céphaliques bien distinctes qui se courbent à l'avant à partir du front pour aller border la bouche. Une petite nageoire dorsale est située à la base de la queue qui, elle, est dépourvue de nageoire caudale. La peau de la mante atlantique est lisse et exempte d'écailles, bien que l'on observe parfois de petits piquants. La surface dorsale varie de brun-rouge ou brun olive à noir, avec ou sans marques blanches, tandis que la surface ventrale est blanche vers le centre du disque et grise près des bords, parfois avec des taches foncées près des branchies et sur l'abdomen. La partie arrière de la queue est grise.

Taille

La largeur maximale du disque de la mante atlantique est d'environ 6,1 m. Le poids maximal déclaré est de 1 360 kg.

Aire de répartition

Dans l'Atlantique Ouest, la mante atlantique est présente de la Caroline du Sud jusqu'au Brésil. On la trouve aussi près des Bermudes, de l'île Madère et dans les eaux tropicales de l'Afrique de l'Ouest. En de très rares occasions, on peut l'observer dans les eaux plus froides de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest; toutefois, des individus errants ont été capturés dans les eaux au sud de la Nouvelle-Angleterre et sur le banc de Georges.

Habitat

La mante atlantique vit dans les eaux de surface ou près de la surface, suivant la colonne d'eau en agitant ses immenses nageoires pectorales comme s'il s'agissait d'ailes.

Cycle biologique

Inconnu

Régime alimentaire

La mante atlantique se nourrit de petits organismes pélagiques comme de petits poissons se rassemblant en banc et de crustacés planctoniques, qu'elle dirige parfois vers sa bouche au moyen de ses grandes nageoires céphaliques situées de chaque côté de sa tête. L'eau ressort par les fentes branchiales. Il arrive souvent que les mantes atlantiques bondissent hors de l'eau, notamment lorsqu'elles chassent leurs proies.

Reproduction

Cette espèce de batoïde est ovovivipare, c'est-à-dire que les femelles portent leurs petits jusqu'à la naissance.

Interaction avec l'homme

La mante atlantique n'a aucune valeur marchande. Cependant, elle est prisée par les pêcheurs sportifs et les plongeurs.

Noms communs

Cette espèce est aussi appelée « diable de mer » ou « mante géante ».