Arctic Skate

Amblyraja hyperborea

Male arctic skate (Amblyraja hyperborea) dorsal view
Male arctic skate (Amblyraja hyperborea) dorsal view
Male arctic skate (Amblyraja hyperborea) ventral view
Male arctic skate (Amblyraja hyperborea) ventral view
Female arctic skate (Amblyraja hyperborea) dorsal view
Female arctic skate (Amblyraja hyperborea) dorsal view
Female arctic skate (Amblyraja hyperborea) ventral view
Female arctic skate (Amblyraja hyperborea) ventral view

Description

Of all other northwest Atlantic skates, the Arctic skate - sometimes called the blackbelly skate - most closely resembles the thorny skate (Amblyraja radiata) and the shorttail or Jensen's skate (Amblyraja jenseni). However, it is distinguished from other species, most notably, by its colouration. Whereas the thorny is uniform white on its ventral surface and the shorttail skate is highly blotched, the Arctic skate is either dark on the bottom with distinct light spots, or light on the bottom with dark markings. The dorsal surface of the Arctic skate is dark mouse gray, blue gray or dark brown with small rounded spots. Also different between the thorny skate and the Arctic skate are the thorn pattern and tooth structure. The Arctic skate has many more spines along the midline of the back and tail (22 - 31) than the thorny skate (12 - 19), and has narrow teeth with sharp, central cusps, whereas the thorny skate has flat, pavement-like teeth. On the Arctic skate, the mid-dorsal row of stout thorns extend from the nuchal region to the first dorsal fin, with the thorns close to the pelvic girdle being larger than those along the tail. The tail of the Arctic skate is very short.

Female arctic skate (Amblyraja hyperborea) and shorttail or Jensen's skate (Amblyraja jenseni) dorsal view
Female arctic skate (Amblyraja hyperborea) and shorttail or Jensen's skate (Amblyraja jenseni) dorsal view
Female arctic skate (Amblyraja hyperborea) and shorttail or Jensen's skate (Amblyraja jenseni) ventral view
Female arctic skate (Amblyraja hyperborea) and shorttail or Jensen's skate (Amblyraja jenseni) ventral view

Size

The Arctic skate reportedly attains a total maximum size of 87 - 106 cm TL. However, the longest Canadian specimen recorded was only 45 cm TL.

Range

The Arctic skate occurs in cold, polar waters from Baffin Bay (including off Cape Dyer), along the west, south, and east coasts of Greenland and eastward to Iceland and the Barents Sea and northern Norway. Although extremely rare in Canadian waters, sixteen individuals were reportedly captured in Baffin Bay (1948), and a single specimen was reported off Cape Dyer, Baffin Island in 1959, the later being the southernmost record for the Canadian side of the Atlantic. It is possible that in the future, the Arctic skate will be found in the Labrador Sea south of Cape Chidley.

Habitat

This skate is a benthic, bathydemersal species, occurring on the lower continental slope at depths of 140 - 2500 m. The Cape Dyer specimen was caught at 550 m depth at a bottom temperature of 1.16°C. This species appears to prefer polar temperatures from hatching to maturity.

Life History

Unknown

Diet

The exact diet of the Arctic skate is unknown; however, it is thought to feed on a wide variety of benthic organisms.

Reproduction

The Arctic skate is oviparous, laying presumably less than 100 eggs annually. Eggs are incubated successfully and regularly in cold, polar waters as low 0°C. Upon hatching, young have been observed following large objects.

Raie boréale

Amblyraja hyperborea

Vue dorsale d'une raie boréale (Amblyraja hyperborea) mâle.
Vue dorsale d'une raie boréale (Amblyraja hyperborea) mâle.
Vue ventrale d'une raie boréale (Amblyraja hyperborea) mâle.
Vue ventrale d'une raie boréale (Amblyraja hyperborea) mâle.
Vue dorsale d'une raie boréale (Amblyraja hyperborea) femelle.
Vue dorsale d'une raie boréale (Amblyraja hyperborea) femelle.
Vue ventrale d'une raie boréale (Amblyraja hyperborea) femelle.
Vue ventrale d'une raie boréale (Amblyraja hyperborea) femelle.

Description

De toutes les raies de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest, c'est la raie boréale (parfois appelée raie arctique) qui ressemble le plus à la raie épineuse (Amblyraja radiata) et à la raie à queue courte (ou raie de Jensen) [Amblyraja jenseni]. Cependant, c'est surtout par sa couleur qu'on la distingue des autres espèces. Tandis que la raie épineuse est toute blanche sur le ventre et que la raie à queue courte est fortement tachetée, la raie boréale est foncée sur le ventre avec des taches distinctes plus pâles, ou encore pâle sur le ventre avec des taches foncées. La surface dorsale de la raie boréale est d'un gris souris foncé, d'un bleu-gris foncé ou d'un brun foncé avec de petites taches rondes. Mentionnons le motif des épines et la structure dentaire comme autres différences entre ces deux espèces. La raie boréale a beaucoup plus d'épines le long de la ligne médiane du dos et de la queue (22-31) que la raie épineuse (12-19), et ses dents sont plus étroites et sont dotées de cuspides centrales acérées, tandis que la raie épineuse a des dents plates en forme de pavement. Chez la raie arctique, la rangée de grosses épines au milieu du dos s'étend de la région nucale jusqu'à la première nageoire dorsale, les épines près du bassin étant plus grosses que celles situées le long de la queue. La queue de la raie boréale est très courte.

Vue dorsale d'une raie boréale (Amblyraja hyperborea) femelle et d'une raie à queue courte (ou raie de Jensen) [Amblyraja jenseni] femelle.
Vue dorsale d'une raie boréale (Amblyraja hyperborea) femelle et d'une raie à queue courte (ou raie de Jensen) [Amblyraja jenseni] femelle.
Vue ventrale d'une raie boréale (Amblyraja hyperborea) femelle et d'une raie à queue courte (ou raie de Jensen) [Amblyraja jenseni] femelle.
Vue ventrale d'une raie boréale (Amblyraja hyperborea) femelle et d'une raie à queue courte (ou raie de Jensen) [Amblyraja jenseni] femelle.

Taille

La raie boréale atteindrait une longueur totale (LT) maximale de 87-106 cm. Cependant, le plus grand spécimen déclaré au Canada ne mesurait que 45 cm de LT.

Aire de répartition

La raie boréale vit dans les eaux polaires de la baie de Baffin (y compris au large du cap Dyer), le long des côtes Ouest, Sud et Est du Groenland ainsi que vers l'Est jusqu'à l'Islande, la mer de Barents et le nord de la Norvège. Bien que l'espèce soit extrêmement rare dans les eaux canadiennes, on aurait capturé seize individus dans la baie de Baffin (1948) et un seul spécimen au large du cap Dyer à l'île de Baffin en 1959, ce dernier étant l'individu observé le plus au sud de tout le Canada atlantique. Il est possible qu'à l'avenir on puisse observer des raies boréales dans la mer du Labrador au sud du cap Chidley.

Habitat

Il s'agit d'une espèce bathydémersale benthique, présente sur la partie inférieure de la pente continentale à des profondeurs allant de 140 à 2 500 m. Le spécimen du cap Dyer a été pris à une profondeur de 550 m et à une température au fond de 1,16 °C. Cette espèce semble préférer les températures polaires, de l'éclosion à la maturité.

Cycle biologique

Inconnu

Régime alimentaire

On ne connaît pas le régime alimentaire exact de la raie boréale; toutefois, on pense qu'elle se nourrit d'organismes benthiques très variés.

Reproduction

La raie boréale est ovipare, et elle pond probablement moins de 100 œufs par an. Les œufs sont incubés avec succès dans des eaux polaires à une température d'à peine 0 °C. On a déjà observé de jeunes raies à peine écloses en train de suivre de gros objets.